Slippery Rock, PA 
Slippery Rock University Share
Uploaded By: vslaugh Hole #1 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 233ft.   3 / 258ft.   3 / 326ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1C Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Fun, but exhausting, course

2-4    5/18/2019   5/30/2019
Review By: Scott12701
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 29.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Challenging layout
- Numerous holes with water in play
- Holes are widely varied, so no boring repetition
- Beautiful campus
- Very well maintained
Cons: - Climbing the hill near the stadium (repeatedly) can be exhausting, especially in the summer heat
- There are some long walks between holes. If you're not familiar with the course, it could be difficult to follow the layout.
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first (and only) time during the 2019 Ironwood Open (2 rounds). I went to college at Slippery Rock and really wanted to play a round at my old stomping grounds.
The course is fun to play, but be prepared for a workout. Part of the course is tucked in close to the main campus buildings, while the other half is well removed from them, playing up and down "Hurricane Hill" (as it was called in the 80s) and within the woods around it.
Numerous holes have water directly in play, so bring backup discs if you plan to throw over the ponds. The water holes aren't long, but a good, skilled shot is still needed to keep your disc from finding a new home in the murky waters.
I found the variety of holes to be a good mix of short and long, with no holes being similar to another. There are wide open holes that navigate up, on top of, and down from Hurricane Hill, and each one presents a new challenge. There is often high winds at the top of the hill, adding to the difficulty.
There are multiple holes that navigate into the woods, although only one is a true woods hole, with the trees in play from tee to green. But that is also the shortest hole on the course at under 200'. All others either have woods lining the hole, or start off in the open and navigate either through or into the woods to finish.
Overall I enjoyed the course, although after my 2nd round in 85 degree heat I had very little left in the tank. The course can be truly exhausting in the heat, so be prepared and bring plenty of water or Gatorade.
If you're in the area, I would definitely recommend playing the course. It isn't the most beautiful course you'll ever play. It isn't an amazing layout. But it is a fun, challenging course on the beautiful campus of SRU that will bring a smile to your face, and likely leave you a few pounds lighter when it's all said and done.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Superior Campus Course

1    5/5/2019   5/7/2019
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 444  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 26.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was my second stop of the morning , ( Moraine was first ) , and after playing a round here at Slippery Rock , I am not sure what to think . I will evaluate this from throwing 16 of my 18 drives from the golds ( White on 1 & 18 ) . THe campus itself is a busy place . I was there at 8:45 on a Saturday morning and there were many cars parked in the lots with students all over the place . I can't imagine what it is like during the week when school is in session . Anyway , I was told that I did not need a parking pass during the weekends . I needed a little help finding the first tee , as I parked right up next to the tee for #2 . As far a campus courses go , and I have played many ) , this one is considered very good . Once your bearings are straight and you have your course map in your hands , which I am SURE YOU PRINTED , you can begin . All of the tees from the longs or mids are rubber or cement . The Innova baskets are more than adequate , tee signs are good . Some of the areas around campus have directional signs trying to keep you on course . One of the nicer qualities of this course ? having it divided up into out and back six hole stints , where you can park , play and finish up after 6 , 12 or 18 hole rounds , and mix or match your favorite sections . The course is well manicured , water coming into play into several holes , mainly 1,4, and 18 . To keep this course on campus , the course designers did a very good job . They were creative in both the tee areas and especially pin placement . great examples are #1 , with the pin guarded by a large hanging tree to the immediate right and water in front and to the left , or #2 with a creek to the left and the parking lot to the right, or #14 that sits on the side of a hill . If you are in the Pittsburgh area , this is a great course to couple with Moraine . It gives a completely different feel . Moraine being very technical and mostly woods , and Slippery Rock a bomber course that is mostly open . The course utilizes all of its elevation , mostly after #6 . Many risk-reward opportunities are on this course . Fences , parking lots , roads , water , You will also battle elements . Since most of the course is open , the wind will add another challenge for you . Signature hole ? I liked several holes equally . #4 , over the lake , hyzer around a clump of trees with OB road on the left and the lake to your right . #7 par 5 . Straight drive forward with fence coming iinto play constantly on your right , then straight up a steep hill to a basket placement on the top of a hill . #12 long downhill bomber that seems cut into sections , with dorms on the far right and a kind of plateau for a green .#17 par 4 .a 750' drive that will take you a little to your right , at the bottom of what looks like a small ski or large sled hill ( don't throw to the top , the basket sits beyond the woods in front of you ) then throw through about 70' of woods , out the back end to a clearing where the basket sits , or 18 par 4 , an obstructed drive to a door shot approach over water to a basket with water to the left , in the front and also behind it ( 500' ) . You shouldn't lost a disc on this course as long as you can take the water out of play on a few of the holes ( or you throw it on the dorm with a big crank on #12 )
Cons: Several cons to this course . #1 The risk of clubbing some poor unsuspecting student , especially on holes 2-5 and 12 comes into play .#5 is a blind shot that wraps around a building Be attentive . Don't give the campus reasons to close off part of or all of this course . #2 cars . A gust of wind on your drives can easily nail a car on a few of these holes . #3 Navigation . I had to have help to find hole #4s teepad , had to look around for #5's tee . Without a map , you might have to look for #7 up the hill beyond the parking lot ( long walk ) .12 basket to 13 tee pad , 17 basket to 18 tee . You are getting my point . #4. Parking . Make sure you have permission to play and receive a permit during the week . A $50 ticket will ruin your round . #5 Wind . This is just an unavoidable barrier with wide open courses . The wind can be fierce . I took a 6 on hole #7 because the wind took my '10 putt and deposited it 20' away . No benches or trash cans , so carry out what you bring in .
Other Thoughts: It don't want to make it look like I am picking on this course . Even though I am surprised that The course I played hosted the Worlds ( 2015 ) , I still consider this a fantastic campus course . Typical campus courses are much shorter , very vanilla and more attractive to the casual playing student looking to get an after school 80 minute round with his buddy . This is more of a showcase , and the Slippery Rock name gets passed around to many in the disc golf know . By having a few younger high school students coming onto campus to play a round or 2 , they even might have enrolled in this nice campus after touring the grounds and talking to a couple of the students . Beautiful campus , great course design , nice area . My recommendation : PLAY IT .

