Wilson, NC 
Lake Wilson Share
Uploaded By: LeeBo Hole #15 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 272ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Beautiful scenery.

2-4    5/14/2019   5/19/2019
Review By: sammydad76
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Absolutely gorgeous view, decent amount of water hazards and not too much to scare the amateurs.
Cons: The baskets need to be renumbered, but it's easy to figure out what they are supposed to be.
Other Thoughts: Perfect place to take an evening walk in the spring or fall.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Land O'Lake

1    6/10/2018   6/10/2018
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 163  Reviewed: 160  Exp: 11.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: To preface this review, understand that this is a tricky piece of property for designing a golf course. Any designer is going to have to get creative to put 18 holes in b/c the park narrowly wraps around the lake. So holes 1-4 are on land so narrow that you can't really have 4 holes going the opposite direction. That means weird, long walks are inevitable.

PROS: The lake is nice. It's big, really wet, and generally watery. Wind blows off it. Riparian animals are around, like waterfowl and stuff. It comes into play quite often but only two real water carries if those scare you.

The baskets are old Discatchers with the inner set of chains that just dangle in loops. They still catch really well though. Tees are not terribly hard to find even though most are missing their signs. There's only so much land to walk around so you can't spend too much time hunting the next tee. After hole 5, you get a lot of nice city-park style holes with mowed fairways and scattered old growth trees to avoid. Some of these have multiple lanes that are all viable so you can choose your own adventure. Some of these holes have a goodly amount of distance, 500-600' or so, very get-able par 4's. Quirky greens like hole 6 or 7 with the basket on a nice little knoll. For the most part, it's enjoyable.
Cons: Tees are just sandy pits. A lot of the holes are really close to the lake so they could be swampy after a rain. A lot of the really wooded holes don't have much of a fairway, a signature Schwartz design. You basically throw down the walking path that loops around the entire park so be on high alert for walkers. The holes are often cramped so you're often wondering which visible basket is the correct one and some baskets are close to tees.

The biggest con is I have no idea who this course is geared towards. Most of the holes are Red level distances but the proximity of the lake (and the at least 275' water carry on hole 18) makes it terrifying for Red level players. Then you have these random, really long holes that are only going to appeal to mostly Blue level players. So basically only a niche group of White level players are going to appreciate the balance of challenge and distance and even they are going to find a lot of the holes too easy.

Hole 18 is an absolute forced water carry of 275' of the lake (sign says 300' but seems a little shorter to me). There is no safe, bail-out zone or short, wussy tee. If you overshoot the green much you go into thick weeds but that's better than going wet. The worst part is that you have roughly a 5-10 minute walk around the corner of the lake (through two-three previous greens no less) from the tee to the green. So if you clear the lake you just have to hope that other park people are on the honor system and aren't going to run off with your disc while you're hopelessly stranded on the other side. Then you have another 10-15 minute walk through holes 1-3 to get back to the parking lot. I don't know what the answer is but I think breaking up one of these silly long holes into two par 3's so that hole 17 becomes 18 makes a lot more sense than this daunting water carry with the awkward walk. I can only assume that Russell Schwartz is the second coming of our Lord and thus simply walked across the lake when he designed hole 18.
Other Thoughts: I had fun but I don't have much desire to revisit unless it's with other people just to gauge their reactions to the many stupid holes here. Unless I have a garage full of DX discs this is not a course I'd want for my home course. It could use a redesign to tinker out some of the really awkward transitions and goofy holes. The property is mostly limiting you to putting lipstick on a pig but I think it could be more entertaining and at least have appeal towards somebody instead of a mishmash of holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice water course, could be improved

1    12/10/2015   12/10/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 139  Reviewed: 135  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2019
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very fun course around a scenic lake outside of Wilson, NC.

+ Far and away the best pro for me was the beautiful setting. It's a peaceful, clean park with mature pine trees, not too thick, around a lake. I think disc golf should be relaxing and stress-relieving. I can't think of a better setting than Lake Wilson for that. Beautiful piece of property.

+ It's also a nice, challenging course. There are some holes with decent distance. I loved the two water-carry holes, 5 and 18. I'm a big fan of water courses and this one doesn't disappoint. Good hole design, in general. And if you're looking for memorable holes, Lake Wilson delivers.

