Freeport, FL 
ChainDragon Share
Uploaded By: sidearmer Hole #13 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 312ft.   3 / 312ft.   3 / 312ft.   3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Approach


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Bye-bye, favorite Wraith

1    7/15/2017   7/18/2017
Review By: HumDyn
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 1. Great tees and signage
2. Good restroom facilities
3. Challenging layout
Cons: Super thick rough on #4 and 5 make finding discs nearly impossible.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course and have another round set for July 22nd. I will be picking different lines to throw at.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Changed Dragon

1    7/12/2017   7/12/2017
Review By: TheRealRedRoach
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: From the new pro tees, this is one of the longest courses in the area.

More water in play on this course than any course I've played in the panhandle.

Enough trees to make you think twice about your lines, but not so many that it's frustrating to play.

Amateur tees are challenging but fair. Water is still a factor on some of the holes for 200' give or take, but only if you're going at the pin. They all have a dry line.

New signs with accurate distance and nice throw line diagrams.

It's in better shape than any of the 5 nearest courses.

Most of the fairways are mowed and the common overthrow/missed shot areas have trails.

New concrete pads.

Water and bathrooms.

Playground by 1 and 18 in case you bring the fam.

Plenty of parking and lots of park activity, doesn't feel dicey to leave your car by #1.

Cons: Water LOL! Bring a floater.

Ball fields can be a pain.

Some thick woods on the back make for multiple opportunities to lose a disc.

Fairly flat. That's pretty typical of the courses in this area.

12 requires throwing through a low area that looks pretty snaky. I haven't seen one yet...
Other Thoughts: The "Dragon Slayers" have been doing a lot of work on this course and it's very different from the course I played last year. Looking forward to seeing what they do in the future!

It's not more than 30 minutes from 30-A and definitely worth the drive.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Risk vs Reward Water Course

2-4    6/1/2017   6/2/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 139  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 14.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- free to play, free to park, plenty of parking
- bathrooms on location
- multiple tees for most of the course
- concrete tees
- high quality tee signs with distances and pictures
- numbered baskets with a spray painted prong as a directional aid to the next hole
- decent mix of distances
- regularly landscaped
- low dg traffic course
- intuitive layout
Cons:
- multi use area
- a majority of the fairways boarder walking paths, ball fields, or a road
- heavily RHBH favored layout
- no alternate pins
- repetitive layout
Other Thoughts:

ChainDragon plays clockwise around the perimeter of a multi use neighborhood recreation park. The course layout features Mach 2 baskets, dual concrete tees on most holes , and there are water hazards spread throughout. The fairways have an open RHBH hyzer line theme, with a few favoring LHBH players. Some have both RHBH & LHBH lines, but usually they're less optimal lines for lefties. I think a few more mandos and alternate pin positions could be added to help tip the balance for those cheating southpaws.

I enjoyed this the course, however, I think it's worth noting that there is a lot of potential to hit pedestrians at ChainDragon. Most fairways run along some sort of people hazard whether it be cars, baseball and softball players, or the occasional path walker. Another con is that the course felt a little repetitious at times. I would have liked to see some holes that ventured into the woods or less linear placement of alternate tees to break up the monotony.

This is a course that largely rewards shot control and placement over distance. Gamblers will appreciate the risk vs reward water holes, while cautious players can avoid the watery perils easily enough. Locals meet on Tuesdays and Thursdays at 530 pm for casual rounds. All are welcome to join......oh, and bring bug spray.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice, Varied Course With Some Layout Issues.

