Tallahassee, FL 
Jack McLean Park Share
Uploaded By: stsren Hole #9 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 285ft.   4 / 435ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 A Truly Wooded Course

5+    8/15/2017   9/11/2017
Review By: jrodkelly1
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: DESIGN
It says a lot about a course when no matter how bad I play I enjoy playing the course. That is what Jack is to me.
This course offers challenges for all players
The Fairways are Fair and rewarding (with few exceptions)
Most holes are birdie able with few exceptions as well.
Moderate Elevation is used very well and makes the course more fun and more challenging.
Favorite holes- 8, 10,14 the infamous ? mark hole, 15, 16,19, 23. Some of these holes are people's least favorite, but it's only for the level of difficulty. I appreciate their uniqueness.
BEAUTY
The course is the most beautiful wooded course I've ever played it. The slight elevation adds a great challenge to the course. There is even one pond hole, but it is rarely full so its hard to say that there is a water feature on the course. None the less the trees here are incredibly beautiful, don't pass by this place if you are in the area. The tree's also make for great shade from the Florida sun.
BASKETS TEE'S
Some people don't like the baskets here. I have moderate spin on my putts so I don't spit out much on these baskets. If you have a lot of speed on your putts be careful if you aren't hitting the pole. The Tees are average to above average. So as far as baskets and tee's go I'm pleased.


Cons: Jack does has some strange Pars I will say. Everything is a par 3 except hole 10, and 16. Hole 10 in my opinion may be a little short for a par 4. I think if you can make the first gap you can three fairly consistently. 2 is also possible with a fantastic slight turnover tee shot.
16 is probably a fair par 4 since the first drive demands more of a placement shot. Although once I was only 60-70 feet from the basket with my first shot, but ill probably never be able to shoot that well again.
The one hole that is a true par 4 is 15. It's a tight uphill low ceiling dog leg left. the most perfect drive will leave you 70-80 feet short. the fairway also gets tighter and there is a huge oak tree you have to throw around to give yourself a putt.
very difficult birdies/-1, you can have a great drive but you will probably need to make a long uphill putt with trees in the way. 2, fairway kind of disappears at the end, 3, open then way to tight, 15-near impossible 2
My biggest problem with jack is that almost every hole requires a straight shot. It just needs more variety in that regard.

Other Thoughts: Jack Mclean's difficulty does not make it a bad course. There may be one poke and hope shot from the tee, and the par player can get a good score here you just have to hit the fairways. So please stop giving courses bad rating for difficulty. That being said if you love wooded courses this course is for you. One of my favorite courses I've ever played. Enjoy a shaded round in Tallahassee.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated course

1    10/3/2016   10/4/2016
Review By: epicrat
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I just played this course yesterday for the first time, despite living in Tally for over a year. It took some balls to try a course other than ol' reliable -- Tom Brown.

I'm gonna give a rating for each aspect (all going under pros, just treat this as the whole review)

Difficulty: 9/10 this course thoroughly rustled my jimmies. There are lots of trees and thick brush you must avoid. Also a few water holes (two retention ponds, though only one had water in it as of 10/3/16) Don't be fooled, though, it's still a ton of fun.

Cleanliness: 4/10 Unfortunately there is a LOT of litter. Not much else to say besides pick your sh*t up when you're done with it. Also, there were some fallen trees in the fairway that you have to climb and throw over. Not too difficult.

Signage: 9/10, solid signage. A few holes have like 100-200 feet between them but most have small signs with arrows to the next hole. If not, there's a wear-n-tear trail you can follow to find your way.

Population and community: ?/10 My dad and I were the only ones on the course. I don't know if it gets crowded on weekends/evenings or not, but weekday mornings are dead quiet.

I think this is a solid 4-star course. I feel the reason it's a little lower is the difficulty. You should NOT go to this course expecting it to be middle-of-the-road difficulty and be pissed when you lose a couple discs. It is unforgiving and pretty dang hard. It is well spread out, not crammed onto two acres. Some elevation changes but nothing too crazy.



