Trophy Club, TX 
Trophy Club Park Share
Uploaded By: bradcrow4 Hole #7 (Taken 10/2014)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Challenging, rugged course

5+    2/15/2017   2/15/2017
Review By: cc0049
Played: 149  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 14.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When you play at Trophy Club Park's disc golf course, you mostly have the course to yourself. Barring any weekend community events, the course is never used for anything other than disc golf. Since it is a $2 pay-to-play course, it is rarely, if ever crowded. It is a very enjoyable course to play a weekday solo round if you want a little time to think and just enjoy throwing some discs in the woods. This is a pretty rugged course so you definitely get a little bit of a nature hike feel while playing.

There are concrete tee boxes on every hole that are a pretty decent size. Innova Discatcher baskets with the yellow bands are great and have hole numbers marked on them. There are no tee signs, but there are markers by each tee with hole numbers on them.

There is usually a port-o-potty on site near the parking area. There are several Boy Scout crafted trash receptacles throughout the course.

This is a par 60 course that plays very tough. 48 is the best round I have heard of on the long pins, so shooting hot is doable, but usually you are scrapping for course par of 60. A round in the 50s is a very good round. There are a nice variety of shots here. Open/wooded. Straight/Dogleg. There is a very elevated basket on hole 11, which I feel is the most memorable part of the course. The basket on hole 9 is also slightly elevated now with a 2 layer wooden base around it. There are several wooded shots that require great accuracy coupled with some open shots, and a lot of shots where you go back in forth from open to wooded. There is also a good mix of long holes and short holes and middle distance holes. The variety and challenge on this course is truly outstanding.

The front 9 is on one side of the parking area and the back 9 is on the other. This makes for an easy pitstop mid-round. It is also quite easy this way to start on whichever side of the course that you prefer.

There is a short pin and long pin for holes 1, 2, 3, 6, 10, 12, and 18. So you have the "long pin" layout and the "short pin" layout. Unfortunately some of the short pins have been damaged by mowers and are currently unusable. Most likely you will catch the course in long pin mode any time you play it.

There is a map of the course near the double mando trees on hole 1. Take a picture of it if you don't have a map your first time out.
Cons: Unfortunately it is possible to catch this course at a bad time in the summer when the grass is not mowed to a very friendly height, especially off the fairway. The city has not historically done a great job of keeping up with the mowing of the course. DD Carrollton has done most of the real work on this course since it's redesign in 2014.

There are a few holes that I am not a huge fan of. Holes 8, 11, and 17 in particular are such poke and hope holes that they aren't fun to play. You have to play for the 3 on those holes to play them smart. If you want the 2, you might as well close your eyes, throw, and hope for the best. Most likely you're going to hit a tree somewhere along the way on those holes, even with a great drive.

There aren't any tee signs on the course, yet. Tee signs are supposed to happen soon as I understand it.

The course could be a little tricky to follow your first time out if you don't have a map, although a seasoned disc golfer shouldn't have all that much trouble with navigation. Bring a map or someone who knows the course for your first time through if you are unsure about navigating a new course. The tricky spots for navigation are after holes 9 and 10. After hole 9, you cross the parking area and head to the left. The tee for hole 10 is near the road into the disc golf course and tees all the way over the crest of the hill towards the lake. After hole 10, go down the hill until you see 11's tee. Another tricky spot is after hole 12. After the long pin on hole 12, you'll want to continue past it until you see the trail to the left. This trail will take you to hole 13's tee.

The course does have some random junk on it in some places that has been there since before the course was installed. For the most part, however, it is a very litter free course thanks to the trash cans on site and the pay to play aspect.

Elevation change, unfortunately, is also a lacking aspect on this course. This is common to most of DFW.

There are still a few rough patches on the course where you can get cut up by briars. I believe this is exclusive to holes 1 and 2 where the trees have been carved up for basket placement. Same issue near the basket for hole 4. There are other places "off-fairway" that are pretty rough with briars too. Consider that extra motivation to stay on the fairway. Either way, probably a good idea to wear pants to this course!

