Pflugerville, TX 
North Town Share
Uploaded By: TejasKajun Hole #11 (Taken 2/2011)
5 / 348ft.   5 / 498ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Print a map, bring lots of water, and wear cleats

1    9/1/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 167  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 19.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: North Town has a lot going for it. It's a solid, well-rounded challenge for white to gold level players. There is good variety to the look and feel of the holes and required shots. The power and technical elements are well-balanced and quite a few of the holes require good strategy. There are several multi-shot holes and quite a few of the baskets are located near drop-off's, making for dramatic putting situations.

The course is much prettier now than in the photos on this site. The course is located in the middle of a large subdivision, providing a good place to draw families and new players.

The first hole is easy to find. There's a practice basket and a large field to warm up in adjacent to the first tee.

Highlights include:

Hole 3 presents an interesting risk/reward decision choosing between a tight gap up the middle and throwing something huge over the top of everything, with a drop-off just left of the basket.

Hole 5 is a very difficult par 3 requiring either a tight left to right shot or a monster high flex shot, with the creek running all the way down the right side. It's 2-able, but there will be lots more 4's and 5's than 2's.

Hole 6 is a unique 300 footer uphill that calls for some creativity. There are roller options, laying the disc down early or a sky roller as well as a giant flex shot or overhand crusher.

Hole 7 is a nice 600 footer with an appropriately wide fairway and trouble on both sides.

Hole 9 is a short, tight par 4 which requires good strategy and execution.

Hole 11 is a unique, tight, short par 4/5. The tee shot gives the choice between a tight shot up the gut and a risky play over the top with the creek running down the right side. The second shot is very tight and the basket is perched high up on a knob, making for a dynamic approach and putt situation. (I was stoked to make a beagle 3).

Hole 16 is a short touch shot, requiring a slight left to right to left "S".

Hole 18 is a very challenging par 3 finishing hole. It can be played with a 200 footer and a 160 ft. upshot or being aggressive and going for the deuce.


Cons: The biggest draw-back that's holding North Town back from receiving a 3.0 or 3.5 is the rutted out dirt tee areas. The course has quite a few full power shots and the tees definitely diminish the quality of the experience.

There are several places which need "next tee" signs as the routing isn't entirely intuitive. PRINT A MAP BEFORE PLAYING.

The first hole is a wide-open 540 ft. tweener across the field. Holes like that are weak anywhere, but especially for the first hole.

The ideal line on hole 4 is a lefty hyzer thrown right over hole 5's tee that fades back right.

Shots thrown on hole 6 can wind up on hole 2 or hole 7's tee.

Hole 8 is thrown directly down the walking trail.

The 9th hole doesn't come back to the parking lot, even though it could.
Other Thoughts: Please help to keep North Town clean. For info on my review philosophy, check out the other info section on my profile.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course In Pflugerville

1    5/24/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 30  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is easily the best one in the Pflugerville area. I liked the set-up overall with a few reservations which I will get to. The course flow will get you around holes 1 through 11 without a map. It is one tee following the last basket you played. I found myself playing lay-up on basket 5 to keep myself from overthrowing the basket and dropping in the creek. The two good ace/deuce holes on this course are 8 and 13, both less than 200 feet each. Watch out for the wind on hole 1, since that hole is mostly open with few trees to dodge. Hole 9 will have you trying to figure out a strategy as to where to throw your disc to try to get less than par 4. No fairway to speak of, unless you like to play ricochet among the trees. Hole 11 is a par 5 which is good, considering the elevated basket. Roll down discs on that hill are guaranteed unless your aim is dead-on. The best challenge holes here are 12 and 14 with their throws across separate ponds. Throw those discs good or they will be lost. These ponds look deep, but like I said, two great strategic holes to play. Hole 13 had the sign which originally said 198 feet, but someone had marked that out and put 162, which seemed closer to the mark. Hole 16 was still kind of muddy even after two solid weeks of dryness due to being in a sheltered tree area. All in all, I found this a good course to play, when dry. Like previous reviewers, though, not a good course to play when wet. Also on hole 7, save your longest throws for the open area. No more than two if you want to at least par that hole. You will definitely need two throws for the woods. I am taking the ricochet factor in again here. Good challenges to be had. Go play and enjoy.
Cons: Transition from hole 11 to 12 is confusing unless you have a map or meet someone that has played this course before. I had that advantage. Tee boxes are gravel. I do not use a run-up, so this was no problem for me. It could be for some others, though. The tee signs give no indication for the next tee, but does not seem to be a problem until the transition from holes 11 and 12. Unless you are a decent jumper, the creek crossings on hole 9 might be a tough obstacle. Tread lightly on hole 16. There is lots of soft dirt and/or mud even two or more weeks after a rain.
Other Thoughts: This is an interesting course both in layout and setup. Time and erosion will eventually take its toll here as those factors inevitably do on most courses of this type, but even faster here. I see some holes being abandoned eventually due to the problems that are already arising from flooding and nature factors. It remains to be seen what can and will be done here in the future. Until then, this is a course that is fun and a challenge to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Northtown

5+    3/24/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: pablo.diablo
Played: 66  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another course on the Eastside of Austin / Pflugerville with good baskets.

