Elkton, FL 
Moccasin Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: NashuaSolstice Hole #23 (Taken 1/2013)
3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #23 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Maybe The Next St. Augustine Trolley Stop ?

1    10/5/2021   10/13/2021
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 761  Reviewed: 384  Exp: 28.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Moccasin Creek DGC at St. Johns Fairgrounds sits conveniently just off of I-95 and a short distance from St. Augustine . It only took me 23 minutes to drive from my vacation condo to there .
This is a 26 hole course .
There is plenty of parking near hole #1 , and additional parking in the back of the course at the fairgrounds . There is a Port O Let that is accessible near hole #1 , and near the hole 12 basket .
THE EQUIPMENT -- At the disc golf lot there is a kiosk with both information and a map of the course . the kiosk also has a lost disc box attached to the back of it , and a basket in the front of it with loaner discs in case you didn't bring or have one . That was a classy touch . There is also a practice basket near hole 1 .
There are 2 tee pads on pretty much all of the holes . The long tees are cement and 8' X 3 1/2 ' , and the short tees are shorter turf pads , maybe 6' X 3' . Great signage here . Blue signs on posts for the long pads and red signs for the shorts . Both describe hole #, par , flight path and distance from both pads to both baskets .There are hooks behind the sign posts where you can hang your bag while throwing from the tee . With the 2 tees , there are also 2 , sometimes 3 baskets for the holes . The extra baskets only appear on the front 12 of the course . The baskets are yellow Discatchers for the long positions and white Discatchers for the shorts . Also included on the course are at least 2 long poles to use if your disc is caught in a tree . I remember 1 resting on a tree limb on hole #8 .
THE LANDSCAPE -- Okay , the course is dry and flat . Other than throwing off a hill on hole 26 , a ridge to throw over on hole 13 , and a man made hill with the basket perched on it on holes 1 and maybe 4 , the elevation never breaks about 2' on a hole . Moccasin Creek is divided into 2 parts . The first 12 holes are set in a chunk of the park that looks exclusively made for disc golf . The 2nd part is made up of 14 holes that tour around the fairgrounds . I can see where playing this back part can be a problem if something like a fair, festival or other extracurricular activity is going on ( more in cons ) The course is mostly park style , with some basket placements that utilize the different types of trees on the course and more wide open for bombs on the back part . There are some brush lines on parts of this course , but most of it is outside of the rectangular 12 hole section of the first 12 , and on the right of you for holes 13 , 14 and 15 . There is a high fence on the right of the fairway of maybe hole 16 that could come into play on a windy day . Throwing over it would cause a long walk .
The course was mowed , trimmed up and very clean when I played it . There were trash cans here , throughout . I have to mention the Spanish moss that covers a lot of the trees here . It just adds something nice to the course for me .
THE HIGHLIGHTS -- Moccasin Creek will not blow you away with crazy and difficult holes , but it will entertain you, and has some length to some of the holes . Right off the bat , #1s fairway is a tunnel shot ( 354' from the longs ? not sure about that ) , One of the baskets sits on a mound at the end .
#4 is a tight mando shot bending left to a hanging basket .
#8 is one of the longer holes on the course . 560' , it is an open blaster hole , but hides the baskets behind trees and bushes at the end .
#16 ( over 500' ) is a long bending drive that works its way to the basket placed in a small grove .
#25 is the longest hole on the course ( 880' ) working its way eventually right and over a small service road , to the basket flanked by a couple of trees .
#26 is an open bomber hole that starts from an elevated tee on a hill , along a completely open fairway , to a basket protected by trees on all sides , and a fence with brush right behind it .
Signature Hole -- Not long or complicated , this wide open 274' shot ends with the elevated basket that sits on a replica of the St. Augustine Lighthouse . The basket is at least 8 or 9' high , but your disc drops down into the lighthouse where you can retrieve it in the front window of it . Its worth taking a picture of it .
DISC RISK -- Low . With no water on the course and it being so clean , plus the poles helping you knock your disc out of a tree , I would think it would be hard to lose your disc . I may be wrong , though . The course has a locked lost disc box ( even though it was empty when I was there ) .
THE TIME -- The course can be deceptively long in spots , and I had to reroute my holes because of a police dog exhibition , so it took me almost an hour and forty five minutes to complete . Maybe a solo , depending on playing the longs or shorts , could get through in an hour and 30 . A group of 4 could take 2 1/2 to play all 26 .
I was told that the course can be crowded during the weekends . Plan accordingly .
Hey , Moccasin Creek is 26 holes !
Cons: #1 SAFETY -- There might be some safety issue , mostly in the first 12 holes , because some fairways run next to each other , and the course might be populated at times . You don't have to keep your head on a swivel , but you need to be aware , if crowded .
#2 AVAILABILITY -- The back 14 holes might not be playable if a fair or festival is going on . I had to avoid some type of police dog training that was taking a few of the holes away for a while . Be considerate and skip holes if you have to .
#3 REPETITION -- Some of the holes here seem alike . Straight ahead to the basket . I guess you might have to do that in spots in order to fit 26 holes .
The course is flat and has no water holes . Still 26 holes .
Bring bug spray . It can be bad in spots .
Other Thoughts: Lots of things that I personally liked about this course . The designer , Harvey Barnes , and others didn't put some 200' extra hole in order to make it 27 . They have added a hole ( 26 ) because they wanted to . The course is a great place to pass the time , and it's split at hole 12 where you can cross the road if you want to play the other 14 . If you are pressed for time , you can be done in 45 minutes just playing the first part .
Please be aware that since the course is popular with the locals , that they have Friday evening doubles , and Sunday 1:00 bagtag challenges , so you may want to plan around those times .
Thanks to the St Johns Fairgrounds people , City of Elkton Parks and Rec , and local disc golf club for allowing me to enjoy your course for the day .
MY RECOMMENDATION -- A great course for intros and newbies . The first 12 holes can be a fun after dinner round for families . There were a lot of locals here on the Tuesday night that I was here , so it is popular with them . There is some length and good design on some short holes that would cause some intermediated to pros coming for round here and there . This course is perfect for the St. Augustine or local beach vacationer to grab a round or 3 . Travelers on I-95 will ike the proximity for a leg stretch that is easy on the knees . The course sits away from a lot of other courses , but the course collector will like it here , anyway . I guess this sum it up . Moccasin Creek is a MUST PLAY for anyone on the Northeast side of Florida . PLAY IT !!!!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good course, fun to play

