Disc Golf Center
Chico, CA 
Peregrine Point Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #3 (Taken 3/2015)
3 / 395ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Gorgeous Views + Dramatic Shots = A Memorable Outing

1    9/16/2013   9/21/2013
Review By: Qikly
Played: 129  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Definitely have to mention the setting and the views. Holes 3-7 play alongside the edge of a steep, dramatic drop off, providing some breathtaking scenery and making for a few nerve-racking shots. As others have said, hole 3 is the signature here: avoiding the OB lining the fairway's left requires precision placement on a straight shot or hyzering out over the abyss. Taking the latter route definitely upped my pulse a few notches. 4 plays back uphill along the same cliffside. It's perfect for an overhand throw, as long as you don't kick too far to the right! 5 plays into a nicely-guarded basket, 6 is a huge blind anny that you'll want a spotter for, and 7 plays downward, once again moving along the cliff's edge, with an open fairway on the right side and a host of disc-snatching shrubs on the left. It's definitely an awesome stretch of holes: unique shots, gorgeous scenery, and lots of risk-versus-reward shot choices, which I love to face.

The remainder of the holes don't match the quality of this opening stretch, but they're still solid. Though the terrain is fairly open, there are enough elevation changes and obstacles here to provide engaging shots. Sometimes this involves hitting a definitive line (such as the tight anny on 15), elsewhere you're given the option of several paths (like hole 1, which allows for several routes as long as you clear the brush in approaching the pin). The flexibility in shot selection allows you to be creative and pick your poison, and I appreciate how Peregrine allows for such flexibility while still engaging your game.

Navigation is relatively easy here. There are a few spots requiring a bit of searching (such as after 11), but nothing too drastic. Arrows painted onto stones help direct you, and provide a nice touch that is appropriate to the surroundings. The course has a nice in and out.

The flags on top of the baskets are very welcome amidst the scraggly trees guarding baskets and the various elevation changes. Between these and the blue baskets, Peregrine sports some of the most visitor-friendly pins I've ever come across.

Given the relative lack of shade and the moderate intensity of the hiking, the numerous tee-side benches are a welcome touch.
Cons: The holes outside of 3-7 have a high floor but a modest ceiling: as I said before, "solid" is the operative word. This is partly due to the openness of the terrain: it limits the punishment on errant shots, reducing the danger of not getting your initial shot right. There's a bit of a deuce or die feel at times. I do feel as though the course designers maximized the terrain (except for the possibility of longer holes - I assume there was a limit imposed by park officials). It's just that the land's natural limitations restrict the course's ability to challenge your approach game. Smart pin placements mitigate this somewhat, but there's only so much that can be done.

No real amenities here, beyond the single portapotty. It gets hot, too, especially with all the hiking through some serious elevation changes; I was halfway through my water a third of the way into my round. I can see this being a real problem in the summer months. Again, the course designers aren't to blame, but it is a drawback.

Similarly, some sort of information as to line and pin placement would be welcome. I know the park restricts tee signs - maybe place them in the ground, the way the current directional arrows are?

I wish the tees were a bit longer in spots where the terrain doesn't allow me to begin my run up from off the tee. Not a big deal, though.

I wouldn't regularly throw base plastic discs on this course; the rocky terrain really chews them up.
Other Thoughts: This is a great, unique course that I would highly recommend. Having played mostly in the northeast and the south, Peregrine offered me a completely new experience. Do the locals ever tire of such beautiful surroundings? I certainly wouldn't!

As mentioned, the entrance to the course is located across from a Sierra Nevada adopt-a-highway sign. It's on your left, at the top of a cresting hill.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Very Unique Course with Some Wow Factors

1    9/16/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 144  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Set in what is said to be one of the biggest state parks in the country, Peregrine Point offers unparalleled views of the surrounding mountains, valleys, and towns, and a completely unique experience. It is located in Bidwell Park - 3,700 acres in all - which offers an immense amount of activities, many using the various paved and dirt trails throughout the park. There are areas for mountain biking, horseback riding, jogging, hiking, and skating, as well as chances to bird watch and see other wildlife. The disc golf course, however, is conveniently located away from any other of the park's aspects - this part of the park is secluded for the course only.

-Peregrine Point is only a few minutes away from downtown Chico and is located right off 32 E, coming from Chico. The parking lot is right when you turn in, and the course starts very close to the parking lot. There are 3 or 4 signs that are nicely posted near the first tee, providing a course map, local club information, discussing the course and disc golf rules, and giving you pointers on how to handle the wildlife that you may encounter. Amenities aren't in abundance here, apparently the park made the course designers take away the tee signs and garbage cans. However, it is obvious that the designers have put a lot of time and care into maintaining the course, providing benches of most of the holes. While there aren't any garbage cans, there was no trash on the course. It is very, very nicely landscaped, with wooden barriers and mulch around each of the tees. There are also pathways lined with rocks to clearly take you to the next tee (I'm thinking of 14-15 here specifically but there are other points in the course) and aesthetically pleasing greens lined with rocks and covered with mulch. There were many wooden poles throughout that may have indicated mando's. We played them as such, but they may have simply been there to protect the trees.

