Kennedale, TX 
Sonora Park Share
Uploaded By: TexRex Hole #1 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 292ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Really nice 9 holer.

1    11/5/2012   11/5/2012
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 69  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice for a nine hole course, may be one of the best in the area. There are a lot of trees in play, and a creek as well. Not just the same shot over and over.
Cons: Navigation is a little tricky in some places. The baskets are numbered, but from a distance it can be hard to tell which one goes with what hole. Look out for joggers on trail. Hole 4 is very close to the fence line. A bad skip off of a tree could send you 50' or more off the property.
Other Thoughts: This is a very good park for beginners, much better for a newbie to go here than Veteran's. It's also nice as a shorter course for more experienced players who want to disc down.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Jump in de line, rock your body in time

1    9/22/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: giles
Played: 191  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 20.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really liked this course, it has a lot going for it. The park itself is very nice and beautifully maintained. Aside from disc golf it features playground equipment and a splash pad, a huge plus for those of us who take their family disc golfing. The terrain was conducive to a baby stroller or disc cart. A majority of the course plays under a canopy of trees offering both obstacles and, more importantly, shade from the sun. The hole designs offer an interesting mix from the wide open hole 1 to the nerve racking tee shot on 4 where a bad kick will send you OB on a 400' shot. The course rewards skilled players with 3 of the holes requiring a very difficult right turning long throw to card a 2 with offline shots going ob. The course also give plenty of opportunity for a moderately skilled player to card a 2 with a well executed shot. Unlike many 9 hole courses, Sonora park does a good job of showing the mix of shots that disc golf courses can offer. The course plays quick with a adequate flow from basket to tee. The tee boxes were good enough for me, but concrete would be an improvement. The signage lacked information but did the job. I think anything more is overkill for a one tee, one pin course (though it was misleading on holes 3 & 6).
Cons: If a course offers nothing but big hyzers on every hole is it a con? I think so. When a course has no big righty hyzers is it a con? I don't think so but it is worth a mention that this course has none that I could see. The fence that comes into play on 2,3,4 is short and electric. It really comes into play on hole 4 with an errant shot or a bad kick off a tree. A tall chain link fence would be an improvement along this fairway, otherwise I see lot of trespassing or disc fishing over the fence.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great example of what disc golf can do for a city. It will introduce more people to the game of disc golf and get them outside exercising. It uses an otherwise unused area. It will increase traffic to the park, and increased traffic tends to discourage vandalism or other illegal activities that may happen in a secluded park. As a 9 hole course it will not realise the heavy traffic and economic benefits from outside the area that an 18 hole course enjoys with weekly league play or sanctioned tournaments.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Setting

2-4    8/30/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: starfire56
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very effective layout in limited space. Holes 5-8 are near the creek, therefore accuracy is required. Took about 35 minutes to play each round. Beautiful setting and a great place to work on various shots.
Cons: The creek is very close to the basket on holes 6, 7, and 8.
Other Thoughts: Very fun place to play and work on accuracy game.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better than expected.

1    7/29/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: Tiny
Played: 50  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's short and sweet.
It has an array of shots needed for a 9 hole.
It can easily be played twice in 2 hours.
It's pretty easy to navigate
Well maintained.
It's easy to find off the road.
Cons: The gravel on hole 1.
Pedestrians walking on a few of the holes, they are out of the way quickly tho.
Random horse rider confused me.
I would have liked more of that course, it's a fun course.
No teepads, teepads would make this a definite go to. I'm not about twisting my ankle on some loose gravel on tees 1 and 2.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course, 4 was difficult for me. If you are in the area and have about an hour and a half to check it out, do so! Better than expected.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the drive for 9 good holes

1    4/28/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: mmoorman12
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Would give a full 4.0 (excellent) with tee box upgrade, but still very nice course. Simple but requires technical shots. Excellent use of small space. Go play this course!
Cons: 3 was kind of hard to find but earlier reviews here at dgcr saved us. Concrete tees would be nice, but a little dirt never hurt anyone.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  GOOD COURSE

5+    1/8/2012   1/19/2012
Review By: ciriloocampo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: If you have a big cannon and are needing a course that will mold your accuracy to perfection this is it.
Cons: The water is murky...Don't go OB
Other Thoughts: I really like this course, it is easy to shoot good if you dont miss your lines. If you do the short holes can easily become a 4.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet little course

