Tonawanda, NY 
Ellicott Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 203ft.   3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 White Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Watch out for that Maple tree....

2-4    10/17/2020   10/17/2020
Review By: paul2432
Played: 111  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 41.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a suburban setting, this course is great for the casual golfer as it's not too crazy long and most holes are fairly easy to figure out even on your first round. For 10 year old baskets - the Discraft Chainstars have held up well. Tee pads installed at the "pro" tees and red bricks for the am tees. Good tee signs that are detailed and the distances seem pretty accurate.
Hole 15 is a great risk/reward hole - either throw across a small lake to reach the basket for an easy deuce or take the hyzer route over land and likely end up with a three. Also hole 16 is a fun shot off the top of a small hill to a basket just waiting for the next ace. (although it doesn't happen often.)
Cons: Talk about mundane. Other than the two holes mentioned, this course offers 16 holes that are basically between 250 to 300 feet, mainly straight shots with the only challenge being the entire course plays through myriad of maple trees.
Other than 16, it's pretty pancake flat, and the county has instituted various no-mow zones which is a brilliant idea for increasing the chances of getting bit by a deer tick and coming down with lyme disease. While the tees are ok, but they're turf and turf wears out. Unless a group is going to replace the turf every four or five years, it's just going to get ugly. (Mind you - at this point it's better than dirt tees.
Other Thoughts: While the course is far, far away from being a destination course, it does offer locals/casuals a decent round of golf. It's likely way too simplistic for advanced players, but for your casual golfer it's a decent course where there isn't much risk of losing a disc (other than hole 15 mind you). There are definitely better courses in the area, but for a 45 minute round or so, it gives players a decent reason to get out and enjoy a round.
A little more thought process into its design, this could have been a decent gem of a course. But that didn't happen and if you play here - just avoid the countless maple trees and you'll have a decent round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

In Decline

5+    12/21/2018   12/21/2018
Review By: hojji77
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide-open, decent distance on most holes, not cramped. Baskets in good condition.
Cons: Dirt tees, limited signage. Serious mosquito problems on the holes along the Creek. Holes are mainly flat and repetitious. Water/flooding issues are only getting worse as course deteriorates.
Other Thoughts: EC is one of three courses within a twenty-minute drive from my house, and as I had not played it in several years I thought I would stop by. While its flat, repetitive layout meant that it was never more than an average course, I was saddened to see that EC's condition and playability have worsened appreciably. The swamping problems that are endemic to the park as a whole have only gotten worse--the dirt teepads and pin surrounds have compressed into clay/mud dishes that fill (and do NOT drain) after even light rains. More than half of the signage is gone, and some of what remains is defaced/illegible, making it hard even for experienced players to locate some of the tees when weather is bad.

I want to like this course, but it has gotten to the point where it is only truly playable during dry spells in high summer and early fall. Pin surrounds need to be regraded or moved, signage restored, and concrete teepads installed in order for EC to even be considered an average/decent 18-hole course. I truly prefer a double round (24 holes) at the small course in nearby Lincoln Park to this venerable, but ragged course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Play with Friends

5+    9/3/2016   9/8/2016
Review By: The Don
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: Course is a good all around course. Most holes are along the edges of the park and out of the way of everybody else. Nothing particularity scenic about this park but it's conveniently located so it makes for a nice round without driving too far out of town.
Cons: Easy to lose a disc on this course. You can either throw it in the creek or in the woods. Especially on wholes 16 and 18. Have your friends spot your throw because the tees are blind.
Other Thoughts: A good course for a quick round with your buddies.

 Good course with a few minor issues

5+    6/26/2015   6/26/2015
Review By: Lance81
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 12/27/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is fairly spacious and laid out well; holes don't interfere with each other, and are generally out of the way of other park activities.
- Pretty easy to find your way between holes, although the path from 12 to 13 could be more clearly marked for people unfamiliar with the course.
- Trees and bushes provide a good challenge without being unreasonable, and there are usually a few different paths to the target available.
- Adequate variety among the holes in terms of both length and obstacles.
- Approachable enough for most beginners and still presents some challenges for more experienced players.
- Usually not too crowded, but certainly there are better times to go than others.
- Free to play.
Cons: - About half of the course tends to get very swampy or even flood after it rains.
- Natural dirt tee pads, which are prone to getting muddy, especially on hole 18. This course is worth another half star if they get some concrete tee pads installed.
- Some of the signs are missing (holes 4-6), but that's a pretty self-explanatory section of the course.
- Several holes can really punish you with a lost disc for an errant throw.
- Elevation is only a factor on one hole.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I played and remains the one I play most often. There are better courses in the region, but this one is a free convenient full course that is interesting enough to keep playing. Flooding and mud are the biggest problems, as are some occasional romps through the bushes in search of discs. Installing concrete tee pads and being a little more attentive to maintenance and landscaping would really go a long way in improving this course. Holes 5 and 15 play alongside water hazards, so you'll want low accurate shots there. Hole 16 is probably the most interesting: a blind uphill drive onto what barely qualifies as a fairway with a lot of weeds and bushes. It's a good hole for losing a disc, so it would be wise to have a spotter. Everything is a par 3, which can be frustrating on the longer and more demanding holes, but is generally reasonable for experienced players who can consistently make accurate throws. Probably not a much of a challenge for a pro, but a good course to work on several elements of your game.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/20/2015   6/2/2015
Review By: oneCarney
Played: 36  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
Pros: -Easy to navigate.
-Nice Variety of hole length
-Beginner friendly
-If the park is not crowded (usually isn't in the morning) you can play all 18 in well under an hour.
Cons: -Can flood real bad through out most of the course
-Park can get crowded on the Weekends.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the first courses that I have ever played. Very good for beginners, flat course. When it is Dry it is a good course to get a quick round in.

