Disc Golf Center
Superior, CO 
Superior Rock Creek Share
Uploaded By: Leroy Hole #7 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Underrated

5+    8/14/2017   9/19/2017
Review By: ZachTuthill
Played: 45  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.5 Years
Pros: -Single use disc park.

-Par 2s to keep your ego in check and your score fair.

-Easily navigable, plays a nice tight loop.

-Decent amount of elevation change

-Located right behind Nordstrom at Flatirons Mall. If you're significant other is shopping, you could play this course faster than she gets out of the first store.
Cons: -Very, very few obstacles.

-Gravel tee pads make long run-ups sketchy, not that you'll need many.

-My God. The wind. It's gusty, dusty, and almost always present. Though it can decimate a good shot on 7, the real trouble is 8; where if you hang one up you won't be able to create a 100 foot radius of where it might have ended up.
Other Thoughts: Part two of my "North Side Double-Down." Quite simply, if you're headed up here from anywhere in the metro area, play this course AND East Interlocken Park. (See Review).

I've been meaning to review this course for awhile, as I've always felt it gets a bad rap on here. Here's why it gets 2.5 from me (for context, I only review courses I deem worth playing, and 3.5 would be about my max rating for a 9 hole). First of all, this is not an easy course to break par on. Again for context, I average shooting even par at Birds Nest. Yet I have never, ever shot below par at Superior (while playing hole #9 as a par 3). The par 2s are a brilliant way to equalize an otherwise boring layout. The first one is an obstacle-free 150 footer that you need to park. Easy yes, but a strange task for your first shot of the day. An ace run could leave you with a head scratching bogey. The other par two plays straight up hill, with a high potential for roll-always. Even if it doesn't roll, if you put it 25 feet out and miss the putt THAT's A BOGEY. The biggest obstacle on the rest of the holes is grass just high enough to screw with any kind of putt that requires an arm swing. It's an infuriating way to miss birdies.

So I guess Superior gets a 2.5 from me for somehow finding a way to make a short, boring course difficult. And of course I view it in tandem with East Interlocken. I'll reiterate one more time: if you have to drive more than 15 minutes to get to either course, play both.

Bare bones and coyo-tees!

1    6/18/2017   6/19/2017
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 62  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Baskets, tees and signage are all adequate, navigation is no real issue.

- Plays a nice quick loop

- Fair variety in distances and good use of available elevation
Cons: - There's some long grass here which can easily hide some discs

- Some holes are on the reeeeeeal short side, though they're par 2's so it evens out

- Not a lot of variety in the shots-needed department
Other Thoughts: Superior is, to me, a fun, bare bones 9 holer great for beginners and those looking for a quick round. When you turn onto Honey Creek Lane from Rock Creek Pkwy you'll get to a parking lot on the right, next to a dog park, playground and restrooms. Like East Interlocken, it's situated in an odd place near Hwy 36 and a large business/retail area. That said, it doesn't seem to get the same action as EI so it doesn't have the crowd factor going against it. It's not maintained to the same degree as EI but it has much more fun use of elevation and, while it's a small park, doesn't feel as cramped. Plus, as the posted signs will tell you, you're playing in an active coyote area, so looking for errant discs in the long grass takes on a whole new dimension! I guess what I'm saying is Superior is superior...to East Interlocken. Wocka Wocka.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty boring but good course for Ace runs

1    4/7/2017   4/7/2017
Review By: sjroesinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to follow course
Not crowded
Several holes offer the opportunity for an ace
Wonderful view of the mountains
Cons: Not very many challenging shots
Fairly unimaginative layout
Other Thoughts: Not a great course, but the view was really cool from on top of the hill (hole 7)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    12/2/2016   12/2/2016
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 139  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - navigation of the course is relatively easy
- good amount of elavation change to make the course a little interesting
- decent variety of shot distances but mostly pretty short
Cons: - baskets are bit beat up
- gravel tee pads but they aren't bad
- tons of tall grass throughout the course
- most of the shots are wide open and boring
Other Thoughts: Not the greatest piece of land for disc golf. All the tall grass kind of ruins any kind of decent course that could be here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great short course

5+    5/27/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: Myeager86
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My friends and I love to play this course. It has a few distance shots and a few that require some good hyzer action. Saw a post stating their was no water or elevation, not sure what that is about. Their are at least 3 shots changing elevation (up and down) a stream and three ponds to contend with.
Cons: I'm not sure that this course will be mowed at all this summer. It is already getting over grown :/ I will repost if I see it get trimmed.
Other Thoughts: Use the pins as alternate tee boxes for the back nine. It changes the course a lot.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Failed to use key things