1    4/5/2018   4/9/2018
Review By: dabelcher3
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find baskets
Wide open course, not much OB
Not a lot of rough but enough to provide a little challenge
Cons: A few of the holes felt repetitive, just long straight shots on a flat open field
Other Thoughts: Due to time constraints we only played the front 12 holes. It's Florida so everything is wide open and flat. First tee is an elevated basket and the designer did a good job using the vegetation to add some challenge and variety. The course is in the middle of nowhere but worth a drive to check it out if you're vacationing in St Augustine.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

1    6/5/2017   6/5/2017
Review By: benwilly
Played: 28  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Nice concrete tee pads
2. Easy to find the next hole
3. Some cool twists such as a light house basket on hole 18
4. Some short and long holes
5. Trash cans throughout the course
6. Some nice scenery throughout the course
Cons: 1. Not many left or right curves
2. The back 13 holes are closed during state fair activities
3. Not many trees or obstacles to avoid
4. Chains are close to holes and can be confusing which chain goes to which hole
Other Thoughts: Pretty decent course not to far from the beaches on st Augustine. Definitely a course to try if your on vacation there

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    6/11/2016   6/23/2016
Review By: bilborph
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads.
Good signage for each hole.
First 12 holes make good use of the trees on the property.
Usually not too many others on the course. It is not a place with joggers or picnic areas to compete for the space.
Cons: No short tees.
Back 13 holes may be unavailable if there is an event at the fairgrounds.
The distance of some of the holes are difficult for a rec player.
Other Thoughts: I find the course good, but boring. Most holes are pretty straight with a minimal amount of obstacles.

 Quick break from St Augustine

1    7/2/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: willsmithfinland
Played: 46  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Convenient location and signage for holes. The course is also well marked, e.g. yellow poles and approach signs. The scenery and design make the course good for those who like or sometimes want to jog and throw through a course.
Cons: Holes are too close to one another, and there is not a parking lot or pavilion next to information board. Bugs and players with allergies will be concerns.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the course is decent and worth a drive if you are visiting the area or need a break from shopping at the St Augustine Outlets. The first 12 holes start at the end of the road, and be prepared for bugs. For example, the course has a lot of ant hills, so think twice about carrying a bag. I would also recommend bug spray even in the hottest conditions. If you have allergies, specifically grass, then bring a pair of knee-high or soccer socks. About half of the holes are too close to one another, so the course is good for exercise and a decent round. For example, the first 12 holes could be cut back to 9 with hole #10 being the end of the first leg. The course definitely has the opportunity to improve.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 More is Less

1    12/21/2013   12/23/2013
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 383  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 45.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, although a bit small. Solid DISCatcher baskets, but covered in mildew. Well manicured. Most holes have clear flight lines. Decent balance of left & rights and informative tee signs. Fairly easy to navigate.
Cons: Nearly EVERY tee, pin or fairway shares a proximity issue with another tee, pin or fairway. Which makes one wonder why the designer felt it necessary to cram that many holes into the area. At least 2 tee pads are WITHIN the putting circle of the previous pin... which makes navigation fairly easy. Several other tees are only a few feet outside of the circle.

