Trussville, AL 
John LeMaster DGC Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #8 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 194ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 3 Next >
 Good but not Great

1    3/28/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 176  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 15.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Civitan course in Trussville has good tee pads and baskets. Most of the course is set in a hilly, pasture-type area that has some large and mature trees. This makes it difficult to lose discs on these holes. On either hole 11 or 12, the pin was situated within feet of a large creek. Due to the rain last week, this was essentially a river. It was a pretty neat shot, given the conditions. The scenery in the area is great. There is a small creek bed that actually had some water flowing while we were there. This added to the aesthetic pleasure of the course.
Cons: No bathrooms that I could see. Maybe inside the Senior Center. We almost quit after hole 1 because we couldn't locate hole 2. There are some navigational issues that can hopefully be attended to in the near future. I have read in previous reviews that there are a few that really work to improve this course. Tee signs and navigation directionals would be a great start. There are a few benches...but not very many.
Other Thoughts: I will just say what I feel...I was extremely disappointed with this course. It has nothing to do with those who take the time to put it together. It is a good course and is definitely above average. However, from reading the reviews, I was expecting a much more difficult course with a better design. There were a few mandos that added to the challenge, but not nearly enough. Most tee shots had multiple routes to the basket which doesn't mandate a lot of shot execution or skill. Some holes were long, but that doesn't add difficulty in my opinion. The wooded holes (2,17,18) were rather difficult. However, they were rather overgrown and "gimmicky" when we played them.

After playing hole 1, I thought "they are giving you an easy hole before they throw you to the wolves". After hole 2, I thought "if the rest is this hard, it will be a long day." From that point on it was rather boring until hole 17.

Again, I offer my opinion up solely as a reference for other users of this site. I understand that many may not feel as I do. If I lived in the Birmingham area exactly halfway between this course and George Ward, I would play George Ward 90% of the time and use this course as one when I wanted something a little different.

Again, this review is not meant to bash those who put their efforts into installing and maintaining courses. It is meant as an honest review of the course. This is a good course and I feel extremely confident and fair in my rating as a 3. If I had reviewed it immediately after playing it, it probably would have received a lower rating because I was immensely disappointed.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Civitan Park

1    3/26/2009   3/30/2009
Review By: martinb
Played: 173  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 40.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Top notch course design. Well maintained park. Not crowded, as of 03-26-09.
Cons: Bathrooms? Poison ivy
Other Thoughts: Tee signs, concrete tee pads, some benches on some of the holes. Several short, technical holes and a couple of +500 foot holes, the rest of the holes play 350 to 450 feet, with trees to deal with. Separate temporary directional signs between holes, a necessity for first time players, especially from hole 1 to tee pad 2, hole 11 to tee pad 12. There was no directional sign between hole 13 and tee pad 14, but this was talked about in a previous review and that helped a lot.
This course has wonderful terrain variety, starting in an open grassy field, then moving up into dense wooded areas with tight and hilly fairways. After a couple of holes it then breaks out into more open space with mature trees, and grassy fairways, still with elevation changes to deal with. The course has a creek running the length of the course but only comes into play on hole eleven when the pin placement is in the short position. The final two holes are played in the dense wooded area again, and will challenge you to finish your round at the same level as you played the rest of the course. In other words, 17 and 18 are not "feel good" holes, their level of difficulty being the highest on the whole course. Which is what the course designers wanted (Tim Keith, and Joe Thacker), the final holes a chance to make or break a tournament round when everything is on the line. Overall the course design is very well thought out, making the players execute a variety of shots - hyzer, annhyzer, tight controlled midrange tee shots, uphill and downhill shots. Every tee shot has trees to deal with, not unfairly, there are preferred flight paths that you will need hit to get your par, or have a chance at birdie. The heavily wooded fairways (holes 2 , 3, 17, and 18), have opened up compared to how it was a couple of years ago, still very technical though.
This park is user friendly, a solid, well balanced course all levels of ability will enjoy. Beginners wont like hole eighteen, but the pros will love it. Pros probably wont be challenged on hole 11, if its in the short position near the water, but beginners will. After talking to Sam the local, who was gracious enough to show me the course, he said there arent a lot of people who play this course compared to the George Ward course in Birmingham, just south of this course. If you want to avoid crowds and play a very fun and challenging course, this is probably the one to go to in the Birmingham area.
Last thoughts, which has nothing to do with the course, is when leaving the freeway to get to the course, or going back to the freeway during rush hour traffic, allow for extra time as the surface streets can get to be bumper to bumper and will feel like the longest mile you've ever crawled, which may be the case. You could certainly walk it faster. That section of road really needs to be upgraded. Once again, this is not a negative for the course, its just something you should be aware of and account for.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, one of the South's finest.

