Chattanooga, TN 
Portland Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: bjreagh Hole #8 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Well done for a 9 Hole

1    11/23/2017   10/26/2018
Review By: Foyboy89
Played: 40  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent Signage, Good Tee-pads, some elevation change.
Cons: everything par 3
No Bathrooms
minimal hole variety
Other Thoughts: I usually top out 9 holes courses at 3.0 Given the space they had to work with this made for a fun round. My wife and I played 9 holes in 45 min and didn't really rush. I like that they took a few holes through the woods and made a few tunnel shots and with 7 Pars one Bogey and one Birdie this was my first ever round at Even par so maybe i'm a little overly generous but if you are in the area it worth stopping by for a quick 9.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Typical 9 Hole Course

1    11/23/2017   1/24/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.903 Rating) A mix of open and wooded shots at the foot of Walden Ridge.
- FUN FACTOR - Portland Park DGC has all the elements to make for a fun laid back round. Several lightly wooded ace runs at around the 250 foot range. No water to contend with and the odds of losing a disc is very minimal. Other than (6) and (7), the fairways are plenty wide and forgiving.
- TEES - Concrete trees roughly 5 feet by 10 feet. About average but very much adequate for a course this short.
- NAVIGATION - Although Portland Park is missing many of the basic navigational features, it's not too difficult traverse this course as the grounds are mostly lightly wooded. There is no course map posted at the community board and the online map is very diagrammatic. Hole signage doesn't indicate the tee direction. The baskets are numbered and the tees have simple hole signage. All this stated, I only spent a couple extra minutes scouting the course.
- MAINTENANCE - The park grounds appear to be well maintained. I observed little trash and the grass was mowed.
- QUICK PLAY - A single can easily complete a full 9 in under 30 minutes. Groups of four should finish in under an hour in normal conditions.
Cons: Portland Park doesn't scream excellence in any area.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Intermediate players and above will be unchallenged by Portland Park. Advanced players should be able to throw six or seven down often. Rec players should however love this one and they will have numerous opportunities for birdies. Rec players do appear to be pushed a bit on their technical ability as there are a couple holes that do require a little shot shaping.
- ELEVATION - I was hoping for more. Seems like the site could offer at least one 30 foot drop and perhaps a bit more. Currently, the most any one holes dives or rises is about 20 feet, hole (8).
- UNIQUENESS - In addition to absent elevation, the holes themselves in terms variety are below average. Most shots are lightly wooded with a marginal amount of technique and precision required. No water in play and no doglegs. There are a couple tunnel plays, and there's one out of the shoot play that bends a bit to the right.
- PARKING - The parking area is really small and gravel. It seems like there's only enough parking for 5 or 6 cars. A park sign states that parking on the grass is prohibited. This could really limit the ability to host even a small mini here.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - The course in my opinion, is a touch below average when compared to all the other courses I've played. Of the five Chattanooga courses I hit on Thanksgiving, I rated Portland Park the lowest on the beauty scale, but it's still around the same level as Camp Jordan or Shepherd. No water features and also not that much in the way elevation features all well. Definitely not a eyesore, but not the most exotic piece of property either.
- CHARACTER - A touch below average as a whole. Like many 9 hole courses, there isn't a practice basket, multiple pin placement sleeves or benches that you'll see many times at the older established courses. There also isn't duel tees, which is featured at The Sinks. There is however a fair amount of tee shading, trash cans, porta-potty and adequate tee signage.
Other Thoughts: With Portland Park being on the shorter side and only 9 holes, it will never garner the attention like that of The Sinks. I played two other Chattanooga nine hole courses over Thanksgiving (Shepherd and 9 on Top) and I have this one rated in the middle of the three. I would recommend Portland Park for players who prefer courses with 200-300 foot holes that are void of hazards. If I lived in the area, I'm sure I would make it to this course several times a year.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Decent Course

1    2/19/2017   2/19/2017
Review By: benwilly
Played: 28  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete Pads
-nice park
-good signage
-nice baskets
-technical course with trees
Cons: -Short distances
-next to road
-not a lot of parking
-hard to see if other players are still on the course
next tee arrows are pointing the wrong way
Other Thoughts: Pretty decent course especially for a beginner

