Chico, CA 
Peregrine Point Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #1 (Taken 3/2015)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Tee Pad Marker (no course signs)



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Has it all!

2-4    3/16/2017   3/21/2017
Review By: ted.moens@gmail.com
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you get a chance to play here, do so!

Clearly marked. Very well maintained (clean+). Very good tee pads. Incredible scenery.

Holes presented lots of challenges with plenty of variation.

Hole 3 was particularly fun with a shortish (bhrh) hyzer out over the canyon and back.

Even though there were lots of challenging shots, there were not that many places to loose a disc. Perhaps hole 7 is the exception as you need to clear a lot of gnarly scrub. New players might be wise to skip this tee and move down past the scrub.

The surface of rock and clay is little different than usual. It helps you break in your discs&#128513; but it also encourages you to consider changing your shot selection due to unpredictable rolls and skips.

Everyone we met was super nice, and you could see the pride they have in their course.

Portable outhouse on site.
Cons: No donation box (don't worry, we will find a way).

No free beer and hot tub for after the round.
Other Thoughts: Thanks as always to the volunteers.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great All Around Course

2-4    3/3/2017   3/8/2017
Review By: PapaRick1959
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Gorgeous views of Chico and the surrounding canyons. Peregrine Point offers something for all levels of disc golfers. Long holes, short holes, bomber holes and tight holes You are required to use not just hyzer forehands but every shot in the bag. Lots of birdie opportunities, but get a little sideways and pars can quickly turn into double bogeys. The front nine is my favorite side, with a great deal of variety. The course is well taken care of by the city and the locals. other players always wiling to help with directions and looking for wayward discs.
Cons: No hole descriptions or distances, but great course map online. If it was 600 feet longer it would be a 5.0, but several of the holes are not really punitive of bad tee shots and par recoveries are very simple.
Other Thoughts: It is a very rocky course so bring dupes of your go to discs. No place for water or any pro shop or trash cans throughout the course, so you have to pack everything in and out. Like I said above a little easy (I was 7 over and have only been playing 3 months), but so beautiful and a lot of fun shots. It is a course that once you play it you will go back over and over again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Challenge

5+    5/18/2015   5/25/2015
Review By: GuidoPero
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short and long wholes. Handful of technical wholes. Nice during the winter. Good open wholes for long drives.
Cons: No signage to show where baskets are or distance. Only whole 3 has an alternate pin placement. During summer has lots of thorns so I always spent about 15-30 minutes pulling stickers out.
Other Thoughts: Great course to work on improving your game with the long lines to work on your drives and some baskets tucked away to aim. I do enjoy the course, however if you play it a lot it starts to get boring because the baskets never change. Whole 4 does have an ALT Tee that you can use if you don't want to throw up a cliff face.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Thank you Chico Outsiders

5+    6/9/2014   8/7/2014
Review By: Bossripper69
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great views and lots of different looks. This course makes me feel at home. I love the length and catching a look over the bluff. Nice tee pads and sexy baskets. I can't say enough good things about this course.
Cons: The only two things I can mention aren't possible due to county issues. This course could be 27 holes all with multiple pin locations but I am just happy the course made it through the restrictions and opposition of the county. Thank you Chico disc community and The Outsiders
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to rip a shot on hole 3 soon.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I could spend days here!

2-4    1/1/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: Outdoor Craziness
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The challenge: such a great course! If you have time to play, even if it's just a little time, you need to get out here. Some of the throws require throws over cliffs (#4, 5), which puts hair on your chest.

The organization: nice tee-pads, great signage, and plenty of different layouts throughout the course.
Cons: The "tree protectors": word on the street is that the course designers had to go through plenty of politics to make this course a reality. Locals were worried that discs would ruin the trees in the park. So they made the designers install wooden poles around the course in front of certain trees to "protect" them. These protectors are laughable - the trees are wider than the poles and so they hardly protect anything.