1    3/6/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: Amorybulldog
Played: 95  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 22.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The river, the concrete tees for every hole. Great mix of wooded and open holes. Very sweet course.
Cons: A little difficult navigating between holes 1 and 2. A little bit of walking between holes. I can imagine that this course would suck you dry in the heat. Signage is a little confusing too. Just minor things for such a great course.
Other Thoughts: Highly recommend this course to all players of all skill levels. It is worth the drive.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/20/2008   12/20/2008
Review By: aceman
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: fun,very scenic with some holes that rewards good play and punishes bad.has a mix of heavy woods and pine thickets which gives good variety and a picturesque river close to the course
Cons: grass was high and some confusion on a few tee pads to which basket to throw at.The back 9 has long walks between holes.
Other Thoughts: beautiful scenery laid out well don't let hole 1 fool you into thinking the whole course is that easy.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/27/2008   10/8/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 133  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 15.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course designed by 2 very experienced pros. There are a few extra pin placements. There are also a second set of tees on some of the more difficult holes. The regular tees are all concrete. The designers are always working on this course and improving it, so I expect to see more changes the next time I play. The design is excellent, with a little elevation, great mix of righty, lefty, short and long shots. Located in a beautiful park, most of the course is full of mature pine trees and grassy fairways, with well placed tees and baskets that force an accurate shot to get the birdie, as well as a few very challenging holes amidst the thick shule around holes 2, 3, 17, and 18 that will really test your mental game.
Cons: The am tees still need to be concreted on several holes. Even from those tees, you better like a challenge when playing this course, as it can still be a difficult course. As mentioned, navigation can be tricky on a few holes, but this is getting improved. There are no bathrooms anywhere on or before the course, and more holes could use benches. Being a fairly new course, a few of the cons will get better in time, at which point my course rating may be subject to improve.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. This course will challenge ever aspect of your game and in my case, can leave you mentally battered and bruised by the end. I have played this course quite a few times in tournaments and have yet to turn in a satisfactory score, yet it only makes me want to play this course again and again. Most of the holes do not appear all that difficult, but the tees and baskets are well placed to require an accurate shot on every hole in order to turn in a good score. If you enjoy a challenge, then I highly recommend playing this course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 If only I lived closer to it.

5+    6/12/2010   2/25/2008
Review By: The Drake
Played: 108  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course on a great piece of land. A great compliment/step up to the other local course (George Ward) pro level players will enjoy this course for its added difficulty. Four holes (2, 3, 17, and 18) play with thick shule lining both sides of the fairway while the other holes have a plethora of trees to require accuracy off the tee. There aren't a whole lot of deuce or die holes (at least when playing from pro pads to pro tees). There are both pro and am pads as well as some newer placements being installed for each hole. A couple of blind tee shots really test your accuracy and control as well as trust of your game. Most holes have had shorter "am friendly" pin placements installed to accommodate the ever growing crop of new players coming out to this park. Some of the rougher holes have cleared up nicely since the courses initial installation. The big stroke killers (2, 17, 18) have all opened up just enough to make the hole less frustrating but are still legitimately tough holes to play. Very nice, long benches with tall bag holding tee posts mark nearly every tee pad.
As I'm writing this post a brand new course just a 2 minute drive away in the Trussville Sports Complex adjacent to LeMaster has just opened.
Cons: Hole 1 has gone through major revisions since its initial installation (mainly secondary to requests from the adjacent activity center worried about cars being hit in the parking lot) which unfortunately adds for considerable confusion and a lengthy transition to get to hole 2. Most am pads still play natural which given the lack of distance on the course really isn't much of a problem. The lack of benches and tee signs is no longer a problem with some very nicely made teeing areas that make it obvious where the next hole is. Tee signs with hole descriptors are present though some of the newer placements have not been added. New signs are on the way. The 13, 14, 15 hole transition is still a bit bothersome as you walk from 13s pin past 15s tee to 14 and then have to trek back to 15s pad. In talks with the course designers ideas have been flown to possible add a couple of holes to at least not make the 14-15 transition seem so redundant.
Other Thoughts: This is my "other home course", George Ward being my true home course. Of the two I much prefer to play trussville as it provides a better challenge for pro players (I just happen to live 1 minute away from GW and 30 from Civitan). The holes on average are longer and they're more wooded in general leaving stray shots in trouble. The location of the course is very serene providing for a calm day of golf and due to its relative immaturity is not very busy. If you're in the area and only have time to play one of our courses I highly recommend this course. This course is getting better and better all the time with adjustments being made and new ideas cropping up.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A pretty course with nice terrain

1    5/26/2007   9/25/2007
Review By: Olorin
Played: 411  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 40.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/17/2009
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is on pretty land on the outskrts of a small town. Although it doesn't come into play the nearby Cahaba River adds to the ambience. There are lots of nice trees, especially pines, and lush green grass. With moderate elevation changes and some interesting terrain, like ravines and dry creek beds, this is a fun course. Hole 2 has some of the most unusual and interesting terrain on the course.
*With two sets of tees there's lots of variety for several skill levels. The longer tees are a nice addition to the Birmingham area.
Cons: This is a small quibble, but I found several of the OB markings as kind of quirky. Personally, I didn't think that the creek bed behind the 10 basket should be OB. I also think that the on hole 8 it's kind of quirky to have the dry creek bed in the fairway as OB.
-From basket 13 the closest tee is Tee 15, so it's easy to get confused and miss tee 14. (I did this.) With time better tee signs will correct this.
Other Thoughts: -Long tees = Blue level. Short tees = White level.

-Favorite hole = 16. An uphill shot over a dry creek bed, with a very pretty green grassy fairway with pine trees. It's serene and loaded with natural beauty. Also, hole 2 has a cool ravine near the basket.


13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.