+ There's a good mix of shots needed off the tee: hyzer, anhyzer, technical, and long. This course challenged me, an intermediate level player. I think beginners to advanced players would enjoy it as well.

+ There aren't many better finishing holes than #18: from one side of the lake to the other.
Cons: A few notable cons:

- I really enjoy water courses -- and Lake Wilson might be the prettiest one I've played -- but I sure wish that all of the water was in the lake and not on the fairways! The standing water, mud and slop were out of control. Drainage is a big problem.

- Navigation was also a problem. It shouldn't be that hard: the course takes you around the lake, then eventually you double-back along the water's edge and finish with 18 across the lake. However, many tees are missing signs. And some tees are so hard to spot, I had to double-back several times when I walked up to a basket that I hadn't teed off for.

- Speaking of tees, they're just ground up concrete, dirt, and rocks. The drainage issue fits here too. I chose to tee off beside the pads on several holes.
Other Thoughts: On the plus side, the navigation problem is an easy fix. Installing better tee pads would help a lot too. Unfortunately, I don't know what can be done about the drainage problem. Try playing it after several days of sunny weather!

If you're near Wilson, definitely give this one a shot. It's a beautiful course, challenging, with opportunities to bomb, and water carries, which are always fun in my book.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/13/2015   9/14/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There isn't a ton of land here, all around the edges of a good sized lake. That means two things: the holes are going to be crammed into the space and water is going to be present on a lot of them. The course starts fairly blandly. Solid but not great until around 11. Then wow, some long holes as the woods gets progressively thicker and open fairways with sparse trees became tree lined. 12 is long, and each step is like dropping further into the abyss. 13 is shorter and just as wooded. The woods lighten again by 16 but the hole is so long and so nicely curving to the right that the water isn't needed. 13-17 all play with the water on the right but there is a long of trees along most of the water's edge so they aren't too watery. If there is a hyzer route over the water on one of them, I either missed it or the trees have grown in to block it. Still, a good set of holes that feature slight uphills, good throwing lines and lead to 18, a 200-foot water carry to the basket back by the third tee.
There is another carry on 5, a shorter distance but with a smaller window to hit on the opposite side of the water. The first interesting hole although group that follows it aren't bad. You have to pick a line through the trees and the 8 basket sits on the park's only bit of elevation.
Tee signs show the layout of the hole and distances have been handwritten onto the post so no complaints there. Navigation is a breeze as the tee is always visible from the basket and there are rarely two in sight. Pretty good course for intermediate players and I wouldn't even dissuade beginners, although the length of 11 and 12 may frustrate them.
Cons: The worst is the beginning sequence. The first four holes travel along the edge of the lake but the water barely comes into play. They are simple straightforward holes that are quite possibly going to have non discers on them. To be fair a lot of the fairways could have people walking on them here but it seems like the first four are going to be occupied more frequently, being as they are on the only path from the parking lot to the rest of the park.
There's a lot of extra walking because 18 leaves you so far from the parking lot and the 18 tee is so far from the basket for those bound to the earth. From the 18 tee, you have to walk back along four fairways to return so you become the unwanted obstacle for players coming up. It's much better this way than forcing more holes running parallel to the first four, but it's tedious.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What a hike

1    5/9/2013   5/9/2013
Review By: gvdg jake
Played: 73  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun front 9. Really enjoyed 5 with it crossing the corner of the lake. Also liked hole 8 with it being slightly uphill and basket is on mound. Holes 11,12,13 were a very nice challenge. Would be nice to see parks and Rec cut low hanging limbs that are in fairway. It takes the line away.
Cons: Old discatcher (single chains). Long walk to hole 1 from parking lot. Water is in play on 5 or 6 holes if you take a bad kick. Would have rated better if there was a bridge to cross at 18. It's already a lot of walking and then to finish 18 you have to make a 5-7 minute walk back by hole 1,2,3,4,5 and 13.
Other Thoughts: It was nice to get away from heavy traffic disc golf and come to a course where you are the only one playing. Also water is VERY DARK/DEEP!! 2 guys I played with lost discs on rollaways and we never got them back.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect little starter course

