Hewitt, NJ 
Browns Point/Buzzy's Creek Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #9 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 226ft.   3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
How Sharp Is Browns Point?

2-4    4/26/2021   6/10/2021
Review By: Ryal
Played: 104  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 4.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + The course plays in a cozy, pretty and breezey community park right next to a long lake that goes between NJ and NY.
+ The tee pads are solid, long and wide concrete tiles on all holes, except 8. (Where was it??)
+/- Barely any holes longer than 300 feet makes for a good novices' course.
+ Helpful, if goofy, tee signs had hole# in metal number on top and the distance (in yards). But...
Cons: - ...Many of the signs are damaged, faded or even vandalized. Hole16's was missing altogether. Plus, the pars are a bit off.
- The baskets, while numbered, are quite old with shallow cages and weak chains. Then again, this course has been here since 1992, so I could let that slide if they intend to make this a historic kind of course..
-/+ Underneath most of the baskets are stones with arrows painted on them to guide players along, but many are faded beyond usefulness.
- One or two of the fairways throw past a children's playground. Be sure of your aim if there are kids around.
- A lot of the fairways fly right past or intersect one another. For just two examples: 1 & 13 literally cross, and 11 & 12 play on the same fairway, effectively.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole here to look at was hole16 because that area was out of the way from everything else, and the waterfront looked very pleasant. My favorite hole here to play was hole5 because it combined some nice tree dodging with a downslope. It was the most challenging. My least favorite hole was hole4 because it plays right alongside the entrance road and flies right past hole3's fairway.

I tried playing here once before way back in December 2018 during a trip through southern NY, but I stopped after hole9 because it got too dark and too foggy, which gave the park a cool 'edge of the world' feeling. Actually, now that I've played here during daylight hours, I can safely say that the setting is the biggest thing working in Browns Point's favor. That lake really is lovely to look at, so it's a good thing that there are five or six holes that utilize it as a feature. The fields and groups of trees are nice enough, but the fairways are so short that players don't really get the chance to enjoy them.

I acknowledge right away that this course isn't meant for me as I am now. The fairways are brief. The wooded throws are more like mini-tunnels, and the open fields feel like approach practice, but that's the whole point of the course, isn't it? It is nearly thirty years old, installed during a time when the sport was still mostly whispers between friends. It was less about dazzling distance and more about deliberate delivery, and this course insists upon that to good effect.

The holes by the lake ought to get special mention, too. Both lefties and righties get the chance to be intimidated by the water because of how close several of the fairways are to the lake. I looked and definitely saw bright-colored plastic circles in there, so be mindful of your throws.

As for a bottom line, I can't say you'll be missing too much if you decide to skip it, but do consider stopping by Browns Point for a peaceful place to breathe in those healthy lakeside breezes and practice your approaches as you contemplate where to go next on your disc golf journey.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Classic Course in a Beautiful Spot

1    10/5/2019   10/6/2019
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 199  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ Good mix of open and wooded holes

+ Good teepads (a few - like #2 - are very new, so it's clear there's a club that loves this course)
Several alternate long teepads

+ Many next tees are easy to see, but UDisc map and the Skylands Club map help a lot: there are several places where you cross over a hole to get to your next tee, and it can mean some extra walking around hunting

+ Great use of the shoreline on two holes

+ Holes #1 - #3 ease you into the course with birdie opportunities

+ Holes #5 - #9 are all tight and wooded. Nothing unfair though, and with multiple plays, I'm sure you learn the subtle lines to play

+ Hole #10 is a nice uphill-then-downhill hard right dogleg with a mando on the right. The road plays OB, so play for your RH forehand to fade toward the basket

+ Hole #11 gives you a chance to air one out, but be aware the green is running away from you and toward the water

+ Hole #12 is the first of the two "shoreline" holes: this one has the water all along the left side, with a hillside along the right. Fun FH shot

+ Holes #13 - #15 are up away from the water in the main part of the park. They're open and give you the chance to throw long at the baskets

+ Hole #16 is the second shoreline hole - and by far my favorite hole on the course. The lake runs the length of the right side, and two huge trees protect the basket. The hole is perfectly set up for a risk/reward shot high and as far over the water as you dare. The basket is set down in a small bowl on the hillside that will help collect discs. Fire away!