There is likely to be dirt bike noise while you are playing. Just imagine that sound is a chain saw cutting down the trees that would have been in the way. Happy thoughts.
Other Thoughts: Trophy Club Park's disc golf course is an excellent disc golf course. It is located on the back side of a neighborhood in Trophy Club and sits right next to Lake Grapevine. There is a $2 fee to get in at the gate for day use. The fee used to be $1. They raised it after the park reopened after the flooding. I assume it is because they needed the extra revenue after being closed for so long. The park is also used for Dirt Bike riding but this doesn't overlap with the course. The closest place that the two come into contact is parallel to holes 5 and 6.

This course has had 3 different permutations. It was originally a 9 hole course that played very tough. A student group at UNT later came in and did a horrible redesign to an 18 hole layout with very short holes (under 100 feet) and made gravel pit tee boxes. THIS REDESIGN WAS AWFUL. Unfortunately, there are still some remnants of it. You may notice old tee signs still out and kitty litter looking tee boxes as well. The course was redesigned a 2nd time in 2014 to it's current design by Dynamic Discs Carrollton (formerly DD Lewisville). DD Carrollton are the primary caretakers of the course aside from mowing which the city contracts out and has been inconsistent with to say the least. Unfortunately it is possible to catch this course at a bad time in the summer when the grass is not mowed to a very friendly height, especially off the fairway. The course also underwent flooding in the summer of 2015 that really wrecked the whole park with debris from flood waters. After LOTS of clean-up work, the course looks just about as good as it ever has now. Hopefully this trend continues. It is also a good idea to call ahead on weekends to find out if there are any events taking place in the park. When there are community events taking place, they like to use the fairways on holes 1, 2, 9, and 10. Your 18 hole round can easily turn into a 14 hole round when that occurs and parking can be hard to come by.

Course rules that may be easy to miss: pipe railing and beyond is always ob, as is road and beyond and lake water. There is a double mando on hole 1 and hole 11 between trees in front of the tee box. There is a mando on hole 6 that prevents the spike hyzer. It is usually marked with a ribbon. Water on 18 is played as OB even though it is technically rain water. It is there for the majority of the year.

There are short tees marked by numbered markers. I'm not sure if they are all there. I don't know of anyone that uses these. I've never heard where they came from either. Kind of a mystery.

There is a mini-tournament here usually once per month on Saturday mornings. Check the schedule here: https://www.facebook.com/grou...774054137090/

Drive the actual speed limit or slower through Trophy Club!!! The police in Trophy Club don't play...AT ALL. Seriously, though, don't speed in Trophy Club.

Meet U Anywhere is on Trophy Club Drive and 114. Do yourself a favor and eat there. Grab cheap breakfast tacos in the morning!

Go buy a disc or two at Dynamic Discs Carrollton and thank them for all of their hard work on the course. https://www.facebook.com/Dyna...csCarrollton/

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


1    7/13/2016   7/18/2016
Review By: nckirksey
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2017
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Maybe one day, they'll clean this place up a bit and I'll return. I'm really sad, since the course got such good reviews from earlier players.
Cons: When I tried to play here, the grass was above my ankles and fairways were full of debris. A great area for snakes to chill out, especially since it's near a lake (copperheads/cottonmouths anyone?).

The back 6 holes were missing when I came out for my round.

Ended up leaving, since I saw a copperhead on the first fairway. My disc landed about 20 feet from it.
Other Thoughts: Apparently, I'm getting a lot of downvotes (including some guy who went through my review history and downvoted all of my reviews - get a life) since I don't like some peoples' home course. I understand that the city doesn't maintain the course and DD Carrollton does most of the work. Still doesn't make the course a 4/5 in my book.

