Superior, CO 
Superior Rock Creek Share
Uploaded By: Leroy Hole #4 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
 9 cheap and easy holes!

1    5/23/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: evanmanee
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -You can get out and play 9 wide open holes, thus allowing you to work on various shots.
-The views looking back at the flatirons are crazy beautiful.
-Was not busy when I was there.
-Nice baskets
-You could throw from more interesting
Cons: -Wide open, no trees, or obstacles what so ever, only on a super errand shot.
-Not really any challenge
-Totally exposed to the wind
Other Thoughts: I wanted to play something new, and this course satisfied that. The holes were straight forward. If you hit your shot then you parked the hole. I consider this more of a practice facility than a course, but still fun and worth it to dial in your game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great for a quiet, quick round

5+    1/6/2013   1/14/2013
Review By: deltabrainwaves
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is usually quiet even on weekends, and most of the holes are short so you can breeze through 18 and enjoy the pleasant views and surprisingly abundant wildlife. Good confidence builder. Good use of elevation changes. Great if you live close by.
Cons: The surprisingly abundant wildlife mentioned above includes snakes, angry bees, and plenty of spiders who build remarkable tunnels everywhere in sight. Wear pants and good shoes.
It's often windy as the course is wide open, so don't let the short holes fool you, this course can be challenging with winds coming from any direction. This course could use some hazards or more OBs.
Other Thoughts: "The Rock" as we call it is close to home and thus becoming a regular place. Play it safari when there's nobody around and you can keep things from getting boring!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Groomed Boxes-I Almost Didn't Want To Throw from Them!

1    7/18/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1418  Reviewed: 1365  Exp: 41.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Superior Rock is somewhere between a Pitch & Putt and a recreational course. It's set in the high desert brush so it's dry. Somehow the fairways are mowed about 25 feet wide. Keep your eye on your drive as it's easy to lose track because theres often nothing to mark them with, jsut more brown grass. There was a maintenance man out raking the gravel tee boxes. He did a wonderful job. I felt guilty throwing from afterward. #'s 1, 3, 5 and 7 are just easy little ACE runs. because the terrain is hilly, there are a few chances to throw across hillside shots. # 8 is 276' with the basket perched on the side of a hill.
Cons: besides the aforementioned hot and dusty, I really feel the designer missed a golden opportunity here by not placing one tee box up higher. After # 8 would have been a great time to have a tee up high and finish on a long downhill bomb. As it is, # 9 is 489' but basically level. It could have been a 650' finishing bomb off the hill.
Other Thoughts: I'm not much of a fan of these high desert, play in the burnt dry grass and cactus type courses. This is certainly not a destination course but if I happened to live in one of neighboring apartments, I 'd be out here evenings and early mornings.

Also I saw a very cool thing on this course. As I was walking along, something caught my eye. Thinking it was a rabbit, I looked over and it was a big ole hawk probably only 30 feet away. He was pulling something from the grass and more interested in that than me. He finally managed to capture a gardner snake and fly away with it. It was pretty cool to see him from so close!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Flat, Windy, Short, Boring

1    5/30/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is at least a course for locals to come get out on. 3 or 4 holes are easily ace-able, and all 9 are ace-able if you have a big arm. It seems like people are rarely here, so this is a good course to practice putting or midrange shots without disturbance. Course is easy to follow, despite what it looks like when you first arrive.
Cons: This course is half an ace-race, and half an easy open-field course. The course is just extremely easy, lacks all creativity, and leaves the player feeling like they never want to come back. Besides hole 7, every shot is the same with extremely subtle variations. Many shots are between 150-200 feet, making birdies a sure thing. If you are a reasonably skilled discer, every hole is easily birdie-able. While it is an open field, the field is filled with knee high grass that can sometimes consume a white, brown, or yellow disc. This is also a quick play, so it feels like a waste of time to play an easy, boring, and quick course.
Other Thoughts: If i was a local, I may come here to practice putting or get a quick disc fix... but the easy nature of the course would more than likely not even give me that fix. It's good to get out there if you like to play in an open windy field.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wind

1    3/22/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 92  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy to follow course.
Cons: This course is in an open area that gets very windy. The holes are very short as well. Only one long hole the rest are crazy short. There are no trees that come into play, kind of boring.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Basic High Prairie Desert Disc Golf

5+    2/27/2011   2/27/2011
Review By: Leroy
Played: 194  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nine holes laid out to sort of resemble a regular golf course in a field of dry brush. The longest tee boxes I've ever seen in my life. Easy to navigate with nice signs at each tee box. Holes 5 and 8 have some elevation change. Different lengths on the holes. Fairways are mowed into the ground. A practice basket is provided next to tee #1.
Cons: Not a single tree or bush to challenge you. Straight shooting is the name of the game here. A fair amount of dog waste peppering the course. You might want to bring hand sanitizer just in case.
Other Thoughts: A good place to try out your straight game. Shooting into the brush on the sides of the fairways does make it a wee bit more challenging. Tee #1 is near the wood bridge you cross from the parking lot.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.