St. Petersburg, FL 
Azalea Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ricklev Hole #2 (Taken 4/2017)
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
No Overgrowth!

5+    1/10/2017   9/15/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 105  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.153 Rating) An open and beginner friendly course.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - This is a very solid beginners and rec course, and they will love this course alike. No chance to lose a disc unless you put it on top of the palm tree.. The fairway lanes are wide and there are no water hazards.
- ACEABILITY - Several holes are aceable, You will have exceedingly great opportunities on holes 1 and 5.
- TEE PADS - The concrete pads are long, at least 16 feet in length. You'll have more than you'll need.
- CHAINS - All the baskets look nearly new.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds appear to be mowed weekly. The park is very clean despite a lack of garbage cans along the layout (garbage can on tee 2 only). There are no areas of overgrowth anywhere along the layout.
- NAVIGATION - One of the easiest courses to navigate that I've ever played. There is a course map at one. All the holes play in a clockwise motion starting south. Plus, there are no blind baskets and few trees. I'll also mention that the course is good for those that like to bring out the disc golf bag stroller.
- NIGHT GOLF - This is an ideal night golf course. Spacious fairways, few trees, no overgrowth and no water hazards in play.
- QUICK PLAY - A single could easily complete a full 9 in under 30 minutes. Groups of 4 probably should finish in under an hour.
- RAW BEAUTY - The raw beauty of the course is a touch above average due to the manicuring of the course grounds.
Cons: Short on uniqueness and void of a challenge
- UNIQUENESS - On some courses you play, you'll look at your bag and realize you only have one disc that can maybe do what you need it do, to hit a fairway. Azalea is the opposite, All the holes are straight, generally open and can be approached with by multiple angles.
- ELEVATION - Really none to speak of. I know that this is typically for Florida, but this course is flat for even Florida standards. no more than 5 feet elevation change throughout the entire course layout
- DIFFICULTY - Azalea is not much of a challenge to advanced players and above. None of holes are that exceedingly hard. Intermediates players that can throw 325 should be able to birdie them all after 10 or so rounds. Intermediate players should be around par after 9. with advanced being several under.
- CHARACTER - A touch below average. There is only one set of tees. There is no seating except for hole 2, no community board, no practice basket. There is good hole signage and a course map. About half of the tees are shaded well. at first glance there appears to be multiple pin placements, but they never change and are always in the long position.
- SPACING - Slightly below average. If the course was full, there would be a few tees that could be reached by an errant throw because of no tree protection. A few fairways also feel partially shared.
- WAITING - Lots of park patrons using park for other reasons. On my first round here, I had to stop for kids playing football catch in the middle of the course. In addition, the course is surrounded by a sidewalk and its heavily used. I've never played a round here and haven't had to stop for walkers.
Other Thoughts: - Intermediate, recreational and beginning players will love this course. The forgiving layout and maintenance of the park will make for a relaxing round that will boost confidence. Advanced players and above, will come away untested. For those players wanting a greater challenge, check out nearby Tocobaga DGC (Maximo Park) about 10 mile south or Taylor Park DGC, which is about 10 miles north.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent use of space

1    2/15/2014   4/6/2015
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 144  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very well designed for the space. The holes here are pretty much all in view here, but the course is made interesting by forcing shot shaping and smart disc selection. I would be more than happy if this course was within walking distance of my house as it not only provides interesting holes, but also opens up the possibility of some solid safari golf. This would also be a solid course to bring newer players.
Cons: -This course is very, very flat even by Florida standards.
-I really wish this course had more trees and a more variety.
-Azalea is not Disc Golf only, so there are lots of walkers and other park goers around.
Other Thoughts: There is not a lot wrong with this course as it's nothing spectacular and nothing worth going out of your way for. It's just a solid small course in a neighborhood park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 "Beginner's Paradise"

1    2/1/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 939  Reviewed: 480  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice sign and course map at the parking lot. The holes were all there and the distances listed including alternates.

2) Nice signs at each tee. Hole #, distance, par, and a hole map with OB indicted.

3) Very beginner friendly because it is fairly open. Advanced level players and above may not find this too challenging but could play it as a deuce or die type of layout.

4) Concrete is always the best surface for tees! They used a grill type metal and pressed that into the teepads to create more grip. This was a unique thing I have not seen before and it seemed to be more consistent than just brushing with a broom.

5) Key trees are used effectively to create the shots requires for each hole. Without these key trees and good design . . . this course could have easily been lost to the wide open and boring type course.

