Alpharetta, GA 
Wills Park Share
Uploaded By: Lewis Hole #14 (Taken 12/2010)
4 / 365ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Solid Course

1    10/22/2016   6/2/2018
Review By: Nigel_Tufnel
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun little course in the heart of Alpharetta. Played on a beautiful Fall afternoon before seeing a concert at the amphitheater down the street.

*Nice park with the course, baseball fields and equestrian center

*Good Pads and Pins

*Nice community of locals

*A number of fun/technical holes
Cons: *A couple holes where you are just throwing a disc and hoping it doesn't hit a tree

*Aforementioned terrain from holes 9-14, especially the sink holes

*Can be crowded

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    5/12/2018   5/17/2018
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 302  Reviewed: 289  Exp: 22 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a very nice city park in an affluent area north of Atlanta. I felt totally safe and welcome in this area in general and in the park. Played on a nice Saturday and May and the course was getting plenty of use. Definitely a family friendly place to play.

Wills has all the essentials 18 holes with tees, signs, and baskets.

Variety of open to varying degrees of wooded density. Actually starts out easy and seemed to progressively get harder as it went with tighter fairways. There is a small creek in play on a few holes adding to the scenery and challenge, but no real danger of losing discs.

Nothing real long, so a good fit for the casual player. Historically it is supposedly one of the oldest courses in the state, which also may justify it being on the s horter side this day and age. But it says it has been redesigned, so not sure how much of it is original.

Despite being on the shorter side there are some pretty tight and narrow holes that make many of these holes much tougher than the distance makes it seem. Which takes me to...
Cons: A couple of the holes were bordering on unrealistically tight gaps where luck could possibly outweigh skill.

Very spread out with groups of holes in different sections of the park, which I don't mind, but there are some long walks. A few times it is tricky to find the next hole for first timers, though tee signs and next tee signage helps occasionally, it just sometimes is not automatically intuitive as to where to go. Also know that #1 starts near one parking lot, but #18 ends near another, not terribly far apart, but definitely not the norm.

Holes are often times very close to other holes and close to other park activities- walking trails, baseball fields, pavilions, the usual. Other things I encountered were lots of people walking dogs through the course. And one hole was literally lined with horses tied up to trailers at the neighboring equine center- I was fearful of hitting and hurting one (or at the very least making it very mad). I must admit to never having a horse as an obstacle before, and I don't really want to ever again.

Signs could use some updating. Some new ones had been placed over some really old ones, but many of the new ones were fading and 3 were missing leaving only the old sign that pretty much only showed the hole number.

During little league baseball games, parking can be limited. My round began early, but people were desperate for my parking spot as I was leaving.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my round here, but I would not necessarily go out of my way to play it unless you are passing near the area, or are interested in playing older courses. A perfect course for locals looking for some fun relaxing throwing. All in all this is a course that offers the basic standards of a casual city park 18 hole course, thus my rating is 2.5 (Average) but still a fine course to play.

Be advised that traffic in Atlanta is every bit as bad as advertised. Not just rush hour, but all day long; and not just the heart of the city and the interstates, but extending for several miles into the northern suburbs (like Roswell and Alpharetta) affecting all roads, and not just the highways. Allow plenty of extra travel time and just be prepared to be patient and move slowly if driving.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Way Up Creek Without A Paddle

1    3/20/2018   5/16/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 296  Reviewed: 266  Exp: 4.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.679 Rating) A city park course with recreational challenges.
- ACEABILITY - Tee (1) short pad is like practicing jump putting for some. 145 foot shot with no obstacles. After this hole the aceability odds decrease quite a bit, but there are still some fairly easy gets. Four other holes are under 200 feet in length.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Parts of this layout are really exotic looking. Starting on hole (9) the layout plunges into a beautiful fully wooded portion of the park. The string of holes (11-14) will be a treat for technical players that like angelic landscapes. After (16) the course returns to the traditional city park look. Overall I gave the course roughly a 3 out of 5. Many of the early holes and some trash in the creek brought the overall beauty back a touch.
- QUICK PLAY - I conquered Wills Park in 50 minutes solo first time. Be sure and have a map downloaded or printed as this layout is pretty confusing and jumps around a lot. Figure a foursome should be done in 90 minutes.
- CHAINS - Hooray for DISCatchers. All the baskets were in great condition.
- TEES - For such a short course, the tees are wonderful. Concrete and 6 feet wide by 12 feet in length.
- CHARACTER - A touch above average for amenities and comfort items. In addition to nice tees and baskets, there is a practice basket, a few alternate basket placements, a few benches, an extra tee on hole (1), shelters with picnics tables and restrooms. Things I would have liked to have seen or seen more of, include an onsite course map, directional cues (see cons) and more multi tees and benches.