I like not having to worry about being bitten by a venomous snake when I try to play a round of 18. It seems the course has been fixed up since I last tried to play it. Maybe I'll return one day.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic and very challenging course

1    12/21/2015   12/21/2015
Review By: bball7273
Played: 66  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - HUGE concrete tee pads, which were very new and grippy
- Innova Discatcher pro baskets in great condition and easy to see in the woods
- While there was some underbrush in places, for the most part there wasn't (especially in the front 9), which meant that losing a disc was less likley
- Restrooms near the first tee
- One of the biggest pros for this course IMO is the fact that there was so much variety. Since so many courses just have the same type of holes over and over, it was nice to see a great mixture of all types. You have dogleg lefts, dogleg rights, wide open holes, tight tunnel shots, over water shots, tight wooded shots, holes that go from wide open to wooded and vice versa. There was so much variety in the layout, which yielded all sorts of throws and discs to use.
- This course was challenging! I love a good challenge! Varying types of difficulty were found on the course, such as longer distances, tight fairways that required a throw on the money, blind throws, varying distances from hole to hole, so on and so forth. It was a good challenge.
- The front and back nine formulate two loops, which is beneficial because if you only have time for 9 holes, you wont end up super far from the car, as the 9th will come back to the parking lot.
- A cool aspect this course had was 3 different tees. While the shorter two were just natural tees, they still took the time to designate them as shorter tees, which makes this course not as hard for the beginner or less expirienced player.
- The land was used very well for the course, as every aspect of the land was used in order to make it more challenging and fun.
- Multiple pin positions
- The basket positions were in great spots. The design of the course
- I never got bored with this course, as each hole was different from one another and new challenges were created.
Cons: - Navigation. While it was pretty simple to navigate from hole to hole, there were definetley some spots that were quite confusing. I highly reccomend bringing the map from the link and files tab on the site.
- Not a huge issue, but some walks in between holes were longer than usual, which made you want to think the way you were going was incorrect.
- No tee signs. The only sign at the course was a map at the beginning, but other than that, there were no tee signs showing where the basket was if you couldnt see it from the tee, and of course no signs saying where the next tee was.
- Some of the tight wooded holes had not been cleared out, which didnt really give a real and defined fairway. This was frusturating because you basically had to throw right on the money on those holes in order to have any shot at a birdie or par.
- pay to play, but was a very cheap price.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is phenomenal! All this course needs is a little bit more clearing out of trees and some tee signs and it is all set to be one of the best in the DFW area. The variety that this course offers makes a round at Trophy Club Park not only challenging, but exciting and fun as well. This course is definetley worth your time to play!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Frustrating but Fun

1    10/18/2015   10/20/2015
Review By: Johnyfo8
Played: 59  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a beautiful park and mostly free of litter.
There were technical, open (but not many), short and long shots.
The tee pads are huge and very grippy. #1 is the only one that wasn't as big as the rest.
Very low traffic
Elevated basket on hole 11 was pretty sweet.
The baskets were in good shape.
Cons: Navigating between holes seemed too long and there were only a couple of signs.
There were some spray painted arrows on a few holes that helped but the flow was not intuitive.
There were too many trees on most of the first 12 holes.
There is more briar and thorny rough than I have ever seen on a course.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my round and the course is challenging but fun. It seemed like there were too many trees close to the baskets (within 100ft or so) to pick out a line at all. I found myself picking a spot, throwing and praying it makes it through. I am definitely an advocate for keeping the trees and bushes as much as possible on a course but it was excessive here and frustrating as a result. I would like to see more elevation change in a course if possible and there was not much on this one. I had to search for the next tee pad on most of the holes and that was frustrating as well. If you want to challenge your accuracy then this is a great course for you.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 As I walk through the blackened forest...

1    3/17/2015   4/27/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 397  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has challenging lines and a good mixture of short, moderate, and longer holes. There are both dog leg L/R holes too. There are multiple tees and pin placements to give you different options. Tee pads were ample.
This course uses the present elevation well and there was some water in the pond on 18(or water hole) that made for an epic finishing hole.
There are a couple of places where you can air out a drive, hole 10 especially.
The elevated basket on 11 was sweet and it offers a good risk vs reward.
The front 9 has some excellent technical holes and the back 9 has some cool tunnel/hallway shots were accuracy is going to come in handy.
Trash cans throughout the course.
Cons: This course has some navigation issues in spots so first time users should take a copy of the map to guide them.
The walk between holes, more so on the back 9 but the front 9 has a couple of spots as well, are long and slow the flow of the round down a bit. This is especially true on the transition from 12's basket to 13's tee.
The lack of signage needs to be addressed and would help with the navigation issues.
The rough can be rough and thorny so be advised.
No other amenities except the porta-john so prepare accordingly.
Other Thoughts: This course is pay to play but for a buck its well worth it. This course will test your accuracy and test your mental game as well. This isn't a grip and rip park style course. If you are a fan of technical courses this will be right up your alley. The disc golf shots here are challenging and excellent.
Hopefully the signage issues will be addressed making this course even better. Over time this course should beat in well as more and more players come out and play this nice technical course. If you are in the area I highly recommend playing here. At a buck you can't go wrong!!!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Even better than Participation Ribbon Club

