Trussville, AL 
John LeMaster DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bensontbjj Hole #13
-- / --   3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
A very enjoyable course in a great park.

2-4    6/16/2018   7/5/2018
Review By: ticklethetruth
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is clean, well-kept, and very scenic. A majority of holes 4-16 are very nice shots with large pines that allow multiple lines. The cahaba running along the border of the park is very nice also and can come into play with a bad shot on a few holes. sidewalks and roads add a nice element of OB without being intrusive.

2,3,17, and 18 are a dramatic change of scenery and elements. 17 and 18 can really impact scores.
Cons: hole 1 and a couple others do play over walking paths, but they aren't blind. You can easily wait to throw.

Better signage would be helpful for finding your way around. The course flow is not always what you would expect.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course and highly recommend.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't Judge A Course By Its First Hole.

1    3/3/2018   4/26/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 311  Reviewed: 290  Exp: 4.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.284 Rating) A moderately wooded intermediate level course that will entertain almost every player.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Hole (1) is awful. A nearly obstacle free shot with torn grasses and exposed earth. Naturally my first thought was, "Well this course is way overrated" Then upon arriving and standing on tee (2) I thought I was in paradise. Although the beauty of (2) is not matched again, the rest of the layout is really appealing. The middle chunk of the layout is on a hill side and runs thru a moderately wooded canopy of mixed species. The Cahaba River is viewable from several holes and plays a central role on hole (10). There are a couple mini spring creeks that dice through the layout that make a couple tee shots really pop. In totality I scored the course a 3.5 out of 5 which is roughly in my top 60 (260 coursed played as of this review.)
- CHALLENGING - The back tees to me read as intermediate level. Several 300 foot plus plays that require a mild amount of shot shaping. Holes (2), (3), (17) and (18) are all heavily wooded tunnel shots that will require the disc maneuver along a 10 to 15 wide lane. Although I didn't putt well, I see intermediate level players like me ultimately throwing around even to a couple down. 850 rated Rec players throwing the front tees should also be able to go a few down. Advanced players will be underwhelmed on most holes but it won't be a boring affair.
- TEES - For the most part, really nice tees. trapezoid shaped, 5 feet wide at front and expanding to 6 feet wide and they are 10 feet long. Unfortunately some park construction had a couple tees as natural with temporary flags on my play. There is a second set of shorter tees as well and it seemed like a majority of those were natural or in a few cases omitted.
- BASKET PLACEMENTS - Among the most basket placements I've ever seen on a course. There had to have been at least 50 of them, but who knows, many were not marked on the signage as they appeared new. Local players will be entertained with a constantly changing course. For those of us out of town, It will really temp us to make a return visit. There is one issue with all the basket locations is it will cause lots of odd transitions and backtracking between holes and it will require a constant upkeep on the course's movable navigational cues.
- CHARACTER - In addition to the tees and basket placements, there are a few other nice extras and amenities. Seating on a majority of the holes and most tees were shaded. New bag hangers on a few holes as well. A practice basket and a completely blank well built community board by tee (1).
- UNIQUENESS - A nice mix of changing elevation and tree coverage. Up shots, down shots, across slope shots and a couple flat ones as well. The max elevation on any hole was perhaps 30 feet, but a majority of the shots had at least 10 feet of play in it. The open to wooded mix was great as well. A couple fully wooded plays, a bunch of moderately wooded shots, but yet also a few light to openish shots as well. Most holes played fairly straight, but there were back to back opposite benders on my play with (3) being a sweep to the left and then (4) being a sweep to the right. There are also three par 4s and water comes into play as a major factor on (10) with Cahaba River running down the entire right side. As for missing items, no par 5s, no doglegs, no forced overtop plays and no water carries.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This course should be able to appeal to a wide swath of players as there are two tees on a majority of the holes. The back tees are more than long enough for intermediate level players and they will keep advanced players entertained. The short tees are perfect for newer and rec players looking to subtract some distance.

