Dexter, OR 
Dexter Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Elevation Changes and Unique Holes

1    6/30/2019   6/30/2019
Review By: DCaliBEAST
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.7 Years
Pros: -Mix of shots, no 2 holes the same. Well maybe 1 and 11.
- Technical holes
- Elevation changes
- Unique holes
- Views of the lake and surrounding
- Nearby camping and recreation.
Cons: Wish they had somewhere to fill up extra water.
Other Thoughts: We came up from S. Oregon to camp with a friend in Dexter area. We chose this are because there was easy access Huckleberry Flat OHV, Near a lake and Dexter DGC. We were not disappointed with any of these awesome attractions. We found a tent camp ground with great spots within walking distance of the course and not long after setting up cam, made te short trip to the course. Hole one was wide open with a single tree and 2 a short right hook with a basket near a steep disc gobbling decline. The course then tightened up with the first big decline down a nice dirt and wood set of steps to the bottom and a stadium style wood bench in the shade at the top. The next holes are in the woods with more technical shots and another steep incline on hole 10 this time tossing up. 11 is much like hole 1, wide open with a song tree. The back 12 is another mix of shots with an open prarie before the final few holes. This course had all the things I love with the long open mixed with technical. It is forested with elevation change. It has unique holes with amazing views. The only things that would make this course a better would be a water feature, like a shot over water, and maybe somewhere to fill a water bottle.

Miss it already

5+    6/28/2017   6/28/2019
Review By: DarkRye
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Amazing fairways. Well thought out course. Awesome challenging wooded holes with great elevation changes and variety. With the exception of hole 1 and 18, every hole offers a really unique experience that captures the essence of what Oregon disc golf is all about.
Cons: Like all courses in Oregon, it gets muddy in the winter
Other Thoughts: When I lived in Eugene, this was my go-to course. My favorite in the area. I also highly recommend the course in Cottage Grove. If you're in the area, definitely check this one out. Feldberg, Locastro, Schusterick, and Sexton are just some of the pros that have played here, although one of the big selling points of this course is that it caters to golfers of all skill levels.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Dexter's Laboratory

1    8/31/2018   11/21/2018
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 440  Reviewed: 336  Exp: 16.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dexter Park DGC is equipped to test the composition of your disc golf game. Experimenting with variable discs, measuring strength and consistency of the the arm, and observing how physics and nature will spoil even well conceived hypotheses.

The park is very nice, with a few holes that are either mostly or completely open over grass covered fields, and many that are moderately to heavily wooded. The elevation change is a major factor on a few holes, and more gentle on a few of the others.

The tees are concrete, and there are some cool signs that do a nice job letting you know what you're going for. Prodigy baskets looked to be fairly new, and are in great shape. There are trashcans and benches near the first tee, and a map with the details particular to the layout.

Versatility is good, and a variety of shots will be used through the round. The lanes on the wooded holes are challenging but fair, with some tight gaps and defined lines. Every hole is par 3, which is tough considering there are five holes over 400', one of them over 500'.

I tend to really enjoy the holes with a lot of elevation. Hole 3 is the first one, dropping of quickly crossing a short distance, with trees creating a cool, shady habitat for the basket at the bottom. A putter can get you there but two mature trees protect the pin. 4-8, 15 and 16 all sit in the lower end of the park, and are largely flat with a considerable amount of trees. The combinations of length and fairway shapes keep it interesting. 9, 10 and 17 all play up the hill toward the top end of the park with some tough throws that require perfect trajectory to get a drive near the pin. There are also open holes to really let it fly, like 1, 11 and 18. 12 is a mixture, with a drive that climbs gently over mostly open grass for a good distance until you approach the basket that is surrounded by trees. 13 is a cool hole that is mid range and has a funky line through the trees.
Cons: 1 and 18 are not very intriguing holes as openers and closers go. Long, very open par 3's. Hole 2 is along the edge of the woods, open to the left side and heavy rough on the right. The basket is not visible from the tee, and it isn't obvious where to aim without scouting out the pin beforehand. It may be visible from the first tee if you're paying attention.

