Trophy Club, TX 
Trophy Club Park Share
Uploaded By: bradcrow4 Hole #11 (Taken 10/2014)
3 / 330ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Good, but could be better

5+    10/3/2020   6/15/2018
Review By: aclay
Played: 197  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 36.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2020
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- The course makes excellent use of the land with uphill and downhill throws and plenty of trees.It also doesn't overly favor RHBH throws.
-- Hole 11 (at least the basket) is my favorite, with the basket sitting on a narrow ledge that makes your approach challenging. Unless you are very good (or lucky) you will have an uphill putt.
-- Multiple tees and pin placements to give you different options.
-- There are a couple of places where you can air out a drive, hole 10 especially. Other longer holes have narrower fairways that make you think about distance vs. accuracy.
-- The setting is beautiful and peaceful, except for the dirt bikes, which are most noticeable on holes 5-7.
-- Plenty of trash cans.
-- Port-o-potties.
Cons: -- Navigation was a big issue. In general, there are worn paths, and signage (although small) helps.
-- The walk between holes is frequently long. I enjoy the walk, but that definitely can interrupt the flow and make a round take longer.
-- While trees are a good thing, many of the holes have too many and leave you with fairways that are too tight.
-- The trees are also an issue on some "open" holes, such as No. 1, in the long position. The short position has the basket in the edge of the trees. The long position pushes the basket 75 feet deep into a thick cluster of trees, leaving you to throw and hope on most approach shots.
-- I am OK with mandos that exist for a safety reason or to separate fairways, but mandos for the sake of mandos are not good, and double mandos almost always fall into that category. Nos. 1 and 11 both fit that description.
Other Thoughts: -- With so many free options that are excellent, I am not a fan of paying. However, it's only $2. Cash payment does not give change, so come prepared.
-- The course is basically two 9-hole loops on opposite sides of the parking lot. That makes for a long walk from 9 to 10 (since you not only have to cross the parking lot but walk the length of the No. 10 fairway), but going past your car after 9 holes is a good thing in the heat of a Texas summer.
-- The water carry on 18 varies greatly in size. I have seen it cover the short tee pad.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 So worth the $2.00

2-4    9/9/2017   9/10/2017
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 382  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of walking
Some open then some wooded
Fells like you are in the country
Nice baskets
Nice flow
Nothing blind
Easy to follow
Cons: Stickers stickers stickers
No distance marked
Grass high and hides white tees if you are playing those
Other Thoughts: This is worth the 2.00 very few people can walk over 2 miles on just 18.

Also smells great away from cars and buildings and traffic

Just with there were signs on each hole.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Frustrating but Fun

1    10/18/2015   10/20/2015
Review By: Johnyfo8
Played: 100  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a beautiful park and mostly free of litter.
There were technical, open (but not many), short and long shots.
The tee pads are huge and very grippy. #1 is the only one that wasn't as big as the rest.
Very low traffic
Elevated basket on hole 11 was pretty sweet.
The baskets were in good shape.
Cons: Navigating between holes seemed too long and there were only a couple of signs.
There were some spray painted arrows on a few holes that helped but the flow was not intuitive.
There were too many trees on most of the first 12 holes.
There is more briar and thorny rough than I have ever seen on a course.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my round and the course is challenging but fun. It seemed like there were too many trees close to the baskets (within 100ft or so) to pick out a line at all. I found myself picking a spot, throwing and praying it makes it through. I am definitely an advocate for keeping the trees and bushes as much as possible on a course but it was excessive here and frustrating as a result. I would like to see more elevation change in a course if possible and there was not much on this one. I had to search for the next tee pad on most of the holes and that was frustrating as well. If you want to challenge your accuracy then this is a great course for you.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Even better than Participation Ribbon Club

1    4/6/2015   4/19/2015
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 196  Reviewed: 190  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2015
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Despite driving through a fairly active residential community on the way to the course, the park was not that busy and I only saw three other disc golfers on a pleasant Monday evening.

Hole 1 is a long drive into a pin in the woods, and most of the front 9 thereafter is wooded and fairly technical. All of the lines felt challenging but fair, and intermediate players will find the level appropriate.

The back 9 is slightly more open, but other than hole 10, I don't recall any true grip and rip holes. Rather, there are longish fairways with woods on either side, so accurate distance is key.

Several of these holes feature multiple lines to the basket with landing zones that I wish I had another round to take a shot at. Hole 17 was probably the best example of this with trees dotting the fairway but several distinct possibilities for long drives to set up a birdie approach.

Hole 18 was the only one that featured water. I had no trouble clearing the pond with a Buzzz, but there are a couple trees to negotiate. If you play this course frequently, I'd say plunking a disc in the pond is pretty likely, but the hole is not asking you to do anything unusual.

Update: a local informed me that this pond is not a normal feature but was there after a lot of rain. So enjoy it while it lasts!

Tees are concrete and pretty large.
Cons: There appear to be remnants of an earlier design of this course which made navigation a little confusing at times. There were no tee signs (except one or two for holes that don't seem to exist anymore), and several of the baskets were blind. I had to consult the map a lot, although the trails were pretty worn in, so getting around without a map is probably possible.

There isn't much elevation, although hole 11 features a basket on top of a big mound with very steep sides. I didn't love this hole. Rather than having a good risk/reward profile, there didn't seem to be much of a layup option.

While I don't count this in my rating, the peace and quiet of the park is pretty disrupted by the dirt bike track right next to the course. Can't be too picky about these things, but it did sound like a chainsaw the entire round.
Other Thoughts: The drive through the neighborhood of McMansions (or whatever the next step up is. Five Guys Mansions? Qdoba Mansions?) reminded me of Plantation Heritage in Charlotte. It is refreshing to see a course get approved right next to an area that appears to be pretty affluent.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Just reopened!

1    5/10/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: TxViper3187
Played: 32  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 19 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice large concrete tees
Good mix of holes (Tight wooded shots, long open bombers, left and right dog legs, 2 double mando shots, and an elevated basket on 11)
Quality baskets (although some people don't like the Innova chastity belts)
Some holes have alt pin and tee pad locations
Cons: Snakes (One was killed during tournament and at least 2 more seen in the "rough")
Signs just indicate hole # and footage
Only benches and trash cans were near holes 1 and 10
Other Thoughts: While the course is "complete" and playable there is still some work to be done before this becomes the championship level course it has the potential to be. Looking forward to playing it again.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.