Buies Creek, NC 
Campbell University Share
Uploaded By: OrangeCamel Hole #5 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 145ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Black Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
 Fun challenging course

1    12/28/2011   12/29/2011
Review By: Kent18
Played: 191  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is more fun then it would seem to appear. Great balance of holes. Good use of the land its on. Great new baskets. Two teepads for every hole; black is more difficult then the orange teepads. Even though most holes are under 250 feet, they still have a decent challenging factor. Not too many easy birdies.
Cons: The teepads are earth based. On several of the holes they are uneven and it makes it very difficult to have a confident tee shot. Until you get to the last 5 holes or so this course is short. It could have better signage, currently painted rocks mark most of the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is better than the university stigma that may or may not be attached to it. I am a stickler when it comes to natural teepads but this courses fun flow kept me going. Even though overall its a short course you still have to excute to shoot under here if your an intermediate/advanced level player. Bogeys can still happen here even with it being so short. I would easily go to a 3.5 if they were able to upgrade to a better teepad. I have played three of these college courses now, and this one is probably my favorite.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Itís easier to get a camel through the eye of a needle

2-4    5/10/2011   12/21/2011
Review By: Olorin
Played: 411  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 40.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/22/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Design:
*Two layouts; Orange and Black- 2 sets of tees on 14 holes
*Nice fairway shape variety- Black layout has 7 Lt/ 4 Rt/ 7 St. Pretty well balanced
*Elevation variety- most holes have some elevation change, even if most are slight to moderate. Black layout has 12 Up/ 3 Down/ 3 Flat
*Water on 4 holes, especially in play by the hole 8 green.

Basics:
*Baskets- excellent new Chainstars! I love these baskets.
*Ease of navigation- there are excellent marked paths and with the map it's very easy to find your way around.

Amenities:
*Scorecards- excellent, with colored hole maps. Available online.
*Map- very clear and colorful. Available online.
Cons:
Basics:
-Tees: dirt and some are not level. Eventually I hope they'll get something permanent.
-Signs need improvement. Currently the tee markers are only white stones with a colored marker. They're adequate but could be improved.

Design:
-Blind tee shots: on each layout there are 6 holes with blind tee shots to baskets you can't see. The hole maps give you the direction and fairway shape, though.
-(A small quibble) one navigation point.-- on hole 6 the Black tee is very close to Black tee 8, so it was just a wee bit confusing which tee to use.
Other Thoughts:
Black Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 900.)
Orange Course Level: Red (most suited for Juniors and Intermediate players rated 850)

~Terrain variety: basically all woods holes with a few holes having a bit wider more open fairways. The fairways are mostly cleared and well defined, but they are usually tight, so accuracy is essential. It's a pretty piece of property.
~Length variety: by design this is a short course to get college students hooked on disc golf; therefore most of the holes are rather short. Black layout has 10 of 125-199/ 7 of 200-299/ 1 of 330
~The Orange layout is short, but great for beginners.

This is a really good course for a college campus and a great way to introduce new players to the sport. The two layouts provide good variety, even though more experienced players will probably find both layouts to be short. Still, I'd walk a mile to play this course!
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My Enjoyment Ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole ratings and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my review philosophy and rating notes at Disc Golf Course Reviews
----------
I'm always trying to improve my reviews, so if you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a Personal Message to tell me what is wrong with it. I'll be grateful for the feedback.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My humps, my humps...

1    7/12/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 168  Reviewed: 165  Exp: 12.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very wooded, natural course with defined fairways, critters, a delightful creek, and 2 sets of tees. Next tee signs keep you on track and the course flows really well considering it's a college course. Bright orange trash bags dot the course here and there for waste makers.

Tees are designated by orange rocks for the novices, and black for the "experts." Orange layout is basically short, straight, and to the point. Black has more line shaping to do, a little longer, a little more elevation in play, and some early trouble and tight fairways to deal with.

The Black layout is great for developing your wooded finesse game and needle-threading with a putter/mid abilities. Really all you need is a putter, your favorite line-shaping mid (if you're not proficient with a putter) and maybe something to FH/OH if you're really looking to score well. While that usually denotes a ho-hum pitch-and-putt, this course is tight and technical enough to provide enough challenge to most disc golfers and keep them entertained, at least those with crappy approach games.

I was really surprised how pretty it is, while it's not rustic or verdant, it's full of wildlife, has quirky elevation, and plays cleverly enough around a creek to give you that "back to nature" feel.
Cons: Trash. Really disappointing how many bottles/cans I saw considering the trashbags available and the natural feel of the course. It would behoove the locals to organize a trash day.

Natural tees: Not the worst but not great either, typical natural tees. The tees are a little crowded by trees so if you're a big run-up guy you won't like them. At least you don't need much of a run-up really, which leads me to...