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

1    4/14/2018   4/14/2018
Review By: toddnick
Played: 61  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - For a campus course, this is better than most...
- Nice baskets...
- Nice use of elevation...
- Good design with limited area to work with...
Cons: - After playing Deer Lakes and Moraine this weekend, which are both dream layouts, this was a big step down...
-Most holes are pretty much wide open bomber shots, gets repetitive (although I admit the bias that I like wooded courses better)...
- A lot of long walks between holes and hard to navigate...
- The white tees are grass..



Other Thoughts: I have no idea how this course got 2.5 rounds of the 2015 worlds and Deer Lakes got 1 round...Deer Lakes is a far superior course and more than worth driving 30 minutes further from Moraine...

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Solid Campus Course in Western PA

1    9/29/2017   9/29/2017
Review By: DiscinOhio
Played: 124  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Slippery Rock Disc Golf Links is a very impressive 18-holes right in the heart of the SRU campus. The course utilizes the rolling hills around the campus.

I was worried the course was going to be entirely in the hub of campus after the first hole played between the road and a dorm building. Luckily, that wasn't the case.

#8 provides a great view of the entire campus from a hill taller than the stadium itself. It's really a beautiful campus.

While a lot of holes are pretty open, there are a few holes with woods and scattered trees to provide some challenge. This is a Links course so you won't see too many holes with tree cover.

Nice descriptive tee signs on each hole.

There are three sets of tees, providing challenge to average players and professionals.

Lots of rolling hills and dramatic elevation changes. You'll get your workout in playing here.

Innova baskets that catch very well. They're in good shape.

Right in the center of town, lots of things to do besides disc golf.
Cons: I played SRU right after playing Moraine, and they couldn't be more different. Not a fan of the busy campus environment.

Mix of tee material. You have black rubber, grass, concrete, etc. I'd like to see a more permanent, consistent option.

A couple holes play close to buildings and walkways. Can be an issue if you play during school days.

I had trouble finding the first tee, even though there are signs around campus.

Long walks between holes disrupt the flow of things, it can also be tricky to navigate.

The rough is really bad in some spots. Long grass, thorns, etc.

Not too difficult. Mostly wide open with very few wooded holes or OB.

Other Thoughts: Slippery Rock has a nice course here, but I'm not going to put it too high on my list. Sure it's a solid place to throw, but there's a few issues that really bug me. Great campus though, very clean cut people in a nice town!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

home of the 2015 PDGA Worlds

2-4    8/11/2017   8/11/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 105  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: Slippery Rock is a championship caliber open style course with plenty of elevation change, water carries, and OB. Every hole has multiple tees, ranging from the golds, which have multiple long water carries, to the greens, which play alongside the water instead.

There are a couple of holes in the middle that play a little long and open, but the course features a number of unique and memorable holes, including a massive uphill climb and a big downhill shot. A couple of holes play through the campus, but avoid the high traffic areas. Much of the course plays out near the intramural fields, where there is very little pedestrian traffic. There are a couple of wooded holes near the end of the round, and many well-designed multiple shot holes.