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Portland Park DGC

1    10/20/2016   10/26/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 186  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 7.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has concrete tee pads

Has tee signs

Mix of open and wooded fairways

Most holes have changes in elevations

Has a double mando on hole #4

Has an elevated basket on hole #5

Course flows pretty well

Well-maintained

Free parking but is limited
Cons:
Main road is a distraction
Other Thoughts:
This is good 9 hole course that I enjoyed playing while visiting Chattanooga. It's a short one that should serve as a good warmup for bigger courses or one for the junior/beginner players. There's good use of the small land area to form the uphill and downhill fairways. There are enough trees scattered throughout where you have to be accurate and creative when you're driving. The main road was a distraction for me when teeing off from holes #1, 4, & 5 as I played during a weekday morning rush hour. I think if there were some shrubbery planted along the road's shoulder that could grow tall - that would serve as a nice buffer between the course and the road.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good - But Definitely Not Great

1    6/24/2016   6/25/2016
Review By: SuperDave1981
Played: 15  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee pads are concrete and level. Park seemed to be well maintained. Trash bins are located at some of the holes. No benches, but the course is so small - they're not really necessary. Two thirds of the course is out in the open with a few obstacles at each hole and the rest of the holes are in wooded areas (nice mix). There's also a good variety of pin placement which require left and right curved lines.
Cons: Finding the course wasn't incredibly difficult, but following the GPS with the address brought me to a tractor retailer and not the park, so be sure to put the name of the park in your GPS and not the address. The first tee pad is very close to where you park but there are at least 4 pins visible, which made it difficult to determine which one to throw at. Had to walk the course to be certain. Signage is at every tee pad, but it's very sub-par in comparison to signage at other courses I've played. More detailed diagrams would make it easier to navigate the course. The road next to the park can be pretty busy and one throw requires a direct line into the street, so be careful not to put too much power behind your drive.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent little course if you want to play a quick 9 holes and is only 10-15 minutes from 9 On Top, which can make for a nice 18 hole round. I would consider playing this course more often if I lived closer to it, but I wouldn't make a special trip just to play it again, unless I was already in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 9-Hole, Worth the Trip

1    9/5/2015   9/7/2015
Review By: Fleet
Played: 35  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Big concrete tees

Surprisingly good mix of open and wooded holes.

Good course to work on your technical skills.

Good use of strategically-placed trees on the more open holes to make you think. Hole 1 has you immediately looking right into a big tree directly between the teebox and the pin. Hole 4 has a mando down the middle of two trees with a tall tree stump between them, just out enough and high enough to make throwing directly over it difficult for some.

Got my first ace ever, hole #7 with a Dart :)
Cons: Main gripe I had was the tee pads were too elevated compared to the surrounding ground. I think a good concrete teepad should have some cedar or dirt or something to fill in the space around; on most of the teepads here, you had a very noticeable "step up" and then you have to watch your release or else you'll stumble off the front of the pad. I had to shorten my tee off a step or two most throws.

Also, the baskets for holes 3 and 5 are right next to each other, and are approached from opposite directions. Can get a bit confusing when you approach 3. You should know which is which by 5.
Other Thoughts: Most reviews I've seen have talked about the busy road. I don't know if there has been a redesign since then (edit: apparently there was), but the only time I think some people might really be in danger of throwing on the highway is hole 4, which is just over 300 feet from the middle of the park towards the road. I outdrove the hole by about 10 feet and was still about 10-15 yards away from the road. The teepads for 1 and 5 are right next to the road, but you're throwing the other way, into the park. Hole 9 is right next to the access road into the park, but the sign up front says "no cars beyond this point" so there shouldn't be anyone driving there anyways.

We played this park before driving up to 9 on Top, it's easy enough to make a full 18 and hit two different courses.

Did I mention I aced hole 7?

