Disc Golf Center
Freeport, FL 
ChainDragon Share
Uploaded By: sidearmer Hole #2 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 190ft.   3 / 190ft.   3 / 190ft.   3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Nice, Varied Course With Some Layout Issues.

2-4    3/12/2017   3/13/2017
Review By: Majshark
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: --Eclectic course next to a nice sports park and playground. Nice scenery.
--Concrete pads. Pro pads available on some holes.
--Nice variance of distance and obstacles from hole to hole.
Cons: --Some fairways run parallel to a road; others run alongside fenced baseball/softball fields.
--Signage and basket location. Other than a map of all 18 baskets at the start, signage is poor. Signage consists of hole number and handwritten yardage, but no indcation of basket location. Some baskets are hidden low on the other side of retention pond berms.
--Water hazards consist of retention ponds.
Other Thoughts: Compared to other aspects of this park, the disc golf course feels tacked on. Still, it does feel like folks are committed to its upkeep and improvement, especially with the recent inclusion of concrete pads. Those seeking a challenge will enjoy the course, although a prior knowledge of all basket locations would help.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Only course in Walton County

5+    1/29/2016   8/2/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 105  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2017
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: (2.982 Rating) A sports complex course with a good amount of hole variety.
- UNIQUENESS - For a par 54 course, the ChainDragon has a nice array hole types. There is water in the form of water carries, stop short of water and parallel water plays. There are pocket shots in both directions and there is a nice dogleg left on hole (4). There are wooded shots, open shots, blind shots and moderate tunnels plays. There is a great overhead play on (12), otherwise it's a poke and hope shot. really the only thing missing is a par 4, par 5, dogleg right and elevation (see cons)
- ACEABILITY - Numerous holes are aceable, You will have exceedingly great opportunities on holes (1) and (11), I have personally aced (11)
- CHARACTER - A touch above average. To start, there is some seating at about half the holes. A majority of the tees are shaded well and there are two tees for pros and ams at several holes. The tees are all concrete or asphalt, with the asphalt paths being infinitely long. There are some trash cans along the layout as well. There is also restrooms and drinking fountains toward the ball field concessions buildings.
- SHELTERS - There are several great shelters along the layout. Perfect for the summer pop-up thunderstorm.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds appear to be mowed weekly and the complex is very clean.
- QUICK PLAY - A single can easily complete a full 18 in about an hour. Groups of 4 should be in at around 2 hours.
- RAW BEAUTY - The raw beauty of the course is about average or a touch above, mainly due to the plethora of tranquil water features.
- CLUB - For such a small town, there's surprisingly a well establish club with weekly events.
Cons: A few flaws with this course but overall pretty solid.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This is not a beginners course even with the shorter length. The odds of losing a disc here is exceedingly higher than normal for those that can't carry 250 foot water shots. Beginners best to stay clear of holes (3), (10), (11), (13) and (14) or plan to go home empty handed.
- NAVIGATION - Course map at hole one is not up to date. I have made a crude map of the current layout and put it in the Files tab. Note, new signage is coming in March or April 2017.
- DUEL USE HAZARD - The park is home to more than disc golf. There are soccer fields, baseball fields and tennis courts that can come into play with an errant shot. However, myself as a player with a 900 rating, only hole 9 really comes into to play for me as a hazard opportunity. That said, there is a possibility to be forced to skip a hole, or to have extended waiting.
- ELEVATION - Really none to speak of. I know that this is typically for Florida, but this course is flat for even Florida standards. No more than 6 to 8 feet of change throughout the entire course with most it being at retention pond banks.
Other Thoughts: IMO, one of the better courses in a 50 mile radius and a good course for those living within 15-20 miles. Unfortunately not a great beginners course due to the amount of water hazards. Definitely worth a look see if you live or are vacationing in the Fort Walton / Destin area. Overall however, the ChainDragon is not at the same level when compared to the best courses in the wider panhandle region.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Terrible Design

1    6/15/2016   6/15/2016
Review By: RayRay
Played: 110  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Holes 4, 7 and 17 seem fine. Everything else did not seem like real disc golf
Cons: Possibly the worst 18 hole course I've ever played.
-Bad for serious golfers since holes are short and bland.
-Bad for recreational players with perilous pin positions 10 feet from nasty water and dense rough.
-Signs do not give distance nor pictures. (Just sharpie on the distances.)
Other Thoughts: The design seemed very poor and lazy. Why make such a short course that rec players will avoid due to rough and water? If you're going to put in a course in a park without a lot of space, take the time to clear out woods to make some proper holes.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun course

1    5/18/2016   5/18/2016
Review By: AceHarris10
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quality hole layout. Water holes provide a good little challenge. Scenery is nice as well...... Short course which would be good if you are a little handicapped or overweight.
Cons: Lack of diversity bc all holes are par 3. No elevation or "hill holes".
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course for a beginner. I was staying in south Walton on vacation, so this was the closest course for me...... I'm the kind of guy that loves any course to some extent, but this one lacked a few things that I am used to in north Alabama.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bland Course

