West Lafayette, IN 
Purdue University DGC Share
Uploaded By: Rockwell Hole #7 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Boilerplate Course

1    7/27/2019   9/11/2019
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 407  Reviewed: 379  Exp: 5.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.465 Rating) AKA Slayter Hill, This is a nice 9 hole course on rare hilly Indiana terrain.
- ELEVATION - Expecting nice elevation change on an Indiana course is like expecting Purdue to be conference champions in Big Ten football... outside of Lafayette. By looking at the topographic data, Slayter Hill rises up 50 feet in elevation within the course boundaries. Hole (9) was a wonderful finishing hole. A big downhill right to left hyzer that probably drops 45 to 50 feet. It is the biggest and more fun downshot that I've played in Indiana among the five courses that I've thrown.
- UNIQUENESS - Due to the amount of elevation I scored the hole variety average. I played holes backhand and forehand. There are a few chip shots, yet also times to let it rip. Some holes are lightly wooded, but others like (4) and (6) are more moderately wooded. The two biggest missing elements are water features and heavy woods.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - The perfect blend of not too easy and not too hard for the vast majority of the player population. Rec players will have a chance to score a few birdies each round, but will likely also score some bogeys. Mostly park style shots, but it just seems like the lines through the light canopy require smart well executed plays. Overall I'd say the difficulty level is average where an even par round would draw an 880 rated round.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc here will likely be limited to forgetting to pick up. No water and not really any overgrowth areas. Errant shots would rarely result in dreadful punishment.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Pleasant, nice and delightful seem appropriate. Again mostly park style shots, but the course grounds are very well groomed. It's also landscaped with flower gardens, has sweeping elevation changes and has some monster oaks. I gave the course a 2.75 out of 5.
- BASICS - Adequate paver tees and Chainstar baskets.
- NAVIGATION - New appealing tee signs showing next tee direction. Directional arrows were below most of the baskets. I had no issues. There was even an extra navigational sign between (3) and (4) which was the one long transition.
- QUICK PLAY - figure on 35 to 40 minutes for a quick solo player.

Cons: Hard to complain about Slater Hill, it's a nice course. My cons are more of just notes of items on why I feel it's just an average course.
- CHARACTER - I define this category as the basics and extras, other than the golf itself, that make up a disc golf course. The basics of tees and baskets, as noted above are adequate. Tee signage is also great, but no course map or community board. There is only one set of tees and no alternate basket placements. No practice basket. 5 of 9 tees offer no shading. Only one sort-of bench that lies between (7) and (9). No end of round pavilion with picnic tables.
- WOW FACTOR - (9) is a very cool shot. The other eight are a steady diet of "Average Joe" nice park style shots.
- SPACING - Roads come into play a few times. Thankfully road OB is not marked on the signs, as I thought the scuff on my disc was punishment enough. Fairways are loosely defined and I could see discs ending up in other fairways. Seems like an active park where non disc golfers like to accumulate for un-important things.

Other Thoughts: Slayter Hill isn't going to win any major awards, but it's the type of course that many wish existed in their neighborhood. It has that easygoing unassuming feel at times, but yet also requires an Intermediate skill level set to go well under. A bit off of the beaten path of I65 (15 minutes), but definitely worthy of a spin if spending some time in Lafayette.
- BONUS HOLE? - There's the unmistakable sign of tape residue on the amphitheater concrete floor. There's a short 1 foot segment, followed by a 4 foot segment at a right angle, followed by a 1 foot segment at another right angle. And wouldn't you know-it, it points right at basket (2), 265 feet away.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Strong 9-Hole Course

1    3/18/2018   3/18/2018
Review By: njgrosser
Played: 36  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Teepads are permanent and large enough for the course.

Elevation is well-used, providing both uphill and downhill looks.

Mature trees throughout provide large obstacles and force the thrower to hit some tight lines.

Navigational signs on tees and pins help direct course flow.

Good mix of distances, from 200' to 425'.

Variety allows for playing multiple rounds on the same day without being bored.

Hole 9, a huge downhill bomber, was the standout hole for me.
Cons: Navigation from 3 to 4 is rough; the tree for 4 is across the path and behind a cluster of trees.

