Bryan, OH 
Recreation Park Share
Uploaded By: zero_43502 Hole #18 (Taken 1/2019)
4 / 438ft.   3 / 205ft.   4 / 490ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Hidden Decent Course with Shot Variety

5+    4/10/2019   4/16/2019
Review By: nwitter90
Played: 71  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a large variety of shots. It is one of the best pros about this course. Most of the front 9 forces excellent height control or you must be able to throw rollers. The back nine is a welcome difference after playing the somewhat technical front nine. There are a few long holes that allow players to grip and rip but still must be aware of where the disc lands because there is still OB and trees to contend with.

I have been to a number of courses where I find myself using the same few discs because the holes don't force different tee shots. This course offers many shot types off the tee including, rollers, hyzers, anhyzers, hyzer flips, force flex shots, and most of the holes have multiple options.

Cement Pads

Practice Basket (although pretty low to the ground)

The back nine has all the same baskets (Chainstar)

Restrooms open during the season and a portable available during the off season.

In addition to the cement tees, two more sets of tees. One set being shorter/combined with cement tees and the other set being longer. Other than the 8 combined white/red tees, these alternate tees are natural. For the most part they are good for footing but after a heavy rain, a few of them can be slick.
Cons: Other than the 8 combined white/red tees, these alternate tees are natural. For the most part they are good for footing but after a heavy rain, a few of them can be slick.

The front nine has a few baskets that are Chainstars and the rest are older mach 3s. The mach 3s don't catch as good as other premier baskets I have played. It would be a welcomed upgrade to replace these baskets.

A few of the baskets are lower to the ground. they don't seem to be cemented into the ground which would explain some of the sink that has happened on a few of them.

A few of the holes can be unplayable (unplayable meaning that you have to skip it because there are pedestrians too close to the fairways) due to other park activities taking place such as soccer or flag football. This is not often but it does happen during the busy sports season.

What the course makes up in shot variety it lacks in elevation change. The course is flat.
Other Thoughts: Hole 6 is something that many players don't like because it is challenging. I will take hole 6 at this course over a poke and hope wooded hole or wide open hole every time. The reward for throwing 2-3 good shots consecutively is very evident on hole 6.

The local leagues happen weekly and usually yield between 10-20 players.

There is a bit of a walk from 18 basket to hole 1 tee pad. This is unfortunate but is part of the design to use the park the best way the designers saw fit. I personally don't mind the walk but sometimes after a bad round no one likes to look in the distance and realize they have to walk over 500 feet back to the car.

The title of this review is hidden decent course because it is located right in the middle of Fort Wayne and Toledo. Unless you are from the area, most people venture to Toledo or Fort Wayne to play when they are up this way. I would say that this course is as enjoyable as any course in Toledo or Fort Wayne with the exception of maybe one course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Best Around

5+    1/2/2019   1/30/2019
Review By: Larcon
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the premier disc golf course in Northwest Ohio.
- Course is well designed with a nice flow of play
- Players of all levels can enjoy playing this course
- The variety of holes, requires different shot making skills
- Concrete tee pads
- Well maintained park with excellent facilities
- A practice basket has been installed near the No. 1 tee
Cons: - Front nine holes are a mixed variety of baskets
- Hole No. 6 can ruin your day
- 18 different holes provide very few chances for an ace
Other Thoughts: With new concrete tee pads installed during the summer of 2018, the course deserves a higher over all average rating than it presently has.

It is a fun, yet challenging course, that is a cut above most other disc golf courses, and that enjoyment will draw you back, again and again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

wish it was a bit closer to home

2-4    9/15/2018   10/13/2018
Review By: shiftyjoco
Played: 27  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 32.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: the parks did a good job on this course.
design is good, tees are excellent. signage is above average, except finding going from 9 - 10 which plays in other half of the park.
when i first played, there was a wall on number 1 and the basket was on the other side of it, so you had to have a good accurate drive down past the left of the trees and stay from crossing the fence to the ball field, then go for the pin.

hole I believe maybe 6, under the pines , long, narrow ..very challenging hole.
It plays around the perimeter of the park, starting on the south west side. this where where the first 9 are played. the second 9 (east side of park) goes from right across the lot of the disc golf playing sign and goes a bit north, then back south with a nice chance through wide open field to let it fly, going back east again for decent length hole and working north along the and through the park and ending at the playground.
Cons: what can i say.. it is a nice course.
too bad 18 did not end where you start. however,, just a fun course.
Other Thoughts: i like to talk to people when ever i play new course I am visiting.
I have been here a few times and each time the local people walking their dogs, and generally utilizing the park were extremely friendly and inviting and excited that people are using the park.
the only ones that did seem somewhat short was the league players that i bumped into the last time i was there., Again they were not unfriendly, but not as helpful as i would have been to a traveler.
I guess for me it is more social than for some.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Constant Improvement

