Pflugerville, TX 
North Town Share
Uploaded By: TejasKajun Hole #8 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
New Course (2011) With Used Baskets!

1    9/29/2017   9/29/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1168  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2017
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: North Town is a new park and proudly wears it's newness. The park has a wonderful, new picnic shelter complete with restrooms and a great kid's play area. The park is green, well manicured and has ample parking and a walking path which circles the park.

The course starts close to the parking lot and has a practice basket. The concrete tee pads are nice sized. The Mach II baskets have been strangely painted yellow? I wonder why would you paint baskets that are only 6 years old? I think they might have been repurposed from another course. Great colored signs give you all the needed information, but why? why does # 2 show the distance in yards (77yards) when the other 17 signs all show the distance in feet?

Hole # 1 starts your round off with a open, 585' bomb. There are three holes on the front nine playing over 500' and # 11 is close at 498'. I appreciate that although this course plays fairly long, there are a couple shorter (under 200') Ace Runs. I agree with a previous reviewer who stated that isn't one signature hole here but rather quite a few really good holes.

# 12 is one of really good holes. It's really a pretty hole playing 201' to the basket on the other side of the pond, so the carry over water is probably 185'. My beginner playing partner insisted on throwing this hole and left his drive just short and landed in the pond. When he stepped into the water to grab his disc, he slipped on the incredibly, slippery mud and splash landed on his behind. Speaking of this mud, I have never seen such gooey, sticky mud before. It sticks to everything including your discs. My boots weighed about 5 pounds each. I'm telling you, this is that red mud of Alabama from "My Cousin Vinny" sticky.

Returning to hole # 12. There is an alternate tee pad on this hole throwing 153' from the side of the pond. I think this throw might be more treacherous due to the three trees waiting to knock your disc into the pond.

There is another pond crossing on # 14. The tee sign says 330'. If you want to play it safe, you can cross throw to the left, reducing the carry to, maybe, 200'. You don't want to fade right because now you're adding to the water carry.

Cons: The sticky, slippery mud was really annoying both during my round and afterward when attempting to scrape it off my boots. It also made me think about every step I took that even remotely looked muddy. My playing partner, slipped and fell into both ponds. Good for a laugh both times.

The park is almost, totally flat.

After this morning's rains, there were some wet spots. There was virtually a small lake right in front of the # 18 basket.

# 2 sign distance listed in yards?

There is some thick rough bordering some holes.
Other Thoughts: The creek is all over all over the course. Between it and the walking path which also is present on many holes, the OB will factor into the score of most players. To score well at North Town, players must have a versatile game. You must possess s strong arm, the ability to shape shots, play the technical holes well, keep it low on the tunnel shots and avoid the walkway and creek OB's.

This is an solid, intermediate level course. But rec players can play and enjoy it. It's what I call a comfortable round for us rec guys. The rough is mostly forgiving. You can usually recover from a bad shot. The water carries are easily doable although somewhat scary.

You just have to put up with the slippery, sticky mud if the course is wet.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    6/17/2017   6/17/2017
Review By: caherring904
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Good variety of shots.
Decently Maintained.
Terrain is decent for pulling/pushing a cart.
Good signs.
Lots of shade.
Gazebo with bathrooms.
Cons:
Stickers (the sharp things that stick to your clothes).
Some of the pars are questionable.
Other Thoughts:
Medium length course with a challenging front nine and a ton of potential for birdies on the back nine. There are a couple water hazards but they are reasonably avoidable. The pics for this course are super dated and don't do it justice at all. It's a beautiful course and is mostly shaded.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Good north Austin Course

