Noble, OK 
Noble DGC Share
Uploaded By: WoogieBoogie Hole #7 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 304ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
A big-time, small town, wooded gem

5+    8/10/2017   8/22/2017
Review By: armiller
Played: 117  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-tight lines while not too short
-very well maintained; good baskets and concrete tee pads that are adequate though not humongous
-pin locations added (generally long) on holes 8, 9, 12, 14, 17 (as if the course needed more difficulty)
-good, logical course flow that maximizes use of the park without crossing fairways
-park has good parking and is almost never busy (though the course can get very busy during evenings and weekends)

Some favorites:
3, 4, 5, 9, 10, 12, 14, 17
Cons:
-park/course interaction has some issues: You're throwing over/along paths on 8, 15; just over on 6, 10, 12. Hole 11 is particularly nerve wracking as you can't see down the path well and could potentially throw into someone
-course flow is very good overall, but a couple navigation notes: A) it's easy to accidentally skip holes 7-8 if not paying attention to the signs, since 9's tee is closer to 6's basket than 7's tee; B) 11's tee is visible from 5's basket, so first timers often walk to the wrong tee at first
-you can definitely find some poisonous plants and ticks when you get off the fairways of the more wooded holes (I got some bad poison ivy or sumac on hole 17 my first time here)
-some holes can be virtually unplayable after heavy rain (e.g. 11 gains a mid-fairway pond/lake, and 12 turns into a muddy slip-n-slide due to lack of grass)
Other Thoughts: This is a small town Oklahoma course that feels big-time. It's among the best wooded courses in the area, with slightly tighter lines than Griffin and Lions. It has a few relatively short "must get" holes, but most of those are tight enough that they still present a challenge. The course's strength, I think, is that it maintains that tight and wooded character throughout but still manages to require good distance on most shots. The majority of the course has a ceiling, and even the few holes with some open sky have enough early or late trees to keep things interesting and challenging. The few holes that really let you air it out still don't commit the sin of being too open. 4 is the best example, with a fairly long and open shot on a slight down slope, but with the basket in a thick clump of trees with limited lines of approach. As others have mentioned, hole 5 is one of the particularly great holes here and feels like a short par 4. Hole 10 is also one of my favorites due to a fairway that is crowded with trees but also has a significant dirt ridge to take into consideration when choosing your line. It's just one example of a common theme at Noble: an early tree hit can require an amazing 2nd shot to have any chance at saving par.

It's a course I love and play often. Maybe I'm being nit-picky, but my only real complaint is from the safety standpoint. I mainly take issue with hole 11, where the best line to hit is directly over the walking path. (The course might benefit from a double mando between the two initial trees, but it would still be possible to misfire down the path). The worst thing here is that it's difficult to see down the path from the tee, so I always fear that someone will walk into view just as I throw. The other issues with the path (see above in my "cons") are just small problems that add up when put together. They might be unforgivable in larger city park, but are lessened simply because the park is never that busy. I've never had any problems with throwing on path users, because I can see the path so well from the tees.

This information might be outdated now, but a local mentioned back in 2015 that Paul McBeth set a course record back when he lived in Oklahoma. I like to imagine that his record still stands, but some of the holes have some new pin locations that might have made it obsolete. Nonetheless, I dream that one day I'll be able to make some of the shots that he made out here with his Roc3.

[NON-PAID ADVERTISEMENT: Check out Noble Hardware's disc golf store (you might run into Scott, one of the course's designers). They've always got an impressive selection of plastic and are one of the best stores in the OKC area. Stay away if you've already exceeded your disc golf budget!]

