Crawfordsville, IN 
Milligan Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #7 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 228ft.   3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Very good course

1    10/21/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: lukejones
Played: 67  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is by far one of the better courses in Indiana. A lot of thought was given to make the layout very fair, yet challenging with a lot of shot variety required. The course has a meandering creek which was utilize on several holes and several tall mature trees. I liked the disc dippers placed throughout the course and found them useful a couple of times. Though not an lengthy course with what I'd consider true par 4's and 5's, several of the par 3's do seem to play longer with the obstacles and OB in play. It was also nice to have the 6 extra holes (24 hole course). I played the 1st 18 as the main course, then just had fun with the extra 6 holes. Kuddos to the designers for utilizing the property efficiently and effectively. It was truly memorable and a blast to play!
Cons: It is a bit of a shorter course
I would consider myself a very good beginner level player, but this course did give me a confidence boost with several birdies, which indicates to me it might be a bit easy for advanced players.
Other Thoughts: Would definitely like to come back.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    9/16/2012   9/17/2012
Review By: k2Keith
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful rolling terrain, large trees with a creek throughout the park. Course is well designed to utilize the space. Great variety of shots required had me using several different discs. There are a couple of mandatories, that I thought actually made the course more challenging and fun.
Cons: I really have think hard to find any cons; While the basic signage was great, I would like to see larger numbers on the baskets to help clarify where you are going. Pads are slightly shorter than what I am used to.
Other Thoughts: This is the best course I have had the opportunity to play yet! It is NOT the hardest, but it was the most fun. I would recommend this course if you are going to be anywhere near, it is worth the time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/17/2012   8/17/2012
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 143  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Milligan, to me, is like the epitome of a 3.5 course. It exemplifies what a "very good" course should look like. It has great signage, tees, and baskets and is an absolute blast to play.

Each hole is unique in some way which keeps this 22-hole course from going stale. A lot of times after 9 holes or so, you get a good feel of what to expect, but I was always a little surprised at what I needed to do at the next teepad. The shots are for the most part very intriguing. There are several ace runs and great deuce opportunities, but they can also go bad very quickly if you don't take advantage of them.

The holes are great for beginners because they're all under 400 feet, but also very challenging for pros/"birdie hunters".

All in all, I wish I would have had a chance to play another round here. I definitely recommend it!
Cons: No real signature hole that really dropped my jaw and made me say "Wow, this is amazing. Let me go grab my camera!". While it's an amazing park course, it's still just a park so you have to watch out for other park goers and there's no real feeling of seclusion.

I would imagine that some people would argue that the shots are too short, but I think it does a great job of being a beginner/intermediate player course.
Other Thoughts: Very fun to play. For being 22 holes, it's not very energy draining and is a very chill course that will test very many different lines. This is a great course to practice variety on. Hyzers/Anhyzers/Sky Hyzers/Laser Beam shots.

Check it out if you're in the area!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/22/2011   6/26/2012
Review By: jomomo
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: holes fit perfectly into the park. Baskets are placed perfectly. holes are excitied and not too far to where your unloading every hole. most depends on accuracy.
Other Thoughts: wish there would be more holes cause there is way enough room for it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Noob Review

1    3/22/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: Redleg
Played: 53  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.5 Years
Pros: Course is in a city park and has been fitted well into the park. Many many shorter holes. 9 are under 225ft and only 3 over 300 (1 is from pro tee). But it does use the terrain well! Great baskets, outstanding Tee Signs and Good Tee pads for every hole. There is a creek that winds through the entire park that come into play very often, it is very clear and shallow so little chance of losing a disc but a good chance of losing a stroke or 2. There are several OB areas so placement of a shot can make or break you. This would be an outstanding park for a Ace Race!
Cons: The baskets are very close in several areas and can cause you to shoot towards the wrong basket. Hole signs with numbers on top of the basket turned to the tee pads would do a great deal to correct that. The park is very busy so you have to watch to make sure you are not going to hit anyone.
Other Thoughts: Overall great public park course worth the trip. It would be a good place to intro someone to the game and still keep an experienced player happy with the varied shots needed.

 Good expansion!

2-4    3/19/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: try122583
Played: 116  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 18.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Use to be a nine hole course but now is 22. Looks like the club over there is getting things done!
- Some hole designs were interesting. Enjoyed the changes in elevation and the use of trees and creeks.
- A great course to work on your short drive game. If your struggling with your 200-250 foot shot, you will have plenty of holes to try to fix it.
- Nice deep baskets. Nothing is more annoying when you "make" a putt and the disc pops out. That won't be a problem here.
- Beautiful signage. Each tee has a detailed layout of the hole, and there is even a course map on the first hole. You can tell some work went into the signs.
Cons: - Mostly short holes. You won't get a chance to use some of your long drivers here. Most holes are under 300, and a number of them are below 200.
- Some confusion later on as to what hole to throw to towards the end of the course. On hole 21, I had an amazing drive that landed within five feet of what I thought was the right basket, Turns out it was one of the earlier holes. Also, baskets aren't marked.
- While the tee signs are good, there isn't much there to tell you where to go after each hole. Sometimes it isn't so simple to find, especially since you have to walk a bit between some holes. A little more direction for the out of towners would be nice. You will be able to find your way around without the extra signage, but you sometimes have to look around.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my time here, and I don't think I was the only one. There were a number players out there taking advantage of the beautiful weather. Unfortunately, like Urbana, there isn't much else to play around Crawfordsville outside of this course. That's why I probably won't play it again unless its part of a trip where it's on the way to another place. While it's good, it isn't elite enough to warrant it's own one day trip. How3ever if your passing through, it's worth a look.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short but fun

1    3/6/2011   3/16/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly park with a nice creek running through. The course was expanded from 9 to 22 holes, but you'd never know that playing it now. They did a nice job of making the course flow together and have a consistent feel throughout. Many of the holes use the elevation changes in the park to add some variety and challenge, there are a few downhill holes with risky greens near water, and some tricky uphill holes. The creek comes into play quite a bit, and is generally used pretty well to add some nice risk/reward elements to the course without too much danger of lost discs.

