Fairborn, OH 
Handyman Ace Hardware DGC Share
Uploaded By: hendersondayton Hole #2 (Taken 4/2011)
4 / 435ft.   4 / 528ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Short Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 NEW COURSE!

5+    3/27/2011   3/27/2011
Review By: Dizz
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.2 Years
9 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: HAHFairborn is a one of a kind Championship course located in Fairborn, OH. This course when completed will be among the top courses in the country. The people who designed this course took a massive piece of land and shaped and carved a great course into it. The layout has a great flow to it and no two holes are the same, each has its unique feel.
I play this course just about every weekend and its by far my top local course and Top 10 all time. The course is very well marked with Professional Tee signs, Next Tee Signs, colored score cards, pencils, information board and more. Also with two tee pads for Pro and Am it gives you two different views of the course.
Hole 1 | Uphill shot into the woods, Tee shot is in the open throwing uphill to a tree line that is the start of the woods. There are multiple lines from the AM tees. The Pro Tees take a really good forehand or nice RHBH Anhyzer.
Hole 2 | Takes some finesse to get to where you want to be. This holes is one of my favorite on the course, both tee pads have plenty of lanes to choose from. This hole can eat you up if your not careful, walk away with Par or better and be happy.
Hole 3| Make a good tee shot! Throwing through a 8ft-10ft wide gap into an open field, this is a RHBH hyzer shot because the pin placement is set back into the woods. So your throwing out and then coming back in, 357' for AM Tee and 423' for Pro.
Hole 4 | Another gap tee shot, elevated, shooting into an open field with walking path 15-20ft to the right of the hole is OB. Straight shot 269' AM / 336' Pro.
Hole 5| This is a really fun hole. The basket sits about 260+' from AM tee and 300 for Pro. Takes a well placed shot to walk away with a birdie on this hole, there is a pond about 25' behind the hole
This is just a small preview of the first few holes. Starting from 6-11 you enter long technical tight wooded shots, demanding placement shots to connecting fairways. Hole 7-8 you are running along and crossing the "river of stink" but looking past the smell it's a very scenic two holes. Moving on to hole 12 you get another open shot with a mando gap off the tee to a basket that it set inside a row of pine trees. Holes 13-18 are all technical wooded shots with LOTS of elevation. Hole 14 is a straight uphill tunnel shot that is 350+ from AM tees and 440 for Pro's. Takes a few well placed shots to walk away with Par. As for the rest of the course, every hole has it's own style and appeal. I would highly recommend playing this course if you are in the area. It is very well maintained and one of the best in the area. Please keep in mind that the course is new and is still being worked on every weekend, when completed it will be one of the best in the state.

Other Thoughts: I personally play here every weekend, by far my favorite local course.

Go play this course 2-3 times then go back to your regular course, I guarantee you will take at least 3-4 strokes off your score. This course will greatly improve your game.

9 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 better than before

2-4    3/30/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: moshjosh368
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2011
8 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: Great distance and variety of distance.
beautiful park, challenging, great signs and tee pads and baskets. they opened it up a little more when they cut down some trees, but still is challenging which is good. There are lines you just have to look for them somethimes they are not were you think the should be or usually are but thats ok it makes it more challenging.
Cons: Not to much to complain about now since they cut down 40 trees but I would say that some tables or something in the back part to rest would be nice. They still need to clean up some falling trees and limbs that are on the ground to hard to throw any rollers. Maybe on a couple of holes that there is a creek or water maybe a little bridge or something better than a bunch of twigs and branches to walk across.
Other Thoughts: Going to be even more challenging when the leaves come in but its a fun long course would like to see maybe someday them adding 6 more holes they have the space I think. It is a fun course but it will punish you for a bad shot. I would like to play with all these people that say they shot low numbers cause I dont believe them. I have played 7 times now and everyone I have gone with which one was my cuz that just finished 2 at a texas tourney shot high 70 to low 90. Does take a long time to play but I like that as long as there are places to rest. Maybe a little more trash cans would be nice if people actually would use them but we all know there are a..holes that play too. STOP STEALING BASKETS YOU FING IDIOTS