Rating: I think 4.0, "Excellent," is about right. It's a fun and challenging disc golf experience, and the park/course are in good shape. As I mentioned, there are some problems with the course's interaction with the park that are alleviated somewhat by how non-busy the park is. It's not that far out of the way, and it's worth traveling to play this one!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Noble

1    7/18/2016   7/18/2016
Review By: MikeK
Played: 265  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 22.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Concrete tee pads on every hole---although they are only 10 feet long, pretty flush to the ground if you need a longer run-up
+bathroom by hole 15/16
+benches on almost every hole
+Hole 5 is one of the best holes I've seen
+pretty easy to navigate, no long walks in between holes either
+Innova Pro 28 baskets in great condition, with a few alternate pin placements on a few holes
+Hole 12 has a water hazard
+no bug problems that I noticed
+clean fairways, wide enough to test skill and not luck
Cons: -relatively short course
-can get muddy
-lots of straight shots, could use more hyzer/anhyzer curves
-mostly flat, although there are slight elevation changes
Other Thoughts: This is a really solid course, and very pretty. Can't go wrong with the nice tee pads and benches. Really wanted to give this one 4 1/2 discs, but it's just not long or hilly enough to really challenge the top tier pros.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Noble DGC

1    2/27/2016   2/29/2016
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 176  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 9.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Noble was an excellent course that I really enjoyed. The course offers plenty of parking and very friendly locals. There are nice teepads and DISCatcher baskets. The course makes you use all different shots. Noble is very technical and makes you put a lot of good shots together in order to shoot well. I really enjoyed the lines the course had to offers and the variety of shots. On some of the longer holes you had to put multiple quality shots together in order to even make par on the hole. The designer also makes good use of the OB lines which adds further to the challenge.
Cons: There really are not too many cons that I can think of. Navigation on a couple holes could be a little difficult. It also looks like during the Summer months poison ivy could become an issue.
Other Thoughts: Noble DGC was an awesome course that I would definitely recommend to anyone passing through. Be prepared to hit your lines and place multiple good shots together to shoot well.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 An excellent challenge on a Great course

2-4    12/26/2014   1/25/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 424  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 7.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is well maintained. Excellent use of the available elevation.
Has a good mix of short, moderate, and longer holes.
Uses the trees very well to make for tight lines and shots that will need to be shaped.
Has a little bit of a water threat on 5 and 11 depending on the time of year.
Good baskets, excellent tees, and good signage as well.
There are low ceiling shots here as well as dog leg right & left shots.
Tape on the baskets to help direct you to the next tee.
For being a heavily wooded course there are also some holes where you can air a drive out in certain spots.
The flow is logical as well.
My favorite holes here were 4, 8, and 10.
Also there are rest room facilities on site here.
Cons: The rough is rough is spots, certainly during the growing season, and disc loss is possible. Having a spotter would be a good idea.
Poison ivy could be present, I've only played in the fall and early winter, so be aware.
Walking paths are in play on a few holes, so check before you throw.
Other Thoughts: As other reviews have said this truly is a great course. This is a course that will test your accuracy for sure and make you use your head as to how you are going to execute your shots. This is not a grip and rip course and its not a pitch and putt. This is a course where you can work on your total game.
This course is definitely worth the stop if in the area and worth the trip if you live out of the area. Perhaps you could make a day of your trip and hit up Noble, Griffin, NE Loins and Dolese in OKC.
I had fun here and will play this course again when in the area. Kudos to the designers and the locals on a course that is quality in the Metro area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 fun wooded course!

1    12/29/2012   6/8/2013
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 300  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 10.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -tons of different lines, lots of variety
-lots of thick woods
-great concrete tees and signs, discatchers in great condition, tape on the baskets to the next tee
-lots of technical shots, a few longer holes to open up
-seems well-kept and improvements are always being done
Cons: -very punishing rough
-lots of poison ivy, it's getting better but it's still there
-trash, what's the deal?
Other Thoughts: This is a great course with a really fun variety of shots carved out of dense woods. It is challenging but a blast to play. The tees, signs, and baskets are great and you can tell a lot of love has been put into the course. It seems they are always making improvements.

There are lots of really tight wooded shots with punishing rough off the fairways. A great place to work on control and smart golf.

I'm surprised that I don't have much to say here because this really is a great course, the best I have played in Oklahoma. Always worth driving out of the way off 35 to stop for a round and there are discs and maps at the hardware store down the street.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not all that... yet.