The locals: I watched one of them urinate off of the tee-pad on #4. Like, he stood on the edge of the pad and pee'd off of it. Stay classy, Chico.
Other Thoughts: Play it! Then hit up the Sierra Nevada Brewery.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Love this place!

2-4    2/17/2014   2/17/2014
Review By: crazylemon
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This is my first review so please understand my novice-ness. I really love this course, I've attended CSUC for three years now and I love heading up to the course before class for a round. Great place for relaxing round with your buddys, with awesome views and great pin placements. All the holes are tough but not overly challenging.
Cons: no tee signs
no water
no bathrooms
Other Thoughts: Love playing this place and I think its only going to get better.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great place for a course

5+    1/7/2014   1/16/2014
Review By: bigflick
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: - Intense basket locations on a couple of holes where huge cliffs defiantly come into play
- Amazing views around the course
- Nice mixture of distances
- What elevation change is there is used well
- Holes vary from tightly wooded (but not impossibly tight) to wide open
- Blue powder coated baskets look great and help with basket visibility
- Holes have nice variety between them, lefts, rights, uphills, downhills, even out over cliffs.
- Concrete tees on every hole
- Trails are pretty easy to follow between holes, they have rocks and concrete blocks with arrows on them
- Benches on every tee
- Some baskets have flags to indicate wind on them
- Nice wood fences around, some to mark O.B.
- Friendly locals
- Amazing birds around including hawks, there are great chances for some bird watching out here
- There's a sign with a map of the course at the beginning, you might want to take a picture with your camera so you can use it for reference
Cons: No tee signs
Gets really hot in the summer
Rain closures
Other Thoughts: Great place to take the family or play a quick round

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic views

1    11/25/2013   1/13/2014
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a unique and beautiful course. Many of the holes have a wonderful view out over the valley, and the terrain itself is fairly unique. The lava rocks sticking up all over the course make for a different feel than you get at most courses. The elevation available is limited, but used well. Outside of the obviously cool cliff shots where you have to choose the deuce route over open space or the tougher but safer route through the trees, there are also a handful of holes with enough uphill or downhill to add some variety.

The trees are limited and scattered, but they're used pretty well to try to make things as technical as possible. A few holes manage to make you hit a tighter gap or hit a specific line. The rest are pretty good tests of shot placement skills. There isn't really much skip or roll here with the omnipresent rough rock outcroppings, so if you want to get the deuce, you'll have to be pretty accurate.

The tees and baskets are in nice shape. The course was very clean and seemed well kept when I played. The flags on some of the hidden pins were helpful on knowing where to throw for a first time player here.
Cons: The amount of challenge and variety is limited by the lack of real elevation and the limited foliage. I think the design was creative, but it's just not possible to make a really technical course that forces players to use a variety of lines on this property. It would help to have a little more variation in hole length, it felt like I was throwing the same discs a lot. That was exacerbated by the option to throw a big hyzer over the small trees on a lot of shots to avoid the few challenges in the fairway.

Signage would be nice here. I understand the park won't allow it, but knowing where to throw and where to find the next tee would be helpful. There are a few transitions between holes that aren't obvious, bring a map or meet up with a local guide and you'll be fine.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course challenging but approachable. Other than the cliff shots, there isn't a whole lot of risk of losing discs, and the lengths and punishment for errant shots are limited. Experienced players won't find themselves fully tested, but it's a fun layout with great views that's certainly worth a stop.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Blue baskets on the edge

5+    12/28/2013   1/9/2014
Review By: Philbert
Played: 41  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2015
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Peregrine Point is the reincarnation of what was once two courses that where played on the current property. The "new" 18 hole course complete with concrete tee's and mach 5 baskets plays over much what was once the Long Course. Peregrine Point had several limitations imposed on its development that did not allow for a full use of the area as many other courses experience. With that being said, a mighty fine job was done with what was available. Oak trees and Buck Brush line the fairways through out the course and Poison Oak can be found in many places.

