Elizabeth City, NC 
Fun Junktion DGC Share
Uploaded By: Cardinal Hole #11 (Taken 8/2016)
4 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
A Short Scottish Links

1    12/11/2020   1/23/2021
Review By: lee76007
Played: 59  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 2.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It is a beginners and recreational course. Intermediate and Advance would likely enjoy few of the holes that are elevated with a Mid or Putter.
-Its an elevated course played on top of a hill. Your either teeing downhill or uphill, a few holes on the side of hill. Hill elevation is about 40 feet.
-The course is wind dominant. A few holes are fun to throw with the wind.
-The course only has a few skinny trees on top of hill, that are not in play. The course is kept mowed on top of hill, with only 10-foot fairways, and 10 feet around baskets below the hill. There's short choppy weeds and brush for rough, that could grow a few feet in the warmer months. The course gives a feel of a Scottish links, that I played in ball golf. The trees you see in pictures, are no longer there.
-Most tees have signs with par and distance only.
-Navigation is simple, flows counterclockwise.
-Outstanding drainage. No slippage on natural tees.
-All holes can be considered an Ace Run, depending on skill level.
-Playing from top of the hill is scenic.
Cons: -The course does not open until 10am.
-Very short holes from 90 to 228 feet. Some are actually listed as par 4's.
-Fairways run alongside and too close to each other, with a few groups playing watch your back.
-Missing tee signs, broken tee posts, and bent baskets. Looked like a war zone without the bomb craters. A few tee signs totally missing, had to mark my own tee spot to play the hole.
-If the rough grows in the summer past two feet there could be lost disc potential. Lost disc potential behind #12 where there is a creek behind it.
-What happened to #8? I do not think there ever was one. You walk from 7 basket to 9 tees, no room for #8. Likely this is the second location for the course in the park. From what I have read, more than a decade ago a tropical storm came thru with heavy tree damage, and the course was moved from the park and up to the hill.
-If you like woods golf, there are not trees to hit on this course, unless you fly past #12.
-If you do not have strong legs, you may suffer. Its straight up and down the hill for just about all holes. My legs were burning, and I have swimmer and biking legs. Worse burn than Waller Mill in Williamsburg, Va.
Other Thoughts: From reading the past reviews prior to my visit, the experience was much better than expected. I was expecting a complete disaster. It is odd, the mowing is kept up, but no attention to broken tees and baskets. There is some care given to the course, but it needs to go so much further. If it were up to me, I would shorten the course to 9 holes to salvage tee signs, and baskets. Also, to extend distance and would still be a beginner's course, but also a course for intermediates, and something for Advance to tinker with.
Regardless, there is still some fun playing the course, I enjoyed the elevated holes and playing the wind, just three of them, even though with a putter or easy mid. The rest of the course is down slope, straight up the hill, and a few across the side of the hill. That was okay, just too short. Halfway thru the round with the wind, open course, and short choppy, rough, I thought "this reminds me of a Scottish links". I prefer woods golf, but I would love to see a full length 18-hole Scottish Links Disc Course in my area. With the few elevated tees, wind play, and the Scottish style Disc Golf I give a 3.0 rating and that is where my overall rating is anchored. I would like to come back in the summer and look at green grass and the height of the rough. Also update pictures.
Notable flick of the wrist holes Number 6 and 9 both at 90 feet, an ACE RUN! Well, it's a straight drop down to the basket, the aspect of the basket is very narrow to land a disc. You are looking down on top of the basket.
Notable Straight up the hill holes Number 1, 7, and 16. 7 is at 144 feet throwing straight up looking skyward. At the time I played the course I was rehabbing my form with a standstill. Full driver only went basket high.
Notable Hole #15 Par 3, 175 feet. Straight down hill, elevation of about 20 feet. Nothing between you and the basket but rough and wind. Behind the basket about 30 feet a ditch, and then road, so cannot put a whole lot on your tee shot. The wind will dominate here and will give you some air bumps. Very scenic look.
Signature Hole #11 Par 4, 195 feet. Elevated tee shot of about 20 feet; the basket sits on a plateau that is mowed 10 feet around the basket, looking down on the basket. It slopes downward again past the basket. Choppy, rough all the way down to the basket. In the backdrop is a tree line that runs at a 45-degree angle and parallel to the fairway or line and to the right of the basket, the closes point to the basket about 50 feet. The wind was blowing toward the tree line, I threw an easy mid at least 100 feet to the left of basket and watched the disc fly past the basket and to the edges of the tree line. Very scenic look at the hole from top of the hill, this is where I had the thought of a "Scottish Links", if the rough grows tall in the summer it will even be better. In my opinion, does not qualify as a Par 4.
Trouble Hole #12 Par 4 (does not qualify as a par 4), 225 feet is a 40 foot drop from the top of the hill. The basket is tucked into the tree line, behind the basket into the tree line at about 30 feet is the creek, and slopes into the creek. Choppy, rough from tee to basket, another scenic look from the hill. When I played the hole, wind was blowing to the direction of basket and creek. I am thinking the trees should stop an over thrown disc from reaching the creek, but if it does not. So, I laid up giving me a long putt, it was not until I walk down the hill to my disc, that I realize I now had a possible death putt. #12 would be an upgrade to several holes I have played at about the same distance at other courses, It would give a boost to that course. By itself, #12 is worth a point.