A fantastic opportunity for a multi-choice fairway was overlooked on #24, because fairway #23 was jammed up against it. The 800+ foot fairway #25 has to curve around a cluster of portable buildings.

This course just eeks by as passable for casual play, but for tournament play, I would fully expect casual-ties.
Other Thoughts: This is a 25-hole course with the front 12 holes in a grassy grove of trees, mostly oaks, west of the fairgrounds, and 13 more holes on the south and east areas of the fairgrounds. Roughly 2/3 of the actual fairways fall within the realm of reason...Although many more exciting possibilities become evident with a simple turn of the neck or by sidestepping a few feet.
Clearly, More is LESS when it comes to cramming too many holes into limited spaces.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Stop

2-4    8/1/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 10.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've played this course twice, both times while driving from Savannah to Orlando. For that purpose, it's absolutely perfect. Open spaces with no brush mean you don't spend any time looking for a disc. Easy navigation and relatively short holes mean the first 18 play quickly, and you can get back on the road. If you have more time on your hands, there are an extra seven holes, including the the final, 870-foot hole. Personally, I like playing twenty-one. That's eighteen, plus the three that head back towards the parking area. So depending on your time, you have options.

I've also seen two different looks on this course. In winter, it's very easy. The fairways are mostly open looks at the basket. There are trees on the course(at least in the first 12 holes), but a well placed shot can put you in birdie range most of the time. In the heat of summer, those trees sprout foliage that narrow a lot of those fairways considerably. On the shorter holes in particular, the gaps that you will need to fit your disc through can be quite challenging then.

In either case, its a great learning course. The trees will teach new players a ton about where they want their throw to turn, in either direction. It's a clean course on mowed grass where the obstacles to your score aren't just thick brush that couldn't be removed. The trees are not only nice-looking, but impact the course in an extremely positive way.
Cons: After twelve though, you cross the parking area and enter the fairgrounds proper. The holes are a lot less challenging, and a less interesting after that point.

Even in the first twelve, its a little cramped, with holes traversing the same meadow in different ways. It uses the available space well, but there are definitely multiple points in which tees and fairways are in the path of other throwers.

Other Thoughts: The next tee is often just a few steps from the previous basket, which is nice if you want to lay quickly,(except for five, which is near the fourth tee, and twelve? which I might not have found if I didn't remember walking by it on the ninth fairway.

There aren't any signature holes, and its completely flat, but there are few bad holes and I'll probably stop here the majority of the times that I'm making a similar drive.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Day Out

1    5/29/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: brspiritus
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course is well laid out with the first half of the holes on one side of the road and the last ones on the fairgrounds side. Nice wide open spaces with sporadic trees really lets you develop your distance game.
Cons: Long, long, long course. Bring your walking shoes.
Other Thoughts: We made a day of it and brought lunch. Took a break after finishing the first set of holes. My wife gave up after 18 holes but my friend and I finished the course. Couldn't really get big D on the last hole because of a stiff headwind but it made for a challenging finish and I only bogeyed the hole.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great Open Course

1    1/26/2013   1/27/2013
Review By: KnightsDG
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Course was awesome, I went with my little brother who had never played Disc Golf before and this was the perfect course because I found it very forgiving. I am also a fairly new player so I cant comment to much on the technical side of shots but I found there to be many fun holes. Right off the bat hole #1 is surrounded by a bunker and elevated which was a great way to start things off. Overall this is a fun course
Cons: Not much to look at as the course is on a big open lot with sporadic trees so there inst that usual sense of adventure that most courses have but other than that I liked this course.
Other Thoughts: I will defiantly be coming back as there were hardly any other players on a beautiful Saturday, if I was local I would play here weekly just for the pure fun factor.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Better place for beginner

5+    9/1/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: MaxUFC
Played: 107  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2015
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Great for long distance practicing
- 25 baskets
- plenty parking on either sides



Cons: - bugs & fireants
- out of bound over a fence where thick palm bushes and plenty orb spiders there
- distance from stores
- some tee box closer to other baskets.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.