Trophy Club, TX 
Trophy Club Park Share
Uploaded By: bradcrow4 Hole #1 (Taken 10/2014)
4 / 475ft.   3 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Double mando through trees seen ahead



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 As I walk through the blackened forest...

1    3/17/2015   4/27/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 717  Reviewed: 214  Exp: 11 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has challenging lines and a good mixture of short, moderate, and longer holes. There are both dog leg L/R holes too. There are multiple tees and pin placements to give you different options. Tee pads were ample.
This course uses the present elevation well and there was some water in the pond on 18(or water hole) that made for an epic finishing hole.
There are a couple of places where you can air out a drive, hole 10 especially.
The elevated basket on 11 was sweet and it offers a good risk vs reward.
The front 9 has some excellent technical holes and the back 9 has some cool tunnel/hallway shots were accuracy is going to come in handy.
Trash cans throughout the course.
Cons: This course has some navigation issues in spots so first time users should take a copy of the map to guide them.
The walk between holes, more so on the back 9 but the front 9 has a couple of spots as well, are long and slow the flow of the round down a bit. This is especially true on the transition from 12's basket to 13's tee.
The lack of signage needs to be addressed and would help with the navigation issues.
The rough can be rough and thorny so be advised.
No other amenities except the porta-john so prepare accordingly.
Other Thoughts: This course is pay to play but for a buck its well worth it. This course will test your accuracy and test your mental game as well. This isn't a grip and rip park style course. If you are a fan of technical courses this will be right up your alley. The disc golf shots here are challenging and excellent.
Hopefully the signage issues will be addressed making this course even better. Over time this course should beat in well as more and more players come out and play this nice technical course. If you are in the area I highly recommend playing here. At a buck you can't go wrong!!!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Even better than Participation Ribbon Club

1    4/6/2015   4/19/2015
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 196  Reviewed: 190  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2015
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Despite driving through a fairly active residential community on the way to the course, the park was not that busy and I only saw three other disc golfers on a pleasant Monday evening.

Hole 1 is a long drive into a pin in the woods, and most of the front 9 thereafter is wooded and fairly technical. All of the lines felt challenging but fair, and intermediate players will find the level appropriate.

The back 9 is slightly more open, but other than hole 10, I don't recall any true grip and rip holes. Rather, there are longish fairways with woods on either side, so accurate distance is key.

Several of these holes feature multiple lines to the basket with landing zones that I wish I had another round to take a shot at. Hole 17 was probably the best example of this with trees dotting the fairway but several distinct possibilities for long drives to set up a birdie approach.

Hole 18 was the only one that featured water. I had no trouble clearing the pond with a Buzzz, but there are a couple trees to negotiate. If you play this course frequently, I'd say plunking a disc in the pond is pretty likely, but the hole is not asking you to do anything unusual.

Update: a local informed me that this pond is not a normal feature but was there after a lot of rain. So enjoy it while it lasts!

Tees are concrete and pretty large.
Cons: There appear to be remnants of an earlier design of this course which made navigation a little confusing at times. There were no tee signs (except one or two for holes that don't seem to exist anymore), and several of the baskets were blind. I had to consult the map a lot, although the trails were pretty worn in, so getting around without a map is probably possible.

There isn't much elevation, although hole 11 features a basket on top of a big mound with very steep sides. I didn't love this hole. Rather than having a good risk/reward profile, there didn't seem to be much of a layup option.

While I don't count this in my rating, the peace and quiet of the park is pretty disrupted by the dirt bike track right next to the course. Can't be too picky about these things, but it did sound like a chainsaw the entire round.
Other Thoughts: The drive through the neighborhood of McMansions (or whatever the next step up is. Five Guys Mansions? Qdoba Mansions?) reminded me of Plantation Heritage in Charlotte. It is refreshing to see a course get approved right next to an area that appears to be pretty affluent.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyed this course A LOT!