-The tees are concrete and in great shape and are very wide. They could be a foot or so longer IMO but are certainly sufficient. There are no tee signs, but there is a stone with the number carved out for each corresponding tee. The pins are Mach 5 and are very sturdy, in great shape, and blue which makes them a little easier to find. Flags on top of the pins are much appreciated and make them much easier to see from the tee. Navigation is pretty easy here, and there are multiple points in the course with rocks with arrows painted on them to point you in the right direction. The course flows very well, using different kinds of trails to guide you in the right direction and it makes uses of much of the land provided. The course is rough and rocky, but I enjoyed the hiking aspect of it.

-There are a nice variety of shots, with many anhyzer and hyzer lines, and great use of elevation of about 2/3's of the holes. You even get extreme elevation shots on 3 and 4. Also, a good variety between open and tight lines. Another plus to Peregrine Point is that most of the holes have multiple routes that you can choose, giving most holes a good variety. O.B. adds to the technicality of the course, and is on 3 and 14 that I can remember.
Cons: -Only single tees and pin positions, which is a con if you play here often
-Pretty rough and rocky terrain, so pay attention to where you step. This wasn't much of a con to me, but is a warning to others.
-There were some holes that I could do without. A few didn't have much variety to them and only required one type of shot. Simple throw off the tee, easy lay-up, to an unguarded tee. There weren't many holes like this, but I few in the middle and a few toward the end.
-There wasn't a great variety in distances as most were around 300 ft. None of them were throw-away lengths, but it'd be nice to have a few more long distance holes (longest being 425 ft)
-Lack of amenities hurts the course a little bit with no tee signs, garbage cans or bathrooms, but you can say it also adds to it's exotic appeal. I believe there was one porta-john near the parking lot, but I didn't like how there was no where to go on the course. Weren't many secluded spots to go during the course.
-I didn't have any trouble, but there is apparently poison oak in multiple spots
-Apparently, the park closes due to rain
-Although the tees are in good shape, they look like they would be slick in the rain
-It can be a little tough to find off 32. As mentioned before, if coming from Chico, make sure you look for the Sierra Nevada Adopt-A-Hwy sign on the right. As soon as you see it, look to turn left into the unmarked parking lot. The lot is a little before the sign, so slow down once you see a sign and a house.
Other Thoughts: Peregrine Point offers a very unique experience with some very unique holes. Holes 3 and 4 are the highlight IMO, and I have never felt the adrenaline pumping feeling before throwing from a tee like I did from these. Hole 3 is an extreme downhill then uphill shot. If you throw your disc on a hyzer line, it will most likely come back and land on the ground. However, an arrant throw could literally send this disc a mile away. O.B. on this hole also adds to it's technicality (and danger). Hole 4 throws over a very deep gap and then plays uphill threw a lot of bushes and onto a green close enough to the edge of the cliff to make you nervous. These were definitely two of the most fun holes I've ever played.

Some other highlights:
6- Plays on a sharp anhyzer line throw some tall trees and bushes. A long hole that slightly plays uphill
10- Uphill anhyzer shot. Short hole but fun tee position; big rock to the right off the tee challenges your shot
13- Somewhat of a different hole; plays through two distinct lines and uphill to the pin

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite so far

5+    4/14/2013   4/21/2013
Review By: SamanthaWDG
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2013
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice long t offs
Clear flags to tell you where you are throwing
Wildlife everywhere and great view of chico and upper bidwell at holes 3-7.
I enjoy hole 7 because you can go through the labyrinth, some hate, I love it!
You get great exercise and you are doing something fun while doing it
Cons: It's not flat, there are lava rocks everywhere so be advised to watch where you walk.
A gulch at #3 and sometimes alternate #4 you just might lose your disc if not careful.

#14 make sure it doesn't go far left because you will end up digging through poison
oak...just wash with cold water when you get home.

For the ladies no restrooms along the way so go before hand or bring tp. :)


Other Thoughts: Bring water, hats. sunscreen, snacks.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Check out the view!

1    4/3/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 194  Reviewed: 127  Exp: 25.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a gorgeous piece of land and is worth the visit alone! The view from holes 3 & 4 that look over the canyon and valley are the highlight, and the rest of the oaks among the grassy fields aren't bad either. The highlight was the shortest hole (#3) that has a scenic, but nasty drop off to the right, if you shank it from your elevated tee pad.

The course uses elevation and the oak trees to their full potential. It would be fun for beginners, and perfect for intermediate players. The challenges are present, but if you have a halfway decent drive, par is not too difficult to achieve.