Great course. I plan to visit again.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A New Style

2-4    11/13/2016   4/4/2017
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 110  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off- this is NOT your typical campus course. If you are looking for a pitch and putt, go somewhere else. It's definitely not here.

Wide open bombs throughout, it is an obvious change from the more frequently visited wooded courses nearby. (Knob, Moraine, Deer Lakes) If you don't feel comfortable throwing long distance shots, a lot, then be ready to test yourself.

With most shots being wide open, it can sometimes be hard to force different shots, but Slippery Rock does a good job of making this possible. You will often find yourself weaving around OB paths, buildings, and the ever so ominous ponds on property.

Another challenging factor- wind. When you reach the middle part of the course, you are working straight up 'heart attack hill" (Hole 7) This means, you are in the wide open, on top of the highest point in the property. You will be faced with heavy winds, especially during certain times of year.

With wide open shots, there are often holes that can be boring, but also spectacular. One hole that really sticks out to me is Hole 12. You are throwing a wide open, down hill shot. OB looming right, but with the right angle, and a good amount of wind help, you can throw shots that you had no idea you had the capability of.

Amenities- Innova Discatchers in good shape. Gold tees have nicely groomed rubber pads, the rest are natural, or painted on paths, but not worn out. Tee signs are helpful and informative. Many facilities nearby.
Cons: A lot of the pros I listed, also have another side to them. Sure, it is nice to bomb out every once and a while, but...

Repetition- I did say that there was a large range of shots, but no matter what angle you throw on, at SRU, you are throwing for max distance. You don't have short technical shots to test those parts of your game.

Tee pads- Gold Tees are fine, I prefer concrete, but the rubber tees hold up and are groomed nicely. However, for mere mortals who aren't Paul Mcbeth, playing the white or green tees are less awesome. They are in good shape now, but with time, they could be a problem. On a campus course, it is hard to have three permanent tees, so I understand, but a con nonetheless.

Crowd- Campus Course. During School days, and even some non school days, you have many people walking on the walking paths, walking across fairways, playing on the soccer fields. It can be unsafe, but with playing smart, you can avoid issue. So... PLAY SMART.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course and change of pace

5+    6/13/2016   6/15/2016
Review By: LDHagen
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.7 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Long, open course. Gold's play at almost 10k feet. Beautifully kept up since on and around Slippery Rock University's campus. The course is broken down into 6's. The first, second, and third set of 6 holes all end in the same parking lot area. Great if you want to start at 7 (giant uphill hole) to get that out of the way, or you can easily start from several others spots due to the ample parking around campus. Typically a very windy course, especially on the second set of 6 holes. Requires some power if you look to shoot a good, under-par score. This is also a great change of pace when compared to the other World's courses (Moraine, Deer, and Knob). Far less wooded than Deer and Moraine and MUCH longer than Knob. Right next to Slippery Rock as well so super easy to grab food before or after rounds.
Cons: A decent amount of parking lots, buildings, roads, ponds, and fences can make retrieving discs sometimes difficult. Probably the easiest course out of Moraine and Deer and this but the most likely to completely lose a disc. Far less jungle style rough than Deer and Moraine but some VERY tall grass areas starting around 7. Also, the short pads are almost if not completely just grass. I believe all gold tees are
Other Thoughts: Great course. Not a ton of shade on super sunny or wet days but really offers a good combination of skill and distance shots. I'd recommend bringing a disc gator or other retrieving device in case you get a disc in the drink. Also, recommend stopping at Bob's Subs or the Brewery after the round for some grub.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Tournament Rounds

1    5/14/2016   5/18/2016
Review By: MrHoversten923
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Very diverse course. Will test every throw you have
--3 tees have EXTREME difference in challenges. I watched the pro's play the final 9 from the long tees and was astounded at the difference between their tees and ours. The course swallowed even a few of the pro's discs from the gold tees.
--Elevation was amazing! Hole 7 is my favorite hole ever despite struggling with it. I watched a guy putt from 10 feet away and the wind took his disc 100 feet to the left. I putt from 5 feet away with my X-Caliber driver!! It was that windy and that high elevation. Amazing!
--Lots of OB which makes an otherwise open course very challenging. Some are simple grass (rugby field) which are easily retrievable and some are narrow landing spots by the water which made for some awesome "throw and pucker" sensations.
--Very pretty settings.
Cons: --A few of the walks between holes would be difficult to nearly impossible if no one in your group had played here before. In my tourney round, 3 of the 4 of us had never played here and 1 only played once the week before and a couple times it was tough to find the next hole.