1    4/8/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 365  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 9.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Practice basket
+Tees are gravel but look well maintained and were decent enough for this course
+Some elevation here (see cons)
+Nice baskets
+Bathrooms, parking lot, easy to access across bridge.
+Course was wide open so it was easy to navigate
+Ok tee signs
+Definitely a few ace runs here for most players.
+You could make some safari holes up and down the hill. It would be better than the current layout.
+Views of the Flat Irons
Cons: -Totally failed to use the elevation. There was one short hole partially up the hill and no real downhill hole. They could have made a fun top of the world shot with views of the Flat Irons in the background
-Totally failed to use the creek or ponds as hazards. Instead they meander through the open fields.
-No trees come into play. There are some on the edges of the park but not in any normal throwing lane.
-Could lose a disc in the long grass.
-Distances on tee signs were off.
-Hole 9's basket and the practice basket are easily mixed up. Especially since you can't see 9 off the tee.
-Pedestrians using path that is the fairway for 1-3.
Other Thoughts: -Play here if you live in one of the zillions of apartments that are nearby or if you are a course bagger. Maybe if you want to practice putting or approaching as this course probably gets very little traffic.
-Normally open courses at least have water, distance, elevation, etc as challenges but they decided not to use any of those and as a result made a pretty boring course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Grass

1    12/19/2013   12/24/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 213  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I thought for a place like this the tee pads were great. They were long gravel tee pads that very quite substantial in size and material.

Perhaps I am a bit biased, being from Houston, but I could look pass the lack of obstacles to play up and down a hill like this course had. Hole #5 played about 80' higher than the tee pad was. And #6 and #7 played down the hill.

The course has one long hole, #9, and a few other holes of decent length. If you struggle shooting under par than this is the course for you. Some holes are very short that can be driven at with a midrange and putter easily.

Baskets are all DisCatchers and there was a practice basket; all are in great shape. There are tee signs with hole length which makes this course already that much better than North Midway or Louisville Park.
Cons: The title of this review is Holy Grass because holy smokes the grass here is long. A mower obviously comes in and mows a small trail from the tee pad to the basket but landing on the small trail is quite difficult. The grass that is not on the trail is easily knee to thigh high. It is a good thing that the course is shorter than most because it is easy to lose track of the discs.

Like others have said there are no obstacles other than a few trees on hole 9.

The course has an actual walking trail that goes throughout the course. It is quite possible you may need to wait at a few holes for people with dogs can walk by.

I am pretty sure I shot at the wrong basket at Hole #9. The baskets are not numbered and the practice basket is 15 or so feet away from one another.
Other Thoughts: This course is much better than North Midway or Louisville and if there were more obstacles than it could potentially be better than Interlocken Park. This course was a pleasant surprise and I would not mind playing this one again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Simple, Boring and Easy Course

2-4    7/16/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Peer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Very simple
- No obstacles at all!
- 2 tees are par 2 and less than 200 feet!
- Gravel tees are not flat and eroded away at times
- High weeds and stickers can make it difficult to locate your disc.
- No shade at all
Cons: - Long tee pads
- Not much of a chance to lose your discs
- Great views of the Flatirons!
- Not many Disc Golfers on the course
Other Thoughts: This is a very simple and boring course with no obstacles and no challenges. Good course for someone starting out but not so much fun for intermediate and advanced players. Good views of the Flatirons on holes 5-8. Nothing special about this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Another Open Field

1    6/8/2013   6/8/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 8.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets are in good shape
-Nice long tee-pads
-Course is easy to follow and navigate
-Elevation comes into play on a few of the holes
-A few holes that definitely give you ace runs
-Tee-signs are decent and give you good idea of hole distance and hole layout
-Hole 9 is almost 500 feet, if you long holes that let you air it out
-Appears to stay pretty uncrowded
Cons: -The course is completely wide open. The only hole with any obstacles on it (besides elevation) is hole 9 (it has four trees on it and those are the only trees that come into play on the course)
-The gravel tee-pads are not always level and the can throw your footing off at times.
-Every shot is mostly the same with the basket straight out from the tee-pad on almost every hole.
-The grass gets really tall on this course and you could spend time looking for your disc (throwing bright discs will help avoid this problem a little bit.)
-No benches or trashcans on the course
-This course provides very little challenge
Other Thoughts: This course is pretty much a wide open field with some elevation and only 4 trees in it. If you like wide open holes in tall grass this is the course for you, but other wise I'd say this course is not worth a stop at all.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 9 cheap and easy holes!

1    5/23/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: evanmanee
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -You can get out and play 9 wide open holes, thus allowing you to work on various shots.
-The views looking back at the flatirons are crazy beautiful.
-Was not busy when I was there.
-Nice baskets
-You could throw from more interesting
Cons: -Wide open, no trees, or obstacles what so ever, only on a super errand shot.
-Not really any challenge
-Totally exposed to the wind
Other Thoughts: I wanted to play something new, and this course satisfied that. The holes were straight forward. If you hit your shot then you parked the hole. I consider this more of a practice facility than a course, but still fun and worth it to dial in your game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.