Richmond, VA 
University of Richmond Share
Uploaded By: FredVegasDGC Hole #9 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Be Creative

1    7/14/2021   7/28/2021
Review By: lee76007
Played: 59  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 2.1 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A variety of mostly heavily wooded, lightly wooded, an open hole that meanders around a lake, and creek on a college campus with early 20th century brick buildings.

-The course offers mostly up hill, downhill, gaps, elevated tee throws, one straight up hill tee throw, across short ravines with small creeks, heavy canopy, and rollers. Only a few level holes. The course is primarily short.

-The 18-hole walking experience with scenery including campus architecture, an outdoor Greek amphitheater that holes 5-6 that pass- by, heavy woods with canopy, lake, creeks, trails with a few short goat trails, wooded staircases and friendly non-disc golf users on the trails rank no. 1, with no other course that compares to it.

-Hole #3 ranks no. 1 for the "abyss hole" where the disc disappears in darkness. Knocking off the approach at Halifax, NC no. 8.

-Hole #14 a straight up hill tee shot is ranked No.1 for its steep angle up the hill, knocking off Ft. Junktion no. 7 in Elizabeth City, NC.

-The 300 plus holes 8, 10, 13, and 17 are likely to be the most memorable with a few of the short ones as well.

-New tee signs offer hole number, distance, par, map, and next tee. The new tee signs are the result of the course being realigned and shorten. Navigation is clockwise, then swings back around counterclockwise. There are some next hole signs.

-Rubber matts are in good shape.

-From the tee I used a variety of mids, fairway, and drivers.

-For beginners and recreational this will be a good test of short woods golf. For intermediate and advanced your going to find out how creative you can be off the tee box. High level of fun on the course.

Cons: -This is not a course con, but since the course has been realigned the information for hole and photo's in DGCR has not been updated, and I wasn't aware of the realignment until sometime later after playing the course. It looks like the original No. 1 was shorten from the tee and then 1 is now what used to be 2 etc. I've written a note in the wall section. New tee signs are accurate, and you may want to use your favorite course app. You can also use the updated DGCR map.

-Intermediates and Advanced players may find the course too short, 12 of the holes are less than 225 feet. The short holes run together, and many are not memorable because of it, but fun to play.

-After any kind of sustained rain, the course could become muddy. The campus is elevated higher than most of the course and rain run off could sweep the course. If the goat trails from 3 basket to 4 tee and 15 baskets to 16 tees become muddy, it would be a steep fall if you slip.

-The course trails are shared with walkers, joggers, and bike riders. I must have crossed paths with at least two dozen, so be on the lookout. On the 13th tee its blind to the left fairway, almost nailed a jogger in the head as she appeared to the left, she had no clue a disc sailed over her, it was clear before I had walked up to the tee.

-Disc lost I would rate as medium. #3 the worst hole with heavy brush I spent a few minutes looking for my drive, and then the creek and lake holes. Disc easy to find in the rough. #13 borders a sidewalk and then a city street.

-It's about a 3-minute walk from 2 basket to 3 tee without a map or navigation aide may not find 4. A few more minutes from 3 basket to 4 tee.

-Parking, old information says you need a guest parking pass. New information says park in the alumni parking area where the 1st tee is located. When school is in session parking can be difficult. I played in the summer session with only a few cars in the lot. In the fall thru spring, I would suggest playing on the weekend only or evenings.

Other Thoughts: The University of Richmond DGC provided a unique experience in the short game with mostly steep holes up and downhill, and a few longer holes. Not once did I throw a putter, nothing to do with distance, for myself the line just wasn't there, where I could make it with a nice lofty disc up thru a hole in the canopy, or a skip down the fairway thru narrow gaps I up disc. Need to be Creative! I had never been around a more friendly group of non-disc golfers on a course, received a lot of hellos and waves. Even had one attractive lady perhaps a few years younger than myself stop and made sure I knew where my disc was after a blind shot, we chatted for a few moments. The campus scenery and course were just beautiful, all providing an exceptional walking experience.
My overall rating is anchored on a 4.0, with a few minutes of disc looking my round took 70 minutes.

Notable Tee Pad:

-No. 13 is surrounded by trees and bushes, to your back is also the lake. The view to the fairway with some trees blocking the line to basket. Very scenic.

Notable Holes: *Realigned Hole # and Distances as shown on current Tee Signs"

-No. 6 Par 3 at 210 feet slopes down with eight-foot gap 50 feet out then drops down and rises back up to the basket perched on an uphill slope. Heavy trees both sides. The fairway slopes down right to left. The Greek amphitheater sits off to the right.

