Pflugerville, TX 
North Town Share
Uploaded By: TejasKajun Hole #4 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 273ft.   3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Northtown

5+    3/24/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: pablo.diablo
Played: 66  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another course on the Eastside of Austin / Pflugerville with good baskets.

A longer/tougher course to play near the much shorter Wells Branch course.

Not too tough for beginners, especially the back 9.

Two decent holes to throw over ponds.

Pavilion at parking lot with restrooms for a shady place to relax/eat/rest.

Nice dogpark at entrance.

Update: FINALLY, got cement teepads in 2014!!! (Ratings boost / level up!)
Cons: They finally got concrete tees, just not designed very well. Still, 100% better than before when they were gravel pits!

The course flow is subpar. It makes more sense to play the first seven holes in this order: 3, 4, 5, 6, 2, 1, 7. Try it sometime, you will like it.

The long tee on #6 is unnecessary. Matter of fact, the teesign is at the short box and it hinders your throw from the long box!

The Par 4 Hole #9 doesn't really have fairways. It has "unfair"ways. Second shot requires a massive thumber or perhaps an anny-bomb if you have a huge arm. It's really just a silly hole that is basically a crapshoot off the tee to your landing zone for the 2nd nonsensical shot in a row. This hole needs at least two bridges to cross the creek, one right after the teepad and one when you get closer to the basket.

The long tee for #11 does not have much of a fairway to shoot for unless you have a massive pro-level throw available over the top of the trees. Playing the hyzer, roller, or gut-shot is a crapshoot...requiring more luck than skill really.

The following issues are mainly after wet conditions:

Since it rains again here in TX, there are a couple of spots you cannot cross the creek without getting yourself crazy muddy or soaked shoes even. No good place to cross after #9 teepad. #15 & #16 get incredibly muddy after wet weather. No good place to cross to the muddy fairway on #16 if you don't throw all the way to the basket on your drive. #17 basket gets surrounded by water now.

It will play better in Summer when it doesn't rain so much, but I think long-term this place is gonna suffer some major damage from erosion. Several bridges are definitely in order at a minimum.
Other Thoughts: When the course is completely dry of mud, I would give it a 3.0+ rating. It is perfect when the water is full in the creeks, but the course itself does not have standing water and mud everywhere.

If they add a few much needed foot bridges, and dig some well-placed drainage canals this place will gain further respectability and another ratings increase.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tee boxes really need some help

2-4    4/16/2011   4/21/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 215  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 9.5 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
This course has potential. The multi-chain baskets are all still new and in great condition. The holes themselves are pretty good: they're challenging for INT-ADV players and well balanced as to not favor righties or lefties. The distances are a nice mix of long, short, and mid-range holes. There's water in play on several holes which is usually a fun hazard for most players. Other than one or maybe two spots the course flows pretty well, if you print a map you'll have no problems. The course loops back near the pavilion/parking lot after hole #11 to allow you to restock or use the restrooms (which are nice for a public park). The parking is ample. There's a practice basket between the parking lot and tee #1. Several of the harder holes have shorter tee boxes to accommodate lower level players. The young trees on #1 will eventually grow up to provide a nice challenge to the upshot on that hole. Nice multi-use park with dog park, play ground, and picnic pavilion.
Cons:
The tee boxes are easily the worst part of this course. Sad to see a new course with boxes in such sad shape. The dirt base is rutted and the gravel is loose which combine for horrible footing for any player with a run-up release. There are poles for the tees signs, but no actual signs on them. The poles are too close to the tee boxes. The transition from #11 to #12 isn't obvious when you're on the course, check a map to help you there.

Hole #9 needs some work to create a fairway. I understand not wanting to take out too many trees too soon because you can't really put them back if you're wrong... but a reasonable tee shot can still leave you with no second shot to reach the basket. Some people are complaining about #11, in my opinion that hole actually has a tough but fair line to get to the basket.
Other Thoughts:
A local players informed me of a few things: The P&R Department ran out of money for the park/course and that's why there are no tee signs on the posts. There are two tee boxes for #6 and the back one on the slope is supposed to be removed. Also the course is intended to be played with gravel paths and beyond as OB. Be careful trying to retrieve sunk discs on #5 as the water can be up to chest deep there.

Reviewing this course is easy, rating it is hard. As I said at the start: this course has potential. The hole design is generally good, but the conditions of the tee boxes really limit the enjoyment of play on the course. Unless you're a stand-and-deliver driver you're either slipping or paranoid about slipping on every tee shot... and that just takes the fun factor down a couple notches. With solid tee boxes this course probably jumps up to ~3.5 stars, but as is it just doesn't feel like you can play your game.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    3/17/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: teebob
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2011
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: A great course with a mix of technical, open, long, short, and tight holes.
Practice basket near the parking lot!
The course will make you learn every shot there is. If you like technical courses that let you air one out every once in a while this course is what you are looking for.
Cons: Tee boxes look like they are 10 yrs old already.
Other Thoughts: If this course had concrete boxes it would easily get a higher rating from me.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Snakes!

1    3/21/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: TRex
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: It's free.

It's new so I'm sure it will get better.

Several holes bring an interesting approach. Mostly the one on the hill with big fallen trees surrounding, and the pond one.
Cons: 2 snakes and a snapping turtle in the water hazard. Hey, it was cool but someone could get bitten.

There's not really much design to it. Bring a good hammer throw, you'll need it since many holes expect you to somehow navigate a disc through a forest of young trees.

Several obvious filler holes.

