Elkton, FL 
Moccasin Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: AJ_86 Hole #18 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 274ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 I drew blood at Moccasin Creek

1    2/11/2012   2/26/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 947  Reviewed: 480  Exp: 8.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice concrete tees with the Hole # stenciled on the paver inlay in the corner of the concrete tees. This is both attractive and functional.

2) Nice signs have all the information needed . . .Hole #, Distance, Par, a map of the hole, and sponsors. The holes were also named which is something I have seen a lot lately and I think that is a really good idea and something that can set this sport apart from golf. Instead of remembering #17 at Sawgrass they will remember something like "The Bear Den" or "Rattlesnake Rock" or something to that effect. Sure not all courses need to have their holes named, but I think it could become something that is important in the course design.

3) Benches, bag holders, and garbage cans are at every tee.

4) #1 green is a sandbag bunker (but elevated above the ground rather than below ground. This is something I have never seen before and is a unique thing you will remember on this course.

5) Nice directionals to get you around the course . . . always helpful for a travelling disc golfer such as myself.

6) Nice newer discatchers in great shape.

7) The turf seems to be decent condition throughout the park. Sure it is still the sandy soil that you see in much of Florida but the grounds seem to be well kept.

8) Excellent use of distance variation on this course with holes ranging from 100's up to 400's and one 800' to end the round. Lots of different discs needed out here.

9) There are plenty of birdie opportunities and there are plenty of holes that will challenge you to make par. There seemed to be just the appropriate amount of fun to challenge ratio.

10) Distance was used more so on the bask 13 holes, but there also seemed to be more birdie opportunities here so it never got repetitive or boring.

11) Another cool feature is the use of one of the USDGC (or other major tournament) baskets on their 25th hole.
Cons: 1) I would assume this course is not playable during activities on the fairgrounds despite the course being removed from all the other activities. I do not know this for sure but something to definitely consider checking .

2) Front 12 holes are on a really tight property . . .there might be a few places where fairways get near each other and tees that could be hit by errant shots.

3) Flat Flat Flat . . . the only elevation change was the septic hill on #13 and the sandbag elevated bunker. Typical of Florida.

4) I birdied 4 holes in a row on the back 13 holes and it seemed like a little bit more of a mixup could have been better. Those were all the shorter more open holes on the back 13, but I suppose they had to layout the course the way they did to take advantage of the land and the few key trees back there.

5) A few of the tees do not seem to be aligned perfectly at the baskets . . . not sure if maybe there are alternate basket locatons, which would make sense but they did not seem to line up to where I was playing on a few holes.

6) Teepads are on the small end of the spectrum for a longer course which you might want to use a full runup.
Other Thoughts: I had a really good time playing this course. It is not the most challenging, it isn't the prettiest, but it has a pretty nice variety of shot required. You can throw a lot of different shots including rollers, anhyzers, hyzers, spike shots. You need to keep some shots low under the ceiling and others you can take as high as you want. The only thing lacking on this course was a true tight hole . . . a couple of the shorter holes on the front 12 had tighter windows and then again on #24 but overall I would always like to see some slightly tighter holes too. I suppose this property did not allow for it . . . but I do like balance.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 St. John's Fairground

2-4    12/28/2011   1/16/2012
Review By: debuck03
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great open 25 hole course. The course is split into two sections. 1-12 then walk across the road to 13-25. Hole #25 also has different spots to practice putting. The course has many benchs and bag rests throughout the course.
Cons: No bathrooms or water fountains.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  New course, old views

2-4    12/10/2011   12/11/2011
Review By: cmgustine
Played: 49  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After reading some reviews about this course and playing it recently It has gone through some upgrades. The designer has put a lot of effort in to this course and it shows. Every tee is concrete, although a small teebox all of them are level and can be easily run up to from being with the level ground surrounding them. Tee signs and bag holders are present at every hole now and benches are at just about all of them as well.
Cons: The course is jammed in to the space that was available. To many holes to close together. First time through I threw my disc at the wrong basket 2 or 3 times, then I decided to identify the correct basket from then on out. Multiple overlapping fairways can cause confusion and be dangerous if there are other people on the course. With the land that was available I think a really good 18 holes could be created vice 25.
Other Thoughts: I shot +2 and -4 on two rounds. Knowing the course helps a lot. It is a well kept course with lots of low hanging branches around. Maybe a few more trees need cutting here or there. Don't think I would make the trip back down there (45 miles) just for the course but would play again if I was in the area for more reasons than to just play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Place in the Sun

1    7/29/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 324  Reviewed: 218  Exp: 14.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Moccasin Creek DGC offers 25 holes in a quite area surrounding the county fairgrounds. All holes are equipped with concrete tee boxes and nice new Discatcher targets. Tee signs are present and decent quality. There are bag holders at many holes, and many benches and trash cans spread around. The first twelve holes are on recently filled and leveled land, and the grass has come in nicely. The layout is not too hard to follow. There is some wind to deal with and add challenge to a few holes. There are also holes adjacent to fences with OB on the other side. No water to be found on the course.
Cons: Some holes are in close proximity to others, creating some confusion about which basket to aim at, and could cause waiting if the other nearby holes are being played. The flat and open layout means there will be some holes with mostly open lines all the way to the basket. Over the course of 25 holes, they can become somewhat redundant. The tee boxes are good quality, but too small in my opinion. There were a lot of gnats bugging out the course.
Other Thoughts: Moccasin Creek DGC is a course that offers a relaxed round on a nice course that is easy to traverse. It is not a high degree of difficulty, but I am sure it is a welcome addition for all of the area disc golfers. Very few memorable holes, but not a bad course if you happen to be in the St. Augustine area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun!!