A few spots have some thick underbrush that could eat a disc that gets away from you. Prodigy baskets were nice, but are not my favorite models.
Other Thoughts: I really liked the Dexter Park DGC. The woods are very pretty, and the course design makes the most of them. The lake and river are nearby for a swim or just relaxing next to the water if you like.

There is a convenience store just down the road with a decent selection of discs for sale, as well as beer, fresh or ready made sandwiches and other food.

I didn't play very well that day, so I left a little frustrated but satisfied to get another good course in. The only deuce on the round came on hole 3. Double bogeys on holes 6 and 9 didn't help at all. I finished with 6 bogeys on the last 7 holes to put me at nine over par (63) on the scorecard.

All in all I would say a trip to Dexter is well worth the trip if you happen to be in the Eugene area. I was there for the wedding of an old high school buddy. I will try to get back sometime to spend time with him and Dexter too.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Only Downside are the Prodigy Baskets

5+    3/12/2018   3/17/2018
Review By: Warden_Hardpuss
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good hole layouts
Usually not too busy(though it can be every now and then)
Cement pads that are usually still usable even in wet conditions
Friendly locals
Cons: Prodigy Baskets(not the biggest fan)
Holes 6 and 7 can be easily missed if you're not paying attention
Other Thoughts: I play this course a lot, usually at least 2-3 times a week, and it is one of my all time favorites. It has a good variety of shot types with 2 pin locations for all holes except #2. Although it is mostly a righty course, there are some shots that are suited for lefties.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Heads and tails above the rest

1    7/20/2013   10/28/2015
Review By: lachrymologist
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Wide variety of terrain
-Lush scenery
-Few places to lose a disc
-Despite variety, easy access to everything
Cons: -None, after first play
Other Thoughts: Definitely the finest of the four courses I've played on. I hesitate to give it a 4.5 or 5 as I'm so new at all of this, but this course will serve in my memory as the sine qua non of dg courses until I find one to supplant it.


2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Shot Variety

1    8/28/2015   8/29/2015
Review By: Bwatkins
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic Use of natural terrain
Great mix of up / down & left vs right finishing holes
Pin placement makes for tricky & intentional up shots
New signs with bolts marking A & B position
First time through most of the course layout is very logical
Great scenery & benches or tables @ many holes
Cons: Walks from 5 to 6 and 1 other hole where you need to cross the street are confusing first time through.
Difficult and tight (I view this as a plus though, challenging shots)

*** Many reviews mention the course needing TLC. When I played in August of 2015 there were brand new tee signs and the course seem recently maintained. ***
Other Thoughts: The terrain and pin placements make this course. The variety of shots you must through are great. There are very few 100% open shots you throw here & when you do it's to a guarded, elevated, or quickly sloping pin.

There are many tunnel shots here which really requires you to have control and finesse to hit some of the very tricky lines here

I only played this once while traveling through the area for work but this course was just quintessential quality disc golf. Overall one of my favorite disc golf courses due to the uniqueness of the pin placements and side to side travel of the holes. Virtually nothing here is approachable with a perfectly straight shot-you'll have to throw some tricky lines here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Day at the Resevoir

5+    5/25/2015   5/29/2015
Review By: Ocastra
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots.
Fairways are kept clear.
every hole is a different and unique line. Hole 2 is one of my favorites.
New baskets are easy to spot, I have found they are less receptive to discs slightly off center than the old ones though, so aim well.
I love the challenge of getting par on some of the shots, The Jail and the hole following it are good examples. Really makes you feel accomplished if you pull it off.
Alternate pin placement, changes almost weekly. usually has a magnet indicating A or B on it.
I love some of the uphill shots such as stairway to eleven, and the downhill shots make you feel like you can throw for days.
Cons: Hole 17 Eats discs, Caution. I have spent many a time searching for mine or a friends disc and have called at least another 10+ people when I found theirs.
Signs need some love as they didn't survive the winter well.
Some of the rough off the course is very hard to find a disc if you get off the course.
Other Thoughts: My home course, Play here about once a week and love it.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Really interesting layout

2-4    3/25/2015   3/25/2015
Review By: Moose33
Played: 72  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 7.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Dexter park course begins along the reservoir In picturesque setting, and winds through the woods in a series of holes that are heavily wooded with some quite interesting lines.

