Georgetown, TX 
FBCgT DGC Share


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Praise The Lord And Pass The Clippers!

1    9/28/2017   9/28/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The FBCgT (First Baptist Church of Georgetown) is large church with lots of activities going on. Today, there were a bunch of pre-schoolers screaming for their mamas. No, actually they were pretty adorable.

The course starts over by the volleyball courts with holes 1-2-3. Let us begin our service this morning with these first three holes. First, basket # 1 has apparently dropped out of church. It was nowhere to be found. This area is badly overgrown and is filled with cactus plants. Some serious trimming is required.

Now let us move on to the New Testament featuring holes 4-6. I found the # 4 sign. It says 312' and points into a waist high jungle. No way, was I flinging my disc into this hellhole. By now, I was about ready to join the Catholic Church down the street. There is an unclaimed basket by the street.

Next, the Old Testament with holes 7-9. Repent, ye disc golfers fore I bring ye three actual golf holes you can play. # 7 plays across this grassy area to a basket in the corner. Then # 8 is a decent enough little anhyser toss. # 9 is actually a pretty hole. The basket sits down in a little hollow 330' away. The problem here is you're throwing directly over the parking lot. I probably wouldn't park here if the youth group was playing a round.
Cons: The course needs some serious trimming.

Missing # 1 basket.

# 9 is a major safety issue.

The concrete tee pads are raised about 8" and they're too short for me to get enough run-up for a 330' hole. Basically, they allow for a step and a half.
Other Thoughts: My ratings would Look like this:

Holes 1-3. 1.0

Holes 4-6. 0.5

Holes 7-9. 2.0

Averaging these three scores out, I come up with 3.5 divided by 3 = 1.17.

Since I'm thinking about joining this church, I'll be charitable and round the score up to a 1.5, still a far cry from the 5.0 which chris4422 bestowed on the course earlier. I think chris4422 might be looking a free ride into heaven. As a matter of public record, after chris4422 gave this course a 5.0 and before anyone else got around to rating FBCgT, this course was unofficially rated the # 1 course, get this, IN THE WORLD! David must have slew this course with his sling shortly thereafter.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

could be good

1    11/25/2016   12/4/2016
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 300  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice concrete tees
-discatchers in good condition
-low ceilings in play on the front 3
-defined tree lines on the middle 3
-some mature trees in play on the back 3
Cons: -lots of overgrown areas
-lots of potential conflict on the back 3 with the parking lot
-hole 9 is pretty far from hole 1
-could be a better course with some changes, scrap 7-9 and route them back through the woods toward hole 1
Other Thoughts: This course is behind the church and starts at the west end of the property next to the volleyball court. The tees and baskets are nice but the property is generally poorly maintained. As another reviewer said, it feels like 3 separate 3 hole courses. The first 6 are decent but the last 3 criss-cross each other and are in conflict with the parking lot and lawns right next to the church.

Seems like there is enough room on the land to create a better layout and flow by moving 7-9 and playing through the woods back toward the start of the course. As it is, you shouldn't play the last 3 holes during church hours. With regular maintenance this course could be acceptable though it has some long walks. That said, there are three better courses in Georgetown.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Potential not fulfilled...

2-4    5/30/2015   5/30/2015
Review By: hawk12
Played: 232  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 27.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees are nice, new and in good condition. The baskets are also in good condition & its on a nice piece of property.

Holes 1-3 had nice lines in the wooded section, which with just a little bit of trimming could play quite nice.
Holes 4/5 had lines but the grass was chest high, hole 6 was mowed nicely and had a good lane.

Holes 7-9 all had good lanes and were decent holes.
Cons: There are so many things I would've done differently as a course designer and builder myself...

Lets start with the crossing fairways on holes 8/9 - a no-no in design - but hey apparently nobody plays here.

Next up, there shouldn't be holes 7-9 where they are - direct "conflict" with the parking are possible pedestrians. This course should not even be attempted on a Sunday, as that'd be just dangerous.

Next up, the design all heads east - ending very far from hole 1. So flow is poor, and there is along walk involved no matter what - which I found very strange for such a short course. It felt like 3 separate 3 holes courses...

The grass was knee - chest high in many spots, a little bit of love and maintenance could go a long way here.
Other Thoughts: There appeared to be a significant amount of land behind the church, and leading into the woods - that might be a good place to start considering relocating holes 7-9.