-This course would be nearly impossible IF you have mobility issues due to extreme elevation changes

-The university was nearly empty save for a lacrosse tournament (did not impede disc golfing) but I can imagine during the school year this course could be tough to play. Some holes literally run inches away from students apts and patios. Some holes run right along the main entrance ways and roads and parked cars would be only an OB throw away.

-Lots of lost discs into water during tourney (I was not one thankfully)

-Surprised by how little was out there for being a college town. Only places to grab a quick bite to eat was a McD and a Subway, that's it.
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing this course, despite it being about 15 minutes from Moraine State Park where I go a few times per Summer. Easy to find and get to, directions on this website are spot on.

Windiest course I have ever played on. One guy in my group said "I wish I could b***slap the wind"...pretty funny, but seriously, it was like a category 1 hurricane on some holes!

These reviews are from the short tees. If something amazing from the long tees, I will try to reference:

Hole 1 - From the short tees, you have a nice hyzer (for a righty) shot with the basket at the base of a hill. OB water to the left and short or basket, OB parking lot on top of the hill. It is short enough that it is easily doable but just enough OB to make you think and hit your shot. Noticed a lot of guys threw it into the hill and let it roll down towards basket.

Hole 2 - Straight forward (literally) open hole with OB everywhere...behind basket, left of basket and fairway, right of basket if you grip lock. One tall bush "conveniently placed" to punish a safe hyzer shot that comes to rest right of the basket (to avoid drop off to OB left) Birdie hole with a straight drive, OB with too much hyzer, par because of bush if you play it safe.

Hole 3 - Easiest hole on the course. Short, open, fairly boring. Some big pines/evergreens surround the basket to make a birdie not a given but cant imagine ever taking worse than a 3 on this.

Hole 4 - Pucker hole. Long narrow fairway (think it was about 350?) with a low ceiling, OB immediately on your left (drive), and OB water to your right, lots of trees in fairway to clunk off of or send astray. Best shots I saw were forehands (righty) into parking lot and let it skip back in. Imagine that would be tough during school session. Amazing shot and hole from long tees, swallowed two pro's discs.

Hole 5 - Wide open, but somewhat downhill, fun to throw it out and watch it glide. Says it is a par 4 but feels like a par when getting 3...if you can throw 250 it is easy to get a 3.

Hole 6 - Uphill, fenced football field on your right. Threw a hyzer out over the fence and let it come back, took a birdie. Very windy so make sure you throw overstable lest the wind push your disc back onto the field.

Hole 7 - Has to be considered the "signature hole". Even from the shorts it is a par 5, 500ft, straight uphill (20% grade?) The basket sat atop yet another peak, punishing severely any errant putt. The wind atop the peak was ferocious. As I said, I putt from 5 ft with my most overstable driver (X Caliber) and it still almost flipped up in the wind.

Hole 8 - Downhill shot. Would be easy if not for insane wind. As it was, wind took many decent drives astray. Overstable overstable overstable.

Hole 9 - Easy shot, similar to hole 3. Little windier than 3 hence why "not as easy" but even less distance.

Hole 10 - Another uphill shot. Hidden OB behind the basket (rugby field), maybe 30 feet behind.

Hole 11 - The bain of my existence that round. Double circle 8 I took on a par 5. Easy par the next round when I just concentrated on staying in the center of the field and didn't worry about distance. Very open, slight elevation on this hole, long, and windy

Hole 12 - Signature Hole #2. Long downhill shot. I saw three discs sitting atop the dorms WAY to the right which shows what can happen on a bomb shot and the wind. Throw it correct and you will double your distance on this shot, very fun. This was the "wettest" hole as the bottom of the hill was a mini-ravine and was just mud and standing water.

Hole 13 - Uphill, OB to left, open. Elevation is only challenge here, plays longer than it looks.

Hole 14 - Short little open hole, with the basket sitting in the middle of a steep downslope. OB to the right of the basket. Even a good drive can turn into a 4 or 5 if a putt is errant and rolls.

Hole 15 - Short Par 5 with a straight and narrow fairway (OB close on the right, woods on the left) and a big left turn, almost hook, into the woods where the basket sits. I hit chains on 2nd shot with two consecutive hyzer drives. I threw initial drive out over OB field and let it come back but also saw some other's drives held up in wind and never came back.

Hole 16 - Short downhill through the woods. Low ceiling (overhand shots would be easy otherwise but pretty much taken out here) Lefties seem to have advantage on this hole so a decent forehand would work too.