-No. 12 Par 3 at 195 feet is a level hole. From the tee throwing out of a tree gap with heavy trees and creek to the right, with an easy dogleg right. Open fairway to the left. The lake is behind the basket which is hidden behind a large tree. The hole sign gives the impression that the lake is at least 50 feet behind the basket. I decided to throw a high hyzer (lefty) to bite at the basket that was brought down by the guardian tree 50 feet away from basket. From my approach I could see a roller right into the lake and the basket just 10 feet away. Thank you, tree.

-No. 14 Par 3 at 165 feet is straight up hill throw. Heavy trees with ten-foot gap 50 feet up. On level ground a putter from tee, with the up hill angle a full driver just getting 20-feet short of basket. Needed more height on driver.

-No. 15 Par 3 at 210 feet drops straight down fairway and rises back up with basket perched on upslope. Tee is higher than basket. The fairway meanders left then breaks right at the bottom 130 feet down from elevated pad. At the bottom is a creek with a walking bridge. From the tee should be easy for a lefty, the gap is not a reach with sharp break to right but see a small window in the canopy just wanting to get across the creek. Decided an easy driver and watched it planko down a tree and drop just 10 feet on other side of bridge.

Signature Hole:

-No. 10 Par 3 at 330 feet is one of the longer holes I won't forget and represents fully in what the smaller distance holes offers in portions. An elevated tee pad that meanders left at the bottom of a gully at 170 feet then breaks right, at 250 feet breaks left straight uphill to a basket perched on the slope with skinny guardians. A wall of trees from the tee pad all the way down the right side will block both a lefty and righty. The fairway slopes left to right to the 170-foot mark, then right to left the rest of the way in. From the tee there is a solid level landing area at the 250-foot mark at the last break to the basket. I can see a hole in the canopy at the 170 mark and decide to force a driver left to right, the leaves slow it down and I park it on the level ground at 250. Best shot of the day and will be the most challenging for intermediate and advanced players.

Trouble Hole:

No. 3 Par 3 at 225 feet is a down slope that meanders left then a slight break to the right. The tee is in the open, but 75 feet away is heavy canopy with a ton of trees, and brush on both sides. The disc disappears as soon as it hits the gap in the canopy. At 75 feet the fairway drops straight down hill and is a roller all the way down to the creek past the basket, the basket is 40 feet from creek. At the drop is a wooden staircase to get you on your way to the basket safely. The fairway is narrow dirt about 20 feet wide, and on both sides layered with ivy. Also, trees, brush with guardian trees to the basket. Very nasty down there, and a disc graveyard, I found one while looking for mine. There's another wooden stairway over the creek and to get you on your way to No. 4. The hole is very scenic and difficult. I had an early release with a Mid on the right hitting no trees but thru the brush, guardian tree gave me no putt to the basket.


17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Underrated Course in the RVA Area

1    1/7/2020   1/7/2020
Review By: 3179065
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is great for beginners and advanced players alike. Beginners will enjoy the shortness of the course and advanced players will have to hit the tight but fair fairways. The tee-pads are nice if dry and the tee signs are good
Cons: Navigation can be tricky especially from 2-3 and 3-4. When going from 2-3 go around the students activity center and the tee-pad will be there. After 3 going to 4 just follow the path all the way up to the top which can be confusing because of all the other tee-pads near it. Other than that the first hole since being remade it is very odd and the tee-pad is awkward and it goes around a building .
Other Thoughts: Don't Let navigation get in the way of going here and you can use U-disc or print out a map of the course at this link.
https://recreation.richmond.e...URcardmap.pdf
Great little course that would make for a great putter only round.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Slippery When Wet

5+    11/25/2018   11/27/2018
Review By: Hix007
Played: 79  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 19.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety of open and wooded holes. none of the holes are very long, but some are exceptionally challenging due to abundance of trees. Rubber tee pads are good when dry and the university keeps the grass cut.
Cons: There's not much upkeep on this course in the wooded section. Be aware of dead trees that could easily just fall at any moment. Footing is tough and pads are slippery when/after it rains. The wooded scetion is on a long hillside that sometimes makes it difficult just to find a flat spot to sit down your bag. In summer there are bugs and some poison ivy to contend with on holes (3, 7, 15, & 16).
Other Thoughts: After playing #2, Head to the right and cross the road over to the sorority houses. Walk down the sidewalk path between sorority houses and parking lot, and #3 tee pad will be on the left by the short pine trees behind sorority hoses.

On #3, play with a spotter; have someone walk down the stairs and watch while the other person tees off. This is a short hole, but has a ton of briars and poison ivy in summer. Exiting #3, take the path to the left and walk all the way around to the far corner of the tennis courts to find #4 tee pad.

After playing #11, take the path and look for the white Next Tee sign. Go right down the walking path, then left all the way until you reach the bridge. #12 is across the bridge to the right, throwing towards the lake.