Cons: Other than a few navigational gripes there really aren't any issues with this course, its solid.
- NAVIGATION - So so. I was very fortunate to have a guide for this. No course map on site and the one online is almost useless. The layout hops around a lot between holes (4 and 16). If it weren't for all the movable navigational cues below all the baskets and bunch of others as well, navigating this course would be extremely frustrating. Spotting the next tee was difficult on my play because a couple of the tees did not have posts or tee sign markings at all. This was all in part to recent park construction alterations.
- DISCONTINUITY - One major gap in the layout between (1) and (2) it's around a 400 to 450 heading east.
- PARKING - Unfortunately located a ways from the start and finish of the course. When I entered the park, I noticed tee (1) and (18) basket flanking the entrance on both sides. After parking it was a good 400 foot hike to the tee (1).
- SPACING - About average. If the course were full, there would be a few tees that could be reached by an errant throw because of moderate tree protection. A few fairways also feel partially shared.
- TIME WAITING - There are a few walking paths and roads that run along this layout. Players really need to be cognizant of their surrounding before throwing. At least one basket placement required a play across a path, but there may be others considering all the basket placements.

Other Thoughts: On hole (2) I ran into locals Greg and Chris. They were kind enough to invite me along as they stated that this course has a lot of tricky transitions on the first play. I very much enjoyed their tour of the course and had an absolute blast despite not making any putts outside of 15 feet. As for the course, I was pleasantly surprised. I've played just about every course in the Birmingham area now and I'd rank this one as 4th best in the metro after Inverness, Clay and George Ward. Really the only disappointing hole is (1), the rest of the course is consistently entertaining. Considering all the basket placements and the fact that my guide informed me that they move then regularity, I've marked this course for a return visit.
- TIME PLAY - My group of three fast players played the course in just under 90 minutes. I figure that the average foursome should be in at 2 hours. A solo first timer will likely need at least an hour considering all the navigational adventure possibilities. Please note that my guides informed me that this course gets quite crowed during prime times.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

LeBlast from the Past

2-4    6/16/2018   4/2/2018
Review By: wericsson
Played: 48  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2018
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For the most part, awesome holes. Number 1 is a bit bland, but 2 is a visually impressive touch shot down to a kinda naturally raised basket with a stream cutting some elevation into the fairway and woods to either side. From 4 onward until you come back to the woods on 17, it's all beautiful park golf, but still fairly technical on most holes. Number 10 is a spacious 700 foot par 4 with a fairway defined by the sidewalk left and the river right. Looks like it wandered off a ball golf course. Holes 15 and 16 are big long bombs with reasonably well-defined, not too wide lines to make through the trees. Holes 17 and 18 have to be one of the more punishing finishes I've played. I thought I was home free at that point, in for a glorified walk back to my car, and would get out a few over. Then I got to 17, a classic technical par 4 with a reasonably small landing zone and then two tight lines at the basket. 18 follows it up with a 325'-350' dead straight downhill tunnel that finally breaks back out into the open for the last 150' or so of hole. Total length is over 6000 feet, with only a couple holes approaching what I would call open; all but holes 1 and 10 offered a fair amount of restriction, and even those had some tree cover off to the sides - plus a lil river on hole 10.

Two holes have two pin positions, fifteen have three, and one has four. They seem to change up some every time I visit, so that makes for great variety.

Baskets are Mach Vs which have held up quite well. All the long tees are reasonably sized concrete trapezoids or rectangles, except hole 6 (turf in good shape, which is good enough for a shorter hole). Brand new tee signs are in the ground, and accurately represent the various pin positions, trees/rough, OB areas (water/roads/sidewalk), etc. They indicate distance and par as well. There are benches throughout - not every hole, but probably about half the holes, and all the ones likely to cause backups - smart. There are bag stands on most as well, and nice new wooden bridges over creeks/spots that could get feet wet. Back at the start, there's a community board and a practice basket.