A longer/tougher course to play near the much shorter Wells Branch course.

Not too tough for beginners, especially the back 9.

Two decent holes to throw over ponds.

Pavilion at parking lot with restrooms for a shady place to relax/eat/rest.

Nice dogpark at entrance.

Update: FINALLY, got cement teepads in 2014!!! (Ratings boost / level up!)
Cons: They finally got concrete tees, just not designed very well. Still, 100% better than before when they were gravel pits!

The course flow is subpar. It makes more sense to play the first seven holes in this order: 3, 4, 5, 6, 2, 1, 7. Try it sometime, you will like it.

The long tee on #6 is unnecessary. Matter of fact, the teesign is at the short box and it hinders your throw from the long box!

The Par 4 Hole #9 doesn't really have fairways. It has "unfair"ways. Second shot requires a massive thumber or perhaps an anny-bomb if you have a huge arm. It's really just a silly hole that is basically a crapshoot off the tee to your landing zone for the 2nd nonsensical shot in a row. This hole needs at least two bridges to cross the creek, one right after the teepad and one when you get closer to the basket.

The long tee for #11 does not have much of a fairway to shoot for unless you have a massive pro-level throw available over the top of the trees. Playing the hyzer, roller, or gut-shot is a crapshoot...requiring more luck than skill really.

The following issues are mainly after wet conditions:

Since it rains again here in TX, there are a couple of spots you cannot cross the creek without getting yourself crazy muddy or soaked shoes even. No good place to cross after #9 teepad. #15 & #16 get incredibly muddy after wet weather. No good place to cross to the muddy fairway on #16 if you don't throw all the way to the basket on your drive. #17 basket gets surrounded by water now.

It will play better in Summer when it doesn't rain so much, but I think long-term this place is gonna suffer some major damage from erosion. Several bridges are definitely in order at a minimum.
Other Thoughts: When the course is completely dry of mud, I would give it a 3.0+ rating. It is perfect when the water is full in the creeks, but the course itself does not have standing water and mud everywhere.

If they add a few much needed foot bridges, and dig some well-placed drainage canals this place will gain further respectability and another ratings increase.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tee boxes really need some help

2-4    4/16/2011   4/21/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 224  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 10 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
This course has potential. The multi-chain baskets are all still new and in great condition. The holes themselves are pretty good: they're challenging for INT-ADV players and well balanced as to not favor righties or lefties. The distances are a nice mix of long, short, and mid-range holes. There's water in play on several holes which is usually a fun hazard for most players. Other than one or maybe two spots the course flows pretty well, if you print a map you'll have no problems. The course loops back near the pavilion/parking lot after hole #11 to allow you to restock or use the restrooms (which are nice for a public park). The parking is ample. There's a practice basket between the parking lot and tee #1. Several of the harder holes have shorter tee boxes to accommodate lower level players. The young trees on #1 will eventually grow up to provide a nice challenge to the upshot on that hole. Nice multi-use park with dog park, play ground, and picnic pavilion.
Cons:
The tee boxes are easily the worst part of this course. Sad to see a new course with boxes in such sad shape. The dirt base is rutted and the gravel is loose which combine for horrible footing for any player with a run-up release. There are poles for the tees signs, but no actual signs on them. The poles are too close to the tee boxes. The transition from #11 to #12 isn't obvious when you're on the course, check a map to help you there.

Hole #9 needs some work to create a fairway. I understand not wanting to take out too many trees too soon because you can't really put them back if you're wrong... but a reasonable tee shot can still leave you with no second shot to reach the basket. Some people are complaining about #11, in my opinion that hole actually has a tough but fair line to get to the basket.
Other Thoughts:
A local players informed me of a few things: The P&R Department ran out of money for the park/course and that's why there are no tee signs on the posts. There are two tee boxes for #6 and the back one on the slope is supposed to be removed. Also the course is intended to be played with gravel paths and beyond as OB. Be careful trying to retrieve sunk discs on #5 as the water can be up to chest deep there.

Reviewing this course is easy, rating it is hard. As I said at the start: this course has potential. The hole design is generally good, but the conditions of the tee boxes really limit the enjoyment of play on the course. Unless you're a stand-and-deliver driver you're either slipping or paranoid about slipping on every tee shot... and that just takes the fun factor down a couple notches. With solid tee boxes this course probably jumps up to ~3.5 stars, but as is it just doesn't feel like you can play your game.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    3/17/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: teebob
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2011
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: A great course with a mix of technical, open, long, short, and tight holes.
Practice basket near the parking lot!
The course will make you learn every shot there is. If you like technical courses that let you air one out every once in a while this course is what you are looking for.
Cons: Tee boxes look like they are 10 yrs old already.
Other Thoughts: If this course had concrete boxes it would easily get a higher rating from me.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Snakes!