From #12 basket, follow tree line next to the lake towards the road. #13 tee pad is tucked away on the right in the trees around the corner of the lake.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  New Layout/Construction is Over

5+    3/21/2018   3/28/2018
Review By: oGmo0n
Played: 107  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes again. Putter friendly. Nice scenery.
Cons: The new holes are very short. Old hole 4 has been pulled, so you walk through the fairway to get to "new" 4.
Other Thoughts: The construction appears to be over. Holes 1, 2, and 3 are the same. The old 4 got pulled during the tennis court renovation/expansion. I just looked at the pictures... The hole it shows as #1 was removed some time ago, so what it shows as #2 is actually #1 now. The new #4 is the old #5 and they have moved the tee pad over to the left and closer. The new #5 is to the left of the old #6 tee pad, and the fairway run perpendicular to the right. It is short. Then you walk back towards where old #6 was. New #6 is down to the left of where old #6 was. Same fairway, different look, and shorter (still fun). The old #7 was straight from that basket, but now the tee pad is moved perpendicularly and the hole has a new fairway going up to the right of where you normally would be throwing. The new #8 has a whole new pad location and fairway. It is to the left of new #7's basket and shoots downhill, with the basket on the right (same pin location from old #7). #9 is the old, old 9 and remains unchanged. The next two holes are also the same. They pulled the short, downhill putter shot that they added when they pulled old #1. Walk down the hill to the right of #11's basket, take a left, and #12 shoots towards the water (unchanged). #13 is the same. #14, up the hill, has been shortened due to the tennis court expansion/renovation. #15, 16, 17, and 18 are the same. I hope that wasn't too confusing. I'll take some pictures next time, but I am confident this should help newcomers navigate better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/1/2016   5/13/2017
Review By: Duke of NY1
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - fun hole designs
- beautiful hike through campus
Cons: - some holes are difficult to find basket
- fair amount of food traffic around that can be tough to see coming
Other Thoughts: Easy to get a parking pass from them so don't let that stop you.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Advanced woods course

5+    7/18/2015   7/18/2015
Review By: devil2RVA
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical course; it will force you to throw different shots. Don't need a lot of distance to play here. Some beautifully designed holes that provide a nice variety of skill. Never crowded.
Cons: Trees. They are everywhere. I mean, 15 of the holes are in the forest. There is also a large walk between holes 2 and 3 that will lose players often (head toward the sorority houses, it's on the other side of that).
Other Thoughts: I would call UofR my home course despite Bryan being closer. UofR will require you to throw your discs in a different variety of ways. The tight fairways force you to be accurate, while curving your disc around trees will expand your abilities. No chance to really lose a disc with the exception of hole 12 (lake hole). Be mindful of people that could be walking on trails, especially on hole 11.

During the summer parking is not an issue. During the school year it is. You can get a free pass from the school for parking, or just go after 5. Usually no issue then.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worst in Richmond Area

1    9/6/2014   11/20/2014
Review By: ericfriesr
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 10/4/2016
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Elevation.
Cons: So short. Every basket is reachable with a putter.
A few blind shots. Hole 1 is gone because the made soccer fields where it sat. Dense with thorns and shrubs.

Hole 4 is stupid.
Other Thoughts: Out of the courses in Richmond, it is the worst. Bryan is long and open. Dorey is long and tight. UofR is bleh.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, worth checking out