Very pretty parkland, but the truly killer view from the banks of the Cahaba can be found by going down the stone steps next to hole 10's pad (or the set by the right-hand pin on 11).
Cons: A couple pads are cracked, but nothing bad at all. Of the am pads, only two were concrete, and all others were, to my knowledge (didn't try to play them) natural or nonexistent; the natural ones have a little, low, hard to find marker.

The big sidewalk (greenway?) that keeps coming into play is a bit troublesome, but there's visibility more than far enough for a sensible, safe disc golfer to simply wait to throw until nobody is in harm's way. Do that.
Other Thoughts: This course could get a bit nicer yet with some concrete for the am pads, or a few permanent next tee signs, but it's already been completely transformed over the past year from a closed-off construction site to one of the best courses in the state, thanks to a committed group of locals. Even over the past two to three months, the glow-up has been huge. The course will also do some growing on its own now, as there are new trees strategically planted on 1, 10, and maybe one or two other holes.

As far as metro Bham courses I've played, this one ranks second, edging out Clay but falling to Inverness.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice setting and variety

1    8/4/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: BamaSlamaJim
Played: 65  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice variety in the look and feel to the holes. Many are very tight and some are more open, it's definitely not boring from hole to hole.

Most of the course feels woodsy and some feels more park-like, but it all mixes well without overlapping with other park users.

The two sets of tees are nice and I play both, depending upon my mood. The course is challenging without being frustrating and you can bring your beginner friends here without frustrating them.
Cons: I played recently after a heavy rain and there are quite a few places that the fairways resembled small creeks.
Other Thoughts: One of several good courses in the area. Worth a play if you're in the area. Hit me up if you'd like a guide.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Course is VASTLY IMPROVED

5+    1/28/2012   2/6/2012
Review By: Jebb
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Recent course improvements (added benches, bag/sign poles, signage, clearing) have really notched up the quality of this course. A SUPERB new bulletin board is now installed at hole 1 and a large new sign points the way towards hole 2's tee (previously difficult to find). The course now has 3 pins for each hole and is currently in the "A" setup. The City of Trussville has been extremely accomodating towards disc golf, so this course should continue to thrive.
Cons: Tee signs out of date (new ones in progress). Parking turn-around area has a big rut in it, but we are trying to get the city to repair.
Other Thoughts: I like this course so much, I bought a home right next to it. Nothing quite like walking out the back yard onto one of your favorite disc golf courses with another course just 2 blocks away! :)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable

5+    10/17/2011   10/19/2011
Review By: keebler
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Concrete Pads
2. Easy to find pads
3. Good Distances
Cons: 1. Grass is overgrown
2. Tee Placements are typicaly always in the same spot.
3. Mostly straight shots
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course for 4+ years now, its a good course with a lot of replayability. Challenging, yet most holes are basically straight shots. The baskets have not been moved in few months, and the course seems to have become neglected (grass overgrown in many areas) as the new Carter course has opened.. I enjoy courses with more shot variety, but still enjoy playing this course weekly!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun place to throw some plastic...

1    10/1/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 18.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. Variety of distances (~200' to 600')
2. Variety of shots (FH, BH, Hammer / Thumber, etc...)
3. Great use of elevation
4. Maps at beginning of course (needed if first timer)
5. Decent signage, including "Next Tee" in most places
6. Concrete tee pads (Pro only)
7. Multiple basket placement (some not visible from tee pad)
8. Good mix of open / wooded
Cons:
1. Signage could use updating
2. Difficult to navigate for first timers
3. No permanent facilities located on site
4. Dirt (and short) tee pads for Am tee boxes
5. Limited number of garbage cans
Other Thoughts: Overall the course is very good. The first tee is played off the driveway out over an open field, but the scenery changes dramatically after that (#2 is a tight wooded fairway over a small ravine). The park itself is only used for disc golf and picnickers, so it works out pretty well. I found the course difficult to navigate, even with "Next Tee" signs around, so get a map at the beginning and bring it along, you'll need it! Most of the holes provide some wooded obstacles and elevation change. There's ample opportunity to really let it rip, and also times where it pays to be very accurate. The course is fun and offers enough challenge for beginners and pros alike, and in my opinion, the course is worth playing if you're a visiting disc golf junkie!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Course