Hard to navigate unless you are with someone who's played it before. In fact we met some people who said "it's only 15 holes I think". Well we found 16-18 but it wasn't easy.
Other Thoughts: I had fun. In several years with some boy scouts' help it could become a decent enough course.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/10/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great course. It has a nice mix of long and short tees with a lot of woods. You have to pick your shots carefully and you can end up in great positions. A couple of fun water holes too. Just throw right over some ponds.
Cons: Hole 9 does not have a fairway from what I could find. But the trees are short enough to go over. Hole 11 has a great spot for a fun tee except the huge tree fallen over pretty much covering the basket and making it almost impossible to sink a putt.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Start to a Fun Course

1    3/20/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: gek76
Played: 40  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun and challenging course. Each hole offered something a little different. Didn't feel like I was just throwing the same hole over and over. Challenging enough for seasoned players but not intimidating to beginners. Appreciated the baskets having arrows to next tee since this was our first time at this course. Local were friendly. Park offers a lot, dog park, play ground, picnic area, and of course a nice disc golf course. I can see bring the whole family here on our next visit to Austin.
Cons: Course still feels very new. Like they are still playing with the lay out and stuff. Tee signs are done with a black marker on a metal plate, my guess is so they can change the hole layout as they see what works the best before investing in more permanent signs. Trees and brush looked like it had just been cut back. Tees were rough and rutted badly. I don't have a big run up but I do take a few steps but was afraid to cause of the ruts on most tees. I wouldn't want to play here after a big rain cause the ruts in the tees would be full of water. A few of the tee signs where broken off the posts. Hole 7 seems excessively long (600+) then hole 8 was really short(200+). Basket for hole 6 felt close to the tees for hole 2 and 7. An over throw on 6 could easily hit people at 2 or 7.
Other Thoughts: This course had some problems, but I think they are all part of the growing process and I am sure they will be worked out. I will be back to play here on my next visit to the in-laws. It is the nicest course I have played in North Austin so far and I look forward to watching it grow. There where plenty of people out playing but I never felt rushed. I can see the water hazards coming into play even more if there had been any rain recently.
The park has its own fenced in dog park so I would say the disc golf course is leashed dog friendly though I did see some people with their dogs off leash on the course. Except for a couple of stream crossing the course is stroller/cart friendly.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 already a great course with potential for awesomeness

5+    2/13/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: discgolf512
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 22.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is rapidly becoming one of the top courses in the Austin area. Course has a very nice mix of long/short/tight/wide open shots.
Not sure why so many are complaining about hole 11 (it is NOT a par 5). That is my favorite on the course. the basket on top of the hill with trees crossing in front of it... beautiful signiture hole (and as such, should be tough).
front 9 has some long holes and tight fairways that will run-up your score.
The back 9 opens up to a nice "birdy run" with a couple of shot that go over ponds.
Cons: After hole 8 there needs to be a bridge put in to cross the creek.
the tee boxes are crushed gravel, but that gravel has already been scattered... leaving ruts in the boxes.
Other Thoughts: A great park, family friendly with many amenities. The course is still in development: tee signs will be coming soon, and hopefully trashcans as well.
Rumor is there will also be 2 other course added to this park as well (a 9 hole and another 18 hole)

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Destination for the whole Family

5+    2/21/2011   2/27/2011
Review By: TejasKajun
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 17 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: For a "Northside" Austin course this place provides you the lines and variations that you need to teach yourself with.
It is a sample of the Steeplechase and WIlco courses combined. There is a great risk/reward system here, If you go for it precisely, you get good pay offs to gaining strokes.
Cons: Still developing, so the minor issues are very minor....
Tee Signs = meh. In my opinion, just judge your distance and throw as you know.
Hole #11 = It truly needs erosion control. Great hole, but really needs timbers, railroad beams, etc to keep it from washing away over time or possibly 3 heavy rains. Contact me, I am willing to volunteer and help out with it.
Trash cans = though the park is not "officially" opened. There are some DG'ers that still leave trash around. Please put some out on the course soon.
Other Thoughts: This community needs a great park, and this is it. They have great exercise paths, a dog park, playgrounds, and facilities (still being built as fast as they can)... so the park and area will be a destination for the whole family. It already is for disc golfers. Good job, and the future seems great for the location and community.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Potential

5+    2/26/2011   2/27/2011
Review By: slicemaster
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2012
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1. Great variation of shots and good degree of difficulty.
2. Finally a challenging 18 hole course in Pflugerville/North Austin.
3. Good course layout and has massive potential to become one of the top spots in town
Cons: 1. Trees are a bit bit much on the course and will prove much more difficult when everything turns green.
2. Creek is shocking deep in some areas, discs most certainly can be lost to the depths.
3. It is in the beginning stages so work is still being done so watch out for the stumps.
Other Thoughts: I can't wait to see this course when it reaches its full potential. I can definitely say this will be my new home course as Falcon Pointe is not good and Wells Branch is too short. Thanks for the great new course, I know I will appreciate it. Watch out for 11 it is a bastard but a great signature hole.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  latest addition to Austin

5+    1/29/2011   2/9/2011
Review By: Dump Truck
Played: 48  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes and moderate degree of difficulty. Natural tee boxes that are currently in good shape. The park has potential for additional courses as long as things go well. Practice basket by hole one and decent amount of open area to practice/warm up before starting hole one. Nice pavillion.
Cons: Poor tee sign placement that gets in your way on a few holes. Hole 11 is stupid hard. Really long with tons of trees then the basket is on top of a 10ft hill partially surrounded by water.
Other Thoughts: It's a good course addition to the austin area. Not even officially open yet so they may fix/change a few things.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.