Bothell, WA 
Howling Coyote DGC Share
Uploaded By: sillybizz Hole #4 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Great for a mid-day round

5+    7/29/2019   7/29/2019
Review By: Oakgriff
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained course with some great variety off the tees. All relatively short, obstructed par 3s.
Cons: Inconsistent teepads, course can get busy
Other Thoughts: Awesome course to toss a quick round during my lunch break.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    3/25/2019   3/25/2019
Review By: Breh
Played: 103  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Howling coyote at Blyth Park is a nice 10 hole course. It's good for family and begginers to learn the sport, as most holes are on the short side. It's got a nice kiosk board showing a map/ nice metal & wood howling coyote sign. The course itself starts off behind the kiosk board. It's got okay baskets, and a decent layout. Targeted for more beginner players but advanced players can have fun on couple holes. Good use of elevation for a 10 hole course. Some nice ob behind couple baskets makes course a little more challenging
Cons: Some of the tee pads are natural and face the wrong way. No real holes that are super challenging or to throw a max distance driver.
Other Thoughts: It's a nice little course I could bring new players to have fun at. Not somewhere I would go out of my way for but if in the area a nice little play

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My Home Course

5+    2/24/2019   3/1/2019
Review By: Vintage Folfer
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 41.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2019
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of elevation change
- Lots of tall trees
- Nice variety of holes/shots
- Friendly locals, family atmosphere
- Well kept, clean, beautiful setting
- Restrooms, benches
- Bonus hole #11
Cons: - Mostly short holes
- Can get very muddy, slippery when wet
- Wicked rolls!
- Chance of hitting pedestrians on some holes.
- Sometimes closed (baskets pulled) for group events in the summer. Watch for a sandwich-board on the sidewalk on the right when you pull in to the dead-end that leads to the park. Sometimes there's info there about closures.
- Trolls. Trolls dwell under ground on Norway Hill and will steal your disks. You might think you know where it went but when you get there: no disk. Holes 5 & 6 are especially dangerous.
Other Thoughts: Now that I've logged 50+ rounds here I figured I should say something about it. This is my home course, it's where I learned to play 'disk golf' as opposed to 'Frisbee golf'. I actually played a lot of Frisbee golf many years ago but took a long break until one day I noticed: Hey! Blyth Park has a proper course now, with those chain basket things and everything, I should try it! So I did, and had a blast! using my old Frisbee the first few times, even got even par once. But of course, I noticed everyone else using these fancy new discs. So I got a starter pack...

Blyth Park is flat in the main picnic & play areas along the Sammamish river but the course plays along the western base of Norway Hill soaring 450' above the park (takes about 45 minutes to climb to the top, and I can personally attest that there are real Norwegians up there). This is more than a hillside, think of it more as playing over and between the feet and toes of a small mountain. You might think you've crossed over to another hill when you get to #4 but it's the same hill, you've just crossed from one appendage to another. The previous few reviews have done a good job summarizing the technical aspects of the course, so read those for a quick summary. I'm going to say something about every hole.

1. This is the only one that's completely flat and not on the hillside. It starts in the woods behind the restrooms. Its distinguishing feature is the curtain of tall trees that cross the fairway about half way down. Lots of gaps to aim for, lots of trees to hit. Since it's the first hole, if there's no one waiting behind me I usually just keep throwing until I get through. It's also the most dangerous hole: wild throw to the right puts you in the parking lot while on the left you have the Burke-Gilman trail to contend with. Fortunately, most errant drives are quickly subdued by one of the many fir trees lining the fairway.

2. Short blind hyzer shot. Make sure to walk ahead a bit to view the green before throwing to be sure it's clear. I've been on the green a few times when I looked up to see incoming. There's a cluster of tall trunks guarding the green. Stay to the left of them for an easy birdie, or go right and try to fade in for the ace. I was in the parking lot once when someone aced it. I heard the chains, commotion on the tee, a pause, then lots of shouting. Everyone in the park knew about it.

3. Challenging tunnel shot off the tee followed by OB on the right. Imagine standing in your dining room and trying to throw through a picture window across the living room, it's kinda like that. If there's a group on the tee, trees will be hit.