6) Very safely laid out with tees and baskets far enough away from previous fairways and potential areas of errant throws.

7) Mulch was used around tees and basket areas to help reduce the damage from compaction.

8) Directionals on the baskets help point you around the course and the flow seems pretty consistent.

9) Dual locations are indicated on the main sign . . . but I was unsure if this meant baskets or tees.

10) Turf is in excellent condition on this entire course. Nice and full and minimal bare spots or soil exposed except in a few places by baskets and tees, but they have used mulch in some spots.
Cons: 1) Flat as can be . . . this may be the flattest place I have ever played. No fault of the designer but worth noting.

2) This course may be a little too boring for advanced level players. I would still have fun running for the perfect -9 if I had a little bit more length, but most advanced players would like more challenge than this course presents.

3) Distance variation is severely lacking for someone of my skill level (905-915 rated), but I suppose a 290' hole feels much different to a beginner than a 200' hole, but not for me especially with minimal obstacles.

4) Just not enough variety for me to desire to come back again.
Other Thoughts: While I cannot find much wrong with this course, it is not a course I will likely return to. There are already so many good courses in the area that I would not choose to go back here other than that it is pretty close to my Uncles place (but Tocobaga is closer). It suits beginners very well so it definitely works as it was designed. I give the designer credit for finding a place for a course that does welcome beginners because this area really needed some courses that expose people to the game. Imagine going to Cliff Stephens and trying to learn the game . . . you would be out of discs before you finish the round!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pristine Starter Course

1    10/19/2011   10/24/2011
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 15.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Setting, signage.
Cons: Length, lack of obstacles, shortish teepads
Other Thoughts: The disc golf course at Azalea Park is a perfect starter course. Like most courses in Pinellas County, it features concrete teepads, excellent signage, and is very well cared for. It's only nine holes, though, only has one hole that's more than 300 feet long, has only a smattering of thin trees as obstacles, and is the only course in the county with no water at all to worry about. Thus, it's a worthy outing for most anyone, but is set up for beginners and youth play most of all.

Experienced players won't get much more than a quick, pleasant round out of this course. Big arms won't need a driver, except on maybe one hole, and while the course isn't completely wide open, the trees that are there only present a minimal obstacle, and hitting one is only a minor setback. For the tournament hardened regulars of the area's longer courses, Azalea is probably best approached as a two-disc, par 2 challenge. For casual players and explorers (like myself), it's a nice confidence building, low stress, groomed outing with plenty of birdie opportunities. For beginners, it's a chance to work on developing your skills, particularly your skills off the tee, without having to worry about water or thick palmetto stands, regular features on the other courses in the county.

Overall, I rate this course as Reasonable, and worth checking out if you're in the area. Due to the setting, it's a pleasant round for anyone, but the course is ideal for beginners and less attractive to others due to its length and lack of other challenges, and the fact that it's only nine holes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/12/2011   2/12/2011
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 90  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is just a step up from a "pitch and putt" course. While every hole can be birdied without a terrible amount of trouble, there are still enough holes to offer a challenge. The trees that are in the park were used wisely enough to make you plan your shot around them.

Both times I have played there have been very, very windy. I am not sure if it is consistently that way but it did add some challenge. Hole 4 is the longest hole on the course and has a few trees to make you keep your lines tight if you want a birdie.

Glad to hear alternate pins are planned. It would be better to have alternate pads (so you could shoot it as a full 18) but that is obviously much more costly. I look forward to seeing what variety the new pin placements offer.

The people I saw on the course were new and that is always a plus for growing the sport and increase its visibility in such a well trafficked park.

There is not a lot of shot variety but how much can you really expect on a 9 hole course in a small public park?

Accessibility is also a plus. This is in a great spot in St. Pete that is very centrally located and has several main streets that run close by (Tyrone, 66th street, 22nd ave, etc). Parking is right by hole 1's tee...always a plus.

Last, the tee signs are great. We need to get those same signs over at Cliff and Coachman.
Cons: A walking path goes all the way around the park and can come into play on some holes. The street can also come into play on the west side of the park, especially hole 4 (which is the longest hole on the course) as it has a nice hyzer line but that makes you more likely to put it in the street on your drive if you aren't careful. There was also a hole in the ground within 25 feet of the pin on hole 7 that could twist someone's ankle.
Other Thoughts: While it was VERY windy when I played the course it was still very enjoyable. It would be much, much easier on a calm day. This course is within a half mile of my house so I will be there more but it is no replacement of the other courses in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.