The teepds are fairly long and have a bit of texture to them, so even though they were a bit wet today it was still fairly grippy. Many of them have a gravel runoff area which is nice, I wish more of the holes had that.

The shots are varied and many are challenging, with tons of tree guarded pins, some OB near baskets. And some o the longest par threes I've ever seen it's a fun play.

Baskets were pretty standard baskets and have two possible placements available. Looks like the are in the longer B position on most holes right now.

The signs are nice, with a good view of the hole and a nickname for them as well. It shows both placements and has a spot to show which pin is in but that was not updated.

There were some awesome wooden plank stairs carved into the muddy hills and they were very helpful. Getting up some of those would be a job with no steps.

Really good use of elevation here both up and down hill. It can really turn you into a hero or zero depending on how well you are at throwing certain shots.
Cons: The course is pretty cool, but it needs some TLC. The tee signs are awesome but a ton are missing.

And the course isn't super easy to navigate, if you don't have the map it would be easy to go to the wrong pad at a few spots. After #3 you can actually see the 4, 17 and 9 tees so it could be easy for a new player to get turned around.

There is also a long unmarked walk from 10 to 11 that I saw several people miss.

I saw two groups skip from 10 to 18 and skip the rest of the course, perhaps because the flow at that point is interrupted.

Baskets aren't bad but they are Older DGA baskets so they catch plenty well, but have no banding or color. On a heavily wooded course I would have liked a more easily spotted target.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course no mistake, and the layout is fun, and setting quite beautiful.

It has its flaws but overlay it's a really fun place to play.

I did think the fact that number one and 18, which are 490 or so and 594 respectively, were par threes was odd but I won't detract as it possible keeps it more interesting.

Overally it seems more wet coast corses have loner Par 3s than I am used to, so that might be a factor.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

2-4    2/20/2015   2/20/2015
Review By: thespeedokid
Played: 110  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Large concrete tees. Nice elevation changes. Not overly crowded with people. Nice variety of open holes and wooded holes. Nice variety of distances. Well kept course. A map of the course. (I got it at the rv park across the street).
Cons: Most of the holes lack hole signs. (The ones that did have them were pretty nice though). The course was a bit muddy. It is probably much drier during the summer.
Other Thoughts: Maybe proves a bit challenging for newer players. Some holes are a little too long. All in all a great course. Would I play it again? Yes

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 AMAZING

2-4    6/16/2014   6/19/2014
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice long tee pads
-Mach III baskets
-Some holes had sweepers to sweep off tee pads
-Plenty of trash cans
-Beautiful area, with fishing a swimming just a few feet away.
-Nice picnic area for the rest of family
-Tee signs are great, hole names are original.
-Well upkept state park
-No fee to play!
-Multiple pin locations
Cons: -Gets really muddy in winter
-Although tee signs are great, they are not utilized properly. Having to walk the fairways to figure out where the pin location in for over half the holes was extremely frustrating.
-Can get crowded
-Not beginner friendly
Other Thoughts: This course is a great course. First hole you get up to tee pad and get to throw a bomb down towards the lake. Hole 2, if you don't know the course, you'll think the basket your throwing to is the one in your line of sight. It is not. It is a sharp dogleg right into the trees. The one thing that I didn't like about this course was that the Tee signs did not show which location the pin was actually in. There was a place on the tee sign that you COULD show where, but it was not being used properly. Course is very tight in some spots. I wish I lived closer to this course because playing this course regularly would make me better. A lot better, actually. All in all, one of my favorite spots in Oregon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.