Though many of the holes are similar lengths, there is a lot of variety in hole shape so it doesn't feel too repetitive. You'll need to shape some different lines between the mature trees here to get your birdies, and the elevation and ob on most holes adds to the feeling of variety. There are good concrete tees, and decent baskets. The signage is pretty good, showing the hole distance and layout with a direction to the next tee.
Cons: One major issue with this course is how often it brings paths and roads into play. It seems like this park gets quite a bit of traffic on a nice day, and that could be a serious safety concern, especially as the course seems to attract a lot of less experienced players. There are also a few places that ball fields or picnic areas can come into play, though it seems like the design tried to minimize that.

The course is pretty short overall, I found myself throwing a putter off most of the tees. There isn't much more room in the park, so I think it was a good decision to make a shorter, more beginner friendly course here, just know that it won't be all that challenging for a more experienced player. There are some spots where there is a long walk, make sure you pay attention to the arrows on the tee signs if you don't want to do some extra walking.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun place to play, and the park is nicely maintained. I would definitely recommend a stop here if you're in the area. Beginners won't find too much punishment for errant shots other than the creek. Since it's shallow enough that discs are easy to retrieve, it shouldn't be too frustrating. More experienced players will find this to be a deuce or die type course, but the shots have some variety and the creek definitely adds some fun factor.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Now there's a reason to come here

1    11/6/2010   11/11/2010
Review By: indydiscgolfer
Played: 95  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 39.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The recent addition of 12 new holes has really provided a reason to come and play this course. The added holes compliment the original holes very well and I commend the MCDGC for doing a great job on the expansion. The holes are very fun and utilize a variety of obstacles and terrain to create very fun golfing opportunities. The park is beautiful and features many large majestic trees and a meandering creek, which weaves its way throughout the course. You will need to shape many different shots to navigate this course well. Although most of the holes are fairly short, it can be a bit deceiving as the holes play a little tougher than the distance might make you think. Nice tee pads and tee signs enhance the course as well.
Cons: As mentioned before, the holes are mostly short, which can be a con for pro level players, but really is appropriate for the only course in the town of Crawfordsville. The homemade baskets are OK but could probably use another set of inner chains to help them catch better.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend coming to play this course. This is no doubt one of the funnest new courses in central Indiana for golfers of all skill levels. You won't be disappointed!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course Layout

1    11/10/2010   11/10/2010
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent signs, decent tee pads, plenty of obs in the form of access roads, creeks, parking lots, and mando's. Course has plenty of variety and uses all of the park's natural terrain to its betterment. Expect to play over and down hills, creeks, obs, and mandos. Very friendly for newer players and a course to rip and run on for more experienced players. Thank you for the trashcans.
Cons: Very few complaints here: maybe a few more directional signs for some of the holes, pads are plenty long, but I can understand how some may not have enough room, although I had plenty of space and thats usually my first gripe with any course. Some of the fairways run pretty close with, but this course really maximizes the use of the land, so thats not really a con, more like a little bit of nit picking. Keep it on the fairway.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, played it today with a buddy, we are both intermediate players and we had a great time. Didn't shoot as well as we can, but we had fun - which is the main concern. This is a great course to really workout your midrange game. All of these holes are very deuceable, although if you throw an errant tee shot you can hit a variety of obs that can rack up your score with penalty strokes. Have fun, run those chains.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 More of the same

1    11/8/2010   11/10/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 216  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 23.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: •Practice basket,with markers for a putting game •Nice Tee signs and Concrete tees with 5 Gal. Buckets at each hole •Well placed poles for getting your disc out of the water •No Underbrush •Really nice layout using all park features; Creek,Rollng terrain,low canopy shots....off the tee OR your Approach/Putt •A few Roll-a-way greens •Nice having "Caution flying discs" signs in the areas where the course was expanded •New footbridge from #7 to #8 •Signature hole is the same one has the old layout #7...a 228' down hill shot with the basket in the creeks peninsula
Cons: •Most holes are 225-250' with 3 holes over 300' (309',323',328') this is only a "con" if you are a more experienced player •No underbrush for a punishment for an errant throw •A couple directional signs from #6 to #7 and #20 to #21 would be good,but not that big of a deal.
Other Thoughts: Still a short beginner course that will boost the ego of any experienced player,unless they play a safari round. Adding 12 holes,to any course, is usually a plus. But since it's more of the same it's an opportunity missed. Could have been a better course with just 18 baskets and two tees per hole. I bumped my rating to a 3 disc (good) vs. 2.5 (decent) because after "sleeping on it" the terrain AND creek does NOT make this a typical course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center