Rutledge, GA 
Indian Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #18 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 291ft.   4 / 378ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Hidden Gem

1    6/7/2018   6/7/2018
Review By: drew2000
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely great mix of uphill, downhill, flat, wooded, and relatively open shots.

A lot of elevation change on 7 holes that makes for a great challenge both on the uphill (9, 12, 14, 18) and downhill holes (1, 10, 13, 17)

A lot of shade so even though I played this on a 90 degree June day, it felt great on most of the holes.

Very well maintained with freshly cut grass when I played it.

Front and back 9s both started and ended within 100 feet of where I parked so it would be very easy to only play half of a round or go to your car mid round if needed.

Very little traffic, Was the only one at the park the entire time I was there and I didn't hear or see a single car on the road on the few holes that you can see the road from.
Cons: The hills are VERY steep and it will be a hike. Holes 2-8 are almost perfectly flat but the only other holes on the course that you aren't hiking up or downhill is hole 11, 15, and 16. Not necessarily a bad thing but it is very physically draining... Take plenty of water and make sure to have as much as you can take with you after you walk by the parking lot on the walk to hole 10

I used my Zuca which was manageable but difficult.
Other Thoughts: This course was one of my favorites that I've played. The shots required to throw, while a few were relatively repetitive, there was still a great diversity of shots on the course. Off the tee, I threw backhand flat, anyhzer, straight, big hyzer, and hyzerflips. Also threw forehand firebird shots and even a forehand midrange flip up. I even threw a grenade on one tee shot.

This course is relatively out in the middle of nowhere and my phone wouldn't connect to service in several places including when I was leaving trying to get back to the interstate but it was easy to remember the way I came in.

I believe that if this course was in a more populated area it would be well known as a really good course and I would recommend playing it to anyone that can.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hidden Gem

1    5/7/2018   5/9/2018
Review By: pmullinax
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation on about 7 holes. Really challenging uphill tee shots, tight but fair downhill tunnels. Great tee pads and baskets. Almost no traffic or danger of other park users being in the way. it is a beautiful setting down in the meadow/floodplain area and was one of the most "natural" setting courses I've ever played. It had challenging but fair lines on most holes. Easy close access from parking lot, and it is a loop back to your car on both front/back nine. Bathroom facilities in the parking lot.
Cons: They need to replace tee signs and add next tee signs to improve navigation. Screen shot the course map on your phone before you start. Much of the course seemed RHBH friendly to me without too many shots requiring a turnover or a RHFH flick. The rough has a lot of thorns on some holes. if they had all the tee signs in place and next tee signs it would be perfect. Some of the up and down hill holes felt repetitive.
Other Thoughts: Overall I was very pleasantly surprised! I will definitely try to play here again when I'm traveling through the area!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Indian Creek Park DGC

2-4    7/30/2016   8/3/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 173  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has concrete tee pads for both tees

Has tee signs for most holes

More wooded than open fairways - which will be challenging to the casual player

Almost half of the course have changes in elevations and a few holes have doglegs

Most of the holes are under shade where this can be really appreciated in the hot and humid summers

Nice split of the front and back nines in case you want to start on hole #10

Had whole course to myself on a Saturday evening

Free Parking

Restrooms
Cons:
Some of the tee signs are missing

Has no next tee signs - consult the course map

Course could use benches, especially on the tees after the uphill holes

Lots of briar patches along the fairways on the back nine

Creek along holes 5 &7 poses a risk to lose discs as it is pretty steep on most parts

Potential flooding for the flat holes 2-8 along the flood plain
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice, challenging course in the Morgan County area that is in the middle of nowhere but easily accessible from the I-20 freeway. This multi-use park is so remote that you may not have cell phone data service available...so download the course map and keep track on how you get here. This course has steep grades of elevation on almost half of the holes with three consecutive holes starting at hole 12 going up, down, and up - what a challenge! This is a nice course to drive downhill and uphill with focus on control and accuracy. Pictures for holes 15 & 16 are outdated and do not reflect the openness from the clearing of trees. However, there are lots of briars along those and other holes. There is lots of land here and it would have been nice to have more par 4s and at least a par 5 here. The sponsor signs on the tee pads were quite odd but they didn't affect my footwork in driving unlike it might do to some players. If you're halfway between Atlanta and Augusta, I recommend playing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Extreme fun