1    9/11/2014   10/12/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Outstanding course for Advance/Pro players
- Tons of challenge and shot types
- Fairly well maintained
- Multiple tees
- Good parking and plenty of trash cans
- Port-Johns at hole 1
Cons: - Can be difficult to navigate, just use common sense and you'll be OK
Other Thoughts: I'm told I played this course after the re-design and installation or all 18 holes. Great job to the designer. Never a boring shots on this course. Wish I didn't have to pay to get into the park, but it was worth the admission (think it was $1.50/car).

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/31/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: AthruZ
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Phenomenal, indeed and it will only get better with time. This course has really helped improve my hyzer flicks as I am predominantly a sidearm player.

Love the variety of long and short holes. Little paths walking through reminds me of Hill Country and I have already seen deer and an armadillo. This is nature at it's best.

Teepads are great as they're very new, some could be a little longer but overall satisfactory.

Best time to play is during the early morning when the sun rises and it's cooler during the summer. Looking forward to seeing what the winter looks like out there.
Cons: Hole 17 - LOTS of small tree stumps (throughout the course) and the ground is not very leveled. I believe over time, it will get better and hopefully new grass will be grown around that area as well as a few trees to be chopped down.

No benches but I've heard it will be the Boys Scout project. Meanwhile, bring along a chair.

ATV trail is pretty close to Hole 5. Kicking up dirt and making noises. Luckily it's a pretty easy hole unless you decide to do a thumber and lose your disc.
Other Thoughts: City park, pay a dollar for entrance. Watch your speeding in the area, cops are always hiding.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in DFW

5+    5/17/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 79  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2016
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is made up of two nine hole loops, one on each side of the road. Both loops feature very technical holes. We played after a tournament, and all the pins were in the longs, which makes it a very beastly course. This is not a bomber course, nearly all the holes a very wooded. It doesn't favor left or right fading shots, also including shots that need to take unusual lines. It is a very simple course to navigate, the trails between the holes are very clear and enjoyable. There's no rough terrain, it'd be good for strollers or the wheeled disc bags. The holes are all very cleared out, not much over growth to eat your discs. It's all very nice looking aside from one hole that I'll mention later. Multiple pin locations, and multiple tees. The park has restrooms, picnic tables, the usual amenities. It also has a lot of dirt bike trails, something you don't see much of anymore. None of the dirt bike activities get near the disc golf, so this was thought out well. It's technically a pay-to-play course, but it's $1 per vehicle, so it's not much to get in. I've payed more in tolls to get to some other courses. Posts for tee signs are in place, and it looks like the signs are not far away.
Cons: Hole number 9 has a parking lot located to the right of the tees. the short tee has you throwing over that due to the tree to the left. I had to throw directly over a parked vehicle, and from the short tees you're close enough to do significant damage if you're shot is accidentally a bit low.
Other Thoughts: This really is one of the best courses in the DFW area now. I'd say in my opinion, it's the best that I've played in this area. I'd be very surprised if I didn't see it move up the ratings very quickly.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 One of my new favorites

2-4    5/10/2014   5/16/2014
Review By: geoloseth
Played: 45  Reviewed: 9
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's a long list of pros but the things that stick in my mind are:
1. Wide variety of shots needed. Most of the holes have a defined fairway and while some allow you to throw as hard as you want they will punish an errant or bad shot (especially on 17).

2. It doesn't favor RH or LH. The course is a mix of doglegs and gentle sweepers in both directions. Even the short holes require precision.

3. Multiple pin placements. It goes without saying that having multiple pins for a good number of holes gives this course higher replay value.

4. This will be a little harder to convey, but the holes don't aren't your typical design. You can't just throw any-old-shot that will hit a gap and then skip right to leave you with a guaranteed putt at the basket. Probably 75% of the holes in both layouts require precise distance for a given line in order to have that put. Most greens have strategically placed trees around the pins to toughen up a missed upshot or drive. This gives it a good feel of having greens that "two putt". Again, something that most in the area don't have.