1    3/3/2013   3/24/2013
Review By: OKC444
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very good use of space and topography. Nice mix of open and long with a healthy dose of thick woods, briars & underbrush. Excellent tee pads, signs & colored tape on basket cage to point to next tee box is a nice touch.
Cons: Still overrun with underbrush leaving several holes unreachable for most players drives without great peril & difficult recovery.
Other Thoughts: This course is a diamond in the rough. I would be shocked if I go back next spring and don't decide to give this course the 4.5 I can clearly see they are building. It's pretty amazing what these guys have carved out.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Best in Central Oklahoma

5+    2/5/2013   2/8/2013
Review By: DanEBoy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Great Mixture of holes, wooded, open, long and short. This has definatly become my favorite course to play and how lucky am I? It's also my home course. I've played every course I can find in central oklahoma, and this one is the best.
Other Thoughts: Course has changed it's layout since the pictures were uploaded. 12&13 has swapped with 14&15. There is a great map on the backside of the park sign displaying all holes accurately.

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 The Best in Central OK

5+    12/2/2012   12/11/2012
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 54  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 7.1 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Concrete Tees
Newish Discatchers
Great Tee Signs (with next Tee marked on them)
Challenging
Uses every shot in your bag
Bathrooms
Not too crowded
Love the risk/reward on most holes
Pavillion/Picnic area good for family/friends
Dedicated parking lot is good size (not too crowded)
Good selection of discs at the hardware store in town (Innova mostly some Lat64, Vibram, Discraft, and gateway)
Friendly locals

Favorite Hles: #3, #4, #5, #8, #10, #18
Wow that's too many but I can't leave any out.
Not a sinsle bad hole on the course IMO.
Cons: Only one set of tees
A little trash (people just can't seem to carry the trash another 100ft to the trash cans)
Walking path in play on a few holes (not busy often)
Need a few more benches and Trash cans
Other Thoughts: I absolutely love this course. My review is heavily weighted for FUN FACTOR. This why I play after all. I live apx 50 min from this course and it is worth every minute of the drive. If you are anywhere near the area it is a must play. Stop at the Noble Hardware and pick up a map and maybe a few discs while you're there. Can't say enough good things about this course. You have to play it to appreciate how great a course it is. It gets better every time I play it. Truly the crown jewel of a very nice disc golf scene in central OK.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip

1    11/24/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: joshua323
Played: 173  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I drove two hours from Muskogee to play this little course. I would have to say it was worth every mile of it. I loved the use of the space provided. The tight fairways made it a challenge on the shorter holes and a few expletives when smacking a tree. I will have to put it in the top 7 of courses I have played.
Cons: Only thing I can think of is on holes 4 & 8, a well placed sign would make it easier to distinguish where the baskets are. As for the poison ivy. I get a shot 4 times yearly to keep immune. It's worth it!!!!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Tough course

5+    8/8/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: TylerM
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2012
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tee pads are great, baskets in excellent condition, signage is excellent, restrooms are nice, and the locals are friendly and helpful.

This course allows you to try a variety of shots. Some holes let you air it out for pretty big distance (4 & 8), while others force you to squeeze your shot down long, narrow fairways. The rough can be very punishing, so it forces concentration on most shots.

There is a hardware store with a decent selection of discs just down the road.

Holes 3,4,8,10,15, and 18 are all memorable holes.


The layout is very easy to follow and I love the way the loop puts you right back at the parking lot.
Cons: Disc eaters!!! Very easy to lose discs on many holes. Not noob friendly (I shot an 80 my first time -kinda discouraging).
Other Thoughts: The designers have worked very hard the last few years to constantly improve this course. I have met a couple of them while playing and they have been kind and helpful. I think this course may become the crown jewel of the Southern OKC area disc golf scene. I look forward to playing here again and seeing this great course get even better. UPDATE : With the new pads and signs and the rough getting beat down a little, I think this course deserves a 5. Incredible variety with a nice atmosphere = top notch course!

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.