2-4    1/1/2016   1/1/2016
Review By: Stone County Flyer
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 31.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 1-9 & then 10-18 each create a loop out and in from the parking area. This course uses the topography of the park to its maximum. At least half the course has incredible uphill and downhill shots.( will give you a real workout ). Some blind drives that require set up for second shot. Course has great design and flow. It requires multiple shot selections on most holes. Did not find course redundant. If I lived nearby I would be there constantly. I shot each set of tees and found the degree of difficulty difference between the two to be about 5 strokes. If you are in this region do not miss this course.
Cons: Really only had one basket to next tee transition search. 5 to 6 I believe. Could probably use a few more trash receptacles. I found no real problems to speak of with this course.
Other Thoughts: Someone put a lot of thought, time, and effort into this course and it shows. Thank You.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Home course

5+    5/25/2015   5/25/2015
Review By: Foyboy89
Played: 37  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2017
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great flowing layout (not a lot of tee boxes you have to look for) and the course starts and ends within 30 feet of the parking lot whoever layed out and ordered the holes put some thought into it
-Priviate sponsorship of each hole from different Churches businesses and individuals is a neat touch and another way to identify the holes (TK's tire and auto Hole for example)
-good mix of highly wooded and lightly wooded holes (one or two open holes)
-almost never played I have only seen another individual/group playing once all the times I've been out there
lots of walking distance to cover so a good workout
-Grass on the Fairways stays cut and the course seems to be maintained well.
lots of shade available and the grass and water tend to keep the temp down even on a hot day most of the course feels cool and covered
Cons: -tons of briers and thorny trees keep it on the fairways or wear pants. (don't hit the brush on 15 or 16 its all thorns)
-Floodplain on the front 9 (especially hole 8) can hold water
-quite a few sink holes from fallen trees on the wooded holes and such that can catch disc (and ankles) if your not careful.
-a few of the par ratings (most notable 12,5 and 9) seem a little low there are only 2 par 4s on the course 17 & 18 and several holes seem a lot harder than the last two. I'm not a pro or even a good player but I think making 12 a par 4 would make the scores a lot better
Other Thoughts: Its worth the trip to play this one if you haven't already a little more upkeep on the tee signs and maybe one or two longer holes (par 4/5) would make the course perfect.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A tale of 2 (maybe 2 1/2) courses

5+    4/25/2015   4/25/2015
Review By: damtroll
Played: 151  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is one of my favorites in greater Atlanta metro for several reasons. The course starts just off the parking lot for the park. Hole 1 is a fun downhill ace run with your putter that leads you down to the Indian Creek floodplain for holes 2-8. These holes are mostly open with strategically placed trees. Hole 9 takes you back uphill to the parking lot for refreshments or a pit stop. Hole 10 bombs back downhill, hole 11 is back in the floodplain, and the holes 12-14 go up, down, and back up the hill. (Hole 12 is one of the hardest par 3's i have played, with the steep upslope off the tee. Holes 15 and 16 are basically level, and the your are back down and up for 17 and 18.
Good tee pads and Disccatchers. Some people have commented about the signs on the actual teepads, but they don't bother me.
Nice course flow, with hole 9 heading back to the parking lot.
Some of the holes (3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 15, 17, and 18) have two tee pads. I like the concept of partial multiple tee pads. Not every hole needs two tee pads, but some holes give a different look off the short pad.
The course just seems to be a lot of fun. From the initial ace run on 1 to the epic uphill and downhill shots on the back 9, it is flat out fun.

Cons: The course is in the middle of nowhere. I am not sure if that is a plus or a minus, but the course doesn't seem to get much play from the times I have been out there.
The floodplain holes (2-8, 11) do have a tendency to hold water. The little stream in from of 8's basket is particularly annoying.
Holes 5 and 7 put the creek into play. If you do happen to throw an errant shot into the water, that slick Georgia clay on the steep creek banks is a real bear to climb in and out of.
Holes 15 and 16 were logged off last summer. There are very few trees on those holes, and subsequently, these holes are a lot easier than they used to be.
Some of the tee signs are either down or missing.
Other Thoughts: The course is really a forgotten gem in the Atlanta courses. (Maybe because of its rural location.) Of the Atlanta area course I have played, I would rank it in the top 3 of those I have played, along with Perkerson and NGCT.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Run to the hills!

2-4    2/21/2014   5/9/2014
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 8.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Man this course has elevation. So much of it.

Seemingly infinite amounts of ups and downs come into play on almost every hole on the back 9.

