Freeport, IL 
Krape Park Share
Uploaded By: bisket1978 Hole #18
3 / 412ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Worth the Drive

2-4    7/27/2018   8/9/2018
Review By: JAL3
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the course you think of when you think "disc golf." It's got woods, obstacles, water hazard, open shots. short-moderate distance, and concrete tee pads.
Cons: Hole 11 tee pad faces the wrong way since they moved the layout to not interfere with the walking path. It's actually perpendicular to the line of throw. 11 basket is down the hill, along the road at the end of the brush on the right. Basically shooting down the tree tunnel. This is the one grass tee pad, which is really a mud pad at this point.
Navigation around the course makes sense in terms of flow except 12 and 13. They're down the walking path by the bridge that crosses the river going towards the carousel. Then you have to walk back to 14, which starts where 11 ended.
Signage isn't really the best, and you have to spin in a circle a few times in some spots to figure out where you're going next.
Other Thoughts: I love the atmosphere of this course, but an updated course map is an order.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty, great for newbies

5+    9/12/2015   9/14/2015
Review By: perklc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Most of the course is pretty wide open, but does have some trees to add some challenge. There are a few holes that may be a bit more challenges as you throw through the woods (namely holes 4 and 5). It's a fun course that doesn't get too busy and is in a beautiful park.

All of the tee pads are cement, which is nice.

Additionally, there is a bathroom and a Pepsi machine near hole 1 that are easily accessible until hole 11.
Cons: The signage could use an update. It's not terrible, but I think it could use some new signs.

It is in a popular park, so during peak times (weekends especially) you'll have to watch out for walkers, bike riders, and cars.

After a few days of rain, or any good, hard rain, the lower holes (11-15) are pretty flooded and stay flooded for quite some time.
Other Thoughts: It's not the greatest course in the world, but it is a fun course in a beautiful park.

Just to correct something a recent reviewer had said: hole 11 is not at the top of the hill, throwing downhill over a switchback walking trail. That is the tee pad for the previous hole 11. In order to find the actual tee pad for hole 11, when looking at the number 10 basket from the #10 tee direction, look to the left, and you will see a walking path that takes you to the switchback. Follow that down to the very bottom of that hill, and the #11 tee pad will be on the right.

 Summer fun

5+    7/28/2015   7/29/2015
Review By: dwbaker
Played: 49  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 23.4 Years
Pros: Number of great options besides disc golf. Twin caves, paved trail for walking/biking, Flagstaff for picnic, boats for river canoeing/paddling, playground beside disc golf course and below by the tennis courts and mini-golf course.

This course offers a number of different types of holes and requires some lefty turns and righty turns, some ups and downs.
Cons: A bit buggy on holes 3-5. A few holes have changes since I played a few years ago. Hole 6 has a new basket location which helps as it was near a bush that ate many discs in the past. Hole 8 has a nice tea pad to throw, do not miss left towards the run off creek as there is a lot of poison ivy on the banks. Hole 11 tee pad is on the other side of the road. Be aware that you are throwing all the way down the hill and there is a switchback trail where you are throwing. Be sure to check if it is clear and/or have someone watch for you. After hole 12, there is a long walk to your right by a couple benches and you'll come out the other side where hole 13 tee awaits.

 Hilly and can be wet

5+    7/9/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: Pink69
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A great challenge with the trees.Love the way the holes differ.Some uphill some downhill.Also a thru thru the trees.
Cons: A lot of walking,had a few issues finding a few holes.Sometimes hard to throw with a lot of traffic.
Other Thoughts: My personal best was par59

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Home Field Advantage

5+    5/1/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: buggzbrown
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: LOVELY park that the course is set in. This is my home course even though we have two in town, this is the one I and and almost everyone i know prefer. lots of challenging tree lined shots, also some nice open shots for new players. all around great course. play it nearly every day.
Cons: WATER.... i know its a part of the game but two of the holes run directly next to the yellow creek. More than a few times wind has gotten under my disc and its gone for a swim.
Other Thoughts: Not much bad i can say about this course. when your done disc golfing take a boat out on the creek or go mini golfing or play tennis this park is full of fun activities for an entire day.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    8/12/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: allonzy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mix and match of some wooded yet "fair" fairways and more open fairways. Grounds are well taken care of minus all of the dirt around the baskets, doesn't help that we are in a drought either. Some holes have 2/3 pin placements that help keep the course fresh each month.
Cons: Hole 5 has a very narrow "fairway" that most players do not like. The opening in the trees does not follow down to the basket. Even though they are making attempts to change things, there are still a few holes that are way to easy and are obvious ace runs.
Other Thoughts: This course has ALL concrete tees now and several of the baskets have new positions that many have not seen yet. We are in the process of adding in even more pin placements!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 If iI's Not Scottish It's Not Krap