4. Throw from elevated tee across open grassy field to elevated green on the next bend of the hillside, guarded by fir trunks. Some tricky trees to miss off the tee. Try not to go left, OB over the fence that way and tough to get a clear shot from the rough. Only hole I haven't birdied, yet.

5. Probably my favorite hole. Highest tee on the course, with a welcome bench (trail continues from here to the top). Throw across a wide shallow ravine to basket on the other side barely visible from the tee. Front of green guarded by two large fir trunks. Slanted green encourages bad rolls.

6. Most ace-able hole on the course. Short, downhill slight hyzer along the hillside. Use a putter. Hit the basket once, still trying for the ace. Beware of extreme rolls on this one. If you lose sight of your shot uphill to the left make sure to wait a good 10 seconds or more to watch for it rolling by. Almost lost my putter here, came back the next day to find it. It had rolled at least 100', found it wedged in a cluster of sword ferns to the right of tee #7. Once saw a guy who did the same thing only his made it to the 7th fairway and rolled all the way down past the 7th green!

7. Perhaps the signature hole of the course. Very steep downhill shot towards basket perched above the river. Two tall trees at the base of the hill frame the shot nicely and are disc magnets. Feels like you're standing on a rooftop trying to hit a fire hydrant across the street below. Fortunately, plenty of trees behind the green to keep long throws from reaching the river, and some wonderful soul has placed logs along the back of the green to stop most skips.

8. Throw across open field, after avoiding two large cedar trees near the tee, back to the hillside. Basket is about 50' up the hill. Steep green, beware of rolls.

9. Only serious anhyzer hole on the course, or go with a forehand. Blind green/basket after dogleg to the right. Try not to drift to the left or you're going downhill away from the basket. There's a line of tall, wide tree trunks guarding the front of the green. Watch for odd kicks/rolls that can take your disk downhill.

10. Steep, short downhill ace run. Not as easy as it looks. Stay out of the bushes to the left of the green! I've had to tomahawk my way out of there too many times; once found my disk inside a big hollow log in there.

11. The bonus hole! This one isn't on the course map. It reuses basket #3 from the opposite direction. Look for a rubber tee pad at the base of the hill below #9 (I think it came from tee 5). It's about 225' to the basket. You can actually throw at #3 from anywhere at this end of the park, some people throw from the #8 tee for a good long hole, but don't do this if there's anyone in the kids playground.

So that's Howling Coyote. One last piece of advice: wear good traction shoes when it's wet and muddy and you'll have no problem. I wear hiking boots under those conditions.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Challenging enough to be fun

5+    9/2/2018   10/11/2017
Review By: Schreuds2.0
Played: 82  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2018
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Signs help with par and distance, but not location, which is fine because it is pretty self explanatory
-Holes are well designed to fit a beginner and/or intermediate level player. I think of myself as an intermediate player and my personal best is -6
-For the amount of land, this course is perfect, well designed in the woods, only holes 3, 4, 7, and 10 interfere at all with the park, mostly 3 the others are rather negligible.
-Elevation is used great
-Most holes are easy par, reasonable to tricky birdie, with a few ace runs in between
-An excellent course to bring a friend to, short enough to be accessible but nothing is a gimme
-For th most part, there is equal representation of forehand and backhand, if you try hard enough you can really do anything on this course
-Benches! An often overlooked commodity is present on most holes here.
Cons: -Baskets are not the best, kind of old, Mach V I think, they get the job done about 80% of the time though
-Tees are at best, inconsistent, most are rubber mats, a few are plain old dirt, which gets ultra muddy sometimes
-Very short, it could easily be more challenging, or better designed if Baskets were pushed back a couple feet
-The rough is very unkept, if you aren't on the fairway, you're searching, I've lost two discs here
-Some treacherous hills to traverse, not a problem in the summer, but after some rain, it is a whole different story.
-No garbage cans, sometimes there will be garbage which is always disappointing
Other Thoughts: overall, a good course, definitely one of the ones I play often, it is about 30 mins from Seattle/Bellevue.
Great course for practicing midrange/putter tee shots
Gets muddy with the rain, this course and Juel Park are probably the worst in the area with rainfall
This gets a 3/4 on the new shoe index as an average of weather conditions

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great short technical course with variation

