Bridgeport, CT 
Veteran's Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: reposado Hole #8 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 290ft.   4 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Challenging Woods Course & Fun Group

1    8/21/2020   9/14/2020
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 714  Reviewed: 338  Exp: 27.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let me first explain . Veterans Memorial Park's course is very good and grades out at 3.5 , but the fun disc golfers that hang out at the start of the course , playing off and on , grade at least a 4 ( Excellent ) . More on that , later . Parking for the course is along a long high cement wall . Look for the Park sign . I did not see a bathroom inside the park .
The Equipment - There are 2 tees for most of the holes , but the shorter are natural . The regular tees are astroturf tees and level , about 4 1/2' X 8' . The tee signs ( only at regular tee pads ) are original and fun signs , still giving you necessary information ,. Check out the signs . The baskets are Chainstars , but I was told that the course is going to update the baskets to newer models soon . There is a nice kiosk at Hole #1's tee . Make sure you take a picture of it if you haven't downloaded a map . A putting basket sits at the bottom of a small hill . There is also a basket that sits out in the open that you can throw to while warming up . There are benches at the bottom of the hill and a grill that comes on at night to feed the masses of course enthusiasts that hang around . @ picnic tables at the top of the small hill are always full of players or friends that just like to hang out with the group .
The Landscape - The course and surroundings were very clean , and the warmup area and grass near hole's 1 & 18 were mowed . This course receives a lot of care . thanks to Course Designers like Dustin Demilo , and Course Curator Mario Rodriguez . Veteran's Memorial Park's 18 hole course rolls a lot , with clever basket placements and tees coming off of ridges . 90% of the course is woods . , or at least throwing into it or out of it . There are interesting and scenic rock formations that come into play on several of he holes and dot the landscape . The course is above average in raw beauty . There are nice mature trees that form canopies and plenty of shade besides forming obstacles for your drives , and approaches .
The Highlights - The Highlights for me was hanging out with the crew at hole #1 , but here are the go-to holes . #2 is a Slight downhill drive 340' that has a risk/reward small green that drops off in the back . #7 is a rt to left 250' midrange toss to a basket that sits on top of a pile of large rocks . #14 circles rt to left with trees guarding the left of the fairway ( 250' ) . The basket sits on a hill . #15 , 440' is a level drive through a thin fairway There is a hidden pit in front of the basket. #16 is a drive that will start to climb up a grade , and the front of the basket is guarded by a rock wall .
Signature Hole - #8 , 420' . The fairway goes straight up , right to left , then back to the right , where the basket is protected behind large rocks .
Disc Risk - Low . The woods is pretty clear . There are pocket of overgrowth , but barring a ricochet to a blind basket , you should leave with the discs you came with .
The Time - It took me about an hour and 5 minutes to play the course . A group of 4 should finish in about 2 hours .
Challenge - At roughly 6200' , the course is challenging and has a great mix of holes . You will use a lot of the discs in your bag on this one .
Aesthetics - not just the beauty of the course , but the appreciation of the course by the people that continue to show up . people like Dustin and Mario , and players that bring their dogs like Greg Newkirk . or very good players that enjoy the social aspects more than the game itself , like Marvin . This place is just as much of a Happening as it is a place to play . Dustin is just as enthuse about grilling you some chicken or a met as he is about throwing 18 ( He does both well ) .
The course is popular , so plan for extra time to complete it during peak times .
It was nice that the course was free . too
Cons: #1 Parking . Not a big fan of no real parking lot , parking where you won't see your vehicle until you leave . Bring what you need before you leave your car , or you will have a long walk back to it .
#2 Navigation . There were some next tee signs painted on some trees , and tape on bottom rungs of the basket help , but multiple paths and course flow can confuse first timers . I had to tell a woman with her 2 kids that she walked past the 18th tee and was missing the end of the course .
Spray for bugs Terrain is tough , you will sweat = Insects .


