Grand Rapids, MI 
Cornerstone University Share
Uploaded By: Star Destraayer Hole #3
3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
New Baseball Stadium Is Awesome!

1    8/24/2017   8/24/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2017
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a nice starting point for the course with four picnic tables, a practice basket and a course sign trying to scare you off by warning you that this is a private course. Cornerstone has some of the prettiest tee signs ever. They're purple and white giving you the hole #, distance and route. Another course not worrying about what par is. The baskets are a Discatchers with the yellow bands and a small number.

The holes are all pretty standard, nothing too unique or interesting. Although not a long course in general, # 7 is 400' with the basket hiding behind an evergreen tree of some description. I did enjoy the mixture of short Ace Runs (1-3-5-8-11-12-14-15-16-17), more medium length 2-4-6-8-9-10-13-18) and the one giant (7). There are a couple places to get into some trouble. # 4 at 325' has a marsh on the right side and signs ordering you stay out. I guess someone is worried that you might step on a protected iguana or something. And then there are like 50 stomped down trails through the marshland where students have been looking for their marsh discs. It has to be students because us disc golfers are first, too skilled to throw into the marsh, and secondly, such ambassadors of the sport that none of us would ever step foot into that marsh, even if you had lost your favorite approach disc that has been with you for probably ten years now. You could also get wet along 11 and 12.

Course loops back to the start. Navigation was OK except I had a little trouble finding the last tee. But that was basically because I can't read a map.

Cons: I read that the construction of the new baseball field forced some redesigning of 13-18. Not playing the old layout, I don't really know but those last holes are shorter than earlier holes.

Concrete tee pads are short but even with the ground so you can run up on them.

Hole 16 is the only hole in the woods (160') and it is so badly overgrown with stickers bushes and other bushes. It was so bad that I chose to skip it.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid college course, playing at the recreational level, perfect for college students. It's a fun throw offering some enough challenge for us lower level discers but easy enough for the corner stones here at Cornerstone. And when they tired of disc golf they can always take in a baseball game at their brand, new, awesome baseball park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/17/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: ACE Ventura
Played: 101  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice, extremely beginner friendly course. Since it is on a college campus, it is very well maintained but very flat. The designer(s) did seem to include as much foliage as possible to add some variety into the course.

The overall course layout is okay, but the walk from hole #4 to #5 is annoying, especially the first time, and with the current construction, you can only really play 12 continuous holes before you have to make a long trek back to the parking lot. However, Hole #18 finishes close to the lot so I'd figure the reintroduction of the missing holes may put some sense back into it.

The holes tend to be short (<300') and wide open. They are all straight shots except for a couple where the trees are used and those are all RHBH friendly. The baskets are in good shape and cement tee pads are nice, although oddly short.

The signage is very nice and provides most the information you could want to know for the hole! The only other signs they could use would be to point to the next tee (I'm looking at you hole 4 -> 5)

Practice basket next to the parking lot is a nice little bonus!
Cons: Super short teepads are pretty bothersome but at least the fact that they are cement helps for getting a good footing for your release.

Also the walk from hole #4 to hole #5 is a bit ridiculous, especially to not have a sign pointing the way. You need to walk across the big parking lot next to hole 4... look for the teesign in the next patch of mowed grass you eventually come to.
Other Thoughts: The college is still in the process of building a new baseball stadium so holes 13-17 are gone, hopefully soon to be replaced. Most people think #18 is missing too but if you look around, you'll find it to the SW of the parking lot, running alongside one of the buildings.

Please be highly aware of people at all times considering this is a college campus and a lot of people use the paths around the course!

I'm not affiliated with the school in any way but I've never had an issue with security or anything, just abide by typical rules and be a good sport and you won't have problems.

I give this course a 2.5 rating because it's currently missing holes, lacks variety and some signage and is very beginner friendly. However I'd say if you haven't played it or are looking for a quick round, give it a go!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Missing Baskets But Still Fun

2-4    7/7/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: xrockfistx
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy to find
-Super clean and very quite
-Not crowded
-The holes are pretty short but, they are still fun to do. They're are some hazards such as the pond and trees.
-Easy to navigate
-Even includes a mando post on hole 9
-Easy to push a stroller
Cons: Really short tee pads. We stepped to the side or walked from farther back.

If you absolutely hate short holes then don't play. I think the longest hole is just shy of 300'. The shortest is a 177'. Most are between 200' and 250'.

It is still currently missing baskets (holes 13-18) due to them building a new baseball diamond and new dorms in the area. There was no sign or posting saying as to when that would be done.
Other Thoughts: I still had fun there. Bring bug spray though! There is a marsh area and a pond so I can get pretty buggy. I really liked it and will be returning.

BTW, there is campus security. The sign says that you are supposed to be faculty, student, or a Cornerstone guest to use the course. We are neither of those things and it seems to be as long as you follow the rules (Be respectful, No smoking, No Weapons, No Drugs, No Alcohol...in other words, don't be a jerk) campus security will leave you alone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cornerstone

1    6/20/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: Jbot49506
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The holes are all pretty close and fairly easy to find. Its a nice quiet 18 with good disc catchers.
Cons: Tee pads are short, there are a few places where you have cars near by in parking lots if your a beginner and throw the occasional wild shot. Finding hole 5 took a couple of minutes, you just need to walk across the parking lot towards Leonard street and you will find the tee.
Other Thoughts: If you are not smoking, drinking, or swearing and just playing by yourself or with one other person I do not suspect campus security will bother you all that much. I just got done playing at 8pm on a weekday and I saw 2 other people the whole time playing disc. Not bad!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.