College students don't always stay out of the way.
Other Thoughts: I was in town visiting a friend, and we took a quick break out of our day to play this course. For a 9-hole course, I was really impressed! It's accessible, easy to navigate, and provides enough challenge to be worth a visit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good course, great location

5+    6/20/2016   6/26/2016
Review By: billtm
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All the holes are well designed to provide above average challenge. Unlike some other very good courses, there are no eyes-closed birdie holes. The tree placement makes this course especially tough. This course is really well signed, with great maps at the tees, and next hole signs under the baskets. The course's extreme elevation changes, for the area, make you really think about how the disc is going to roll.
Cons: I seem to lack the feeling of a fairway on this course that I get from other baskets. The dirt is really dusty during the summer, which makes disc grip harder.
Other Thoughts: This is the first disc golf course I have ever played on, and have since played it innumerable times. This course, much like Murdock and Milligan, has fantastic replay value.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 It's 18 Now

2-4    6/29/2014   7/20/2014
Review By: optimalben
Played: 67  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 21.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I added a half point to my rating, based purely on the quality of the course's art. The statues that are in play on the holes 10/11 are better than any other disc golf course art I've seen!

I love the layout of the front 9, involving the hill climbs and descents and the hardwood trees that discipline you into keeping your throws low and precise. The back 9 is a lot less demanding, except with respect to power. If you can/want to let it rip the back 9 here is the place for you to take out some aggression.
Cons: Despite pretty ample signage, this course is still hard to navigate. I had a heck of a time finding #4 (you have to go through this hedge and throw from the backyard of the neighboring frat house). There's also a part on the back 9 where you have to walk on the shoulder of McCormick road (far west side of campus) to get to hole 14 (as I recall). And there are 3 holes that have baskets clustered together and it takes some hard knocks to learn which is which (I think it's 12, 15, 18, right by the land bridge over the creek.

These aren't major setbacks, of course, but they're the kind of thing that annoys you until you learn the course by memory.
Other Thoughts: Park right by hole #1 at the bottom or the hill near the intersection of Stadium and Jischke (there's a band shell right there to use as a landmark). Don't go up to the top of Slater hill and start trying to find the beginning; you'll end up starting with #s 7, 9 or wandering around. Learned this the hard way my first time.

This may sound lazy but I recommend driving and re-parking for the back 9. You can walk down Stadium Ave. to get there after #9, but if you parked right by hole #1 (see above) your car will be right there. So unless you're feeling mildly ambitious, just drive over to the back 9.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic 9 Hole Course

5+    4/27/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: ajbova
Played: 109  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 13.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beginner/Intermediate 9 hole course on the north part of campus. More challenging and hilly than typical 9 hole courses in Indy.

Tees - One large brick tees that are mostly even per hole.

Signs - Great signs that show map of hole, hole number, distance, and par (and they are in school colors which is a nice touch. Sign with info on disc golf at start of course near hole 1. Signs hanging below baskets pointing towards next hole. Sign after 3 pointing you towards 4.

Baskets - 9 extremely grippy Chainstar baskets.

Variety - Extreme elevation! Several uphill shots. A few downhill bombs. A few blind shots. No hole is flat. Many mature trees on every hole that force you to navigate wisely. One bad throw and you can roll waaaaay away from the fairway. Great mix of distance ranging from 200-425.

Course has great views of campus and looks great in the fall.

Lots of much needed shade in the summer.

Easy to get to and easy to navigate.

Benches and trash cans on site. Course is well maintained.

Downhill drives are feel good drives. Long bombs where you throw further than you normally do. Be careful not to overthrow. Hole 2 is also a very solid hole.

Discs available in nearby building.
Cons: Only one tee per hole. Adding a second tee per hole either of a varying difficulty or if it was an alternate tee would drastically improve this course and add much more variety. There is room to do so and change the line for each hole.

No alternate basket locations.

A few fairways border each other (6 and 7) and can cause safety issues. A mandolin on hole 6 helps to eliminate this issue.

Course is frequently closed during home football games and concerts on the hill (beware). Baskets will get pulled.

Course could use a few signs pointing you to the next tee (after hole 3 comes to mind).

A few tees and baskets near the street. Could add danger.

Course is on a popular hill and can become very busy.

Thorn tree next to basket on hole 3. Could damage you or your disc.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. Even though it is only 9 holes, it's a must play if in the area. It's great to introduce students to the game. I want to give this course a 3.5 but with only 9 baskets and 9 holes I just can't. This is one hell of a course. Alternate basket locations and dual tees could boost this course to a 3.5.