A person could give Peregrine Point a strong rating based solely on the ambiance. The place is beautiful (Especially in the Spring)

The concrete tees are in good shape, and a good length and width. Many are textured a bit so they are pretty stable in colder weather. There are also some nice home made wooden benches at almost all of the tee boxes.

The Mach 5 baskets are easy to see from most tee's, and those that are not have recently acquired flags for easier spotting.

The hole design at Peregrine Point is set to allow for a great variety of throws. You can use a good chunk of your bag. Left and Right lines are about even. Though some of the left to right ones can be a little less forgiving. There are a couple of slightly longer holes to allow for a little airing out.

The course uses the available terrain very well. The canyon holes, 3, 4, and 7 are quite awesome. There is just something about throwing a disc along the canyon that just feels good. A lot of the holes use elevation and buck brush to good effect. Hole 8 is considered a tougher hole due to the slope and the disc eating brush that guard the pin. Hole 10, a shorter hole actually plays up and over a smaller rise in the terrain. Peregrine Point is lacking a bit in the tight tunnel shots category. At the end of the day you will feel like your earned your under par scores.
Cons: During the Summer there is a severe lacking of shade. Peregrine Point is built on a shallow lava cap. It gets hot, then just turns into a giant radiator. You will need to pack a couple (read as "allot") of water bottles if you want to keep it together.

Again, the course is built on a lava cap. That means there is exposed lava rock. I would say quite a bit of it. It can season a disc pretty quick depending on where your landing.

The only restroom is a port-a-potty next to the parking lot.

There is no signage on the road leading to the course. I used to drive by the place all the time and didn't even know it existed.

No tee signs are currently in place. There is a course map at hole 1 that gives some good information though.

A few of the tee pads face slightly off directions then the pins and lead to some awkward run ups or altering of throws to work around it. Holes 6 and 18 come to mind. I would also not be me if I did not mention the giant rock just in front of hole 14s tee box. It likes to eat toes.

Poison Oak is scattered through out the course in all sorts of interesting places. If you are susceptible to it, then to the right on hole 14 is a place you never want to go. There are also a few spots in the fairways of 15 and 8. Remember, leaves of three, let it be.

The occasional rattle snake has been known to wander around on the course. Just leave them alone and they will return the favor. The buck brush is more dangerous then the snakes.
Other Thoughts: The course is set in Chico's Upper Bidwell Park. There is a set of park rules posted at the main entrance area that goes over them. They are a bit extensive. The park rangers are known to come through the area on occasion to cite people with fines for breaking the park rules. So please be mindful.

The course also gets closed for rain, but usually reopens rather quickly as it dries out.

Getting to the course can be a little difficult if you have never been there. Heading up highway 32 from highway 99 you will need to look for a few things.
First: There is a litter pick up sponsor sign featuring Sierra Nevada. The course is to the left of this.

Secondly: There are a few solid white lines painted across the road as you get near the course. I have no idea how they got there, but they have been there for years.

Thirdly: There is a paintball park with a trailer and a old airplane on the left. If you reach this, you have just passed the entrance to the course.

I could have gone into a lot more detail on each hole, but that would defeat the purpose of having people come and play the course. Come out and see it for yourself. Peregrine Point is a great course. When and if the Outsiders are allowed to add in tee signs and alternate pin positions. It will only continue to improve.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course ever!?

2-4    12/4/2013   12/8/2013
Review By: bangarangarang
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I loved this spot, I cannot believe the views of the north valley. Great pin positions, amazing views, good tee pads. Alot of those game changing challenging shots, with a few easier birdie holes too. For what the city gave these guys to work with I don't believe they could have done any better. Hole 3 and 4 are obviously the money makers but there are alot of other great holes here too.
Cons: Tee signs would be awesome but I hear the city will not allow them. A local told me a rumor of some alternates getting put in and that was going to be my next con.
Other Thoughts: I love this spot. Keep it coming Butte County.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center