Bryan, OH 
Recreation Park Share
Uploaded By: zero_43502 Hole #1 (Taken 11/2010)
4 / 395ft.   3 / 205ft.   4 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Worthwhile

1    7/16/2017   7/16/2017
Review By: remraf
Played: 22  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
Pros: + Multiple tees
+ Long if played from the red or blue tees
+ Mostly easy to figure out where to go next. Exceptions are from basket 1 to tee 2, and basket 9 to tee 10 - the worst of the two. The 10th tee is clear across the parking lot from the 9th basket.
+ Good signage
+ Sits in an ENORMOUS, gorgeous, well kept park.
+ Nice big map just to the right of the first tee
Cons: - I'll start with the big one for me. Nearly every single tee shot on the front 9, and some on the back have low tree ceilings. Enjoy rollers off the tee? 70% of the course? Then this course is for you! On the positive side, I got to work on my virtually non existent roller, and got it to a point I could rely on it. But I'm not a fan of walking up to tee after tee after tee and it requiring the same throw off the tee as the previous, let alone it being a roller. I personally like variety from hole to hole, and while rollers can be fun, and challenging I found it monotonous and tedious here. There *are* some opportunities to actually throw off the tee, especially on the back side of the course. But front is roller city, and not my thing.
- No real tee pads - just grass or dirt, with colored, circular markers flush with the ground.
Other Thoughts: > The baskets seemed taller and narrower than what I am used to.
> I would consider this a course that is in the open, but with tons of trees. It is not "in the woods" at all.
> The last 4 or so holes are in an area with these humongous, old mature trees that at least still give you the opportunity to actually throw off of the tee. Those holes were my favorite part of the course, by far.
> Overall, it IS a good course. Actual tee pads would be great, but otherwise well worth playing. I just personally didn't care for roller city on the front 9. Others may love that...

 Roll On

1    7/9/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: ChrisWoj
Played: 128  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Recreation Park is a strong course that challenges some unique aspects of your disc golf game. The course's primary pro is that it uses the property available very well. The course is set on a very flat piece of land with occasional groves of pine trees. It makes use of the pine trees by playing along fairways that have ceilings at approximately ten to fifteen feet above the ground, at most, and have distances that make it impossible to reach the holes on the low line drives necessary. This is primarily true on the front nine. The back nine is a bit more open, with some true distance pumps.

The nice thing about this is that it tests new aspects of your game. As a player with a fairly strong roller game I dropped seven rollers off of the tee, six of them on the front nine if I remember correctly. These were low line drive rollers with my flippiest low speed driver, put down on the ground quickly to cover more ground than a line drive could. No other course that I have played has challenged me like this one did to utilize my roller game. Hole one, with its green monster, is also built as an ideal roller hole with the basket placement behind the wall and trees to the left of it making an air approach from the tee a matter of luck, but an approach on the ground a matter of skill.

As mentioned the back nine opens things up a bit. The holes on the back lack the ceilings of the front, but hold onto the distance necessary. A few of the holes are set up to play with enticing risk-reward gaps that challenge players appropriately: a wide open hyzer to 400 feet, or take the wide but challenging anhyzer for a near 500 foot flex shot that'll get you to the pin? All told some very nice shots on the back.
Cons: The first negative aspect of the course is the flatland play. There is no elevation in play, and no quirks on the greens to add any elevation to the putting game. Overall you will be throwing a lot of low straight shots on the course along the nicely mowed property.

Additionally the course lacks proper signage at times. The course does have scorecards out for players to take and use, however only certain teepads have tee signs. Most of the signs are set up on the longest layout listed, but others are set up on the mid or shorter tees. If a player intends to play a round entirely from the longest layout it is impossible to find a few of the long tees listed in the scorecards. It is possible that they simply are no longer in use at all anymore, and the scorecards simply haven't been altered to match.

The tees themselves are not concrete pads. They are dirt. In many cases this is not a negative, however this course does have very long holes which require a lot of driving power coming through the legs. Wearing a pair of hiking sneakers I definitely slipped more than a couple of times on the worn dirt surface in attempts to put a little more behind my hucks.

The course also has a very long walk from the 18th green to the 1st tee. The recommendation I have is parking at the area around holes 16/17 and putting that walk into the early portion of the round. Walking back to the car takes 5-10 minutes. Walking briskly as someone fit and with a friend likewise fit it took us 5 to get to the car. I can imagine it being a longer walk for many other golfers. It really is a bit excessive and could have been planned out a bit better.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my time on this course. It challenged unique aspects of my game, forced me to play some challenging up shots, and featured some neat shots overall. The green monster is, as has been mentioned, a nice feature. I wouldn't call the hole a "signature hole" and agree with the poster that said that there was not truly a "signature hole" on the course. It makes for a challenging and unique shot, but when you step up to the teepad you don't get the feeling that you're seeing something unique and incredible as you do on holes like Highbridge Gold 8, Idlewild 16, Winthrop 5, etc. But it is a neat feature.

It is also a relatively easy course to find, a fun play, and somewhere that was worth driving an hour and a half to check out. I had a fun day out there. I recommend playing it at least once, it gives you some insight into your own game, and makes for a nice afternoon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Big Variety

1    8/14/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: cadmaker
Played: 48  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8 Years
Pros: I liked the variety of the hole types on the course. I found the low tree cover tough on many of the holes. The course seemed quite well kept. The tees were pretty easy to find, especialy with the maps.
Cons: A couple of the baskets were hard to find and didn't seem to match the tee signs or maps very well. We didn't see the hole 1 basket until we finished putting into 8.

Some of the holes would have been intimidating to play if the park was busier (especially around socccer and baseball fields).
Other Thoughts: I will go back to play the course again, even though it is an hour drive. I think it will be more fun knowing where the baskets are located.

 The New 9 !!

5+    11/19/2010   11/20/2010
Review By: Zigzaggler
Played: 42  Reviewed: 14
This review was updated on 7/1/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The new design of this course puts a brand new feel to a familiar park. I had the pleasure of playing it for the first time with the two designers of the new layout. The course flows extremely well through park staying away from the soccer fields and walk way for the most part. A better use of all the natural obstacles was WELL planed. The challenge level just went way up on this new course ! With pro and am. tees,,it seems all the right things went in to this plan: (big arms, finesse, and a very good short game) and out came one of the better local courses by far !
Cons: The tee boxes are just marks beside the posts on the dirt.... for now.
Other Thoughts: If it has been a while since you have hucked a round at this park or perhaps have even given up on playing it..well well LOOK again !! The new layout is AMAZING, and with the future looking real positive for a back nine here...This place is only going to get better !!...A new favorite course on the local scene !! Thanx !!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.