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 THE 9-Hole Chattanooga Course

1    7/12/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: WestGooch
Played: 25  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Easy course to find, just off Signal Mtn. Road, and equally simple to navigate throughout.
- Baskets and concrete tees in great condition.
- Excellent signage.
- Although it is a lot packed into a small area, one should not worry about a crowd. (I played on a Saturday around noon and there was only one other couple there.)
- Good challenge; beginner and intermediate players alike will have fun while seeking to break par.
- All holes are a par 3 which makes for easy score-keeping.
- Not much walking, playing alone one round can be completed in half an hour.
Cons:
- Grass in poor condition; seems to be rarely mowed. It is not dense enough to lose a disc, but certainly a small hassle.
- Portland Park also seems to be a sanctuary for June-bugs. Again, they aren't too great a bother, but often noticeable.
- Be weary of throws halfway through the round, as a disc with a bit too much power may find itself in the road.
Other Thoughts: Portland Park is a course I would recommend to players of all experience levels. All holes are moderately wooded creating a challenge throughout the entire course that all can enjoy. I was able to take my time and take practice shots with my partner without having to worry about getting in the way of others. If you live in the greater Chattanooga area, or just passing through, you MUST try this 9-hole course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Portland Park DGC

1    8/20/2012   12/11/2012
Review By: craigd
Played: 120  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Portland Park DGC hosts a nice and compact nine hole course in a passive park at the base of Signal Mountain in Chattanooga. Besides the course, I saw no more than green space around the area so chances are that disc golf has the park to itself, except maybe an occasional picnicker, etc. You'll be greeted by a parking lot with moderate parking for the course's size, an information kiosk, and an easy walk to hole one. From there the navigation is pretty easy to follow on this strait forward yet thoughtful layout.

Although there's only nine holes, there's a fairly good mix of hole types. Besides no long bomber holes, you'll have most of the other things you'd hope to find on a course. A couple of tight wooded shots, up/down shots, and even a big dogleg are here with the overlying theme being moderately open peppered with mature trees. There's plenty of signage, concrete pads, and other nice amenities here too. The newer baskets are in great shape and catch well.
Cons: There's really nothing terribly bad at this course, remembering that it evidently wasn't intended to be a championship caliber course. My biggest complaint would have to be the main road. I'm always distracted by nearby roads with lots of traffic when playing. This course is no exception as you'll be facing it on several holes here. Secondly the park is small and as others have mentioned, it could get a little cramped if the course is full.
Other Thoughts: Keep in mind that this is not an overly difficult/challenging course. I would imagine given the design and location that it wasn't designed to be. I'm thinking this is a good course for newer players or convenient practice for the advanced players. As others mentioned, being close to the main road helps give disc golf a little free advertisement and hopefully promote growth in an already thriving disc golf community.

If you're visiting the area and you have time, try to head up the mountain and hit "9 on top DGC" too. It's an even shorter little nine holer but it's a nice drive up the mountain and you can run through it in a matter of minutes. For me it was worth the trip to play both courses to add a couple more to the "played list".

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good short course

1    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: .DLB.
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I would have to agree with the other reviews of this course, as it has all mostly been said already. However, my definite pro list would be:
•Very Clean nice looking park
•Excellent baskets and teepad length
•Nice signs at each tee
•Great for a quick round
•A mixed variety of shots can be used.
•Hole #8 - nice long sweeping downhill anhyzer shot that opens into the clear - cool hole.
Cons: •Kind of a cramped feel and layout, however it is layed out to maximize the amount of space there is.
•No holes to really let one rip on.
•Throwing directly at main road can be a bit unnerving.
Other Thoughts: In fairness, I can't say to many negative things about this course. Honestly though, it just isn't one of my favorites. The space is well utilized for what there is. It is also a great course for locals or those looking for a quick round. I don't see myself driving out of my way much to play here though. It was a fun course though, and definitely worth a try.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice short course

1    12/31/2011   12/31/2011
Review By: owtdoorguy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great, rugged course to play quickly and without the need to overly technical abilities. You can play this course mostly, at least 5 holes, without concern even for trees. Very open layout.
Cons: Intimidating to throw next to busy road. Two tee boxes align parallel to roads.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.