12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Junktion is still Fun

5+    5/1/2018   5/1/2018
Review By: JakedaSnake
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is similar to the area. Nice, slow paced, hardly any people, and really nothing too exceptional. Great course if you're just beginning. My friend and I were excited to see a course come to our area when we discovered it in 2010. We both started playing in Charlotte, and were definitely unimpressed at first. However, Charlotte sets a high bar for courses, and it was just exciting to see the sport in the area. Signs are marked for most of the baskets. Solid elevation changes for an area at sea level. Inspiring to see what used to be a pile of trash turned into something of use. Nice course to practice mid-range and putting. Some holes do not even require a driver. The rough used to be horrible if your throw was off, but they have at least mowed it down to where it is manageable. Most times you can have the whole course to yourself.
Cons: Trees were cut down that used to provide a little bit of a challenge. Some people were not impressed with buried 4x4's acting as tees, but they at least provided some sort of guidance. Those are now gone. The distances may be right on the signs, but they don't provide directions to the next tee, and most are certainly not the par 4's as indicated. Maybe 5 & 16 are accurate since you have to throw uphill. Basket 10 is there, but no sign. I normally play from the 9 tee. The 11 tee can also be used for this. There is also no sign for 15, but I normally just play from the bush. No Basket 8, but it' easy to play Basket 9 first from Basket 7 or 5 depending on your confidence. This confidence can have you ending up in a lot of rough brush. They have made some improvements to the rough, but there are still some bad patches. Just be careful. The layout could use some improvements, but there are very few people playing here so the overlapping fairways aren't too big of a deal. One final thing, the smell. This is a landfill and transfer station for the area. It doesn't always smell, but sometimes on a hot day, with the right wind, your game can be a little off.
Other Thoughts: This will never be a pro course, and I don't think that was the intentions. This is a nice, beginner level course with a few tricks that can easily be conquered. A great place for families, or to snag an easy ace with a mid-range.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 It's Spelled Correctly. It IS Junk!

2-4    7/30/2016   11/30/2016
Review By: BuzzSharpe
Played: 75  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 51.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2016
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It attempts to be a family friendly, fun little, mostly wide open recreational course, which I would normally rave about.
Cons: All of the things aforementioned.... crossing/ conflictual fairways, missing tee signs, baskets and whole holes. Though the course's grass is largely mowed very nicely, very short, whoever mows it obviously doesn't understand that fairways need to be more than ten to twelve feet wide and there needs to be a circumferential area around baskets more than just a couple of feet.
The roughs on this course are so rough, that literal hours of searching on separate occasions, doesn't find a lost disc. You might not even be able to find a disc equipped with a Disc Beeper.
Other Thoughts: If anyone actually plays this course and has found, or should find my beloved blue Blizzard driver, with the Asian style comedy/tragedy masks logo, in the rough behind the #4 basket, please let me know. I will reward its return.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/28/2016   8/28/2016
Review By: Cardinal
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is supporting recycling and some holes provide some good practice. All holes are sufficiently marked with yardage and hole layout.
Cons: Some baskets like #7, #11, & #12 are located in almost impossible location where the best disc golfers would lose their discs. The course was not thought out and designed well. It is one of the worst course layouts I have seen.
Other Thoughts: The course might be useful for practice but you will lose discs.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 "Almost Fun" Junktion

1    6/17/2015   6/19/2015
Review By: Jimb
Played: 126  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 14.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I try to be as positive in my reviews as possible. This course, however, has made it very hard for me to do so. Here we go.