5+    5/7/2016   12/15/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 200  Reviewed: 160  Exp: 3.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.165 Rating) A good to very good course on Austin's north side.
- UNIQUENESS - Although a flat course, the overall uniqueness is a bit above average for 18 holes. There are a few 4's and a par 5. Several holes have a creek element in play as well as a pond. One good doglegs hole on number 5. In addition, there are some pocket shots, and windows shots. Missing items include a very well defined tunnel play and a substantial dogleg right. I'll also add, there is really no "signature" hole on this course just a bunch of "very good" categorized holes. Some however, may consider number 12 as the signature hole, which is a 200 foot water clear shot.
- SHOT SELECTION - I probably play about half and half flick to backhand on this course. Half of your drives will have to be well thought out and placed. Several of the holes have a creek or pond element in play to force a line.
- CHARACTER - There is a great course map right at hole 1 and there is hole signage throughout the course. About half of the tees are shaded well and there are 2 holes with two tees, 11 and 12. There is a practice basket at 1 and there is a shelter with drinking fountain and restrooms at the parking area. Unfortunately not much in the way of seating and no extra pin placements.
- TEE PADS - Concrete pads are of adequate length and width. Nothing special, but it does the job.
- NAVIGATION - I don't find any major issues although I've probably played it too many times to recall the biggest issues in traversing the course. So take a picture of the map at hole 1 to be safe. There are a few moderate hikes between holes. Holes 1 to 2, 8 to 9 and 11 to 12. There are some directional ques along the routes as well. I'll also mention that the course is good for those that like to bring out the disc golf bag stroller. Although, crossing the creek on 9 can be challenging if the water level is up.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - Generally can be played by all skill levels. probably don't want beginners throwing on 12 with the water in play. Pros will probably not find the course difficult enough but advanced and intermediate players should enjoy the course.
- MAINTENANCE - For the most part, every time I've played here the grass has been cut. The park maintenance staff seems to keep it up well.
- SPACING - Above average, Perhaps there are but just a couple times that a disc can fade into another fairway.
- CLUB - Course has a large club and has weekly events. Biggest draw is the Sunday morning random doubles.
Cons: No major issues with North Town.
- ELEVATION - A surprising lack of Elevation on this course. Its flat as a pancake. Probably varies by no more than 20' on the entire course and no hole varies by more than 10'. definitely subpar among the Austin area courses.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Definitely not the most scenic course in Austin. Probably about average for a north side course. Course is too flat and doesn't really have much in natural features to provide an eye-catching feel. The trees are also to young compared to other area courses. not the worst in the world, just a tad below average.
- DRAINAGE - Course is subject to flooding at times during the rainy season. Course always seems to be the last north side course to dry out. If you need a fix from a north side course that's always dry, check out Brushy Creek aka Cat Hallow.
Other Thoughts: A good course for those living within 10-15 miles. Definitely worth a look see if you're a south side resident of Austin. Out of area players will need to check out a slew of other area courses before adding this one to your wish list (For instance, Circle C, Williamson, Searight, Bible Ridge, Roy G and East Metro to name a few)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Very well rounded

1    12/15/2016   12/15/2016
Review By: Keasto
Played: 50  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 27.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice amount of shade
-Water shots
-Open long shot
-Tight woods
-Good tee signs
-Nice tee pads
Cons: -Some flooding potential
-A few holes hardly have fairways. You have to sort of just throw into the dense trees.
-Relatively short course
Other Thoughts: I've enjoyed this course a bit more every time I have played it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Northtown dgc

1    4/11/2016   4/12/2016
Review By: laurenalexDG
Played: 249  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course that goes around a walking path and following a creek with some thickish OB in some spots but also some open holes and a cpl long tight fairways I liked 7 and 18 a lot, also you get to open up right away on hole one with no danger.
-Course map by hole 1 so no navigation problems and tees had distance on them as well but again everything is on the course map too which is awesome
-rough wasn't too bad just longer grass
-good beginner course for sure to learn some shots
-good use of OB with the walkways and creek
-some tough holes that make you think at least from long tee on a cpl holes
-well maintained
-bathrooms and water on site
Cons: -wasn't the toughest course
-some short filler holes that we're basically par2's
-one of the middle holes 9or10 it was hard to find basket then a good line but it wasn't too bad the fairway there and in some other spots could use cleaning up a bit
Other Thoughts: I gave the course an 4.0 because restrooms water and well kept course that I believe any level of player would enjoy. I enjoyed the course as an early morning warm up to a harder course that I played but I would say this is one of the nicer and well maintained courses it was good, not a huge mix of shots I was throwing my go to discs on a lot of holes or going over everything but there were some times I had to pull a strange shot out

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Fun City Park Course

1    1/13/2016   1/13/2016
Review By: markmcc
Played: 194  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I wasn't sure what to expect before I played North Town DGC, but came away pleasantly surprised. The course offers a good variety of open to wooded holes, water carries, creekside basket placements and hole lengths that vary from 180 feet out to 585 feet.