The tees and the pretty blue baskets are top notch too. Flags on a few of the hidden baskets are most helpful. I would recommend using the map here to give you some reference point - but navigation is really fairly straight forward.
Cons: I wish that the tees were marked with distances somehow. It seems that from other reviews, that the city had limited what the course can do with signage, but it would help with some of the blind shots.
That said, the distances here are mostly between 270' and 320', from my guess. There was only one hole (#5) that seemed longer. Once again, the designers may have been limited by the city. Most of the course seemed like a longer version of pitch and putt - I was really yearning for more holes that required a technical approach even when making a stellar drive. Many of the holes were too open to fill this demand.

Other Thoughts: Watch for the Sierra Nevada "Adopt a Highway" sign on the road which indicates where the parking lot is.
And enjoy a pint there when finished with your round!

Lefty dominant course - on 7 or 8 holes. You may see this as a pro or con.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Technical Fun

1    3/28/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: getchofil
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Most shots appeared blind until you take a second to locate off in the distance, over a hill, or across a cliff up onto another one. I loved this, opposed to the directly out in front with a few trees blocking. There was tons of elevation to make things more of a challenge. The terrain was awesome.
Cons: I can see this course in the Summer being a scorcher. Hearing that the park closes when rained on was a worry about its playability but wasn't an issue. Some signs to indicate both location and distance would make this even better.
Other Thoughts: Sherwood Forest was a fun nine hole to star the day but Peregrine is IT, nothin but top notch.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Love this place!

5+    2/18/2013   2/21/2013
Review By: flipphone
Played: 34  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Love my home course. This is the spot where I learned.
Long holes
Short holes
Technical holes
Good pin placement
Awesome views
and good people.
Cons: No tee sign or alternates
And thats because the city of chico is crap to deal with

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 The best Chico has to offer

2-4    7/9/2011   8/5/2012
Review By: humchris85
Played: 135  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 12.2 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Intense basket locations on a couple of holes where huge cliffs defiantly come into play
- Amazing views around the course
- Nice mixture of distances
- What elevation change is there is used well
- Holes vary from tightly wooded (but not impossibly tight) to wide open
- Blue powder coated baskets look great and help with basket visibility
- Holes have nice variety between them, lefts, rights, uphills, downhills, even out over cliffs.
- Concrete tees on every hole
- Trails are pretty easy to follow between holes, they have rocks and concrete blocks with arrows on them
- Benches on every tee
- Some baskets have flags to indicate wind on them
- Nice wood fences around, some to mark O.B.
- Friendly locals
- Amazing birds around including hawks, there are great chances for some bird watching out here
- There's a sign with a map of the course at the beginning, you might want to take a picture with your camera so you can use it for reference
Cons: - Tees get really slick when they are wet, like dangerously slick (I would recommend playing either behind or next to the tees when it's like this). They do close the course if it's been raining because of that.
- Tees are only marked with a concrete block with the hole # on it. They could use to have nice tee signs with maps of the holes and distance to pin
- You will need to walk up some of the holes to look for the pin if you have never played here before
- If your disc goes over the cliff you will probably never see it again
- Parking lot is really rocky and rough
- Poison Oak around the course
- Ticks around
- Course can get crazy hot in the summer
- I've heard that there are rattlesnakes around in the summer, but I've yet to see one myself
- Probably a high fire danger in the summer
- Rocks throughout the fairways will age discs much faster than usual
Other Thoughts: When you are making your way in you should make sure to keep your eyes out for the Sierra Nevada Adopt-A-Hwy sign, the parking lot for the course is directly across from it. The course has a great amount of variety, a couple of holes play right along cliffs (and you don't want to loose your disc down there, trust me). It gets hot out here in the summer so make sure to bring water as there is none on the course. This course has been well taken care of, the city of Chico and the local disc golfers have done a great job building a top notch course. Some nice tee signs on each hole would be a great thing to have, but hopefully in time they will get them.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 African Savannah Golf

1    7/31/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: Dieno
Played: 32  Reviewed: 16
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: The Point is something else. Fantastico views and vistas and shots. Played in 2008 and then again in 2011. Real Pleasure. Went to pick up my disk on hole 4 and heard the rattle and just missed a baby rattler looking to do me.
Cons: Not a one excepting the Park folk. Nice job doing the tee pads.

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/6/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: SnowvsFire
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This is by far one of the best courses I've ever played. Good variety in range, technicality and pin position. Great place, great view, and good people. I love the pack it in pack it out rules. Chico Outsiders definately have there stuff together. Good work guys.
Cons: The city and the park really mess with this place. Constantly closing it for weeks cause of a little rain. Keep up the good work outsiders.
Other Thoughts: Play this course! Become an Outsider member!!

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/27/2012   2/27/2012
Review By: nelsofthewoods
Played: 39  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Great baskets, cement teepads, excellent signage.
-Lots of varied holes, from the technical to the distance ones.
Cons: -If you lose a disc, you LOSE a disc!
-Lots of rocks age your discs quickly.
Other Thoughts: One of the most beautiful courses around. Holes 3 and 4 require some confident shots as you are on the side of the cliffs, but, are some of the most fun holes for the same reason. Only downside is the rocks and how they can tear up your discs. hopefully will attract more organized events in the future.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.