2-4    3/12/2017   3/13/2017
Review By: Majshark
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 7/15/2017
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: --Eclectic, challenging course next to a nice sports park and playground. Nice scenery.
--Concrete pads. Pro pads available on some holes.
--Nice variance of distance and obstacles from hole to hole. Multiple holes allow for multiple methods of attack and approach.
--Signage and basket location. They recently added new signage to the entrance and each of the holes. The signage is both attractive and informative. Benches are included on some holes.
Cons: --Some fairways run parallel to a road; others run alongside fenced baseball/softball fields.
--Some baskets are hidden low on the other side of retention pond berms.
--Water hazards consist of retention ponds.
--Very thick brush along some of the holes can easily claim your discs with an wayward throw.
--Some fairways have puddles after a good rain.
Other Thoughts: This review has been revised as some nice upgrades and additions have recently been added to the course, most notably the signage. It does feel like folks are committed to its upkeep and improvement. Those seeking a challenge will enjoy the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

My highest rated course in the Fort Walton Beach and Destin Area

5+    8/6/2017   8/2/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 175  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2017
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: (3.065 Rating) (REVISED - replayed August 2017) A sports complex course with a lot of hole variety.
- UNIQUENESS - For a par 54/55 course, the ChainDragon has wide range of hole types. There is water in the form of water carries, stop short of water and parallel water plays. There are pocket shots in both directions and there is a nice dogleg left on hole (4). There are wooded shots, open shots, blind shots and a couple tunnel plays. There is a great overhead play on (12), otherwise it's a poke and hope shot. They recently added a par 4 (8a) but it was completed after the new signs were ordered. To find it, you'll have download the DGCR map, I tweaked the course map to show its location. Really the only thing missing is a par 5, dogleg right and elevation (see cons)
- ACEABILITY - Numerous holes are aceable. You'll have exceedingly great opportunities on holes (1) and (11). I have personally aced (4) and (11).
- CHARACTER - A touch above average. To start, there is some seating at about half the holes. There are two tees for pros and ams at seven holes. The tees are all concrete or asphalt, with the asphalt paths being infinitely long. There are some trash cans along the layout as well. There is also restrooms and drinking fountains toward the ball field concessions buildings.
- NAVIGATION - Big improvements since my first visit. An updated course map at hole (1) was installed April 2017. Updated hole signage was installed a few weeks later and it indicates the next tee on them. Baskets have a painted spoke to indicate direction to next tee as well. The walk from (7) to (8) is the most challenging. Its across the street and west of the pond. The par 4 tee for hole (8a) is located across the street at the south side of the pond shore.
- SHELTERS - There are several great shelters along the layout. Perfect for the summer pop-up thunderstorm.
- MAINTENANCE - I've played over 50 rounds here and the grounds have always been mowed and the complex is very clean.
- QUICK PLAY - A single can easily complete a full 18 in about an hour. Groups of 4 should be in at around 2 hours.
- RAW BEAUTY - The raw beauty of the course is about average or a touch above, mainly due to the plethora of tranquil water features.
- CLUB - For such a small town, there's surprisingly a well establish club with weekly events.
Cons: Two minor flaws with this course but overall it's pretty solid.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This is not a beginners course, even with the shorter length. The odds of losing a disc here is exceedingly higher than normal, especially for those that can't carry 250 foot water shots. Beginners best to stay clear of holes (3), (10), (11), (13) and (14) or plan to go home empty handed. Get yourself a floater to be safe. I personally carry a wahoo from Innova and it floats.
- DUEL USE HAZARD - The park is home to more than disc golf. There are soccer fields, baseball fields and tennis courts that can come into play with an errant shot. However, myself as a player with a 900 rating, only hole (9) really comes into to play for me as a safety hazard risk. That said, there is a possibility to be forced to skip a hole, or to have extended waiting at times. In my fifty rounds here as of this revision, I have only been forced to wait for the duel use hazards 4 or 5 times.
- ELEVATION - Really none to speak of. I know that this is typically for Florida, but this course is flat for even Florida standards. No more than 6 or 8 feet of change throughout the entire course, with most of it being at the retention pond banks.
- HOLE DISTANCES ON SIGN - Unfortunately the distances on the new signage is off quite a bit on a few holes. For example hole (11) lists at 164, yet satellite correctly shows it to be about 30 feet longer. hole (15) is another example which may be off by 30 feet, give or take.
- FINISH AWAY FROM PARKING - The walk back to your car after hole (18) is about 600 feet.
Other Thoughts: IMO, one of the better courses in a 50 mile radius and a good course for those living within 15-20 miles. Unfortunately not a great beginners course due to the amount of water hazards. Definitely worth a look see if you live or are vacationing in the Fort Walton / Destin area. Overall however, the ChainDragon is not at the same level when compared to the best courses in the wider panhandle region.
- REVISION NOTE - I've slowly been increasing my rating on this course since Aug 2016. There has been significant improvement in navigation with new hole signage and a new course map. Additional concrete pro pads have been poured and a par 4 option was added to hole (8), which I now play all the time. Benches have also been installed at many holes now too.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Terrible Design