1    4/6/2015   4/19/2015
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 182  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2015
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Despite driving through a fairly active residential community on the way to the course, the park was not that busy and I only saw three other disc golfers on a pleasant Monday evening.

Hole 1 is a long drive into a pin in the woods, and most of the front 9 thereafter is wooded and fairly technical. All of the lines felt challenging but fair, and intermediate players will find the level appropriate.

The back 9 is slightly more open, but other than hole 10, I don't recall any true grip and rip holes. Rather, there are longish fairways with woods on either side, so accurate distance is key.

Several of these holes feature multiple lines to the basket with landing zones that I wish I had another round to take a shot at. Hole 17 was probably the best example of this with trees dotting the fairway but several distinct possibilities for long drives to set up a birdie approach.

Hole 18 was the only one that featured water. I had no trouble clearing the pond with a Buzzz, but there are a couple trees to negotiate. If you play this course frequently, I'd say plunking a disc in the pond is pretty likely, but the hole is not asking you to do anything unusual.

Update: a local informed me that this pond is not a normal feature but was there after a lot of rain. So enjoy it while it lasts!

Tees are concrete and pretty large.
Cons: There appear to be remnants of an earlier design of this course which made navigation a little confusing at times. There were no tee signs (except one or two for holes that don't seem to exist anymore), and several of the baskets were blind. I had to consult the map a lot, although the trails were pretty worn in, so getting around without a map is probably possible.

There isn't much elevation, although hole 11 features a basket on top of a big mound with very steep sides. I didn't love this hole. Rather than having a good risk/reward profile, there didn't seem to be much of a layup option.

While I don't count this in my rating, the peace and quiet of the park is pretty disrupted by the dirt bike track right next to the course. Can't be too picky about these things, but it did sound like a chainsaw the entire round.
Other Thoughts: The drive through the neighborhood of McMansions (or whatever the next step up is. Five Guys Mansions? Qdoba Mansions?) reminded me of Plantation Heritage in Charlotte. It is refreshing to see a course get approved right next to an area that appears to be pretty affluent.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyed this course A LOT!

1    9/11/2014   10/12/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Outstanding course for Advance/Pro players
- Tons of challenge and shot types
- Fairly well maintained
- Multiple tees
- Good parking and plenty of trash cans
- Port-Johns at hole 1
Cons: - Can be difficult to navigate, just use common sense and you'll be OK
Other Thoughts: I'm told I played this course after the re-design and installation or all 18 holes. Great job to the designer. Never a boring shots on this course. Wish I didn't have to pay to get into the park, but it was worth the admission (think it was $1.50/car).

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/31/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: AthruZ
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Phenomenal, indeed and it will only get better with time. This course has really helped improve my hyzer flicks as I am predominantly a sidearm player.

Love the variety of long and short holes. Little paths walking through reminds me of Hill Country and I have already seen deer and an armadillo. This is nature at it's best.

Teepads are great as they're very new, some could be a little longer but overall satisfactory.

Best time to play is during the early morning when the sun rises and it's cooler during the summer. Looking forward to seeing what the winter looks like out there.
Cons: Hole 17 - LOTS of small tree stumps (throughout the course) and the ground is not very leveled. I believe over time, it will get better and hopefully new grass will be grown around that area as well as a few trees to be chopped down.

No benches but I've heard it will be the Boys Scout project. Meanwhile, bring along a chair.