1    10/14/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Don't let the first hole fool you; it's nothing like the rest of the course. I give the actual holes - the design and difficulty of shots required - a high A. It is a challenging course with many trees and a fair amount of risk/reward. The course has limited elevation change, but uses OB well. Most of the pro tee pads are large and concrete (though covered with debris). The directional signs are adequate and well placed. The course has many benches, ample garbage cans, and the park is reasonably well kept.
Cons: The course flow gets a D. The course backtracks many times and requires some long walks between holes. The first fairway is uninteresting, tees off from a spot on a paved road, and crosses a paved road (though this is not representative of the course.) The signs are often missing and, while it is not too hard to find the next tee, it is often unclear at which basket the tee is aiming. The am/blue tees are just dirt - though flat and well marked. The course wanders around a building and across roads and driveways.
Other Thoughts: If you believe that every shot should be reachable on the drive, this course may offend you. A few fairways are designed so that dueces would require a large measure of luck. If you prefer open shots, this is not the course for you; the fairways make excellent use of trees and prevailing wind patterns to frustrate your drives. If you want a significant challenge and are willing to do some extra walking, you'll love this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite

5+    9/1/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: livinitupzzz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let me preface by saying that this is my primary course. I play it sometimes on a weekly basis and it is about a mile from my house so I have a personal affinity for it. However, as a beginner, I have now played something around 8 courses and have yet to find another course that has the mix of challenges that this course provides. I've found much easier courses and I've found much longer courses (not necessarily harder- just longer).
The mix of shaping shots from amateur tees to accurate driving from pro tees makes a great outing if you have mixed skill levels.
Cons: The city personnel could cut grass a little more frequently. When it is well-manicured- it's hard to beat.

Signage could be better
Other Thoughts: There is a new 18 hole wooded course across the road in the sports complex. Not my favorite but definitely worth a play. You will love if you love wooded courses. I like a course with mixed bag variety.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Trussville Disc Golf Course

1    7/24/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Super clean park in a nice small town setting along a river
Concrete tee pads for pros and dirt tee pads for ams on every hole
Benches and signs on every hole (although the signs are not permanent ones)
Sign poles have bag hooks on them
Alternate basket positions on every hole
Lots of shade when playing on hot afternoons
Great course for beginners
A handful of very tight wooded holes that demand accuracy
The "open" holes have plenty of trees that demand a carefully executed throw
No conflict with other park activities
Cons:
Most holes would not be very challenging to more advanced players
First timers really need the map from this website to navigate the course (the #5 basket really is there if you look long enough)
The wooded holes (2, 3, 17, 18) require extreme caution due to lots of rocks, roots, and steep drop-offs (take a look at the #2 basket photo!)
The open holes are very repetitive
Other Thoughts: Trussville Disc Golf Course is located in Civitan Park in Trussville, AL. While I was playing, a mail truck was delivering mail and a tractor went down the street. Some kids even had a lemonade stand in the neighborhood at the park entrance. Can there be a better small town America setting? While the course itself is not remarkable, it does offer a good round of disc golf in a very scenic surrounding and for this it rates a high "fun factor." You start off from the parking lot with the wide open hole #1, then immediately go into the deep woods for the very narrow, very demanding holes #2 and #3. You then emerge from the woods and most of the remainder of the course plays its way across nicely mowed grass and through trees along the Cahaba River. Finally, #17 and #18 play back through the same woods that you started in. Hole #18 is memorable because the first half of the nearly 400-foot long fairway is tightly wooded but then opens up back towards the parking lot, offering a very unique sightline from the tee pad to the basket. This would be an enjoyable course to play anytime when in the Birmingham area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.