5+    9/22/2018   9/26/2018
Review By: ThunderInLowPlaces
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New this summer are concrete tee launch pads on all 18 holes! They also replaced many of the signs making it even easier to find the basket, shorter/longer tee locations, and distance from each of them. Construction has also removed a few obstacles and troublesome trees making it feel more open in some places.
Cons: Big Green Monster on hole one has been removed, not sure if this is temporary or permanent. There are markings for a cross country course through the area so it could be just for that. Seasonal youth soccer fields may block the course in a couple spots making it risky to play on if people are present.
Other Thoughts: The low canopies on several holes have encouraged me to throw more rollers and they have proven to be quite effective.
Other players here are usually very friendly, multiple times I have arrived alone to play and immediately was invited to play with another group.
It looks like the park management values disc golf and input from players as it continues to make improvements in the quality of the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worthwhile

1    7/16/2017   7/16/2017
Review By: remraf
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Multiple tees
+ Long if played from the red or blue tees
+ Mostly easy to figure out where to go next. Exceptions are from basket 1 to tee 2, and basket 9 to tee 10 - the worst of the two. The 10th tee is clear across the parking lot from the 9th basket.
+ Good signage
+ Sits in an ENORMOUS, gorgeous, well kept park.
+ Nice big map just to the right of the first tee
Cons: - I'll start with the big one for me. Nearly every single tee shot on the front 9, and some on the back have low tree ceilings. Enjoy rollers off the tee? 70% of the course? Then this course is for you! On the positive side, I got to work on my virtually non existent roller, and got it to a point I could rely on it. But I'm not a fan of walking up to tee after tee after tee and it requiring the same throw off the tee as the previous, let alone it being a roller. I personally like variety from hole to hole, and while rollers can be fun, and challenging I found it monotonous and tedious here. There *are* some opportunities to actually throw off the tee, especially on the back side of the course. But front is roller city, and not my thing.
- No real tee pads - just grass or dirt, with colored, circular markers flush with the ground.
Other Thoughts: > The baskets seemed taller and narrower than what I am used to.
> I would consider this a course that is in the open, but with tons of trees. It is not "in the woods" at all.
> The last 4 or so holes are in an area with these humongous, old mature trees that at least still give you the opportunity to actually throw off of the tee. Those holes were my favorite part of the course, by far.
> Overall, it IS a good course. Actual tee pads would be great, but otherwise well worth playing. I just personally didn't care for roller city on the front 9. Others may love that...

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course!

1    4/16/2017   4/18/2017
Review By: cmsieja
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.6 Years
Pros: Loved the multiple tee pads, signage was very good, landscape was kept up nicely
Cons: Very open course not good for windy days, tee pads were hard to find on some holes
Other Thoughts: We got there in the early afternoon and took our first shot on hole one before we decided it was way to windy to play there. We decided to go do some hiking in Fort Wayne and try to come back at the end of the day. We got back around 4:30 that afternoon and the conditions were much better. Beautiful grounds and fun place to play. Some of the tee pads could use little flags or something to make them a little easier to find. We never found the white tee for hole 18 so we just took a guess since the sun was going down quickly.

 Roll On

1    7/9/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: ChrisWoj
Played: 148  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 14.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Recreation Park is a strong course that challenges some unique aspects of your disc golf game. The course's primary pro is that it uses the property available very well. The course is set on a very flat piece of land with occasional groves of pine trees. It makes use of the pine trees by playing along fairways that have ceilings at approximately ten to fifteen feet above the ground, at most, and have distances that make it impossible to reach the holes on the low line drives necessary. This is primarily true on the front nine. The back nine is a bit more open, with some true distance pumps.

The nice thing about this is that it tests new aspects of your game. As a player with a fairly strong roller game I dropped seven rollers off of the tee, six of them on the front nine if I remember correctly. These were low line drive rollers with my flippiest low speed driver, put down on the ground quickly to cover more ground than a line drive could. No other course that I have played has challenged me like this one did to utilize my roller game. Hole one, with its green monster, is also built as an ideal roller hole with the basket placement behind the wall and trees to the left of it making an air approach from the tee a matter of luck, but an approach on the ground a matter of skill.