The course starts off with a gentle downhill hole, and then 2-8 play along a mix of open and wooded holes located around a floodplain. It can get pretty mushy out here even after a relatively light rain but it's not unplayable by any means in those scenarios.

Nice teepads that are flush with the ground. A huge plus that seems so basic that so many courses manage to mess up.

I really love the balance of the front and back 9's. It keeps the course from feeling overbearing with the elevation on the back half.
Cons: I'm not quite sure what they were thinking with the teesign locations. Some of them are real stupid. Literally directly behind the teepad, maybe off to the side so you can slam your arm on it on the follow-thru. It's nothing I've had any troubles with but It's still extremely annoying and it's something you need to have in the back of your head a bit.

Speaking of teesigns, there's no map on them. This usually wouldn't be a huge deal but on a course with so much up and down, not being able to see the pin from the tee is really annoying. You have to run up the hill a pretty good ways to get an idea of where you're going on a couple of holes which is a huge pain in the ass.
Other Thoughts: This is a really good course with a really fun layout. Nothing feels blatantly unfair or overly challenging.

You'll definitely want to try and snag a few birdies early on as some of the holes can get pretty tough, especially when fatigue may start to wear in.

I've played this course once in the summer and once in the winter. Playing out here in the summer can be pretty brutal, the sheer amount of hills along with the Georgia heat & humidity is no joke, so come prepared!

The park is beautiful and out of the two times I've been there, there has not been a single soul doing any other activities in it. This probably has to do with the fact that this course is truly in the middle of nowhere, but don't let that deter you from playing it!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/29/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice layout with a variety of shots , easy to navigate and holes are visible from tees . Nicely maintained park .
Cons: Several holes will test your cardio - as they are extremely uphill .
Other Thoughts: Good location between ATL and AUG .

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Into Indian Creek

2-4    4/20/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 383  Reviewed: 281  Exp: 15.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/11/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Indian Creek DGC is an excellent course that has the kind of variety and nice facilities to make it extremely enjoyable. Converging 9's start and end near the parking lot. All of the tee pads are concrete, two on some holes, with distance signs. Baskets are all in nice shape. Scorecards were available near the first hole. A couple of trash cans and brooms are on the course. A picnic pavilion, playground and restroom are near the parking lot.

The course itself is very well conceived, and lots of fun. Challenges include elevation change, water on a couple of holes, and a few long ones. Front nine starts with a steep downhill run that gives ace run possibilities. Holes two through eight are on flat grassy terrain with medium tree density. Some more open then others, with five, six, and seven being the closest to the water. Eight is the longest on the front, but fairly open, and nine takes you back uphill toward the parking area. The back nine is more challenging overall, but there are birdie chances sprinkled in. Ten is a long downhill drive with a beautiful fairway. Eleven plays on the flat, and twelve, thirteen and fourteen are up, down, and back up the hillside. Twelve is fairly steep and long. Thirteen is like one, but shorter and steeper. Fifteen is flatter, but lengthy, and the target sits atop an eight foot mound, which added three putts to my scorecard, regrettably. Sixteen is also flatter and reachable for a birdie. Seventeen is the longest hole down hill with a somewhat narrow fairway that bends right. Eighteen finishes up the hill for the last time, also a long one.

I think the blend is perfect on this course. Some flat shots that are not total filler holes, and I particularly like the elevation factor when its in play. The fairways have enough woods to force multiple shot shapes, but are still generous enough to make shots.
Cons: Some areas were muddy and soft or puddled from rain the day before, but not too bad considering. The tree on seven always kicks my disc over the creek, but it is still my favorite hole on the front nine. The up and down hiking is somewhat strenuous, if that is an issue. The uphill shots play long, and woods are almost ever-present obstacles, so lack of control may add frustration for beginners.
Other Thoughts: Liked Indian Creek DGC very much, played it for the third time last weekend, and hope to return again. Every part of your game will likely be tested, and the course is maintained quite nicely. Not crowded on the lovely April morning we visited.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent maintained course!

2-4    1/27/2013   2/23/2013
Review By: Alejandro01
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course is excellent maintained.
Course layout is easy to follow.
Amateur and pro pads are easy to identify.
Cons: Last eight holes are not as well maintained as the first 10.
Other Thoughts: The restroom areas are also kept clean.
This course has a walking trail attached to it, that has stations for adults and kids to get a little workout while hiking.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.