Orlando, FL 
Airport Lakes Park Share
Uploaded By: stsren Hole #2 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 200ft.   3 / 240ft.   3 / 275ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Blue Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
A Playover for a Layover

1    1/21/2020   2/14/2020
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 605  Reviewed: 230  Exp: 27.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 hole Airport Lakes Park is just a very short drive from the Airport in Orlando . This park has multi uses and is popular , but it is very clean , mowed and well cared for . There is a nice bathroom next to the spacious parking lot , along with benches and trash receptacles . A short walk behind the bathrooms leads you to hole #1 . There is a nice course map here . This course is yet another rendition of World Champion Disc Golf Design . Their motto should be " If it doesn't have 2 baskets and 2 tees , then it probably isn't ours " . Print the map here . The course flows well , but there are a couple of dead ends that you have to navigate your way out of . There are 2 nice tee pads per hole , blue striped in the back for longer tees and red striped for the shorter version . There are also 2 baskets per hole , Discatcher s , Red for the short placement and yellow banded for the longs . This is such a great idea , with 2 tees and baskets , being able to play each hole 4 different ways . There are nice signs at all of the tee pads giving you the hole number , par , distance of each option and flight path . The course is tightly packed in to the side and back of this small park , but the designers did a good job with what the had to work with . The course is flat , even for Florida , but is easy on the knees . This course plays fast . Even playing from the longs , I played it in less than 30 minutes . A group of 4 can get through in just over an hour . That is , if they wanted to .
The course is a very fun play . It is not set up for the pro or a tournament . It just keeps giving you reasons to unwind and have a good time here. The course is has a certain Florida flavor , with it's large , low branched trees with Spanish moss hanging from them . Disc Risk : Low for a tighter , kind of woods sectioned course . The park is manicured , so you might only lose one if off a bad ricochet and you took your eye off of it . You will have company most of the time that you play the course . It looks to be a popular hangout for the disc golf locals . There must have been 25 players her when I played on a late Wednesday afternoon . I will just give you some highlights of the holes . #1 is a good starter hole , going out of a bush surrounded tee pad to a basket just over a very small hill . #4 is a nice hyzer shot ( 300' from the longs ) with a tight window to bend your drive through . #5 is a tunnel drive , only 215'-275' , but the tunnel seems only about 2' wide to you . #6 is the second longest hole at 435' from the longs , into a tight doorway , bending slightly left then slightly right , and a fair par 4 . #9 is a fun finishing hole . Although only 285' from the longs ( 225' from short ) it kind of makes you throw an S shot in order to snake your drive through the trees and brush . Signature hole : #8 . At 515' ( par 4 ) , both tees make you eventually turn your drive slightly right .Precision is the key here , and the fairway makes you earn all of it .
Cons: Not much in the way of cons . The course is constricted , so it can never be 18 holes ( so what . You have 2 tees and 2 baskets to make it an 18 hole round ) , or have the 9 hole course expand to include a dogleg or 2 , or a par 5 . Safety might be an issue . holes 3,4,and 5 are packed in close together . A ricochet might ruin your round if hit by an errant drive . Also , be careful when teeing off on #1 . There was a couple that had spread a blanket near the hidden basket just over the hill . I came a little close to them . I think it was #7's long basket was broken off and all that was left was a pole . Some of the yellow baskets were showing their wear . Try to be nice to the unaware locals . Bring bug spray in the warmer months . Be on the lookout for snakes .
Other Thoughts: Okay . The course may be a little too flat and the holes aren't the most memorable . What you DO GET , is a disc golf park that Orlando takes serious enough to put some $$$ into this course . How can you go wrong with 2 nice tees and 2 baskets !?! I am bringing this idea back to Cincinnati with me . It can make an average 9 hole course a great one . The course was surprisingly clean for a protected area ( i get it . I have one of those types of course back home . You have to get permission to trim a bush ) . A fast play , you can decide to go for another round , or just kick back , relax , and watch others have some fun , too . My Recommendation . Maybe not a course that you go too far out of your way for , but another in a great line of Florida 9 hole courses if anywhere close by , or stuck at the airport . Great for flight layovers , or disc golf enthusiasts that are on their way to/from the airport , fantastic for locals and newbies that like to hang out after or between rounds , and families that look for something to involve the family after dinner or on the weekends . Good for course baggers grabbing course on the way to I-4 or going to rt. 528 . Challenging enough for ams or tournament tested players to work on their short and technical game . If anywhere in the Orlando Area , Play It !!!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice but lots of leaves

5+    7/15/2017   7/15/2017
Review By: WhereTheIDivides
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 8/1/2017
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - 9 quick holes, with 2 pads and 2 baskets. So it can be played 4 times.
- Clean, well kept, no trash.
- Close to airport, hotels, food and 436.
- Has bathrooms and water.

Cons: The next 3 will not change. It's scarey because of snakes.
- Ground is covered in leaves from hole 3-9.
- Has many downed trees, sticks, logs and stuff.
- Has ground bushes.