There is another 9 hole course, Pickett Park, that is shorter than a half mile away (short walk). If this course is too hard, play Pickett park. If it is too easy, I would suggest Murdock Park. This course plus Pickett make a full 18.

The views and elevation make this course great. Additional tees would greatly improve this course. I would recommend it if traveling through Northern Indiana off Interstate 65. Check the home football schedule before playing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/16/2012   8/17/2012
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 170  Reviewed: 159  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very fun course! Of all the 9-hole or less courses I've ever played, this is absolutely in my top 3.

There's a great variety of shots including open and tight shots, short and long, hyzer and anhyzer. The signature hole in my mind is #9, a massive 400 feet downhill bomb, which is a hole I definitely didn't see coming but it pleasantly surprised me.

The location of it is awesome as well, on one side it overlooks Purdue's campus and on the other side is the delta delta delta house which has a really great looking exterior and the things living inside are pretty attractive too. :)

There's fantastic signage, good tees, good quality baskets, and very good flow.
Cons: The biggest con in my eyes is that it's only 9 holes. The design and everything is great and the land is greatly utilized. I wish there would have been more available.

On a few of the holes, #2 and #9 especially stand out, if you shank a drive (or massively overshoot), you have the potential to hit a car which is one of the worst possible things outside of hitting a person...but it's tough to avoid on this course without giving up significant fun points.
Other Thoughts: At the end of the day, I feel bad only giving Purdue's campus course a 3.0, but at the end of the day, it's only 9 holes, but it's absolutely worth checking out if you're in the area. I'd love to go back!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good for a college course

5+    7/17/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: ski3
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 21.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The signs are awesome, especially for hole 4. The course is well maintained and the use of the space is well done. Quick course for a lunch time throw.
Cons: The majority of holes are 200 ft and the placement of holes almost always will force you into tree line. Especially on 6 where the mando forces you to either throw into the tree line above or risk going out of bounce on the left by throwing a straight shot. Hole 3 is frustrating due to absolutely no fairway, I mean I understand obstacles but come on.
Other Thoughts: At times the course plays like a challenging disc control course, but then the wind on the hill makes its extremely frustrating for all the short shots. Hole 9 will make up for hole 7 for beginners as you get major flight.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cool

5+    3/16/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: jcjohns
Played: 79  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 18.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads and baskets
Good signage
Elevation, elevation, elevation
Cons: 9 holes
Hole 9 finishes too close to rock wall that will tear up a disc if it crashes into it
Can be a very busy part of campus
Course pulled during home football games and concerts on the hill
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course for what it was designed for. The concept was from a freshman just starting to play to a senior that started 4 years previous this course would be fun, challenging, but not frustrating. For the more serious golfer, this course is fun to play here and there, but the other local courses overshadow it. I think having the course right on campus is a great way to introduce new players to the sport, but keep that in mind if/when you get out there to throw.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Slater Hill

1    5/6/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: Discalier
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Holes are designed pretty well. Good signage to let you know where the basket's are.
Cons: Only 9 holes, that you can play twice to make 18. A crosswind coming over the hill can really act on your discs.
Other Thoughts: You'll get a workout on your legs climbing up and down the hill.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/23/2011   4/25/2011
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 68  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Purdue's course is one of the better 9-holers I've played, and blends a unique mix of amenities that make for a very good course.

The strongest aspect of this course is the land used. Most college courses I've played use throw away land in some desolate area of the campus, but Purdue's course is on and along a huge hill in the middle of campus, so you get awesome views of the surrounding area.

Every basket has a next tee arrow on the bottom of the pole that makes naviation easy. All the signs include recommended flight paths and designated OB.

The course is designed to use the hill as the main challenge on most shots, requiring players to adjust to big uphill shots on one hole then big downhill looks on the next. Large trees add obstacles on most holes.
Cons: My biggest qualm about this course was the lack of distance. After the brutal uphill bomb on #2, 5 out of the next 6 holes play at 255 or less. Other than that, my other cons are just nit picking...

The brick tees look cool, and they're functional, but they're on the small side and allow for no more than a two step run up.

When I played this course, construction on the band shell was blocking the tee on #1, The pin for #9 was only about 250ft from the tee, so I'm assuming that had been moved due to construction as well. This didn't effect my rating. but it sucked none the less.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the best college course I've played, and one of the best 9ers I've played. It's definitely worth a stop if you're anywhere near Purdue.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.