Cons: Wills Park has many of the same deficiencies of the typical small city park rec courses.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Wills park is going to give recreational players a really nice challenge, especially on holes (9-16) and then again on (18). However, for veteran players at the intermediate level and above, this course is going to be a walk in the park. Advanced level players should routinely finish 6 to 10 down. (14) is the only challenging hole being both 400 feet long and heavily wooded. It's listed as a par 4, which is a fair par level for rec players. Advanced players however will be able to deuce it on occasion.
- MULTI USE HAZARDS - A walking path and other park amenities come into play on a handful of holes. There are worse examples among the city park courses I've played but it's still far from optimal.
- SPACING AND LAYOUT FLOW - The course is really crammed together in spots. I threw into an adjacent fairway more than once, but thankfully I was the only one on the course. Holes (4-7) are jam packed, and so are holes (9-16). After finishing both (3) and (7), the route to the next tee brings the opposite of the before mentioned holes into play. After finishing (14) the route to (15) requires 250 feet of backtracking down the entirety of (15's) fairway. I'd keep my head on a swivel here if there were multiple groups on this course.
- NAVIGATION - Not the greatest. I would advise having a printed map on first go around. As mentioned above the layout flow is interesting in spots. I only recall one navigational cue during my round and it didn't help that much. The hole signage on many holes is falling apart and is becoming sun bleached.
- ELEVATION - As of this review I've played 6 Atlanta area courses and this one is the flattest. The gorging creek running along several holes makes for some interesting plays out of it if you happen to be dry, but other than that, the most any one hole changes is about 10 to 12 feet.
- UNIQUENESS - A touch below average. In addition to no elevation the course is really short and the driver will stay in the bag for much of the course for many players. There is one par 4 as mentioned on (14), but again, I would not be surprised that higher skilled players play them all 3s. Water is very prevalent with creek use on more than half the holes. However, I question how often there's water in it. I played one day after a one inch rain event and the creek was not much more than a trickle.
- TERRAIN - For a flat course, surprisingly difficult to traverse in areas, especially between holes (9-14). As mentioned, the small creek that runs through this part has cut a substantial deep gorge. At some times the depth of the creek bed exceeds 6 feet. I played one shot out of it (I was dry) on (14) and I couldn't see above the edge of the gorge.
- TRASH - Probably due to runoff from outside the park, but the creek had significant trash in spots. In addition, on (18), the creek had a standing pool of trash and oil slicks. It smelled awful. Thankfully the issue was isolated to only the one hole.

Other Thoughts: A fun little recreational utility course that I'm sure gets a lot of play from those within 5 mile radius. However outside that radius this course probably won't get much use. I played nearby East Roswell Park on the same trip and thought that course was a far superior disc golf course example.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Short, Tight & Technical

1    7/3/2017   7/3/2017
Review By: AlexAuB
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic use of the land available in a fairly crowded multi-use park.

You can leave the distance drivers at home, as the only hole over 300' is (justifiably) a par 4. But you will need to throw every shot in your arsenal here. Hyzers, anhyzers, dead straight shots, S-curves both directions... I even threw tomahawks and thumbers off the tee on a few holes.

It's a fun par 3 course. Hit your line and you'll likely be rewarded with an easy birdie putt. Miss and you'll have to get creative to save par. I didn't hit many lines.

Course is very well-kept. Plenty of trash cans, places to sit, and very little trash around. Course plays around several creeks, and for the most part the bridges are in good shape.
Cons: The course can be really difficult to navigate. There's very good signage at each hole and at a couple of confusing spots, but because of how the course is wedged into the rest of the park, the path to the next tee isn't always obvious. Have the course map with you or, better yet, play with a local.

The creeks that are perpetually in play are steep and hard to access if you find yourself throwing into them. Not a lot of good places to cross or get down.

The park sees a lot of use, and there are a few holes that play very near walking trails -- potential for walkers impeding shots.
Other Thoughts: Definitely pay attention to the info on this page to get you to the first tee, and have the course map handy. Very fun course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wills Park

5+    6/4/2016   6/8/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 175  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has practice basket

Has concrete tee pads

Has tee signs

Has many benches throughout course

Has a good mix of open and wooded fairways

Has multiple basket placements for a few holes

Has water in play on many holes but the creeks are narrow and shallow enough where it shouldn't be a factor in losing a disc

Free parking at multiple locations

Restrooms
Cons:
Walking path runs along the course fairly close on a few holes - expect some delays

Course can get crowded at times as it's popular with parkgoers and players

Hole #11 could use a better bridge

Course design and flow could use improvement as there are long walks between 8&9, 14&15, 16&17

Lots of exposed tree roots - be careful where to step

Course is mostly flat

Course can collect water and get muddy after rainfall in a few spots
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice, challenging multi-use park that has lots of water in play. With all the water and horse stables nearby, there's most likely an abundant rodent population including chipmunks where snakes can thrive here. I happened to come across a good six foot black rat snake near hole #10 - so don't be surprise to find snakes here. This course can get really crowded on the weekends with players and other parkgoers. The pavilion at hole #18 is popular and usually occupied so play may have to be improvised here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Played it. Loved it