With a somewhat decent designer involved, and a little bit of volunteer help - this place has immense potential. There are some very good holes here - good lines to throw, and lots of land unused.

Changing it up a bit, moving holes 7-9, and maybe adding in 9 more in the woods that flow back towards hole 1 - this place could be a better than average course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good intentions

1    6/22/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: balanceseeker8
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Couple good hole up by the church. That are maintained but short.
Cons: Good intentions, but poor execution. Very overgrown. Waist high weeds everywhere.
Other Thoughts: Find another place to play. SOme of the holes are so close to the church that you might hit it.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lawn Mower??

1    8/19/2012   12/27/2012
Review By: rmarshall
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you live nearby, it's a decent course to play on.. While none of the holes are very long, 7-9 are a great place to throw and throw and throw.. concrete tee pads are nice and the hole placement is okay. Having 3 sets of 3 holes makes it feel much longer than a 9 hole course
Cons: The Terrain. Holes 1-3 are absolutely covered w/ cactus (tons of it) and the ground is covered in large rocks with a mulch/muddy mixture. holes 4-6 are a little better, but teeing off on hole 5 is a nightmare. The only was to get a good throw on this holes is the tomahawk. It is in DESPERATE need of a mowing, im talking weeds that are 10+ feet high! Holes 7 - 9 are the nicest, but play them too much, and the conceret could tear your disc to shreds.
Other Thoughts: I drive by this course almost daily, and I have almost never seen anyone playing on it. I think the problem is alot of people believe it is private, cause the church is HUGE and very nice. Plus, don't even bother trying to play on a sunday, w/ 1/3 of the course in the parking lot, it is impossible to tee off on the last 3 holes without hitting about 50 cars.

Overall, I would rather play San Gabriel. Much more open, only about 5 miles away from here, and alot of friendly locals there chat with and maybe play a pick-up game. Don't waste your time here if your looking to actually get a good 18 holes in, too much work and just not worth the time with other much better courses right down the street.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/16/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 9.7 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the only course out of four in Gtown that has concrete teepads.

Hole design is good and balanced. Any skill level would have fun playing these holes. They are not too easy, not too hard, but just well balanced and fun.

I love holes 7-9. They are in a triangle so you can just play them over and over.

Cons: Three baskets (4, 5, and 6) are missing. They are not locked. If you have a socket set you can take one of these things right off the pole.

No signs. There are wood 4x4 posts but no signs.

Horrible flow. There are three sets of three holes and each set is on a different part of the church property.

The concrete teepads are a little too small and also a little too tall. You feel like you have to be real careful not to fall off as you are throwing.

If you park at hole #1 to start your round you have to walk about half a mile, uphill, to get back to your car after you finish hole 9.

There are alot of cactus and brushpiles on holes 1-3.

It looks like the course designer and one of his friends both came on here and gave this course a five disc rating. The problem with that is that people traveling through this area from out of town will think this is a good course to stop at since it's also right off IH35. This course is not worth stopping at other than to bag a nine holer. It is good for recreation for the church goers and a good place to get a little practice if you're local, but it is NOT in any way a five disc course.
Other Thoughts: Here's how I play this course with my kids. I park at hole 1 and play 1-3 three times in a row. Then we drive to hole 7 and play 7-9 three times in a row for a total of 18 holes. It is actually quite fun.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/25/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: Turner512
Played: 44  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/17/2011
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: This course has it all! Woods, Elevation, space, and water. Excellent course design and perfect terrain. The first 3 holes start in a wooded section and force you to place your shots well. Starts with a straight shot followed by a dog-leg right then a dog-leg left.
Holes 4,5, and 6 combine a wooded area with field ending in a narrow path plus a hill. Excellent basket placements!
The final 3 hole are in a decently open area with a few large oaks. Starts shorts and gets longer.
Great holes and great fun!
Cons: Teepads are large and above ground. Falling off these could result in injury. Certain areas have a lot of cactus and snakes. Be careful watch your feet.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    4/14/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: cris4422
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 37 Not
Pros: Hole design is top notch. Best of the best. The designers did a fantasic job and will continue to improve the course. GREAT FUN!!!!!!!
Cons: It's not in my backyard
Other Thoughts: Try to avoid the pavement. It is unfriendly to discs.

1 of 38 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.