1    3/5/2016   3/12/2016
Review By: Klingmeyer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Some wooded holes, and varying distances, easy to walk. Most holes are easy enough to par.
Cons: Only challenging holes are the water holes (10-14). These holes have very limited landing areas. None of the tee boxes had information other than the hole number.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the anthills.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

ChainDragon Disc Golf Course at Freeport Regional Sports Complex

1    9/28/2015   10/11/2015
Review By: calebwilliams507
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Short course (yardage)
- Water hazards
- Challenging course
Cons: - Water hazards
- Lack of signage/distance markers
Other Thoughts: The ChainDragon course is a very nice course located in the Hammock Bay community near Freeport, Florida. There are many water holes on the course, but many water hazards are relatively easy to avoid. Thankfully, I escaped the day only one disc down [Innova Leopard Fairway Driver (DX)]. The water hazards make the course a very fun and different course compared to the other courses in Okaloosa County. I found nothing special with the non-water holes. A great course, if you have some discs to spare!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Simple yet fun

1    7/21/2015   7/21/2015
Review By: dutch_22
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good quality DGA baskets
- In a sports complex in a safe part of town
- Easy to play along and around other park activities
- Relatively simple layout with some challenging tunnel shots
- Water shots make you work for safe landings
Cons: - The course map listed on the DGCR site does not correspond to the current course layout.
- The current layout does have sufficient hole number markers however, there are no distance markings or hole layout markings on the signs. You will spend a good bit of time walking down the fairway to see where the pin locations are.
- Mix of concrete and dirt tee pads. A few of the concrete pads were too short to use safely. The use of the walking path for tee pads is the best possible alternative.
Other Thoughts: It's time to update the online map to match the course layout. The tee markers would be so much improved if they were labeled with distance and layout diagrams. The course plays tight around the park, and uses the water hazards well. Hole number 12 is quite a challenge playing through a swamp! It's a fun and quick go-around if you are in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Adagio Baioni Beach Bash 2014

2-4    7/3/2014   7/7/2014
Review By: manglin
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Baskets are high quality DGA Machs.
-Scenic beauty.
-Parking.
-Restrooms.
-Close to the beaches on 30A and Destin.
-Hole number signs and directional indicators to the next tee. To know the direction of the next tee, look for red painted on one of the wrungs of the basket. That serves as an "arrow" to the next hole.
-Free
Cons: -Lack of Benches & Trash bins
-Lacking in Variety of hole distances
-Lacking in Variety of shots required. Most are RHBH hyzer throws.
-Lacking in Mix of tight technical & Open bombs. Most are open sitting on the edge of a wood line.
-Overall challenge is fairly low.
-The signs could use distance and hole shape indications.
Other Thoughts: I got a chance to play this course while on vacation in Blue Mt Beach on 30A. It's a very short trip, about 20 mins, from our condo. It made for a good break from the sand and sun.
The course has little challenge; however, it's still pretty fun - which is good on vacation.
Park near the basketball & tennis courts to start hole 1.
Watch for snakes. I found one on hole 4.
The course is flat and makes for an easy walk. I brought my 3yr old boy and he did pretty good walking most of the holes as the terrain is pretty easy.
Seems like some of the hole distances are not accurate and/or maybe some of the tees have been moved closer. I over-threw some things based on the distances listed on DGCR.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Could use some better navigation.

1    6/6/2014   6/6/2014
Review By: BenX33
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent variety of shots required. Not any grip and rip here, but short holes are made more difficult by water hazards and narrow pathways.
Cons: No maps other than a general sign at hole 1 showing that it is clockwise around the park. At #15 I teed off and end up at 16 basket and never found 15. Also nothing to tell the distance at the tees. I used the info on this site instead, which was way off on some hole s. #5 was more like 265, not 465. Maybe due to multiple basket locations?
Other Thoughts: Bring a few discs you won't miss since getting wet to retrieve a disc doesn't seem worth the risk of snakes.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course Away From Home

1    9/19/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: Buff4Booty
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Chain Dragon (C.D. abbreviated) is located in a very well kept sports complex, and its circular flow "park perimeter" provided a familiar pace for play. C.D. provided a mix of short technical holes, and slightly longer holes for our grip-and-rip players.
Cons: Water plays a challenging role at C.D. It's hard to say how our score would have ended up if the fear of landing in a pond was not an issue. Additionally, keep an eye out for wildlife (snakes) as there are several swampy areas.
Other Thoughts: Chain Dragon presented a very clean and new experience for my friends and I. Additionally, it is conveniently located close to Destin FL which worked out great during our vacation.

I read a previous review that this course is best played with a local golfer, and luckily we found someone to play with that revealed hidden pin locations from tee pads. It worked out very well and we had a great time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.