5. This is a pay to enter park on ACoE land. This means that the park will be maintained much better than a city park that is simply mowed on a schedule.

6. The wind will make this course play completely different each time. The fairways are lined with cedar and juniper which means that you have the option to throw up and over them on some holes. This means that each hole will play much, much differently with each change in wind direction.
Cons: There is only one con that really came to mind. This is the motocross track that sits adjacent to the course. I don't dislike them other than the fact that they are EXTREMELY loud. One of the tracks sits directly off of hole 6 and 7. I found the more they went on during the opening tournament the more I just naturally drowned them out in my head, but get a couple of them out there racing each other and there's little you can do to not notice the noise.
Other Thoughts: It's the first course designed by the guys at DD Lewisville and I think they did an impeccable job with the land that they have. Many people will say that some fairways (hole 17 more than most) need to be cleared out more. Just remember that this is ACoE land and that any tree over 2" in diameter has to go through red tape to cut unless it's on their list of invasive non native species. There's a huge mix of holes with multiple pins and soon to be multiple tees that will keep you coming back to this course again and again. Hopefully the guys at DD will get to design more courses in our area. Right now it plays as a 4 in my opinion, but once this course gets worn in through playing it will be very much worthy of the solid 4.5 that I gave it.

On another note. I know that the tee signs for each hole and directions to the next hole are being made and/or waiting to get installed so I didn't add that aspect to the cons section. For the time being it will be a little difficult to navigate between a couple holes without someone that knows the way. But after the first time most people shouldn't have a problem finding their way around.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Just reopened!

1    5/10/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: TxViper3187
Played: 32  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 19 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice large concrete tees
Good mix of holes (Tight wooded shots, long open bombers, left and right dog legs, 2 double mando shots, and an elevated basket on 11)
Quality baskets (although some people don't like the Innova chastity belts)
Some holes have alt pin and tee pad locations
Cons: Snakes (One was killed during tournament and at least 2 more seen in the "rough")
Signs just indicate hole # and footage
Only benches and trash cans were near holes 1 and 10
Other Thoughts: While the course is "complete" and playable there is still some work to be done before this becomes the championship level course it has the potential to be. Looking forward to playing it again.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great layout, but flawed course

5+    12/27/2016   7/28/2012
Review By: thejake78
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 18 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2016
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good mixture of wooded, technical holes and wide-open holes
- Course will test a variety of shots and your ability to hit different lines
- Decently-sized concrete tee pads
- Multiple pin locations on several holes
- Portable toilets next to #1
Cons: - Signage is limited to concrete blocks at teepads showing the hole numbers
- Navigation can be tricky for people unfamiliar with the course. No course map on-site.
- #1 and #9 play a little close to the road, #10 close to parking area; could be a problem with a RHBH turnover or LHBH throws.
- Little bit noisy with the MX/ATV trails nearby. Worse, the beginner track runs next to #5 and #6, and drivers/riders sometimes leave the marked areas and drive onto the DG course
- A few places tend to get and stay pretty muddy at times
- The growth off the fairways is very thick and thorny in a lot of places
- The grass is allowed to grow very high at times during warmer/wetter months, including the fairways
- The course, while fun, is not particularly beginner-friendly due to the technical nature
- Fairways around #1 and #2 are sometimes used for non-DG activities by the parks department
- After periods of heavy rain the park is sometimes closed due to flooding
Other Thoughts: -Currently $2 to drive into the park
Full disclosure: Trophy Club Park is my home course. This is a course that tests my game every time I go out there, and it is an enjoyable course. For me, the design of the course scores very well, but the course has its flaws.

It should be noted that when we have stretches with heavy rain, the park will be closed. Due to the proximity to Lake Grapevine, the park can experience flooding. In some of the admittedly extreme examples in recent years, the course was under water, and the park was closed for several weeks. From these episodes there are still piles of broken limbs around the park and the course (though not in the way of anything). After heavy rains, definitely check to see if the course is playable before making the drive.