2-4    8/15/2015   8/16/2015
Review By: JBoggus75
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Short, but Challenging
- Technical, but every hole had a clear line. (Nothing impossible that made me go crazy
- Good pads
- Good baskets
- Great next tee signs
- Good layout
- solid mix of lengths
Cons: - Crowded
- If you play on Saturday when there's a horse show, it smells as you think it would
- Some holes too close to the walking trails
- Walk from 14-15 is long
- walk from 16-17 is even loooonger
Other Thoughts: It is obvious that this course is well liked and well maintained. The next tee signs were great, but it did take me five holes to notice them. The shield for those on the 12th tee is a nice touch as well. If you take out the hike from 16-17, this course is really solid. I will be back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Well above average course

5+    7/9/2015   7/11/2015
Review By: Foyboy89
Played: 38  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -lots of technical challenging holes but short enough to not make you get suicidal on the course.
- very good logical flowing layout (minus the 16-17 transition)
great hole maps with distance and par info clearly layed out (and they are still in tack on all but like 3 holes)
-as challenging as the course is its still hard to loose a disc (at least I haven't yet, knock on wood)
-a Practice basket to warm up your putting before you hit the course.
Cons: -not all the hole map signs are still there
-some weekends horse trailers get parked on the fairway of hole 6
-Multi use complications in general
-Hole 14
- WildlifeI just about picked up an almost 2 foot copperhead snake in the creek on hole 2 as I was retrieving a disc
Other Thoughts: My favorite local course I think. Lots of cool dynamic Holes, Nothing too long (given hole 14) and an overall well thought out course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Technical Wooded Course

2-4    2/17/2015   2/17/2015
Review By: SD86
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 5/17/2015
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Wooded course. Great for practicing technical shots, shaped shots. There are a couple of holes open enough to drive for distance.

- Not a bad job to "shoehorn" the course into the park and make it decent and playable.

- Markers on the basket show the direction to the next hole, and the 10-meter rope is usually laid out in the direction of the next tee box.

- Course is in good condition. Concrete tees, baskets in good shape.

- There is a practice basket before reaching the first tee.

- There are restrooms near the practice basket and first tee, and also near the 3d tee box.

- Large trees offer a scenic view right in the middle of a busy park.
Cons: No. 11 - please build a bridge over the creek/ditch. Right now there are two boards, and I have vertigo and had trouble getting over it.

- played the course the day after it rained, so there was a lot of casual water and muddy spots to navigate. The course is good when dry.

- creek/ditch winds through the course, sometimes very close to the fairway. The ditch is deep, and there are too few places to cross over if a disc goes to the other side.

- The tees are marked with signs, and there are some signs guiding one to the next tee box. But not nearly enough. If I had not been playing with people who'd played that course before, I might never have found the 17th tee box from the 16th basket. It is a long, long walk and not obvious.

- The 15th is tricky to find (but there IS a sign). Most other holes aren't too hard to find and navigate, but there can be tricky moments.

- Some places are very near other park activities (one tee box is 6 feet from a pavilion, for example). One really has to watch out for other park-goers.

- Location of the first tee is not well marked and not intuitive to find.
Other Thoughts: - One will only need mid-range and short-range/putter discs for this course. Can bring fairway driver, but it will likely only be used on Holes 4,5, and 6. Definitely will get practice on shaping shots to avoid water and get around large trees.

- If it's one's first time, I recommend playing with someone who has played the course before, or one might have a very difficult and time-consuming time finding certain tee boxes.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Well maintained, but crowded

1    2/3/2015   2/3/2015
Review By: TennDG
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *well-designed

*lots of amenities nearby

*easy to follow

*creek provides a unique feel.
Cons: *Multi-use - croweded even in the off-season

*Noisy

*short shots
Other Thoughts: Played through on a march afternoon from out of town - it was easy to follow and well-maintained, but it was super-duper busy in this park. Escpecially on the front 6 and back 6 holes, I constantly had to look out for joggers/other players. The middle holes seemed a bit more secluded. The creek that runs through the middle of the course gives it a neat signature feel and provides an interesting challenge on some of the holes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty park full of technical holes

1    5/10/2014   5/10/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 64  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very attractive multi use park that is well maintained.

Mostly follows the path of a small creek that you will have the opportunity to land in on a lot of the holes.

A couple of the holes have alternate teepads and the baskets all have an arrow in a ring around the bottom to let you know where the next teepad is.

It's a shorter playing course but very technical, I used a variety of shots that I don't always use and had a ton of escape shots, short Tommy's and forehands with a putter.

All the pads are concrete and the baskets are newish Disccatchers.

Overall a fun day stomping through muddy woods.
Cons: It's a very short course hole distance wise, you may not need anything but a putter and a mid to play it. I only used fairway drivers on a few holes.

It's a crowded multi use park with picknic tables many baseball fields(played there as a kid, good memories), tennis courts and a pool. So it can be super crowded and kids will sometimes pick up a disc on the front nine.

There is an unusually long walk between 16 and 17 and it's the one hole not marked well.
Other Thoughts: I has a good time, but since drive are the best part of my game, I would have liked to throw some.

It's a great place to fall in love with your midranges again though and practice all the awkward shots you usually try not to use on a more open course.

I flicked my putter so many times I have a lot more confidence in it now.

Also bring a towel, between the creek and the many rain puddles this time of year it will be wet.

Would have given it a 3.25 if I could.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.