1    6/15/2016   6/15/2016
Review By: RayRay
Played: 118  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2017
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tee signs and concrete pads.
Enjoyed holes 4, 7, 9, 16.
Cons: This is one of the worst I've played.
-Bad for serious golfers since holes are short and bland.
-Bad for recreational players with perilous pin positions 10 feet from nasty water and dense rough.
Other Thoughts: The design seemed very poor and lazy. Why make such a short course that rec players will avoid due to rough and water? If you're going to put in a course in a park without a lot of space, take the time to clear out woods to make some proper holes. There is a lot of unused space on the course and I hope the locals spend less time down voting this review and more time redesigning the course.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Fun course

1    5/18/2016   5/18/2016
Review By: AceHarris10
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quality hole layout. Water holes provide a good little challenge. Scenery is nice as well...... Short course which would be good if you are a little handicapped or overweight.
Cons: Lack of diversity bc all holes are par 3. No elevation or "hill holes".
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course for a beginner. I was staying in south Walton on vacation, so this was the closest course for me...... I'm the kind of guy that loves any course to some extent, but this one lacked a few things that I am used to in north Alabama.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bland Course

1    3/5/2016   3/12/2016
Review By: Klingmeyer
Played: 22  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Some wooded holes, and varying distances, easy to walk. Most holes are easy enough to par.
Cons: Only challenging holes are the water holes (10-14). These holes have very limited landing areas. None of the tee boxes had information other than the hole number.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the anthills.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 ChainDragon Disc Golf Course at Freeport Regional Sports Complex

1    9/28/2015   10/11/2015
Review By: calebwilliams507
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Short course (yardage)
- Water hazards
- Challenging course
Cons: - Water hazards
- Lack of signage/distance markers
Other Thoughts: The ChainDragon course is a very nice course located in the Hammock Bay community near Freeport, Florida. There are many water holes on the course, but many water hazards are relatively easy to avoid. Thankfully, I escaped the day only one disc down [Innova Leopard Fairway Driver (DX)]. The water hazards make the course a very fun and different course compared to the other courses in Okaloosa County. I found nothing special with the non-water holes. A great course, if you have some discs to spare!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Simple yet fun

1    7/21/2015   7/21/2015
Review By: dutch_22
Played: 57  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Good quality DGA baskets
- In a sports complex in a safe part of town
- Easy to play along and around other park activities
- Relatively simple layout with some challenging tunnel shots
- Water shots make you work for safe landings
Cons: - The course map listed on the DGCR site does not correspond to the current course layout.
- The current layout does have sufficient hole number markers however, there are no distance markings or hole layout markings on the signs. You will spend a good bit of time walking down the fairway to see where the pin locations are.
- Mix of concrete and dirt tee pads. A few of the concrete pads were too short to use safely. The use of the walking path for tee pads is the best possible alternative.
Other Thoughts: It's time to update the online map to match the course layout. The tee markers would be so much improved if they were labeled with distance and layout diagrams. The course plays tight around the park, and uses the water hazards well. Hole number 12 is quite a challenge playing through a swamp! It's a fun and quick go-around if you are in the area.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.