2-4    11/24/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 391  Reviewed: 208  Exp: 29.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked (for the most part)
New Baskets
Very nice parking and nice park
Wide variety of holes for a 9 holes course.
Cons: Dirt Tee Boxes
Tee markers are not placed very well, #4 is right in the middle of where the tee should have been.
Several of the holes area little close to private property or the creek.
Other Thoughts: Hole by hole review
#1 Boring hole next to the parking lot. There are literally no trees in this fairway, the only obstical is the parking lot on the right and the trees behind the basket (if you over throw this 300ft hole)
#2 nice little turnover shot. The tee sign is backwards. My biggest problem with this hole is the private property right near the basket. Throw a turnover shot too tight and you are over a fence that is electrified.
#3 the BEST hole on the course. It plays slightly downhill to the right (not the basket on the left) You can't actually see the basket from the tee (at least I couldn't. The basket in on the side of a small hill which makes it a little harder. The fence line is far enough away on this hole that it really takes an errant shot to throw over it.
#4 The Tee sign is smack in the middle of where the tee box should be. That makes this hole a tight 350ft shot with the fence line on the right and if you hyzer out left you will be in the creek and loose your disc (well, at least I did) The fairway gets pretty tight by the baskt which is literally on the bank of the creek. I did not like the placement of this basket, move it over 50ft and this would be a much better hole.
#5 A GREAT little hole with the creek on the right. I actually had a birdie putt on the second round with a great tee shot here.
#6 Another 300+ shot with the basket a little close to the creek. Don't turn it over too much or you will loose your disc.
#7 Nice tight pitch and putt hole. Don't over throw it too much or you will be in the creek.
#8 Another pitch and putt hole that is not nearly as tight as #7. This is a short little ace run.
#9 Nice bird run for the last hole. It has a nice clean right to left fairway that is perfect for my Roc.

In all, I played this course the first round and enjoyed it enough to play a second round before heading back for Thanksgiving.

I will be playing here again for sure. This is actually a pretty good course if you know how to stay out of trouble.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 These Baskets Are Almost Skinny Dipping

1    6/24/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 238  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 30.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a creek, woods, and an open hole. The tee signs are ok, except #2, which is showing the opposite direction. The signs give the general direction of the hole, footage, and hole number. The baskets are nice and in great shape. The grass/dirt tee pads are in good condition. The trees in the wooded section here are fun to navigate. The wooded areas are absolutely beautiful. Navigation here is real easy. Parking is fantastic and the course is very clean.
Cons: With half the holes being some kind of risk/reward with a drop off to water near the basket, it becomes redundant. Having one or two of these on a course is a challenge, but when there is a bunch of them, it takes away from the enjoyment of the course. There is not much of a variety of hole lengths here. Hole #1 seems to be in an odd spot considering where the parking is. If I come back here, starting on #2 is just easier and it ends you back up at the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor is a not that good. The woods are nice, but having water right behind the basket on so many holes, will take the fun out of it. It limits you from enjoying the drives and the entire middle of the course (which is the cool part of the course). I probably won't come back here unless they make some updates to these pin placements. I do understand this course is still under some construction, but my rating is on the permanent things.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  beautiful park

1    5/30/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: dpg.sa@live.com
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 21.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Park is beautiful... Easy to find. Very low traffic due to its newness. Tight at most spots. Offers technical shots.
Cons: Layout has too many trees in play that make a few holes un-playable. Yes its new however it lacks forsight in the planning. I do not advocate cutting down trees. I only advocate a touch of common sense in the placement of the holes. You are fighting with being in a private fenced ranch 15 feet from chain placement or fighting a methane swamp.
Other Thoughts: About the creek. DONT GET IN. I lost a 167 boss with phone number and reward if by chance you decide to get in and find it. Holes 5 and 6 suck. Sorry to the designers, I know your left with limits to the set-up. More should have been near the pond. All and all I want to like it. Its 2.8 miles from my house. If your looking for D.Goss you will find me at another course. I would not and will not recommend to friends.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sanora Park Rundown!!!

1    4/12/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Hole variety -- long, short, open, treed, rights and lefts
-Lots of shade
-Hazard variety -- OB fenced propety, road, water.
-Great surrounding park
-Clean
-Lots of parking
Cons: -No pads
-No signs
-Very muddy when wet
-Looks as though they're still doing a lot of construction out there (park construction)
-Currently, there is ton of poison ivy on the banks of the creek as well as other places on the course, so be careful!!!

Other Thoughts: Being that this is a BRAND NEW course, there's still a lot of cleaning up of the course to do -- brush, poison ivy, tall grass, etc. BUT this is to be expected guys and gals when courses start blossoming. NO course started out top-notch.

Great little course with variety. Front starts out fairly easy and wide open, then some of the holes blow-up for some killer difficulty though trees and along creeks.

This course has great potential and can't wait to play it again.

Makes for a nice warm-up round before playing near-by courses: Veterans, Bicentennial, Z-Boaz, Greenbriar.

Keep your eyes on this course everyone!!!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center