Poor distance variety: Very easy to get your arm dialed into that 150-200' range so distance wise it can get repetitive. Fortunately, the last 3-4 holes from the Blacks throw some sneaky distance at you so it finishes strong.

Watch out for snakes. I spotted a black snake sneaking away from my lie. Also saw a fat green caterpillar hanging around so watch your step.
Other Thoughts: Fave/Signature Hole: #7 has some rolling elevation and a little dam/finger of land to throw over. I kind of reminds me of really old earthworks of an old battlefield. Solid, fun hole. Very befitting of the "Fighting Camels."

Hole # 16 is sneaky long compared to the rest, you actually have to consider how you want to navigate the fairway to get your par as opposed to the first 15 holes or so where you just hit the gap and pick up the pieces for either a deuce or undramatic par.

I gave this a 3 b/c for a pitch-and-putt I was pretty entertained. If it was more of park-style course I'd hit it with a 2.5 but the two layouts, nice baskets, pretty woods, and line variety was enough to justify a 3 for me.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    3/1/2011   3/13/2011
Review By: Mpconrad
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good for students, being that the course is on Campus. Nice elevation changes and incorporating the creek in to play on the middle holes. 2 sets of tees, make for an almost 36 hole set-up.
Cons: Short, thin fairways, LOTS OF TREES, will lose blood if disc is thrown off of fairway due to briar beds and dirt tees.
Other Thoughts: Nice work guys on building a course and starting a club at CU !

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 An Immature Cornwallis

2-4    2/22/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: aggreen
Played: 198  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The middle holes were very picturesque as a creek runs through the center of the course. Provides a tranquil and serene experience.
The fairways are cleared and well defined on most holes, as the underbrush is cleared.
While the course has no tee pads, they were flat with no real root or uneven tee area issues.
Each pathway was bordered by tree limbs - a nice appeal to the natural feel of the course - as much as a guide to the next tee.
It is brand new, so baskets are in excellent condition.
Cons: No signs - no tee signs, no next hole signs, no signs stating that the course is there. It is fairly easy to navigate if you have the map, but still would improve the experience much more.
There is a cross country path that goes around the course - some errant throws (long or tree hits) might interfere with runners on the trail, but seems like that would be a rare occurrence.
Some of the creek crossings are a little treacherous (#3 for example) - looks like a log bridge might be in the works there though. You have your typical NC hazards - briers, ticks and possibly some snakes, due to the creek holes.
The course is still maturing, so foot traffic and ceiling cutaways will help with it's development, but it does have that raw feel and some throws will be affected by low ceilings.
Other Thoughts: Charles did an absolutely great job with the amount of land and terrain he had to work with and the layout of the holes.
The course is short. I didn't find this a con, but it is a variable that keeps it from a high rating as well. This is billed as a short wooded course and fits that designation.
This is a dense forest, so there are many tight fairways and a few blind dog legs.
Orange pads are, basically, a green-level course. Black pads are, seemingly, for intermediate players - not tough, but offers some tight shots, especially in the final holes. Tees are defined with black or orange squares on white rocks. Signs (tee, next hole and that a course exists on Campbell) would move this up to a 3 disc rating.
From a Raleigh perspective, this is a fun round for some ace runs or to work on your woods game. If you are on the south or east side of Raleigh, and Cornwallis is farther away, then this is your woods option. No other decent courses in the area (Jack Marley Park is a joke) hurts this course's usage - although that might be a positive for locals.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Kinda cool

1    11/6/2010   11/6/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 11 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee positions on almost every hole. Orange and Black. The blacks either play longer or really change the angles to add challenge. pretty well laid out. Navigation is mostly simple. There were 2 spots that were a little tricky. Print the map and scorecard and you will be fine.

Good place to bring a new player or possibly children. This is the shortest course I have played. If you are new, or want to teach someone the game, this would be a good place to go.

Nice creek, rocks and scenery in the totally wooded course. Probably a good place to be on a hot NC day.
Cons: Short, short, short. As in 10 holes under 200' from the long tees. Short tees have shots as short as 115'. If you have played much at all this is not the course for you.

No wide open bombs. No length.

Tee pads are all natural. Some uneven surfaces, roots and issues. But you don't need much of a run-up with a 150' hole.
Other Thoughts: This course is good for what it was built for. College kids bringing their girlfriends out into the woods for a round of golf. Nicely organized with a nice little creek, rocks and trees. I would recommend if you want to bring a total newcomer or children to a course. If you have any game you will not be satisfied. But don't make the drive to Buies Creek if you think you are going to build up your ace count. Basket positions and a low ceiling take away a lot of the easy ace runs. you can get some, but they are not a bunch of gimmies.

There are a couple tight longer holes here, so don't be surprised if you get a bogey or two. The last 3 holes offer you the best length and challenge. Including a 330' hole through some tight woods.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.