5+    8/21/2014   8/25/2014
Review By: HannibalRex
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging, but there's a few "easy" ones. Mixed distance, mostly what I'd call short, but there's also a few that will show you just how much umpf you have in your arm. Very technical, good place to "break in" new discs. You might learn a few new cuss words. Never crowded, I rarely see other people playing. Absolutely beautiful views and nice wondering trails near the lake.
Cons: Not maintained often, so can be times the course is just thick and full of poison ivy, thorns, etc. This is all typical VA foliage though, I don't know that any other course this tight and technical (sic "woodsy") is any different. You might learn a few new cuss words. With the construction, and change up of the pins, can be a little tricky in places for a first timer to navigate, highly recommend printing the guide. If it's summer, and the course hasn't been trimmed lately, you're likely to loose a disc or two, be sure to know where you're trowing or use a spotter. #4 can be hard to find, you have to hike across the street and behind the cottage building(s). And I can't lie, it's a BIT**, it's down a hill, hard right, and surrounded by an un-holy terrain that will NOT give up a disc. I've found all that I've lost there, but usually a couple of months or weeks after I lost it and the foliage dies back some. #4 will make a preacher cuss.
Other Thoughts: They are still working on the campus, so #1 is still gone, not sure if it's coming back or what the plan is, but just note to start at what WAS #2, over by the field hockey field at the back of the parking lot. All in all, this is actually one of my more favorite courses in Richmond, and I think because the density seems to daunting that few play it or learn to enjoy it. All I can say about those that bitch about it be so rough is it's just a challenge, it will def present a good opportunity to beef up your mid game and accuracy. It's mostly shaded so you can play it about any time of day, even on stupid hot days because you're generally shaded. If you are familiar with Dunncroft on the west end, then I'd say this is like the older brother to Dunncroft and what a nice full, technical course looks like. It's not always perfect, and the construction on campus can make it a little pain in places, but I highly recommend finding out for yourself if you're able to get a chance to play this course. Disclaimer, I do work for UR, but this is not one of my most played or uber-favorite courses, but it's nice. I'd compare it to Dorey, maybe just a little more hills and a little tighter/technical. If you play this course and just hated it, then you might consider finding another sport that doesn't piss you off, I find this an enjoyable, quiet and relaxing course to play. I know I suck, so I don't expect to go out there and throw a Nate Doss type game, still better than sitting in an office or at home on the couch. The sign says they don't allow dogs, there's always people walking dogs, and I do take mine, generally they do need to be on leash, but I see no reason why a well behaved and controlled dog isn't really welcome here.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Date: 8/28/2014 Designer Response by: HB553
The course is changing with #2 becoming #1, and a new hole 11 added (ace run down hill). New map and tee signs and next tee signs should help.
New tee will be installed for 17.
Practice basket will be installed near the first tee.
Deep foliage left of existing #4 should be removed as well.

 Wasted Potential

5+    4/17/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 80  Reviewed: 17
This review was updated on 7/25/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -There are several decent holes sprinkled throughout the property, particularly one that sits on a nice lake. The opening holes are at least playable without much overgrowth to fight.
Cons: -Brutal rough combined with overgrown fairways mean that lots of kicks end in a frustrating, thorny search that may or may nor return a disc.
Other Thoughts: I've played this, and every other course in the Richmond area, a number of times and this is the only one that I've never i had fun playing. The fairways in the woods are incredibly tight, not from design but because the course is not maintained and is heavily overgrown. When you kick off an early tree here you may find your disc and still come away wishing you hadn't bothered looking for it as the thorns and poison ivy are abundant. The distances listed on the signage can be wildly inaccurate (the first time i played the lake hole i must have launched my disc 75' out into the water based on the distance shown). This course could be nice if a bunch of work was put into in, right now there are too many good options in the Richmond area to spend time out here.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It could be great, with work

1    8/19/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: MrMax
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course directory has a large course map and has a list of DG rules making it inviting for new players. The first 3 holes and the last 2 holes are set right on the campus on beautifully manicured lawns, except one (17) whose tee pad was missing from construction. One of the lakeside baskets was really nice. The tee pads are 3/4" rubber matting, and I believe are post consumer recycled. The tee signs and baskets are in good condition and the signs are very helpful.
Cons: I though I was lost when I went to find hole 4. And then when I found it I couldn't believe my eyes. It's a short blind shot, dog leg right, down 2 graded 10' elevation drops. There was a slight dirt path through the middle about 5' wide which would technically be the fairway? Surrounding that were 4-5' tall weeds, briars, shrubs and vines. I kept thinking that I was seeing discs in the undergrowth, only to find that what I was seeing were Doritos bags, natty ice cans and Mtn dew bottles. We had to throw in turns, with on person standing at the edge of the second teir down to act as a spotter. Then we had to jump the creek bed where the bridge was out. Then we had to creep behind the tennis court on the hobo-esque dirt path (keep in mind, the beer bottles and Doritos) to find the next couple baskets. Finally, the course led back to a real path, with steps and benches (and a trash can) and there were a few decent woods baskets to enjoy. Following this were 2 lakeside baskets, the first of which paralleled a tributary stream surrounded by chest high briars on each side. I fought said briars viciously to reclaim my flick (I know, personal problem :) before completing the basket about 10' from the lakes edge. I got in and waded around the lake a little, since I was already wet from getting my flick out of the stream, I saw another Doritos bag that I thought was a disc in the shallows. The following basket doubled back, this time parallel to the road. 17 rejoined civilization, it did not have a tee pad or sign. 18 was beautiful, right by the entrance. So, 5 good baskets where everyone can see them and 13 misadventures in overgrowth and litter. I wish the school would pu a little effort into, essentially, finishing their course. They got the most visible ones done, so all the non-players can enjoy looking at them. Now it would be nice if they completed it so it can actually be used with previous jungle-exploration experience.
Other Thoughts: I would love to play this course again if they fixed it. I won't be going back again until they do (unless they pay me to bring my weed whacker and chainsaw)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.