The Creek that runs along hole 5 has never been friendly to me, especially when I first started playing

 

2-4    10/24/2014   11/6/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 41  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - In a park with other great amenities. Bathrooms, rentable pavilions, and other park activities
- Beautiful tee signs with all the required info. Sadly a few were missing when I went through. :(
- A good first 18 course for a newer player. Reachable holes. Very little lost disc possibility (there are a few close to the water but they aren't thrown over and can be played safely for a beginner.
Cons: - Natural teepads with the usual wear & tear. Some were a bit muddy & slippery when I played.
- On the short side with all 3s with 11/18 under 300'. The shortest is 205' and the longest 390'.
- Although 2 tees are listed on DGCR and the tee signs (at the longs), I wasn't able to easily find the shorts. No point in having them if they aren't CLEARLY marked (see beaver island).
Other Thoughts: - The course is a very typical "in a park" course with almost everything being very flat and well mowed. There are mature trees throughout which are used as the primary obstacles.
- Given this - there are often many lines available from the tee and few forced shots. This could be a pro if it was on a few select holes - but here it seemed as a con as you can pretty much throw the same shot hole after hole and it gets boring. I'd rather have a course dictate specific lines to test me instead of allowing me to pick the same shot hole after hole. Given this and the short distance, I ended up using very little of my bag which is never a good sign.
- Hole #16 was really fun and stood out to me. I could see it being a negative for some though as it is a blind shot over a hill (and back down) with one of the few spots of nasty brush rough. I played it alone and was fortunate but I'd definitely recommend a spotter here. Given the height needed to clear the hill I could easily see some noob hyzers ending up real deep in the rough.

A note on the rating. I was very close to putting this one up to a 3 but I just couldn't do it looking at my other 3 courses which I feel are all better overall courses which I'd rather play. If there were a 2.75 option I'd have definitely picked that here. I will definitely say that the designer did a good job with what they had to work with but the limitations of the terrain, trees, and park are what hold the course back.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/6/2013   6/6/2014
Review By: Dr_Johnson
Played: 92  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun course to play
Lots of variety in regard to shots needed
Excellent for beginner players
Well used and easy to navigate, but not crowded
Not overly wooded. You are not walking through the forest, but instead walking through a park. There are plenty of trees to play around without having to walk through the woods, thus I was less likely to lose/damage my discs.
Cons: Very flat. Not much change in elevation.
There were't many really long holes for longer drivers.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course that I have played. I enjoy the set up and atmosphere here. Definitely try to stop whenever I'm in town.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Waste of time

1    9/22/2013   9/24/2013
Review By: mbenn
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice signs.
Cons: Most holes were under water and over my boots, looks like a muddy place for disc golf. No variety, all are shorter shots. No real elevation changes, cars parked on the grass between tee's and baskets.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Home course

5+    7/30/2017   6/30/2013
Review By: Walnuts312
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2017
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course, and beginner friendly. The first few holes are short straight shots to get warmed up. It picks up difficulty after the first 3-4 holes, but never overwhelms.

The course is located away from most of the pavilions, so you won't have to worry too much about random people getting in your way.
Cons: Many of the tee signs have been vandalized. This can make it hard for newcomers to get going. The tee pads are dirt, and often it's the only way you'll find the next hole.

Hole #5 is disappearing little by little each year as the creek erodes the bank. There used to be more trees along the edge that could save an errant shot, but I'd say 1/4 of them have fallen victim to the creek. Just something to watch out for as time goes on.

This course is especially susceptible to being washed out by heavy rain. A few times, I've found the park entrance closed off due to flooding.

If you come on a busy holiday weekend, you may be forced to skip hole 12 due to the pavilion renters (but not always).

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Casual Review

1    4/23/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: kpquinlivan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Nice course layout throughout a very nice park
--Great course map and signs make it very easy to keep your bearings during a round
--Doesn't interfere with anyone else in the park as the course if off to secluded areas
--Was able to play all 18 in under 40minutes on my lunch break
Cons: --18th tee box was flooded
--everything being a par 3 is difficult for beginners like myself. Cant see how one hole can be 287 feet and a par 3 and another 400 feet and a par 3
--lots of geese in the area to avoid. They are not intimidated by anything, including oncoming traffic, they seem indifferent to the people there but I avoided them to be on the safe side
Other Thoughts: --I am sure this course just gets better as the summer dries up
--would love to see some of the longer holes i.e. 4, 13 and a couple others get bumped to a par 4 for those who haven't gotten down a long range shot.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.