*It's a disc golf course.
*It has 17 baskets, single chain Innovas, with all but one in good shape (#18 cage appears to have been vandalized and is "drooping.").
*The grass was nicely mowed when I played.
*The course is on top of a dump site, which is a great way to re-use the land.
*The course plays on and around a hill, making good use of the limited elevation available with about five holes playing downhill and about six playing uphill.
Cons: *Missing tee markers for #1,8,10,14,15. Couldn't find basket #8.
*Holes are all short, ranging from 90' to 225'.
*There are virtually no trees or other obstructions between the baskets and tees.
*The baskets and/or tees are packed in very tightly. Errant throws could very easily cross into adjacent fairways and tee areas.
*Holes on top of the hill are almost completely wide open.
*Holes along the outside edge of the hill play mainly over and along narrow "fairways" cut through tall/overgrown/thick weeds. These greens are very small with several baskets just feet from the rough.
*The downhill holes generally play directly towards the woods and/or over thick weeds.
*Losing a disc, or at least having to search for an extended time, is very likely.
*Not really good for beginners or advanced players. The wind and rough could make it very frustrating for new players. The short length and long rough could make it very frustrating for experienced players.
Other Thoughts: The nice quality pictures on the site are, unfortunately, outdated as virtually all trees and larger shrubs have been removed from the hill. There really are no wooded holes on the course, unless you end up long on some of the downhill holes, where the rough is the woods.

Based upon the pictures here on DGCR, I believe that I was able to get close to the proper tee areas for #1 and #14. I just guessed for #10 and 15.

For hole #1 follow the disc golf sign down a gravel road. When you see the opening in the weeds on your left, heading up the hill, tee off right as you start up the hill at the entrance to the course. It's a blind shot with the basket uphill and to the left. Beware of how close the rough is to the basket. This opening is just before you get to tee #5, which is under a tree at the bottom of the hill.

#14) Beyond basket #13, there's a path cut out of the weeds/grass that runs down to a road on the far end of the course. There's a flat space before you get to the road. This should be the tee.

This is as close to not having fun as I've ever come on a course. I was more concerned about losing discs than I was about running the baskets because of the tiny fairways/greens and awful rough. This was very frustrating.

I made the trip to the course from the Kill Devil Hills area of the NC OBX. It took me about 1:15 to get there. When I have to travel this far I always want to play more than 18 (17) holes... but I couldn't wait to get off of this course.

Sadly, there are no courses that I could find within an hour of the OBX and this was the closest in NC. (The mileage on DGCR seems to be underestimated by a good bit.)

If you have any other options, I would recommend that you take them. The only reason that I would recommend this course would be if you're trying to play all of the courses, in NC. It will, unfortunately, be the only NC course that I get to play on this trip.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not the original course.

1    7/14/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: Rayzor442
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is so overgrown that there is virtually no traffic at any given time.
Cons: The course is laid out on a large hill. Fairways overlap. Missing baskets, missing tees, missing signage. It's not maintained, see other thoughts for an explanation.
Other Thoughts: As the name implies, Fun Junktion is a park built by the city over an old section of a still active landfill. When the park was built, the city spent a ton of money to make it nice and it truly was. It had an artificial pond for swimming, nice playgrounds, paved walking trails, etc...The discgolf course, as you would expect surrounded the park. A couple of years after it was open, a severe hurricane knocked down most of the trees along the discgolf course making it unusable. The baskets were gathered up and relocated to another area; the hill. It seems that the placement was done without any thought of what would actually work. On top of that, the city has been running on a financial deficit and they have allowed the park to fall into disrepair, hence the missing tees, signs, and baskets mentioned in other reviews. (The park is even worse!) It looks like they only mow the disc golf course because the have to and they only mow the bare minimimum leaving 90% of the course to grow wild. Since they don't mow frequently, even the grass on the fairways is often shin deep. (Anything off the fairway is practically impassable!) Most of your time is spent searching the grass for your discs; even if it landed only a few feet off the fairway. Even though I live 15 minutes away from this course, I drive 45 minutes to a better park. (It's sad; really.)