Other Thoughts: A large chunk of woods dedicated to disc golf , a well designed course , and a chill area at the end . The group will talk on all topics , but it will always come back around to disc golf , and the locals will trade stories back and forth with you . It is rare that you can have that special " IT " quality with a disc golf course , and Veteran's Memorial Park has that . I wasn't supposed to be here , as I was kicked off of Wickham Park ( top rated course in Connecticut ) because of the Pro Tour , but I am happier that I played here , instead . I am told the course is ever improving , and I anticipate that my rating will rise with it . Thank You to all of my new friends for making me feel welcome , as an outsider . Dustin , I am putting you , Mario and Greg in charge of putting the Focus back into Marvin's game and making him an A Tier player again .
My Recommendation - With the 2 tee system , the course is good for newbies , intros , 1 discers , , and families . Maybe even dates . Locals will love this course , with the friendly banter that goes on before and after your round . The course is just strong enough to appease the intermediates , ams and pros . Not far off of I-95 and just off of Rt 15 , this is a fun stop for the traveler . Course Collectors will thrive , since it sits right above Fairfield , Sherwood island , Cranbury , Oyster Shell and Wavenly . I could give you reasons to stop here , but can't think of ones to not . Experience it , and PLAY IT !!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 on't let "park" fool you - this is a wooded course!

1    6/3/2018   11/1/2018
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 158  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-The holes are fair and the lines are visible - although as a first-time player, I had to walk a bunch of the holes to find the basket.
- And the particular challenge here is the basket placements: many are raised, and it's rocky - so there's almost always the risk of a devastating bounce and rollaway!
Cons:
- Course navigation is a bit tricky. I remember a long wandering walk from the first basket to the second tee. Take a picture of the big map at the first tee - it helps!
Other Thoughts: This is a really good and challenging course. Don't let the "Park" in the name fool you: it's a solid woods course through and through.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Love Park City!

1    9/5/2016   9/7/2016
Review By: atompell
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Mixed fields with open space to throw, with baskets sitting in wooded areas
- Each hole has a unique layout, which makes it challenging but fun
- Hole #1 and #18 are a lot of fun, makes you want to throw all the discs in your bag!
- Well maintained and organized
Cons: - Parking, you have to park by the gates on Park ave
Other Thoughts: I have to say, this is my favorite course in the Fairfield County area. I didn't know what to expect, but as I got there you can tell the design was well thought out, with the layout, maps, and tee boxes. I was truly impressed.

While playing, I said to a friend... "THIS is a course you take people to, that are interested in disc golf". Although I am still an amateur disc golfer - this course made me feel the closest to a pro. I didn't shoot well, but sure enjoyed playing. Excited to go back again.

Please support this course!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    6/27/2016   7/18/2016
Review By: markfohara
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course, lots of different shots, it stays interesting the whole time. I play this course regularly and its always a blast. Oh, and I heard that there's tournaments there on mondays for those of you who arent as bad as me.
Cons: hmmmm...... I hit the trees a lot, but i'm pretty sure that's my fault, and not the trees.....
Other Thoughts: This is pretty much my home course so I have nothing but good things to say about it. A must try for anyone in the area

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Really enjoyed

1    3/25/2016   3/30/2016
Review By: Ricksastar
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed the variety of shots at this course. A very good mix of forehands, backhands, etc. Some really unique holes as well that aren't easy to gorget. They newly installed some astro turf pads that I've never played on before and rather enjoyed.
Cons: The course has quite a bit of trash on it, more than I expected. A bit tough to find some of the next tee pads, but barely worth mentioning..... then why did I mention it? dunno...
Other Thoughts: Definitely get out and play if you have the chance.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/24/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 9.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very much a solid course that features the variety that I have learned to associate with southern New England. Open holes and wooded holes share the course here. It's a course of intermediate difficulty that does a lot to appeal to an array of players, even if none of them will find it to be an ideal course. Some holes are flat. Others feature a decent amount of elevation. There a little left, a little right, etc. There are holes of different distances, although there are no holes of major length. In any case, you all know what I mean by variety.
There is really not much to say here. Off for me, but it is hard to describe this course as anything but "solid." The hole design won't disappoint. The open holes allow players to watch some pretty disc flights. The wooded holes feature fairways of perfect width that allow nice lines, forcing players to use both hyzer and anhyzer tosses. My favorite hole was probably 11. It's a tight channel that is both downhill and with a right finish.
Cons:
It definitely needs some polish. I don't think the course could be considered to be under construction four years in but it looked like tees were being installed on a couple of holes. Tees are the thing that are mostly holding Veteran's back from reaching its 3.5 potential. Most of the surfaces aren't just natural. They are rooty and spotted with partially buried stones. Not great. (However, two of the tees were clearly under construction. If all of the holes will have cement tees in the near future, it will seriously bump the rating for this course.)
The navigation is also lacking. A lot of the time, the correct path is intuitive or the tee is visible. In other instances, there is an arrow pointing in the correct direction. But there are points on the course where the arrow has been obscured or the brick moved. First-time visitors will do some wandering.
Other Thoughts: Not a destination course but worth playing and so close to the highway.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Veterans