All holes now have concrete tees which appears to be a major improvement based on previous reviews. Each tee also has a simple but useful tee sign. Navigation was pretty simple for most holes as you could see the next tee from the basket. The transitions from Hole 1 to Hole 2 and 11 to 12 aren't obvious, so printing out the map isn't a bad idea.

Hole 1 kicks things off as the longest at 585 feet. Frankly it isn't an inspiring opening hole as it is wide open, though a couple of lines of newly planted trees near the basket will provide obstacles in the future.

But Hole 2 starts a series of wooded holes that require some accurate line shaping and also bring the creek into play. Holes 2, 4, and 5 all require right-finishing drives, so RHBH players better bring a driver that will turn reliably

Hole 8 is the shortest at 180 feet, but you drive over a creek to a basket just about 10' up the opposite bank. Fun little ace run.

Hole 9 is a crazy tight 504 foot par 4. The fairway is narrow with a ton of small trees on either side that will absolutely knock down an errant drive. Almost a poke-and-pray hole, but not quite.

Hole 12 is a short 201 feet (long tee) with virtually all of that a carry over a pond. A shorter alternate tee takes much of the water out of play.

Hole 14 is a longer hole (330 feet) with the most direct route being a long carry over a pond. But you can bail out along the left side at any distance for your drive.

The final four holes bring you back through the woods and require accurate drives to score well.
Cons: Some of the holes are very tightly wooded, and there will be an element of luck for many players. If you aren't a deadly accurate driver you will be at the mercy of random tree kicks.

The ponds on Holes 12 and 14 look like disc-eaters that could be difficult to recover discs from. But both offer routes that avoid the longer water carries.

I found Hole 1 to be an uninteresting heave over open ground. Holes 13 and 14 are also entirely open, though 13 has a tricky creekside basket placement and 14 has the pond.

A well-used walking trail winds through much of the course, so awareness of other park users is critical to avoid throwing on someone.
Other Thoughts: Nice big parking lot with restrooms.

The course is one big loop, so don't plan to see your car until you finish all 18 holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Fairly good. Still needs some work.

1    6/3/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: d-mar
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has some really great, wide open spaces that are good for long drives. The trees are maturing nicely, and give additional shade and cover for some approaches. There was a good balance of longer, difficult holes ( hole seven was especially brutal), and shorter holes.
Cons: It was a pain to navigate. I'll make sure to bring a map next time. I would like to see the baskets marked with their respective number. Also, adding a neon sign or band to the tee marker would make it stand out a little. Some areas were in need of some TLC.
Other Thoughts: Some of the pads are getting new concrete. Once all of them are done, it'll be much nicer to throw from.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner frustration

1    9/21/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: JerryW
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 37.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The variety of shots is good. Some open, some alley shots, some dog legs. Some long, some short.
Cons: I can't imagine this would be very fun for a beginner. When I played this I was very new at the sport and it was frustrating. Looking back and after improving some I can see how an amateur or pro would do fine on it.
Other Thoughts: There were a few holes that were hard to locate.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/11/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I love wooded courses and this one has some trees. Lot's of Birdies available but you can easily shoot big.
Cons: The tee pads are not great.
Other Thoughts: Watch for snakes in the creek. I've seen 2 big ones. There is a nice shaded Dog park at the park entrance.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 get past the dangerous teepads and you'll have fun

5+    9/1/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: redman2112
Played: 91  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 27 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun round with shots long and short, open and tight, and wet and dry. There are creeks, trees, ponds and mild topography challenges. All kinds of shots are useful here, one of the reasons I like it. The course layout is fun. The long tee on 12 is a signature hole for these parts with a straight over-the-pond shot and very picturesque. Have almost aced it more than once, a fun run indeed. The park has lots of activity and trails, a dog park park, and a pavilion with tables and clean restrooms.
Cons: The teepads are a nightmare. Already chewed up, rutted, dirt holes, the MUD decided to cap them off with cement by just pouring the mix right onto the teepad, mixing it w the granite gravel already there, resulting in pitted, uneven, crumbling, hazards. You'll have to tee from behind the pad if you want to leave with 2 healthy ankles.
Other Thoughts: A nice Northern Travis County area course. Come check it out and I bet you'll have a fun time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.