8 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/10/2012   3/22/2011
Review By: chipstar
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/13/2012
6 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: The length of the holes allows you to open up and throw full strength
There are multiple tee pads for every hole except two holes
The baskets are really nice, each basket has the hole number it corresponds to on it.
The tee signs are great, good color, distances marked.
The tee pads are nice and long to allow for ample run up.
The course is set in a really nice park
Cons: If you throw into the water it is really nasty looking
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice course, one of the nicest I've played
The updates made to the course since the first time I played warranted a better review.

6 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Reality Check

1    3/19/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: Chainrattler
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2011
8 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: Update: 8-30-2011
I was urged to give Handyman another chance, and I'm very glad I did. There was a huge difference from my first experience. The amount of thickness of the trees have been thinned perfectly. Each hole now has lines that, in my opinion, utilizes skill to play. Before this it was basically throw and hope for the best.
Cons: Trees were x 1000 per hole (updated) Now, trees are well placed to promote skill.
Other Thoughts: I updated this to a Very Good Course. I think it's awesome how the people involved have worked to perfect this prime piece of land into a great course. Well done!!! I will look forward to playing this course again.

8 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 Pro level course with constant improvements

2-4    11/20/2010   3/16/2011
Review By: douglowe
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2012
13 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Being a fairly new player to the sport of disc golf, I've tried to play as many of the local courses as I can. That being said, this course is the only one in the Dayton area that I consider to be a pro level course. From the moment you arive you can tell this course is different. There is the large engraved rock course sign, ball golf style scorecards, white and blue tee pads, and well thought out pin placement. The course even has it's own website, which includes a mobile version that has a hole map, hole length, par, overview, improvements list, and photos. I've also been told that QR codes are being added to the tee signs so you can use your smartphone to go directly to each holes mobile page. So many courses in this area look like they were installed and forgotten, but this course is under constant improvement. You can feel that those that manage the course really care about maintaining and advancing it as the best course in the area. It's this constant improvement and care that pushed me towards giving this course a 5 star rating.
Cons: This is not a beginner's course. It's long and it's challenging. Even from the white tees you must carefully plan your next throw. No throw and go here. The last time I played here some of the wooded fairways needed to be a little more defined, but I've heard that's either been taken care of, or will be soon. Expect a long, challenging, but fun game out here.

UPDATE: I hate to do this, but I'm going to have to drop the rating from a 5 to 4 discs. There are just too many holes with completely undefined "fairways". Just because there is a flight path on the tee sign, doesn't mean that flight path actually exists. There seem to be several tee shots that feel like the only thing you can do is throw and pray that you don't hit a tree. I'd rather rely on skill than luck. This is also going to make your scores inconsistant from day to day, making it harder to determin if you're getting better or worse, or just lucky or unlucky.

UPDATE x2: So, now that I have a little more experience under my belt (and the Fairborn BID is coming up) I decided to tackle HAH again. I found that this course really relies on thinking, much more than others. You can't just throw towards the basket, get there in 3, then move on. For most of the holes you really have to take the time to plan each throw. I think this is what makes HAH a Pro level course. it's not for the casual 'throw and go" player. Just by planning my throws and being careful I was able to knock 7 strokes off my game, and could have knocked off a few more if I'd have taken a little more care.
Other Thoughts: Plan your throws carefully. Don't just think about your current throw, but the next one too.

13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  Great Challenge

5+    3/10/2011   3/15/2011
Review By: Hyzerman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: This course will have you using every shot in your bag, regardless of skill level. Not many can claim this beast, consecutively. Might shoot a -6 one day and even the next round, just demanding.
Cons: Its so demanding at times you may start to lose morale! Ground seems to hold moisture and flooding occurs, better topography would be nice, but mulch and such could def. improve this course
Other Thoughts: My personal favorite course!