+ Hole #18 is a nice open 300' across the main park. The basket is close to the OB parking lot on the right

Cons:
- Baskets are very old and rusty

- The unique carved metal tee signs have been vandalized to the point where you really need UDisc or a card to check distance and par. Despite all the par 4's and 5's on the signs, I recommend playing it entirely as par 3's in order to make it comparable to newer layouts. Even played as a Par 54 there are plenty of birdie opportunities and ace runs

- Some crossing of fairways and some close tees with baskets, so you have to stay aware if others are playing

- Several holes play across a big open field that's likely to be in use by other park goers

Other Thoughts:
~ This is a very old course: a "classic" tight and short layout designed before high speed discs. Feels very much like the same era as Rutgers and Sedgley Woods. Buzzy's is similarly short like Rutgers and much of the front nine is pretty compact like Sedgely

~ Absolutely worth a visit - come when the park isn't likely to be busy. You can play it in under an hour once you know the layout. Make time to play two rounds: the course is worth it

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Buzzy's Creek

1    8/6/2018   8/6/2018
Review By: MikeSKY
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
Pros: This is a decent disc golf course. Very small and compact. The course is good for beginners, not long holes. Next to beautiful Greenwood lake.
Cons: Because this course is made up of a lot of criss-cross holes, it cant really support more then a few disc golfers at once. Baskets are not the greatest. Has a lot of non-disc golfers there to walk dogs and just enjoy it as a small park. It is a really small course. Signage and course directions is a bit confusing.
Other Thoughts: Signs for basket distances are only in meters. Pars are very easy. The holes that should all be par 3 but are par 4 or even par 5.

 Pro views, amateur play.

1    9/6/2015   9/6/2015
Review By: StephenLavely
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lovely little course in NJ. Beautiful views of the lake. Holes 13, 14, 16, and 17 are exceptionally lovely.
Some nice tight wooded shots. Perfect Roc or buzz shots.
Couple open field shot.
Some Left to right and some right to left.
Cons: Natural tee pads are pretty rough.
Signage listed in yards instead of feet.
Pars are way off. This whole course is a par 3 course yet some the holes are listed as a par 4 or 5 which is just ridiculous.
Baskets are old and have minimal chains.

Other Thoughts: Overall a good practice/warm up course (think: 9 holes here before heading to Brakewell Steel) for a more experienced player and a appropriate course for the casual player. Lots of cons but the views and overall pleasantness of this course do it for me and have kept me coming back when i just want to relax and toss some disc.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 pleasantly surprised

1    5/21/2015   5/22/2015
Review By: Khao Pra
Played: 148  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 28.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: well established course
active local player base and support
breathtaking scenery on the lake holes
very close to gas stations/f&b etc
regularly scheduled events and leagues
Cons: small piece of land, literally every sq inch of the property is taken up by the golf course.

poison ivy is pretty common-ticks will also be an issue, bring repellant

baskets and tee pads are bunched together due to the small plot of land, can cause confusion for new players

tee signs are unique but showing wear, hard to read any useful info so the first few rounds will take extra time while you learn the layout
Other Thoughts: even after factoring in the small plot of land and the adjacent fairways, the course is very fun to play and has some absolutely beautiful holes along the lake to play. the course itself was designed and installed for the first generation of golf discs, but the local players show up by the dozen to play every afternoon. there were 36 people out for doubles when i played. it should be a very low scoring course, with experienced players getting into double digits but there is always a tree ready and waiting to kick your disc the wrong way, or a lake or other OB area to keep the round challenging and fun. if i lived any closer i could easily play this course on a daily basis. definitely recommend this course if you're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/20/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 117  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 12.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is on a relatively small amount of land, the designer really did the best he could with what he had to work with. The course is mostly short but there are still fun/ challenging holes to play.

