Tallahassee, FL 
Jack McLean Park Share
Uploaded By: stsren Hole #13 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 355ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
hooooooweeeeeee

1    12/18/2021   12/29/2021
Review By: blake833
Played: 158  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 12.1 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jack McLean seems like a well beloved old dog for the tallahassee area. It's been a round a long time, but i went out there early on a saturday morning and by the time i was 9 holes in there were already about 8 or 9 other golfers starting a round.

Holes are long and wooded. The shorter holes, from the short tees, are still around 300' plus, with the minimum distance around 260'-280'. These average a little long, but maybe it was just bc it was the morning and my arm was not awake yet.

Tee signs were pretty good. It looked like a big tournament was coming soon or had happened maybe the weekend before, so everything was in great condition- even the circle had been marked on a lot of holes.

The course plays through some light woods on light hills/slopes around the park. It's pretty scenic. There's a couple water features (one on hole... 9 or 10? that's blind from the tee so just kinda be aware) that are incorporated nicely.

I was impressed with the length of the holes given what seems like a tight area. But they really don't feel crammed in there at all.
Cons: The length of the hole coupled with the tightness/woodedness of the fairways makes the challenge here pretty advanced. My amature skills just couldn't keep up (plus i was way too ambitious on most holes).

That's really the big con. There's not much else to complain about, but there wasn't really anything that made me think "wow this is great design" or "wow this is stunningly beautiful" either.
Other Thoughts: But it is a decidedly Good course. If it was a little more accessible for those who wanted to go for the basket off the tee, then a 3.5 would be a given. But right now it's just asking a little too much, a little too dependent on luck.

This old-dog of a course still has a lot of teeth, but a good player can make it heel. A regular player like me just has to have fun but be ready for some rough play lol

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Hardest course I have ever played

1    5/27/2017   5/27/2017
Review By: drew2000
Played: 82  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course will challenge the best of all players there are.

Mach III baskets catch much better than I expected them to.
Cons: This course is so challenging, it just gets very frustrating unless you are throwing truly amazing shots. Around hole 18-20 I got to a point where I was just ready to finish the round and get back to Tom Brown.

Mach III baskets are very very very difficult to spot on this course and is best to play with people that really know the layout and can try to help guide you to the basket
Other Thoughts: This is definitely the hardest course I have played, and although it was a good course, there wasn't a single hole on the course that made me think "wow this is a great hole" most of the holes feel like you're playing the same hole over and over because of how insanely tight the fairways are. I would've given it a better rating if it had at least one of these types of holes,

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Another great course in Tallahassee

5+    1/29/2013   2/23/2013
Review By: Notverygood
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 12.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course with some neat hole layouts. Makes you really think about the correct disc/throw combination.

Decent elevation change.

Although overall a tight, tougher course, there are still several open fairways where you can really let it rip.

Easy to follow course layout, one basket leads right to the next tee.


Cons: Lacks some general maintenance. Trash scattered around in some areas, rough tee pads at some holes and inaccurate or missing tee signs

Unfortunately in a rough area of town.
Other Thoughts: A fun, challenging course within a 10 minute drive of another great course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Slush Box Review

1    3/13/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: ILER
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course was very interesting and always kept you busy on the type of throw you would use. The area was kept up better recently than I have heard it being kept up before. The par system does help someone who is not seasoned yet.
Cons: Sometimes the hole would have three tee's to choose from. Not sure if they changed the distance and just didn't remove one of the tees or not. Hole 13 did not have a sign we had to walk and find the basket. The layout is not very good for people who do not know the sport or the park. The baskets were not easily seen even at times when they were straight ahead. They need some sort of reflective tape or something to make them easier to see.
Other Thoughts: I have high hopes for the course for the fact that a lot of the holes were very interesting. It is a must for anyone visiting Tallahassee who want a challenge.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.