1    11/16/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 256  Reviewed: 226  Exp: 12.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Discatchers.
Teesigns with hole shape, but no distance
Superior use of a nearly impossible to use land. The land this course is on is very narrow an oddly shaped, yet somehow they made it work.
Holes 1 and 2 are short and simple with some water on left. They are nice warm up holes that are beginner friendly. The entire front 9 is a low stress beginner friendly course with few blind holes that does not resort to becoming a boring pitch and putt.
the back 9 quickly changes gears to longer tougher holes.
2 hole 18's. Hole 18A is a tee, water, and a basket with nothing but water as your fairway. It is a short hole, but you have to over throw or risk getting soggy.
5 is a short shot over the water, but a devious stump acts as a baseball bat knocking discs into the water.
Cons: Gravel and natural tees that are in need of work.
Signs do not have distance.
11 could cause confusion. 15's basket is visable from the tee, but the actuall basket is to the right up a small hill.
16 is an odd tee location that faces 45 degrees from the fairway.
1/4 mile walk from tee 18A to the basket. 1/2 mile walk from basket 18 back to parking lot.
Other Thoughts: If you are bringing children to play I would suggest they play the front 9 then go enjoy the playground that is on site.
There are 2 holes where there is clear risk of water and numerous others where your disc could end up in the water if you make a mistake.
Bring a towel, I wound up in the water twice on holes where I had no business being near the water.
This is the type of course that I would consider a perfect beginner course. It is fair and starts off very tame but the back 9 shows new players what they are in for at other courses. I would like to give the designers a 5 for thier use of the land, you really need to see an overhead view to fully grasp what they had to work with.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Life is like a box of chocolates!

1    11/3/2012   11/4/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 10.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in a small park surrounding a small lake. Nice setting for a course.

Navigation is simple and aided by a map at first tee. All holes have basic signs and flat very playable natural tee pads.

Hole length variety is excellent. There are holes from 184' all the way to 675'. There is a good mix with holes in the 200's, 300's and 500's.

Hole variety is pretty good. There are some holes along the lake, some holes in a sparsely wooded setting and some long tight lines. There is a little something for everybody at Lake Wilson.
Cons: Natural pads could be upgraded.

Signs don't tell distance or give much information.

Course has a gravel road and some trails used for walking throughout. During peak times there is probably interference with other park users.

Long walk around lake to basket 18.
Other Thoughts: This course was better than what I expected. It starts slow with 4 short holes along the lake. At this point you will be asking yourself if the drive was really worth it. Even if you came from the next town over. But then things start to look up.

#5 is a nice, short ace run over the lake. Only 182' so not much water risk, but fun.

Holes 6-10 are basic holes playing through mostly open ground with some large trees mixed in. Each hole has multiple lines to the basket and nothing is too tight.

#11 and #12 are the 2 long holes that make you realize the drive was worth it. 11 plays along an OB road and is mostly open, but finishes in the trees. #12 has a typical long, tight, wooded feel that NC golf is known for. It's 561' and fairly narrow.

13 -15 are shorter, but maintain some tight lines near the water.

16 and 17 are similar to the 6-10 stretch. Just typical open with large trees fairways and multiple lines. Although 16 may have a huge hyzer route over the water if you are feeling brave.

18 is a 204' shot back over part of the lake. Just a wide open hole with some water risk. Not a bad hole until you realize it will take you 10 minutes to walk around and find your disc.

This course is fairly flat and open so wind becomes a factor on the water holes and the open holes.

There is nothing exceptional at this course, but it does offer a multitude of lengths and shots. It offers some water risk, some tight lines and some flat out bombs. Any course with this many features is worth playing. If you're in the Wilson area make sure you stop and give Lake Wilson a try.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Day @ the Lake

2-4    6/10/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 169  Reviewed: 119  Exp: 8.9 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Layout - The course is designed well in terms of mixing up hole types and distances. You'll see some more open shots near the beginning and the more you get in to the course the more the trees become a factor.

The course runs up and down the edge of the lake and it is a factor on quite a few holes. Only two holes actually cross the water and they're both shorter water carries. The proximity to the water makes wind a huge factor here.

The wooded holes do a good job of making you shape shots and be accurate through gaps; while the more open holes sometimes give you a few trees to maneuver around while being conscious of the water.

There are also some OB lines running down some of the longer interior holes which makes drive placement a key.

There's not a huge amount of elevation change but the rolling hills out there are used very well in the way the greens are positioned.