- To many holes in the forest.
- There is no practice area to putt.
- They rarely cut the grass on holes 1, 2, 9. Grass gets waist high sometimes. But hey, they do cut the soccer fields every week.
Other Thoughts: With a 1/2 mil grant from the state, it is classified as a green space. As such, the park rangers can not clean up the leaves, branches or anything. They'd have to get permission from the state. As such, it will stay the same. It sucks cause the leaves and junk on the ground is where snakes like to hide. There is airplane noise, but jeeze, no biggie. The guys cutting the lawn make more noise. Not a issue. Also, it's FLORIDA. Florida is flat just above sea level. Hole 1 is on a fake retainer hill, but the others are flat. That's Florida.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Every 9 hole should have these features

1    11/12/2016   11/16/2016
Review By: Fletch50
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With 2 tees and 2 pins on every hole it gives a nice variety so you can play it over and over and essentially get 36 holes of similar variety. Excellent bathroom and playground area to keep everyone occupied. Being a beginner with a rating of maybe 825-850 it was challenging enough without losing any discs. Upkeep was nice and it was a beautiful day.
Cons: The course is well played so expect little wait from time to time. Airplane noise is the only other negative. Beware of the OB fence on hole #4 dogleg right, too far straight is over the fence.
Other Thoughts: If we lived closer I would play all the time, like course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Lot Of Good Golf Crammed In Here!

1    10/30/2016   10/30/2016
Review By: thrembo
Played: 195  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 45.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2017
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very fun course featuring two sets of tees and two permanent baskets for every hole.This makes for a lot of different ways to play the course. Nice tee signs at each tee location. I would describe the course as short and technical with most holes throwing in the woods. There are a couple of holes where almost everything is covered in Spanish moss, giving these holes a spooky kind of vibe.

Very close to Orlando's airport and many local hotels.
Cons: Some of the baskets are very old school but are in good repair.

The airplane noise can be loud at times.
Other Thoughts: There is a lot of good golf here and although it is a little on the short and technical side, I think that most would enjoy a round or 3 here.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 More like 18 holes

1    10/11/2016   10/26/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 435  Reviewed: 423  Exp: 6.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.619 Rating) Feels more like an 18 hole course than 9
- DUEL PINS AND TEES - By far the best thing about Airport Lakes is the duel pins and tees at each of the 9 holes. I'm a big fan of this type of format when space is at a premium. This setup is great for groups of multiple skill levels. It also allows players the opportunity to never play the same round twice as they could randomize the tee and pin they play at each of the 9 holes.
- CHARACTER - Airport Lakes is probably about average in terms of character. There is a wonderful course map at hole 1, there is great hole signage, most of the tees are well shaded, there are restrooms in the park and the tees are concrete. Probably the biggest thing that's missing is seating and trash cans. There is also no practice area, multiple pin placements or bag holders that you'd see at your older established courses.
- NAVIGATION - Would be issue except for the great course map placed at hole 1. If you take a picture, you'll have no issues on your first time threw.
- SHELTER - There is a great shelter with picnic tables placed right in the center of the course. perfect for the end of round gathering point and perfect for the summer pop-up thunderstorm.
- LOCATION - A 10 minute drive from the Airport - perfect for a layover if you have a means to get here.
- QUICK PLAY - Piggy backing off the layover comment above, playing nine holes can easily be done in under 30 minutes.
Cons: I did not find any major flaws with Airport Lakes, but by no means it this a destination must play course.
- CHAINS - They are in pretty bad shape. They are still playable but among the most rusted and beat up I've ever come across. I'll add that none of my putts missed due to the condition factor, I can shank a putt all by myself.
- MAINTENANCE - The rest of the park seems to get a lot more love than the course itself. There were twigs, branches and Spanish moss on the ground everywhere. the grass in some areas was over 10" in height. the overgrowth and rough areas weren't the worth I've seen, but it was definitely subpar. To those that prefer the well manicured courses, this isn't the one.
- SPACING - Not the best or worst but I did end up in an adjacent fairway several times.
- LAYOUT FLOW - Again, not the best or worst I've seen, but probably below average. You will have double back three times (1 to 2) and (3 to 4) and (7 to 8). It seems on paper that holes (8, 7 and 6) should have been reversed to lead into hole (9) Instead, the layout makes you jump around from (5 to 6) and (8 to 9) check out the course map and you'll see what I mean.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves are lacking the uniqueness that you'd see on your average 18 hole course. There are really no water elements in play (some may consider this a blessing) There are no dog legs. The most that any one hole veers is perhaps 10 to 15 degrees. Nearly are the holes weave threw a live oak canopy and are moderately tight lines (#1 is an exception and is an open play) there are no overhead plays. None of the holes are gimmes and none are that exceedingly hard. There is one par 4 (#8) which is over 500 feet in the long position. This hole is also the one blind basket when playing the short position.
- ELEVATION - Really none to speak of. I know that this is typically for Florida, but this course is flat for even Florida standards. no more than 10' change throughout the entire course layout.
Other Thoughts: I'd definitely play this course again if I was in the area. A good course for those living within 5-10 miles and for beginners threw the intermediate level. Advanced and Pro players will probably come away unchallenged.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Small Course