As mentioned the back nine opens things up a bit. The holes on the back lack the ceilings of the front, but hold onto the distance necessary. A few of the holes are set up to play with enticing risk-reward gaps that challenge players appropriately: a wide open hyzer to 400 feet, or take the wide but challenging anhyzer for a near 500 foot flex shot that'll get you to the pin? All told some very nice shots on the back.
Cons: The first negative aspect of the course is the flatland play. There is no elevation in play, and no quirks on the greens to add any elevation to the putting game. Overall you will be throwing a lot of low straight shots on the course along the nicely mowed property.

Additionally the course lacks proper signage at times. The course does have scorecards out for players to take and use, however only certain teepads have tee signs. Most of the signs are set up on the longest layout listed, but others are set up on the mid or shorter tees. If a player intends to play a round entirely from the longest layout it is impossible to find a few of the long tees listed in the scorecards. It is possible that they simply are no longer in use at all anymore, and the scorecards simply haven't been altered to match.

The tees themselves are not concrete pads. They are dirt. In many cases this is not a negative, however this course does have very long holes which require a lot of driving power coming through the legs. Wearing a pair of hiking sneakers I definitely slipped more than a couple of times on the worn dirt surface in attempts to put a little more behind my hucks.

The course also has a very long walk from the 18th green to the 1st tee. The recommendation I have is parking at the area around holes 16/17 and putting that walk into the early portion of the round. Walking back to the car takes 5-10 minutes. Walking briskly as someone fit and with a friend likewise fit it took us 5 to get to the car. I can imagine it being a longer walk for many other golfers. It really is a bit excessive and could have been planned out a bit better.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my time on this course. It challenged unique aspects of my game, forced me to play some challenging up shots, and featured some neat shots overall. The green monster is, as has been mentioned, a nice feature. I wouldn't call the hole a "signature hole" and agree with the poster that said that there was not truly a "signature hole" on the course. It makes for a challenging and unique shot, but when you step up to the teepad you don't get the feeling that you're seeing something unique and incredible as you do on holes like Highbridge Gold 8, Idlewild 16, Winthrop 5, etc. But it is a neat feature.

It is also a relatively easy course to find, a fun play, and somewhere that was worth driving an hour and a half to check out. I had a fun day out there. I recommend playing it at least once, it gives you some insight into your own game, and makes for a nice afternoon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 What a Course!

2-4    6/16/2012   6/16/2012
Review By: hoyle7780
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 27.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Championship caliber course!
Has multiple sets of tee's to cater to all levels of players.
Has a Big Green monster on Hole #1 very much like fenway park, very cool!
VARIETY! This course does not have repetition. If you have allot of thumbers & rollers you will do well.
Challenging! - If you like simple easy hyser shots all day this course is not for you.
If you whine like a little girl because a hole is to hard then don't come here, If you want to test your game and see how good you aren't... then come here.
Vending machines on many holes.
Course map, scorecards and take along maps.

Cons: Middle of nowhere - Not close to anything really. If you dont mind a drive then it's worth it.
A slight walk from #18 to hole #1
Can be confusing if you cant read or follow simple directions.
Flat
Other Thoughts: I like how someone wrote in a previous review - "this course has no personal identity/nothing that sticks in your mind"
Really? How about the Big ass green monster wall on hole #1,

These guys have done a phenominal job with the park land they have been given. Not many shots play the same, allot of trick shots required off the tee, baskets placed to make them quite challenging.
I have played over 200 courses and this ranks in my top 10, if you are scared of a challenge then stay away!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Average,lone ranger

5+    5/6/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: THE GOV'NA
Played: 79  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: well..its 18 holes..its the only 18 hole course within a 45 minute drive..if you like long holes you will love this course..if not the white tees are great but incredibly hard to find.
Cons: 1.lack of elevation
2.crowded by other sports that seem to dominate the area.
3.long
4.natural tees,and front 9 has really old baskets that arent put together correctly.
5.this course has no personal identity/nothing that sticks in your mind
6.White tees arent documented on the course map
7.regular tees arent very beginner friendly

Other Thoughts: this course is great if ur in the area and looking to play 18..otherwise there are 2,9 hole course close by that i personally like better..but hey its 18 holes right?

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Big Variety

1    8/14/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: cadmaker
Played: 51  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.5 Years
Pros: I liked the variety of the hole types on the course. I found the low tree cover tough on many of the holes. The course seemed quite well kept. The tees were pretty easy to find, especialy with the maps.
Cons: A couple of the baskets were hard to find and didn't seem to match the tee signs or maps very well. We didn't see the hole 1 basket until we finished putting into 8.

Some of the holes would have been intimidating to play if the park was busier (especially around socccer and baseball fields).
Other Thoughts: I will go back to play the course again, even though it is an hour drive. I think it will be more fun knowing where the baskets are located.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.