Overall I'd say it's a well rounded course despite its limitations. It flows well and you never find yourself in question of where to go next.

Atmosphere - Very scenic park right on Lake Wilson. There's a few swampy bits right on the edge in the back part but for the most part it's a great place to play disc golf.

Equipment - The baskets were in good shape and there's a map with scorecards at the beginning of the course. There are signs letting you know where the tees are.
Cons: Layout - My biggest problem with the layout is that the front part of the course mainly consists of straight on shots with the lake on one side. Although there are more obstacles and tighter gaps towards the middle the fairways don't have a lot of shape.

Some of the holes are positioned very close to each other as well. I ended up on another fairway a few times which isn't hard to do.

#16 was questionable for me because it was unclear of which route was intended from the tee. It appears there should be a hyzer route over the water but there was a huge branch blocking it, the left route shoots you right towards another fairway.

#18 is just poor design in my book. You're asked to throw a water carry then take a 5 minute walk down around the water over to the green. Somebody could easily sit there and grab your disc.

There's a trail running through the course area as well which could be a problem at times considering there are a few blind shots near it.

Atmosphere - Just a few swampy bits right near the water on the back part, not really that bad in itself. Standing water is probably a problem here when it rains.

Equipment - The tee signs don't give you any information other than the hole #. The pads are just sand and gravel framed in to the ground. They're very uneven and not my favorite.
Other Thoughts: If more holes had shape to them this would be a better course. The land just had limitations but it's a beautiful park and a great place to spend a day. If it's windy you'll encounter a serious challenge out there.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Lake WILSON

5+    4/9/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: LeeBo
Played: 41  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: First few holes are an ace run. New Basket placement on hole #8 (top of hill). Good Mix of water and fairway areas. Hole #11 no out-of-bounds play anymore (excluding water).
Cons: The course is very poorly designed. It's not even worth going to the course without other experienced players that have played it. There are at least 50 trees that need to be cut down before the course becomes reasonable. Hole # 13 are trees to the left and right with barely enough room to get your disc through a gap and there are even more trees in front of those trees. Easy to lose a disc. Hole # 14, there is no line. You have to get lucky enough to get a birdie without hitting a tree. Hole # 16 (678ft Par5), the tee-pad is facing the opposite direction. The idea of the tee facing over the water is to throw a 500ft back to the left in which the risk/reward is entirely to high. Hole #18, you throw over water and walk about half a mile before you get to the landing area, (five min walk). Lastly, most of the baskets have one set of chains which are old and rusted (need 2/3 sets of chains OR New Baskets).
Other Thoughts: Hole #5 can be a hassle because of branches, but very good place over the water! Very hard to call this your home course, considering that I live here. It takes about 2 hours to play this course, bring plenty of water.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/23/2011   11/26/2011
Review By: jksenior
Played: 176  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A couple of pros:

The first is the actual hole layouts. I thought the holes were generally good with easy per 3's, tough par threes and a couple of par 4's. The wind and water definitely added to the difficulty of several of the easier holes

Navigation was easy with most of the tees easily spotted from the previous hole.

Also, the lake makes the course quite scenic
Cons: There are quite a few cons which drive my 2.5 rating.

- first is the tee pads. They seemed like a mix of san and gravel and several had some standing water after a rain overnight. They were framed in so it wouldn't be too difficult to make them concrete.
- next is the overall course layout. Many of the holes were very close to other holes. I suspect there is a lot of waiting when the course is more crowded.
- there were tee signs, but there were no distances on them so they did little more than act as directional guides.
- based on the walking path that wove through a number of the holes I suspect there is some contention with pedestrians during prime times.

Some individual hole comments:

15 - I think the design of the hole is to throw a hyzer out over the water and come back into the fairway. But the water was high and the risk/reward was definitely not worth it. So it forced an anny or turnover shot where you were throwing back towards another hole.

18 - an ok hole just throwing across the lake, but the walk from the tee to the basket was terrible. Not only did it take 5 minutes or so, but you had to cross over at least 4 or 5 other holes. It would be great if there was a bridge across the thin portion of the lake near the hole.
Other Thoughts: Despite all of the cons and the relatively few pros, I did enjoy my round there and will go back. It helped that I played in the morning when no one else was around. I think with some tees and a few navigational/layout improvements this could be a really good course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.