5+    4/25/2017   4/28/2017
Review By: n8_b
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Technical holes that reward accuracy
-Good use of elevation change throughout course
-Nice variety of holes
-Quick to play
-Lots of opportunities for ace runs
-Great local group
Cons: -All holes are under 300' so you can't air it out
-Can get quite muddy in the fall through spring (especially holes 2 & 5)
-Gets crowded on summer weekends
-Easy for beginners to lose discs with all the vegetation
-Can be hard to navigate if it's your first time there
Other Thoughts: Howling Coyote is my home course and is great for working on technical, short shots. I really like the variety of shots with the terrain and elevation changes. Every hole has an opportunity for an ace run but you have to place your shots well as there is also a ton of obstacles.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good course, but small

1    4/9/2017   4/9/2017
Review By: prettyboyfloyd
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Best use of the area they were given. I only had one issue navigating the first time, but the course map at the kiosk in the parking lot was excellent. I took a picture of it with my phone and referred to it only once.

Its a multi-use park and the design kept the discs away from the playground/picnic areas.

Good use of the trees and elevation. Reminded me of Dexter outside of Eugene, OR at times. Hole 7 , especially (super downhill). The baskets are modern.

Cons: It is a short course. Hole 1 is the longest and the most flat, which is kind of a bummer the rest of the time. Holes 2 & 5 were as muddy as it gets in the PNW. I'm sure it'll be better in the summer, but watch out if it rains.

I do not have a giant arm and I came away thinking I could've used only my putters and would've scored well. I only used a fairway driver on 1.
Other Thoughts: This is a classic case of the designers using the most of what they were given. There was a ball golf course adjacent to hole 7 that had me sighing at the potential space in the geography.

I aced hole 6, which made the round. R pro dart, standing from the tee. That sums it up.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, quick course

1    12/1/2016   12/2/2016
Review By: rcd1649
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well thought out
Interesting use of elevation to set up down hill, up hill shots
Nice setting
Well signed, easy to follow
Cons: Small area to work in for course design, all holes <300 feet
Very muddy in spots
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my round here. If you live close by or are in the area worth a play through, but if not I wouldn't travel to get to this course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Birdies in the trees

1    9/21/2016   9/29/2016
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 51  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Reminded me of an 'executive' golf course, you know show up after work play 9 holes. Enjoyed my 2 times around the course. Loved the course challenges thru the trees and turns with 7 holes on the side of a hill. Every hole gave a person an opportunity to throw a 'bird'. Hole number 8 throwing from the woods across the lawn was a great ace challenge. But watch out, if you throw too hard the water on the down side of the hill is right there.
Cons: couple of holes directions from one basket to next pad were missing (followed the main trails and was able to move thru the course pretty good.) Hole #1 pad when you first show up seems backwards. Basket is back toward parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Didn't understand why there was a hole 10. I guess you can play it any way you want. I played 1-9 twice and then for funzies I played 10 both times for ace throws (didn't count it in my 18 hole score.)
When in the area I will play it again.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Nice little course

1    7/4/2016   7/4/2016
Review By: chonkyman
Played: 92  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Easy to navigate
- Quiet park with beautiful surroundings
- Fun holes and not too much vegetation to lose your discs
- Plenty of holes are birdiable
Cons: - Only 10 holes
Other Thoughts: Out of all the disc golf courses in the area, I think I enjoyed this one the most. Better than Mineral Springs or Terrace Creek. This one was much easier to navigate and had some character.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 home sweet home

5+    12/28/2015   3/13/2016
Review By: EverettSilvertips
Played: 131  Reviewed: 9
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very techinical, wooded area, have up and downs throws, have few OBs to worry about, open area to throw, it is great 9 holes of balance.

new additonal basket, 10th basket, right after 9th hole, and it is an ace basket!

mostly have signs everywhere!

have trash cans, bathrooms, and water fountain.
Cons: vandalism need to be stopped! last time i visited there, the head of howling coyote statue was cut off. also in 2013, i had few friends played there, we was in wooded area, and some punk broke in 3 different cars, robbed few important things.

natural grounding.... the more we play the ground get muddy on wet days and getting more sinking in.

9 holes.... most of us prefer 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: fun and nice gateway from my home.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.