There is a problem with high grass throughout the course at times, particularly when it is too wet to mow. I have given up partway through a round before here due to growing tired of looking for discs in the knee-high grass in the middle of fairways.

It would be nice to see signage added to the course (maps, info, pin locations etc)

There needs to be a barrier of some sort between the DG course and the ATV/MX track to prevent drivers from wandering onto the course.

Despite these issues, I still rate this course highly. This course has a great layout, and at its best it is scenic and absolutely worth playing; one of the better courses in the DFW area. The flaws could justify, however, a lower rating when the course is not at its best, maybe as much as a point or two lower.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worst course I've played to date.

1    4/18/2012   4/19/2012
Review By: zendragon
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2015
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a change from the previous layout. This was the worst course I had ever played, and now it's one of my favorites. The short holes are still challenging. Some days you can hit every line and end up with several drop in birdies, but more likely you're going to clip one of the many trees and have a tough upshot just to hit par. It's tough, but so rewarding when you hit the line.
Cons: Navigation can be confusing. There are still old paths from back when the course was terrible. They have laid out branches to mark the correct paths though. Follow these and you'll be good.
Other Thoughts: It's a dollar to enter the course and it has a closing time. The dollar isn't a con to me because it helps keep the park so well maintained.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 untapped potential

1    4/8/2016   11/15/2011
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 1004  Reviewed: 367  Exp: 33.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/8/2016
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has been redesigned twice sense I last played it

Tee pads for all holes
Good condition Innova Baskets
Alternate pin positions on many of the holes
Very good use of land
Wide variety of holes
Classic hole 18
Cons: Tee signs are missing for all the holes
The rough is rough, DON'T throw off the fairways
does not always have defined fairways.
Other Thoughts: for fun, I am leaving my original thoughs on the original 9 hole course. at the bottom.

This course is now one of the top courses in the North Texas area. Very heavy wooded areas, along with a few areas to really rip it.

You have 9 holes on one side of the street (inside the circle) and 9 holes on the bathroom side of the street.

Better get your birdies on the front 9, the back is tough. Several 2 shot holes unless you got a monkey arm.

For the most part, throw down the fairway, take your up shot and you will do good.

Now for some fun, here is my original hole by hole review. not one of these holes are left.

Ok, hole by hole recap and review

#1, nice little hyzer shot. The tee was marked with a very worn out flag. My drive got stuck in a tree.....

#2 I was unable to find this hole the first round, I even looked for it for 20 min. The map is NOT correct here. I have NO idea where the real tee is, I teed off from area next to the road down the path to the basket about 400ft away. I took a 3 playing from here only because of a great putt.
#3, there is a good path you can see from the basket over to this tee. As soon as you come to the fairway, the tee is on the other side of the path. It was not really marked, but had a good worn tee box I could see. The hole is a pretty good anhyzer shot about 275 ft. I got my bird here.

#4 Short path to a very short shot though the woods. I tried an over the head shot (tomato, tomahawk, grenade) that got stuck in a tree 20ft from the basket. The fairway is very tight, the over the top shot is good here.

#5 not marked but plaed from a worn spot. Slight anhyzer shot, not a bad hole on the side of an incline.

#6 is across the road, I was unable to find any markings for a tee or even a worn area. I just threw from the corner of the road and woods twards the basket which is tucked into the woods forcing you to have a forehand hyzer or backhand anhyzer shot.

#7 found a bare spot for a tee, it was a 250ft shot though some woods with the basket just outside of the woods. Took my bird here and was happy

#8, this one was hard to find. After playing 7, walk around the wood to a small clearing that had a flag marking the tee. This is a nice little pretty open hyzer shot. I hit the only tree by the basket but still made my 2.

#9, the longest hole on the course, although I was unable to find any tee area. I just teed off near the road about 40ft away from #8's basket. You can't actually see the basket because it is up and over the ridge of the hill. This made the hole pretty good. It is out of my driving range and I was happy to take my 3 and go home.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.