1    3/21/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: TRex
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: It's free.

It's new so I'm sure it will get better.

Several holes bring an interesting approach. Mostly the one on the hill with big fallen trees surrounding, and the pond one.
Cons: 2 snakes and a snapping turtle in the water hazard. Hey, it was cool but someone could get bitten.

There's not really much design to it. Bring a good hammer throw, you'll need it since many holes expect you to somehow navigate a disc through a forest of young trees.

Several obvious filler holes.

Hard to navigate unless you are with someone who's played it before. In fact we met some people who said "it's only 15 holes I think". Well we found 16-18 but it wasn't easy.
Other Thoughts: I had fun. In several years with some boy scouts' help it could become a decent enough course.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/10/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great course. It has a nice mix of long and short tees with a lot of woods. You have to pick your shots carefully and you can end up in great positions. A couple of fun water holes too. Just throw right over some ponds.
Cons: Hole 9 does not have a fairway from what I could find. But the trees are short enough to go over. Hole 11 has a great spot for a fun tee except the huge tree fallen over pretty much covering the basket and making it almost impossible to sink a putt.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Start to a Fun Course

1    3/20/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: gek76
Played: 40  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun and challenging course. Each hole offered something a little different. Didn't feel like I was just throwing the same hole over and over. Challenging enough for seasoned players but not intimidating to beginners. Appreciated the baskets having arrows to next tee since this was our first time at this course. Local were friendly. Park offers a lot, dog park, play ground, picnic area, and of course a nice disc golf course. I can see bring the whole family here on our next visit to Austin.
Cons: Course still feels very new. Like they are still playing with the lay out and stuff. Tee signs are done with a black marker on a metal plate, my guess is so they can change the hole layout as they see what works the best before investing in more permanent signs. Trees and brush looked like it had just been cut back. Tees were rough and rutted badly. I don't have a big run up but I do take a few steps but was afraid to cause of the ruts on most tees. I wouldn't want to play here after a big rain cause the ruts in the tees would be full of water. A few of the tee signs where broken off the posts. Hole 7 seems excessively long (600+) then hole 8 was really short(200+). Basket for hole 6 felt close to the tees for hole 2 and 7. An over throw on 6 could easily hit people at 2 or 7.
Other Thoughts: This course had some problems, but I think they are all part of the growing process and I am sure they will be worked out. I will be back to play here on my next visit to the in-laws. It is the nicest course I have played in North Austin so far and I look forward to watching it grow. There where plenty of people out playing but I never felt rushed. I can see the water hazards coming into play even more if there had been any rain recently.
The park has its own fenced in dog park so I would say the disc golf course is leashed dog friendly though I did see some people with their dogs off leash on the course. Except for a couple of stream crossing the course is stroller/cart friendly.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 already a great course with potential for awesomeness

5+    2/13/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: discgolf512
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 22.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is rapidly becoming one of the top courses in the Austin area. Course has a very nice mix of long/short/tight/wide open shots.
Not sure why so many are complaining about hole 11 (it is NOT a par 5). That is my favorite on the course. the basket on top of the hill with trees crossing in front of it... beautiful signiture hole (and as such, should be tough).
front 9 has some long holes and tight fairways that will run-up your score.
The back 9 opens up to a nice "birdy run" with a couple of shot that go over ponds.
Cons: After hole 8 there needs to be a bridge put in to cross the creek.
the tee boxes are crushed gravel, but that gravel has already been scattered... leaving ruts in the boxes.
Other Thoughts: A great park, family friendly with many amenities. The course is still in development: tee signs will be coming soon, and hopefully trashcans as well.
Rumor is there will also be 2 other course added to this park as well (a 9 hole and another 18 hole)

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Destination for the whole Family

5+    2/21/2011   2/27/2011
Review By: TejasKajun
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 17.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: For a "Northside" Austin course this place provides you the lines and variations that you need to teach yourself with.
It is a sample of the Steeplechase and WIlco courses combined. There is a great risk/reward system here, If you go for it precisely, you get good pay offs to gaining strokes.
Cons: Still developing, so the minor issues are very minor....
Tee Signs = meh. In my opinion, just judge your distance and throw as you know.
Hole #11 = It truly needs erosion control. Great hole, but really needs timbers, railroad beams, etc to keep it from washing away over time or possibly 3 heavy rains. Contact me, I am willing to volunteer and help out with it.
Trash cans = though the park is not "officially" opened. There are some DG'ers that still leave trash around. Please put some out on the course soon.
Other Thoughts: This community needs a great park, and this is it. They have great exercise paths, a dog park, playgrounds, and facilities (still being built as fast as they can)... so the park and area will be a destination for the whole family. It already is for disc golfers. Good job, and the future seems great for the location and community.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.