1    6/16/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 1029  Reviewed: 480  Exp: 9.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice large kiosk with information on one side and a soda machine on the back side.
2) Nice large rectangular concrete tees are always appreciated.
3) DGA signs with Hole #, Par, Distance, and a Map are decent signs that help with figuring out where you are throwing.
4) Nice mix of open park like holes coupled with a handful of tight wooded holes.
5) Elevation in play on many holes including some faster greens (potential for roll-a-ways).
6) Excellent old park with mature Oaks and other trees.
7) There is a river in play but more than that it is a nice visual on the course. Couple that with the waterfall as you drive into the park and it is a beautiful property for disc golf.
8) Bathrooms are available at the 1st tee and 18th basket.
Cons: 1) Weedy thin turf throughout this course. Some areas are in decent shape, but many areas are thin.
2) There are some areas that are absolute jail . . . specifically left of #7 (a virtual cliff 45' to the left of the basket) and a few other areas near the woods with a lot of underbrush.
3) There are a couple places where the road is in play. You throw along the exit road on #1, over the exit road on #3, along the road on the big downhill #11, and along the road on #12.
4) They made some effort to indicate the next tee on the baskets but the signs were inconsistent and low quality. I appreciate the effort but wish it was perfect.
5) Compaction was evident in the woods from the limited fairways.
Other Thoughts: I was 5' from losing my Ace Disc (5 aces with this disc) Star Gator on an approach along the river. Fortunately it held up in the grass and I nailed the 45' putt for my 3. That might have affected my rating of this course . . . just kidding. It is a solid course with excellent variety and elevation change. It is challenging for multiple reasons. It was also a beautiful course, lots of mature trees, a river, some nice tight wooded shots etc. I played this in the rain because I was on a mission that day to play a bunch of new courses but I do not feel the rain negatively impacted my impression of this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Gnarly Views and Possible Aces

1    4/7/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: juicebox
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Who doesn't like a shot, at say, 8-10 realistic Aces?!? Very nice scenery around the park as well. I like how open it plays yet does present a few challenges with the more enclosed holes like #5(i think). Its also not too daunting of a course to take a child out frolfing with you.
Cons: Not a fan of the wood chip tees. Bathrooms are a long ways away after the #11. Be aware if you're a "token" player, the Park Fuzz was well represented.
Other Thoughts: I really dig this course! Its very beautiful and well maintained. I look forward to rocking this one again!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    10/29/2011   11/1/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 471  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 15.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set within a large park that has holes weaving in and out amongst the various park roads. There aren't any other things to interfere with the DG, really, but waiting for cars is a real possibility.
- Large majority of the holes have pretty open fairways, with a few bigger trees to contend with. These force a variety of lines, with a multitude of various RHBH hyzers of differing lengths, as well as some straight shots. Usually there are a lot of different lines available, yet there are enough trees to make things interesting. Minor elevation changes also present here and there.
- Other holes have some cool features that stand out. Some very dense forest on holes #4, #5, and #10 demand big accuracy to avoid getting knocked down into some nasty areas. Decent elevation changes are present on these holes too. Water is present as well; to the left of #13's fairway and in front of #15's teepad. A steep cliff by #8 and #9 is another hazard; I don't know what you'd have to do to get your disc back there! A lot of walking perhaps.
- Great variety in hole length, there are a lot of ace runs with ten holes at or under 250', and also five holes over 315' (three over 400'). Helps to keep things interesting from start to finish.
- Mix of teepads from dirt to woodchips to concrete, all were decent except for some loose woodchip ones. Signs and baskets were good, navigation was not a problem especially with the map.
Cons: - Overall, the course plays very short, and has a good amount of open shots. In other words, the difficulty isn't there for most of the round. If you can avoid the various hazards, be it jail, the water, or the cliff, it is very easy to score well here.
- A hefty amount of pavement here, to the point where it gets pretty annoying. Both an eyesore and a distraction, especially if there is any traffic at all.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, a very fun course with some very cool shots. The elevated teepad over yellow creek on #15 is a fun bomber and highlights the round. Other holes with elevation changes and/or dense tree coverage help to provide some more fun and challenge. More experienced players won't be tested too greatly, and true beginners might lose a disc or two, otherwise it should be a good time for all!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  newbee

2-4    8/16/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: Pink-Discinator
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I liked the creativity of the course.I liked that alot of the course was short distance throws.
Cons: For now course needs a touch up from the recent flood.
Other Thoughts: Also like the fact that where the course is their are other options of entertainment.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.