Lakewood, WA 
Ambient DGC Share
Uploaded By: Tspody92 Hole #1 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 158ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Tight, but fun.

1    4/8/2017   5/9/2017
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 310  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course located around a church in Lakewood, WA, a few miles south of the greater Seattle area.

DGA baskets, all in good shape. One pin per hole. Mounted well enough and easy to find. Hole 9/18 share a basket.

Astroturf-ish tee pads performed better than I would have expected. They weren't perfect, but they were good enough for this course. One tee per hole, and a few tees were shared by multiple holes.

This is mostly a very short course, but the shorter holes tend to be quite tight and technical. Some mandos and obstacles help a bit on the "longer" holes. The obstacles on the property are used just about as well as they can possibly be used.
Cons: It's a short course, for the most part. There is maybe two holes where you'll feel like you can get even a halfway decent rip out.

While there are laminated paper signs, they're showing their age. We were able to find them all, and navigation wasn't TOO bad.

If there's any playing traffic, you're going to run into some issues with the shared tees. I doubt there's ever that many people playing here, though. Also, you're probably not going to be able to play during church service times.

Careful where you park...hole 9/18's island basket sits right in the middle of the parking lot.

The bottom part of the course is pretty low-lying, and was holding a decent amount of water when we were there.

There is a chance to put a disc into a neighboring yard on an errant throw on holes 2 and 3.
Other Thoughts: Ambient is a fun enough little spin. Short, technical and accessible to most skill levels. The open field holes in the back of the church would make for a fine place to practice shots.

Not the kind of place I'd go out of my way to play again, but decent enough if you're in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  great time...

1    3/21/2015   3/22/2015
Review By: ragman396
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Easy to understand course for a first timer. The plaques really help in knowing what needs to be done
Cons: No cons for me.
Other Thoughts: Had a blast my first time playing. It was easy to understand the rules. Picked up some trash. Over all great course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 What a cool little course!

2-4    9/13/2014   9/14/2014
Review By: Seatown
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Theres a great balance of technical shots through wooded areas, and long bombs out in wide open spaces. It makes you feel as if youre playing 2 completely different 9's, and adds a degree of fun moving from one area to another that's completely different.

-Well maintained grounds with signage that does a great job of leading you from one hole to the next. There weren't any times where me and my group were left guessing on where to go

-Shot-wise, this course did an excellent job of forcing you to go with shots you may not normally try. Due mostly to the short hole distances and moderately forested back 9, its a very nice, welcome change from many of the local courses.

-The course feels like Aces could be had at every hole, and leaves you just far enough away to get you excited for the next. Its an excellent confidence builder for new players through advanced

-Relatively empty the day we came. It must get a lot of competition with Steilacoom being so close, but we were surprised/happy to see the park almost empty
Cons: - I didn't find any benches or legitimate garbage cans throughout the churches property, aside from bags brought in by other players. We found garbage on several holes and brought it along with us, which was a pain. Would have been nice to have several bins

-Laminated tee cards could be better, but its always nice to have 'something'! They are becoming weathered and will be hard to see soon enough.

-Randomly located church buildings and private housing are hazards that need to be avoided. The potential for broken windows, and discs getting stuck on the roofs is there, so beware. Many of the buildings are located VERY close to the fairway and holes, and often come into play.
Other Thoughts: A fantastic mix of holes for any DGer! The front 9 are a nice, open assortment of long shots, only made challenging by some oddly placed Mandos, occasional strong breezes and adjacent fenced properties. While the back 9 leads you through a tangle of well arranged hole in the nearby wooden area. It feels like the perfect course to bring your kids, a new player, or an old DG fanatic to.... no one will be left disappointed.

One major plus for our group was hole 9/18. Although shard by both tee's, it rarely becomes an issue. But makes for an extremely enjoyable Ace attempt, with both tee's sending you off towards the center island in the middle of the parking lot. The 9th requires a good hizer/an-H, or low shot to get beyond the trees/bushes, and the same for the 18th, but with more length & a higher shot. All-in-all, the perfect hole to end your day on IMO

Many thanks to the church and youth pastor there for taking it upon themselves to make this awesome little course a reality! Please be respectful of the property!

I'll definitely be back to Ambient, and have added it to my Favorites. If not for the drive, I'd play this course EVERY DAY. Period.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

5+    8/2/2014   8/2/2014
Review By: jherber
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: just moved to Lakewood . been playing this course for a while . getting used to it .great group of people. front part of the course is open for the most part back nine is a tight playing part of the course
Cons: back nine has a lot of berry bushes if you land wrong you will get cut up from them
Other Thoughts: come play it if you want to play 18 holes in under an hour

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    7/19/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: steelheader
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has some technical holes. Short a good beginner course. The island green which played 2 holes is fun and challenging.
Cons: Over grown in places. Watch for OB's and private property. One of our guys. Can close to breaking a window the last time out

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Training course

1    7/12/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: nwdiscgolfer
Played: 79  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 28 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun pitch and putt practice course. Great for introducing beginners or practicing your alternative shots etc. Nice baskets and kept up fairly well
Cons: Holes 9 and 18 are rewarding for the intermediate to advanced golfers but way to frustrating for the beginners I have brought here.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ambient

2-4    11/20/2013   12/20/2013
Review By: brandocommando9
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun little course with lots of short technical shots.
Great signage.
Quick round.
Cons: Some holes are more novelty than anything else some are under 100 feet.
Other Thoughts: If you want to play a quick round at a technical course ambient is great.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great hour of fun

1    8/1/2013   8/2/2013
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 44  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Signs, signs and more signs! I wish every course had Ambients sign people. Lots of Mando's and out of bounds... good news they have great signs telling you were your drop zone/spot is. Great place to play a little birdie golf...with an ace in your mind. Hole number 14 has a bell! When you walk away from the basket you ring the bell to tell everyone the hole is clear. I think that could work at a lot of places also. Played Steilacoom first then came here...made for a fun morning.
Cons: Probably could use trash cans here and there. Some people put there trash on private property which will affect their attitude towards disc golf and the church. For a nice small course there really wasn't a bunch of cons. Bathrooms unknown, some churches allow you to use the churches.
Other Thoughts: Some of the course when it's the rainy season maybe a little soggy. Fun course!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course - Great for short game!

5+    10/22/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: Ambient
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course for your short game! I enjoy the Various shot types you are challenged to throw. Course is marked out well and the property has a relaxed environment.
Playing Ambient has helped me a lot with my short game. You can get a lot of holes in, in a relatively short amount of time. Fun course!
Cons: Tee pads could be a little better. The turf works, but would be nice to have rubber or concrete in the future.
Other Thoughts: This course is being intentionally upgraded on a regular basis. I am looking forward to seeing this course continue to get better and better.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Just a nice course

1    8/29/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: Cipinc3
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 37.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Varying hole difficulty fun for all. I like this place.long holes short holes an island hole what is not to like. Well marked well maintained.It was easy to navigate
Cons: Concrete tee pads would be nice
Other Thoughts: Triple aaa I think

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.