Kountze, TX 
Kountze DGC Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #9 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 315ft.   3 / 395ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
ug

1    5/30/2017   6/1/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 391  Reviewed: 208  Exp: 29.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lets see, pros.....
it has all it's baskets.
It has a cool putting game area
Thank goodness it has a map near hole 1
Cons: Where to start..........
No tee signs.
All the tees are on the walking path, most are really faded, some are almost impossible to see unless you have the map in hand.
what the heck, I have to walk back and forth to play 5 holes in a row?
Other Thoughts: Oh my, There is no way a course designer did this course.

I will admit that each hole by itself are sort of ok, it is just a very poor course to play.

If you look at the map you will notice there are suppose to be long and short tee's for each hole. The shorts are all sort of marked on the sidewalk. The longs were marked with a different color pain and it has mostly faded away.

Hole one is simple enough, a too long of a hole over a field of mudbugs (Crawdads, or crayfish) to a basket near a tree.

Then you have to walk back across the park to hole 2 that throws down the side of a field with some rough on the left and the soccor field on the right. Against, loaded with mudbugs. It is an ok hole other than you are throwing down a popular walking path. (same one you are teeing off from)

Basket is in the edge of the park in a nice green area.

Hole 3 is a interesting hole. You again are throwing down the walking path with one large bushy tree in front of the basket that is actually back into a very very small clearing in the rough. You wan to land between the basket and that large bushy tree to have a chance for the putt, miss your putt and you are in the deep stuff 3 foot behind the basket.

Not much to say about the next 5 holes. Look at the map on this page. You basically are throwing from the walking path 5 times in a row threw a group of trees to the basket about 250 to 270 in the open area between the trees and soccer field.

I am sorry, it is horrible design to have to walk back and forth on 5 holes in a row.

Hole 9 is again, back to the sidewalk to a basket down by the tennis courts. (across a field of, you guessed it, mudbugs)

I can see what the course designer was trying to do, I just think it could have been done MUCH better.

I can not recommend wasting your time playing this course.

I know I will never be playing it again.

A small town 9 hole course in a small park like this should be a pitch and putt course. Re design the course going around the park, you could make a more fun recreational course out here. You can always make up a safari tees if you want a challenge.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 gotta start somewhere

5+    7/9/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: bangingthechains
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: new baskets good clean park multiple tees on one two three and nine good amount of golfers can usuely get a good game started a chance to meet new people with the same passion for disc golf. course map up to date even a putting course to improve your short game..
Cons: the backtracking on the back side of the course alot of walking traffic makes for a long day not alot of shade until hole four through nine but as ive said alot of backtracking makes you feel like your going round in circles.. tennis courts right beside hole nine can end up throwing inside court if not carefull major pain but all in all not a bad place to throw a disc...
Other Thoughts: if you end up in the woods on the left of hole two watch for snakes they like to come out holes in the ground so be carefull.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Back Track-Bak Trak-Bk Trk-not again?!?

1    4/13/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 238  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 30.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a clean park with brand new baskets, a bathroom, great parking, and some trashcans out on the course. Hole length variation for a 9-hole course is not bad. There are trees, wide-open holes, and a couple of good pin placements. The basket positions are well placed for this little course in relevance to the tee pads. The is great use of the trees to make you work your disc on the wooded holes 4-8. The map at the beginning of the course is excellent (see picture in Files section). This is a decent place to play where nothing else is available.
Cons: The title of this review refers to the fact that once you tee off hole 4, you will have to back track each hole to the same stretch of pavement to get to the next tee continuously until after teeing off hole 9. Imagine one long stretch of pavement with tees along it and out on the other side of the tree line is a row of baskets. That is what you have here. Back tracking is a one of those things I don't car for on a course. I want to walk a route that takes me places and not just walk back and forth. The asphalt that are the tee pads was an inexpensive way for this place to get a course put in, however some of the spots are too short to make use of any kind of routine. Since the walking path is the tee pads, you need to watch out for walkers and even on weekdays, they are out in numbers. Holes variation as a course on the whole is great, but the fact that holes 4-8 are so similar, that stretch can get old.
Other Thoughts: There is not much of a Fun Factor here, but this place is better than having no course. The holes themselves are interesting enough, but it was just a tough layout to enjoy. It was great that they got the course in here and I'm glad I got to visit it. So, thank you Gift Horse, otherwise, I would have not gotten to play at all.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Start For This Area

1    12/11/2010   12/15/2010
Review By: scuddyp4
Played: 32  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Baskets. All of the baskets are brand new as the course is less than a year old. Tee pads are decent. They are all on the asphalt walking path in the park. There are 4 holes that have some decent length (longest on is about 450-475) to them so you should bring your distance discs. Plenty of parking and I don't think the park is ever really crowded. Plenty of open space to practice your drives if you would like. (There's a football field that acts as the right side fairway to 2)
Cons: No map and course is not very well laid out. No signs with distance or hole layout. Holes 4-8 run parallel and all throw the same direction so if you play you may want to throw a couple holes and then go down and putt if no one is waiting on you. Holes 4-8 also all seem to be pretty much the same hole 4 different times, but with slightly different lines. Course was a little wet when I was there and don't think it had rained too recently. The woods that are around the park are extremely thick. I had to go in after a disc and it was very hard to make my way through. Longer holes are pretty much wide open with nothing in between the tee and the basket and basket was just tucked away in the woods so there was really not much challenge even on the longer holes.
Other Thoughts: I found this course while passing through on my way to a Christmas party. I'm from a little further North but hadn't been through there in years and was surprised to see baskets. Hole 1 starts by the park entrance. There was a blue trash can when I was there,if that's not there then there is a covered area with picnic table under it. 1 is close to that. 2 is on the north side of the football field and starts on the other side of the playground. Those are the only places that I really had to look for the box. I would estimate that 1=375', 2=400-450, 3=375-400', 4-8=225-250' and 9=375=400. Those are not exact just estimates bases on the one time I've played there. Overall this is a decent course. I'm glad to see courses going up in smaller towns were the exposure to DG isn't high. Hopefully this will start a trend and it will spread a little further north into the Woodville area. There is great potential there for an amazing course in that area. This isn't a course that I would suggest drive several hours to go play. But given that there are only a couple of courses within 50 miles of this one I would recommend anyone from the area to check it out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.