ATV trail is pretty close to Hole 5. Kicking up dirt and making noises. Luckily it's a pretty easy hole unless you decide to do a thumber and lose your disc.
Other Thoughts: City park, pay a dollar for entrance. Watch your speeding in the area, cops are always hiding.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in DFW

5+    5/17/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 67  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2016
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is made up of two nine hole loops, one on each side of the road. Both loops feature very technical holes. We played after a tournament, and all the pins were in the longs, which makes it a very beastly course. This is not a bomber course, nearly all the holes a very wooded. It doesn't favor left or right fading shots, also including shots that need to take unusual lines. It is a very simple course to navigate, the trails between the holes are very clear and enjoyable. There's no rough terrain, it'd be good for strollers or the wheeled disc bags. The holes are all very cleared out, not much over growth to eat your discs. It's all very nice looking aside from one hole that I'll mention later. Multiple pin locations, and multiple tees. The park has restrooms, picnic tables, the usual amenities. It also has a lot of dirt bike trails, something you don't see much of anymore. None of the dirt bike activities get near the disc golf, so this was thought out well. It's technically a pay-to-play course, but it's $1 per vehicle, so it's not much to get in. I've payed more in tolls to get to some other courses. Posts for tee signs are in place, and it looks like the signs are not far away.
Cons: Hole number 9 has a parking lot located to the right of the tees. the short tee has you throwing over that due to the tree to the left. I had to throw directly over a parked vehicle, and from the short tees you're close enough to do significant damage if you're shot is accidentally a bit low.
Other Thoughts: This really is one of the best courses in the DFW area now. I'd say in my opinion, it's the best that I've played in this area. I'd be very surprised if I didn't see it move up the ratings very quickly.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 One of my new favorites

2-4    5/10/2014   5/16/2014
Review By: geoloseth
Played: 44  Reviewed: 9
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's a long list of pros but the things that stick in my mind are:
1. Wide variety of shots needed. Most of the holes have a defined fairway and while some allow you to throw as hard as you want they will punish an errant or bad shot (especially on 17).

2. It doesn't favor RH or LH. The course is a mix of doglegs and gentle sweepers in both directions. Even the short holes require precision.

3. Multiple pin placements. It goes without saying that having multiple pins for a good number of holes gives this course higher replay value.

4. This will be a little harder to convey, but the holes don't aren't your typical design. You can't just throw any-old-shot that will hit a gap and then skip right to leave you with a guaranteed putt at the basket. Probably 75% of the holes in both layouts require precise distance for a given line in order to have that put. Most greens have strategically placed trees around the pins to toughen up a missed upshot or drive. This gives it a good feel of having greens that "two putt". Again, something that most in the area don't have.

5. This is a pay to enter park on ACoE land. This means that the park will be maintained much better than a city park that is simply mowed on a schedule.

6. The wind will make this course play completely different each time. The fairways are lined with cedar and juniper which means that you have the option to throw up and over them on some holes. This means that each hole will play much, much differently with each change in wind direction.
Cons: There is only one con that really came to mind. This is the motocross track that sits adjacent to the course. I don't dislike them other than the fact that they are EXTREMELY loud. One of the tracks sits directly off of hole 6 and 7. I found the more they went on during the opening tournament the more I just naturally drowned them out in my head, but get a couple of them out there racing each other and there's little you can do to not notice the noise.
Other Thoughts: It's the first course designed by the guys at DD Lewisville and I think they did an impeccable job with the land that they have. Many people will say that some fairways (hole 17 more than most) need to be cleared out more. Just remember that this is ACoE land and that any tree over 2" in diameter has to go through red tape to cut unless it's on their list of invasive non native species. There's a huge mix of holes with multiple pins and soon to be multiple tees that will keep you coming back to this course again and again. Hopefully the guys at DD will get to design more courses in our area. Right now it plays as a 4 in my opinion, but once this course gets worn in through playing it will be very much worthy of the solid 4.5 that I gave it.

On another note. I know that the tee signs for each hole and directions to the next hole are being made and/or waiting to get installed so I didn't add that aspect to the cons section. For the time being it will be a little difficult to navigate between a couple holes without someone that knows the way. But after the first time most people shouldn't have a problem finding their way around.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.