2-4    2/15/2016   2/19/2016
Review By: pickupman92
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bathroom Facilities! It's always fantastic when there is a bathroom at DG courses. Multiple pads and baskets fit into a small piece of land - can easily see room for expansion as well
Cons: Some of the holes were a tad short, definitely a midrange and putter course, I did use a driver on a couple of the longer holes, but only for a skip shot.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the course, played short to short and then long to short with my gf. This is a great beginner and intermediate course. My home course is Debary and there are possiblities for some REALLY long holes at that course. This one is nice, has some twists and turns, nicely shaded so you're not stuck out in the sun the entire time.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 9 holes, 36 options

2-4    1/24/2015   1/31/2015
Review By: The Drake
Played: 111  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 17.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well designed "9 hole" course on a relatively small piece of land. But don't let the 9 holes fool you. There are two sets of pins and tees on each hole which legitimately make for 36 holes for play. Every pin has a tee sign with pretty accurate distances and solid cement tee pads.

The holes themselves are well designed given the land available for use. The first hole is really the only open hole, after that its all wooded, but fair. While some holes play better from certain pin/tee locations, overall there are no bad options.

This is an excellent introduction into wooded golf for the new player and the fairways, while tight, give legitimate lines and options. Its a good course to learn some of the basics of shot shaping which you may not pick up on tougher courses in the area or the more open options around town.

Cons: The holes themselves are pretty short. With the exception of hole 6 and 8 you definitely could get away playing this course with your favorite midrange and putter. For experienced players this is not a course that is going to challenge you very much. Even from the "all long" setup (blue to gold) you should be able to put yourself within the putting circle on nearly every hole.

This course is just north of the airport, meaning there are planes taking off and landing all the time, which are loud and can get annoying if you're playing with friends.

Given the fact that there are two sets of tees and 2 permanent pins on each hole I'm not even going to count the "9 holes" as a con for this course.
Other Thoughts: While this is not a course you would find yourself playing all the time given the other good courses in town if you're in southeast Orlando or staying near the airport this is the only good close option. Given the multiple pins you can really tailor the round to how much time you have.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short, but good course

2-4    4/21/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: drgonzo712
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Right next to the Airport so good course to play quick before a flight
Mix of wooded holes and a couple of open holes
Layout is good for a 9 hole course
actually really nice scenery in the woods
Multiple pin and tee pad locations
Cons: Short course with no long bomb opportunities
They leave all pins up at all times, so it can get a little confusing
Just no real signature holes that stand out in my mind

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Quite the Layover

1    12/5/2013   12/6/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I avoided playing this course for a long time. Nine holes by the airport? Sounds like a snoozefest. But upon realizing that it is about to be my closet course, decided to give it a round. I was pleasantly surprised. While it is indeed comprised of nine holes and it is near the airport, that description is selling it short.

While it may be bereft of signature holes, there is not a bad hole among the nine. (ok, well, besides one, but that's the warmup hole) From the red tees especially, the fairways offer great throwing lines and a fair shot at every basket.

Every hole has two tees, and two baskets. Not two pin locations, two baskets in the ground. While you can mix and match tees and baskets in various ways, I played the two most obvious. Short to short, and long to long. The short course is actually probably the better one. The majority of the holes are very parkable so well-placed drives will be well-rewarded.
Cons: The long layout suffers from too many holes with no scoring separation. Really no separation. The extra angle from the red basket to the gold basically makes the hole unparkable, so good play will lead to a tap in par. A shanked drive will yield a tougher putt but generally, it will still lead to par. I don't mind some of these holes at all, but it really feels like all of them are like that.

For the experienced players, even the longest arrangement won't be too difficult. The holes would definitely be described as wooded but the fairways are more than wide enough.

There are also a few location where multiple fairways are in play. It doesn't feel cramped but it actually is, as is made clear when there are players on other holes. I everyone is keeping it in their own fairway there will be no issues, but off drives can easily cross over into neighboring fairways.
Other Thoughts: So it's a course that is more suited for beginners, albeit one that is very-well suited for them. It's also a course than be looped quickly. It wouldn't take long to play four rounds of nine here, taking advantage of all the possible layouts.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Perfect course for beginners.

2-4    11/2/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: KyrieandSteve
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -When playing from the short tee's par is obtainable for first time players, Boosting confidence and making the game more enjoyable.
-Good course if your worried about loosing your disc, pretty safe here.
Cons: -Slightly confusing layout with the multiple baskets and pads, Good idea to download map and walk the course before you start.
Other Thoughts: -We found some strange items(shotgun shells, empty bottles of motor oil) in the woods around the course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.