Hole 17 - Long open bomb through grass, downhill. Huge ski hill looming there but does not play in disc (would be cool if it did) to a mid-range through the woods into another opening. I saw a basket placement in ground right at opening of woods which would make this hold boring, glad it wasn't there. It was a fun bomb drive, accurate mid-range, to a tough putt in wind and downhill looming behind the basket.

Hole 18 - Love this hole despite its difficulty. Long narrow shot (wetlands and cattails on right, woods on left) with a low ceiling to a small landing zone amongst the dorms to either a hyzer or overhand over or around the water hazard, to a fairly small landing zone where the basket sits. Go left and your disc is lost. Go right and you are OB easily, go long and your disc is wet though retrieveable. The dorm removes a big hyzer so options limited and the passage between water and building is narrow so don't end up right of the building on initial drive or you are going to have to bomb a blind forehand over the water (or take a short approach shot to get in front of building which is a stroke added)

All in all, love this course. Immediately texted my friend and said "we have to play this" as he doesn't get out much anymore. I had not played in a year and this was my welcome back. I shot 1 over and 3 under par for my 2 rounds so from the shorts, it is do-able.

The long tees are just another beast entirely.


7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course on a nice campus.

1    11/22/2015   11/22/2015
Review By: Jags
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2016
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice well maintained course. Good signs that point in direction of next hole. 3 tee boxes on each hole. Nice layout of holes with lots of different shots.
Cons: The only tee boxes with rubber tend to be the pro tees. Other tee boxes are grass/gravel/sidewalk. Course can get a little muddy but with all the water hazards I guess that should be expected. Watch out for people before throwing. This course plays around campus buildings. Course can be confusing to follow cause it don't play in your typical circle pattern of most courses. Download a map before playing.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course! Definitely a course I'd play again.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Get out your high speed drivers

1    8/24/2015   9/25/2015
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 161  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 6.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course at SRU is a bomber's dream, consisting of many long, wide open par 4's and 5's. The redesign uses the potential of the property well with some pretty drastic elevation changes and by having formed a few much-needed wooded holes. I'd imagine the pros enjoyed playing this style of course, especially for a final 9 setting, being able to showcase their power and accuracy in throwing some ridiculous bombs. This course tested my power probably more than any other one I've played.

Altogether, there is a huge variety of distances (156-879') and pars (six par 4's and three par 5's). And if you love using you high speed drivers, you'll get plenty of chances from the gold tees with the shortest hole being 315'. Many of the holes incorporate elevation changes in a wide variety of ways, most notably 7's extreme uphill shot and 12's downhill bomb.

Water is used very effectively and in different, interesting ways. You get a few straight over the pond shots (1, 6, and 18), a spike hyzer (4), and a creek behind the basket (5).

This course provides some pretty unique holes, like 17's sharp left to right shot that starts out open and then plays through an opening in the woods. The multidimensional holes like this and 15 help elevate the course and give it more variety.

As usual with campus courses, it's immaculately clean, maintained, and for the most part free of any rough. This is appreciated when a course is long and open like this one - bad shots don't get punished with searches for your disc. But, there are chances that you'll get punished by throwing O.B., which is well used throughout the course.

While there are some long walks between holes, navigation is well guided by an abundance of 'next tee' signs.

The tees signs and baskets are great and look brand new. The gravel-filled rubber mats from the golds are comfortable to throw from and are a great size.
Cons: Sometimes campus courses are conveniently tucked away on a more secluded piece of college property, like the nearby IUP course. Others are campus courses in the truest sense and play right through the middle of the action. While some holes are more secluded, playing here when school is in session means being interfered (or being the one interfering) with people and events. On the Monday evening that I played, the campus was sprawling with students and sports activities. The first six holes or so play close to and even over a congested walking path. Also, some of the middle holes play next to sports fields which could cause some interference. With wind, hole 12's downhill bomb could cause errant shots to hit off the dorm or onto the patio area. Trust me, I did both.

The open nature of the course got repetitive for me, but I should note that I much prefer shorter, wooded holes than longer, open ones. Luckily, there were a few wooded holes sprinkled in there. I would have preferred less completely open shots, but that's more of a personal preference kind of thing.

While I appreciate that the different tees cater to a wide variety of players, the green/white tees are a big drop off from the golds. I feel like this course is meant to be played from the golds. Also, the green/whites are natural with spray painted boxes.
Other Thoughts: SRU has one of the best campus courses that I've played. The designers did a great job setting the course to Worlds/Pro standard with its emphasis on long, accurate drives. Any time a course stands out for something - this one being its incredible test of power - it's worth playing. A few tips: play when college is out, or if during school after 5pm so you don't have to worry about getting a parking ticket, and give yourself enough time to play from the gold tees.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.