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Poorly Kept

1    6/21/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: dtomb
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good location, interesting variation in hole shots as well as medium length drives, nice disc catchers. Creative use of bends and surprisingly difficult wrapping drives. The park is fairly secluded, so there is no waiting.
Cons: There were no benches, no restrooms, no hole 8 at all, the tee boxes were poorly marked, two holes shared one catcher at a point, the course appeared to have no rhyme or reason to the tee placement. Several of the posts marking the location of the tee boxes where laying on the ground or the sign marking the the hole, gone all together. The brush around the course has been allowed to grow up vastly too high and several of the holes are located to the point where if the pin is overshot by 10 feet you are in thick, un-maneuverable brush.
Other Thoughts: This course has the potential to be quite enjoyable if it were played in the fall or winter, or if the grounds were kept a little better. The holes themselves do show some imagination and with some work, this would a nice course for a relaxed game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Junktion

5+    10/27/2011   10/29/2011
Review By: germs
Played: 107  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 21.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Lots of variety: uphill, downhill, hyzer and anhyzer.
- Discatcher baskets, in great condition.
- Great for beginners up to advanced: The longest throw is about 230 feet. At first glance, this course seems extremely easy, but with all the rough and variety, it can be tricky with easy ace opportunities (#6, #9) up to technical tunnel shots (#12, #17).
- Very light traffic on the course. On most days, you will be the only one out there!
- Regular weekly tournaments played on Sundays.
- If you do run into anyone out here, the locals are always friendly and willing to play a round with you or show you around the course.
Cons: - Restrooms are located in the back of the park near the playground, a decent hike from the course.
- No benches or trash cans.
- Poison ivy, mosquitos, ticks, and the "rough" areas are VERY rough. Pretty easy to lose a disc if you're not prepared for it.
- Basket #8 is sitting in the shed behind the park office and no attempt to re-install has been made.
- Some fairways cross. With basket #8 missing, #1 and #8 currently share a basket. A lot of holes are close together, but with hardly anybody playing, there isn't much to worry about.
- Strong winds on the hill sometimes. I've had the wind carry a couple of drivers right off the course, across the creek and into EXTREME thorns.
- Fairway grass is usually cut regularly. However, if it's been rainy, they can't get the mowers up on the hill, as was the case this summer. At one point, the grass was waist high.
- There is a landfill and transfer station nearby. On hot days, it can be stinky on the back of the course.
Other Thoughts: - There is a unique geocache available on the course!
- Natural tee-pads only.
- This is such a big, primarily unused park, they could re-design the course and have a lot more variety and distance.
- The course is worth it if you're in the area. If you happen to be out at Farm Life in Williamston or Munden Point in Virginia Beach, consider making the drive.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

1    8/3/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: vb5star
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I got my 2nd ace ever on 8/3/11 on hole 6. Thats why this course got rated a 3, instead of a 2 :). Course has lots of ace runs. Great course for odyssey golf. I dont think it gets much traffic.
Cons: There are lots of cons. The layout could use some tweeking. Hole 8 is missing/stolen. Thick brush lines most fairways. Several holes have steep up hill/blind shots. We herd movment in the grass/brush and thought it was a rabbit or small animal. A 5-6 foot black snake jumped out next to me and my buddy. Brind your hiking shoes and water.
Other Thoughts: Im going to flag out the course on several holes next time we visit. Im going to leave the front seven hole alone. Hole 8 will shoot from 8s tee to ones basket. 9 will be flagged out and shooting blind over tha same area towards nine basket down hill. tens tee will be flagged out since its missing. Hole 15 and 17 also will also be flagged different. Hole 17 will be shortened and will cause you to be throwing close to the ledge down off to the left of the tee for 17. It was a great change of pace for me to play this course since all of the tidewater courses lack elveation

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Junktion

1    6/22/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: RCSMIT10
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Full 18-hole course.
Only course in the area.
Baskets were in good condition.
Cons: Missing 8th hole.
Tees are poorly made, just a small parking log to mark the spot if anything.
Lacked variety, most holes were just on top of the hill.
A large amount of thorns.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.