1    3/29/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: SnowSerf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course layout, the 1st 10th and 18th are right next to each other. Close to the Merritt. Challenging course with a variety of holes and elevation. Some length.
Cons: Very filthy, the course is dirty with garbage and it does take away from the experience. Clean up after yourself. Glass and empties all over. Tee boxes were also pretty beat up dirt, and navigation was a little tricky at times. Also huge groups of players roaming the course was a pain,
Other Thoughts: Put up more signage especially about littering and respect. New tee boxes and course direction would help.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Another awesome CT course!

1    4/18/2014   4/19/2014
Review By: maninthebox
Played: 56  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 33.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, I love the terrain of this course. Good elevation changes, and the course makes very effective use of them. A pretty good variety of holes, plenty of up, down, straight, righty and lefty holes (although maybe biased a bit towards lefties). I love the basket placement on hole 15, on a bit of a peninsula with a shallow ravine on 3 sides, very cool. And for a wooded course, the fairways all seemed to be plenty wide to allow a little margin of error with your drives, while still being tight enough to provide a challenge.
Cons: The broken glass has been mentioned plenty, and it is an eyesore, but not as bad as some reviews make it out to be. I might not have even noticed it if it hadn't been pointed out to me during the round. Another eyesore is the graffiti that's been popping up on some rocks/trees. Definitely unfortunate, but neither of these issues affect play at all. Also, some holes might have been difficult to find if I wasn't playing with a local.
Other Thoughts: I played from the long tees and most holes seemed to be in the 300-400 foot range. No gimme birdies on the course, and no real guaranteed 4's either, although many holes can be birdied with a good drive or bogeyed with a poor one. All of the elevation change helped mix it up enough so that you don't really notice the lack of variety in expected scoring from hole to hole, if that makes sense.
One other thing to be aware of, near the basket for hole 3, there are hundreds of ground bees (you'll see little holes in the ground all over). I've been told they don't sting, so they're not a hazard, but can definitely be disconcerting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/1/2014   4/1/2014
Review By: jmadersky
Played: 49  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great layout. The course requires a variety of shotmaking skills. Pars are manageable, birdies attainable.
Cons: Glass everywhere, bugs, I wish there were more than two cement tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Worth the drive from Southington. Quick play, fun track, I love the elevation changes.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best course ive played!

5+    10/17/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: ThumbMan12
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: AMAZING design, Adam really pulled out his creative side when designing this course. Finishing up a quick 9 is easy since it brings you right back to the beginning of the course, 9,10,11 are right next to hole 1. Very challenging even for the most advanced players out there! This is NOT a very open course, only a few holes do you have the opportunity to really launch it out there. Mildly to densely wooded which makes it a more technical game to be on the MONEY with your drives, approaches and putts. PRECISION is key with Veterans,
Cons: Course is very new still so we must give it time but my personal opinion is a few trees here and there must be cut! Several spots are so unforgiving even with a beautiful drive, there will be one or two small nagging trees right there to take you down. 5 is especially the heart breaker, there is literally a wall of trees in front of you for your second shot. Time will tell and the future is bright.
Other Thoughts: With college back in session and the proximity to SHU (quarter mile) it is a hot spot for college students to hang. Most are respectful but it does seem to be turning into a problem with garbage. Although TONS of work has gone into cleaning this long forgotten park, some garbage is coming back. This is especially true at the picnic table where 14,16,17 meet and also hole 15s bench. Wrappers and paper of all kinds but nothing that a garbage can here or there wont fix.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.