1    7/16/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: aajpity
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Beginner Friendly
*Many open shots
*Signs telling you exactly where to go (Holes 1-12
*Not at all crowded
*Nice people (when there)
*Some nice shaded holes
*Decent amount of benches
Cons: *Spiders (in woods)
*Signs got worse on holes 13-25
*Many bugs out (you will get bitten)
Other Thoughts: It is a perfect course for beginners and avid players alike. The course is huge and took me and my grandfather an hour and 45 minutes to complete so bring lots of water, bug spray, and sun tan lotion.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  What a relief to have a course in St Augustine

5+    5/13/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: NashuaSolstice
Played: 40  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/2/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has brand new Discatchers, benches, clearly marked signs, and utilizes the lack of obstructions and lack of elevation changes nicely. The front 12 has a bit of a different feel than the more groomed back 13. There is a nice mix of a handful of long holes and a handful of ace-run holes. Hole 25 can be used as a practice basket and is marked 0 (zero). It has a red/white/blue band and is from the 2005 USDGC. Hole 8 is the only Par 4 on the course at over 500 feet, and there are two ways to approach the pin. Located in the St Johns County Fairgrounds, this course is conveniently located about five miles west from Interstate 95 about halfway between Daytona and Jacksonville. Right now the course is new so there are not many people and not ever a wait.
Cons: From May to October, there are dog-pecker gnats abound, so bring bugspray if youre into that type of thing. There are not yet multiple pin-placements and pad positions but the first set of pads were only poured a couple months ago and more options will become available over time. Holes 13 and 25 cannot be played when there are special events due to RV parking. There are a few tee pads that are close to the preceding baskets but this is generally ok for two reasons: 1) There are not many people out on the course because it is still pretty new and
2) In the case of tournaments (we just had the first one about a month ago), as long as the foursomes are scattered every other hole--which allows for 50-75 people to comfortably play--everything works out fine.
Other Thoughts: As is the case with many courses on county land, it is hard to get everything perfect. It is still a work in progress, but everything is really starting to shape up. The money for the baskets came out of pocket so hole sponsorship is a great way to promote your business and give back a little to the local community.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, if you like wide-open ace runs

1    5/11/2011   5/13/2011
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 167  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 19.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has brand-new Innova Discatchers and cement tee pads. Many tees have bagholders and benches. There are plenty of trashcans on the course.

There is almost no schule and virtually no chance of losing a disc.

The layout provides a good opportunity for intermediate-level players to work on their distance and roller shots.
Cons: It is true that, as other reviewers have mentioned, the piece of land is not great for a disc golf course. It is huge, flat, and doesn't have a lot of trees to design around. Having said that, the design has many significant flaws.

Many of the tees are too close to the preceding basket. There are many opportunities to throw a decent shot and end up on the next tee or another hole's tee. There are many opportunities for shots to end up in the adjacent hole's fairway. There is PLENTY of room on this property for an 18 hole disc golf course with adequate safety buffer between holes.

The cement tee pads are small (4X8). If there were only 18 holes instead of 25, the pads could have been 5X10 for just about the same amount of money.

This is a huge piece of property, but there's only one true multi-shot hole, #25 and that's 870 ft. wide-open across the field to a basket that can't be seen from the tee.

Many of the holes are non-descript with a tee pointing into an open field with multiple baskets visible. Many of the holes don't have tee signs yet and it's quite possible to throw at the wrong basket.

If there's ever a full course here for a tournament or otherwise, it will be extremely dangerous and annoying with all the overlapping holes.
Other Thoughts: For travelers: skip this course and play Fore Palms in Jacksonville and/or Tuscawilla in Daytona Beach instead.

Bring your bugspray.

Don't be a dirty discer, leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Other Reviews Correct

1    4/7/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: Disc_Coastie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well marked, clean, manicured ...easy to follow. Nice layout and great use of the land! Not busy when I played.
Cons: No water available on course...or I couldn't find it. County workers had vehicles parked in the shade on the first hole of the "North" side. Several baskets hidden with no direction signs, so I had to "dead head" to find the basket, then walk back to throw.
Other Thoughts: I was on vacation in Florida and this was well worth fitting into my schedule and I recommend this course highly. I will play it again!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Work In Progress

1    2/20/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: sasquach
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: We met the course designer and after the list of obstructions he had to overcome I must commend him. There were bag holders at each hole and the course was well marked with signs. Benches are being installed and many holes have them. The course has it's own space and doesn't have to share with pick-nickers, bikers, ect unless there is an event on at the fairgrounds.
Cons: The course is new and lacks signature holes because of a lack of obstructions. Hole 24 ends way out from the parking area and it is a long hike back.
Other Thoughts: Good for your ego. I shot 77, 78, and 78 when my best score on 24 holes had been a 78 at home in Ocala. I think this course will get better with each passing year if the county allows it and I will play it again when Uncle Jack and I go road trippin.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course...

5+    12/8/2011   1/23/2011
Review By: sidearmer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 12/8/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well, it's sort of off the beaten path, but I applaud St. Johns County for their efforts to offer a course to local players, and the NE Florida community. It has the potential to be a special course; I like that efforts are already under way on the front 12 holes. I would encourage the locals to continue building obstacles, and the parks department to continue planting native trees. The back 12 is great, with the addition of a true Hole 23. Like how Hole 25 brings you back toward the vehicle parking area. Overall, I love this course...good work. Good benches and bag holders!
Cons: None for me...it is not world class, but it offers a tough round. I would hope that at least two pin positions happen in the future. Also, the teepads should have been 2-3 ft longer. Lastly, safe watering spots should be offered.
Other Thoughts: Many thanks to those who worked hard to make this course happen.

Too awesome: Went out today, in 15-20 mph wind, and shot a -10, bogie free round...5/5 front and back.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.