3 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging, yet fun

2-4    12/4/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: slojoe1559
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Location is superb. Community Park is a large, well taken care of, family friendly park located just off of 675.

Takes advantage of varying terrain to provide a chance for almost every kind of shot imaginable and each hole is almost completely different from the one before. It does not seem to prefer one kind of thrower over another.

Multiple tees offer a significant change to most holes, unlike other courses where distance may be the only change between tees.

Clear, although challenging, lines visible on all holes.

Overall great course.
Cons: Some holes are very punishing with the amount of trees/brush if you miss your line. This will only improve with age.

Creek along hole 8 is a mudpit. Not that there is anything to be done about this, but just be careful retrieving a disc or you might lose a shoe.

Small creeks/drainage ditches are a little treacherous to walk through, but there is a way around each one if you do not mind walking a little bit.

When raining or snowing, small pond forms in walkway between hole 11 and 12 forcing players to walk through brush to stay dry.
Other Thoughts: I have enjoyed each time playing the course and am challenged by both the distance and skill required to play this course well. I look forward to playing HAH as it continues to improve. I have only played from the long tees, but the short tees were easy to find, even when covered in snow, if you look at the tee signs located by the long tees.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Handyman

1    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: Myers
Played: 94  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is in a public park with plenty of land and activities going on. great tee pads, tee signs, baskets, and navigational signs. I believe the layout is fantastic! designers used the land and provided all types of shots from open bombs to short and technical, over creeks, challenging pin locations, Short and Long tee pads and 2 pin positions for all holes. The course will challenge all skill levels and can frustrate even the best of players. there are some awesome shots out in the open as well and the wind adds challenge on these holes. There are low ceilings, creeks, great elevation changes (especially in Ohio), and even a pond as a back drop to a pin.
Cons: As it goes with all new courses there needs to be some thinning out in some areas. The potential here is awesome though. there are a couple long walks but i think it is well worth it to complete the layout so not necessarily a con.
Other Thoughts: I have only played the long tees to A pins. the course is very enjoyable and certainly tests your ability to scramble. I can only see this course getting better with time. As holes open up and players trample some of the brush, the lines will open up but still be challenging and realistic. I am definitely looking forward to coming back and seeing how the course progresses. i could easily see this beeing a 4.5 rated course in a year. great job to the designers for giving Ohio another higher par course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Good Course

2-4    11/13/2010   11/24/2010
Review By: FISH FIRE
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: This is a good Challenging Course. It has a good variety of holes. Having two Tee Pads and Two Baskets For most of the holes will add a lot of re-playability. Signs for each tee are very good looking. Course is well marked Letting you know the way to your next tee.
Cons: The walks between holes are kinda long. Not a lot of well defined Fairways.

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Goodness Gracious,

5+    11/13/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: cali
Played: 67  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.2 Years
6 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Where to start! This course has so much to really test your limits as a player whether you are new to the sport or a seasoned professional. I mean seriously, I've never played a course where I have had to just analyze every single shot so meticulously, edging myself mentally and physically to go for that extra few feet off the drive or finding that perfect sweet spot on the fairway with a placement shot to open up a hole to the target. I can honestly say that getting some of my 2's out there from the SHORT tees have been some of the most satisfying moments of my 8 years playing disc golf. This course URGES you to make those critical putts and get those tricky upshots just a few feet closer to the pin. Most holes, your drive off the box has to be pretty spot on to stay out of trouble, but if you do end up in a trouble area, recovery is not too difficult like with some of the honeysuckle infested courses in the area. I'm going to add more to this section so stay turned.
Cons: Some spots on the fairway are like prison bars with trees! Matt has assured us that they will be lightly thinning out some of the trouble areas. I vote they leave them! Just adds to the challenge!
Other Thoughts: Play it and you'll love it. Come prepared for a 3 hour round though because she is huge.

6 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.