Other Pros:
- risk/reward: water in play
- some long/short tee position
- adequate tee signs (short postion only)
- perfect for a quick 18 or finese players
Cons: The biggest problem is the cramped layout. There are crossing fairways and throws near other tees.

Other Cons:
- baskets have seen better days
- if the park is busy many holes may be unplayable

The navigation seemed confusing at first because you can see several tees from your last basket, but the tee signs have large metal numbers on them, so you just need to find your next number (easily seen from front and back.)
Other Thoughts: I played the course in the early morning and had the place to myself. I had a good time but as more people were arriving at the park I was thinking that the play could be very difficult with the small area.

Fun little course with some flaws.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Technical

5+    11/22/2010   11/26/2010
Review By: toothyfish
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course makes maximum use of a rather small park. The usage of very narrow gaps require accuracy, even with relatively short drives.
* easy walking and quick playing - can play in under an hour as a single
* good flow, minimum walking between holes
* some short/long tees
* water in play on several holes, adding challenge
* excellent one-disc course, or minimum disc course, if you like that
* several short yet difficult holes
Cons: While this course does make use of all available park space, this creates challenges when the park is busier.
* Holes 1, 11 & 12 are often unplayable during peak times
* Signage is poor - short tees are marked but distance/par may not be accurate - most long tees not marked
* Tees are natural, but many are worn out with usage
* No next tee signs - PRINT OUT THE MAP!
* Baskets are older and worn
Other Thoughts: This course serves local players well, in that it is a great place to tune up on line shaping and the short game. You can leave your drivers home as only 3 holes play over 300 ft. I wouldn't travel any distance just to play this course, but if you find yourself in the area, it's worth a quick visit.


Print out the map! While there is a good flow to the course, finding the correct next tee and basket can be challenging, especially hole 1 to 2, 4 to 5, 10 to 11, Sounds contradictory, but because of a bit of criss-crossing, it can be easy to get off track.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Better Than Expected

1    6/21/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: J Spurling
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the most scenic disc golf courses in the area. I enjoyed the lake views and even the shots where the water came into play. Because it is in a relatively small space you can play it quickly (we took our time and finished under 2 hours).
Cons: If it weren't for the local guide (David) who was there to walk us around it would have been somewhat difficult to figure out the layout. You will definitely want to print out a map of the course. We were there on a weekday, so there weren't many people around. However, it looks like it could be a high traffic area during the summer months and on the weekends. There is one place where the fairways cross over one another. And there are a couple places where you need to walk a good distance to find the next tee box. The Tee boxes are natural and in a couple of places have large tree roots that cause unsure footing.
Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised by the course. I heard that Buzzy's wasn't a great course. Whereas it is not a big course, I think it is a fine course and I would visit again if I weren't moving from the area. I found the "par" designations very "gracious". Online it list every hole as par 3. However, on sight it list the course of having a par 68. I felt really good about posting a 63.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/20/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: pdisc
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 4/24/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice short course if you want to play a quick round. It is technical enough to give to a challenge.
Cons: It was crowded when I played. I had to worry about decapitating people fishing on #16. If I did not have a map, it would have taken me a long time to find the tee boxes.

I think the baskets were horrible. There were not a lot of chains hanging from the baskets. One time, I putt it head on to the center of the basket. It hit the metal bar with no chains and it bounced out.
Other Thoughts: Print a online map of the course! It will save you a lot of aggravation.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Syzzub

1    6/8/2009   4/8/2010
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 26  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 15.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Shady parking spots
*Fun, but short wooded Holes
*Cool hyzer toses over water
*Easy to get to and a Wendy's nearby
Cons: *Short
*Akward fence boundaries
*Confusing arrangement
*Heavily populated
Other Thoughts: Upon arrval i thought it was gonna be alot worse than it was. It was nothing special, but since we had already made the drive up there we decided to try and figure out where the beginning of the course was. It kind of overlaped itself and was a little confusing, but its a small park and to be expected. The hyzers toss over the waters edge is a fun one, but otherwise its kind of an easy and lackidasical course layout. Nedless to say i wouldnt return for another rund at Buzzys.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.