6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Jack McLean

1    12/26/2014   12/27/2014
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 151  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 13.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tight fairways abound on this course! This is a wooded-courses lover's dream.
-You will use every shot in your arsenal.
-The entirety of the course is shaded, so it would be the perfect course to play in the heat of Summer.
-I found navigation out here to be pretty easy.
-varied elevation (both up hill and down hill shots)
-Impressively, Jack McLean is moderately hilly.
-While the park itself is not DG only, the areas designated for DG are not multi-use as many parks like to do.
Cons: -The biggest con for me was the overuse of blind holes. A few per course is fine, but we had to walk up and look for just about every single basket.
-This course really needs better signs. There were 2 or 3 tee pads on most every hole and it was extremely rare that all tees had signs accompanying them. Even when there were signs present they were not very accurate as it only gave you a vague line which did not always finish where the basket actually was.
-I threw way more FH on this course than I normally would (and I'm usually 50/50) as this course overused having holes finishing to the right. I also did not throw a single distant driver (despite some decently long holes).
-All tee pads were at least partially covered and many were nearly completely covered in sand, dirt, pine needles, leaves, etc.
Other Thoughts:
This is a very challenging course that will leave you frustrated at times, but can be very rewarding when you hit your line just right. I made a day of playing this course and pairing it with the nearby Tom Brown and they just go so well together.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Tallahassee Gem

2-4    8/23/2014   8/25/2014
Review By: macfleming1
Played: 78  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 39 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of my new favorite courses, located in a beautiful park. It's very technical, but not overly long. Many holes have two or three tee pads; all concrete and well sized. There are lots of trees, but they are downright unreasonable (i.e. virtually no fairway) on only 2-3 holes. Elevation changes are great (rare in Florida). Signs are satisfactory, so the course is relatively easy to navigate.
Cons: Very few/minor cons in my opinion. Left-to-right-curved drives noticeably outnumbered straight or right-to-left drives. As a right-hander, I ended up driving with a forearm flick way more than usual. You will indeed be punished when you leave the fairways, so choose a brightly colored disc when driving. Very few benches and trash cans.
Other Thoughts: In town only briefly, I almost didn't play because it was 100 degrees out. So glad I did! And the ample shade helped. Earlier reviews mentioned trash and a bad element; I'm happy to report the park was super clean, especially on the course, and the two locals I passed exchanged greetings with me. The Parks Dept map is not accurate. Look for the rules sign to the right of the parking lot--the first tee is there. Loop north around the pool center, then the course zig-zags counter-clockwise around the perimeter of the park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Enter the beast.

1    3/20/2012   3/20/2012
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 12 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tight.
Tight.
Tight.

Lots of trees by the way.

Relatively nice teepads, I wish they were a bit wider but the length of them is solid enough to make up for it.

Defined paths inbetween holes, didn't need a map to play it.

Quite a bit of elevation, which when combined with some of the absolutely ridiculous hole shapes, makes for some really fun golf.
Cons: This park is HUGE! When I played out here there were tonssss of people out here, saw at least 70 plus people while playing ON the course...none of them disc golfers, crazy loud music that you can hear all the way in the back of the woods, it's not a huge con but it is kind of annoying.

Other Thoughts: I can't think of a lot of Pros and Cons but I can write about this course for days.

While this course is challenging, it is extremely fair. It has been worn in and there are almost no random limbs or trees to make you staying in the fairway an issue, the only thing to make this course difficult is YOU. Something I did with excellence.

These are some of the most awesome hole shapes ever, I can't think of the hole # off the top of my head, but the hole where you go about 300 uphill then about 270ish back in the direction you just came from almost..lol. So awesome. If you manage to stay in the fairway out here you will have a shit eating grin on your face, if not, well, sorry...

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Tallahassee

2-4    6/10/2010   12/11/2010
Review By: GT Chris
Played: 101  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a test of shot execution and recovery shots. A difficult test. I found that the course didn't require much creativity in that not many holes forced you to choose a route. Most holes had a clear, well-defined fairway with just that route. You couldn't walk up to every tee and find a hyzer line. You are given a line, and asked whether or not you can execute. Can you throw a straight shot that fades a little right at the end? Can you throw a long slow hyzer shot? Now can you throw perfectly straight shot with no fade? Or an anhyzer shot, even though a forehand might be a better option? You get the idea. I personally found this to be a very fun and unique challenge.

Overall, the course tested just about shot type at least once. Many of the holes had some distance, so some risk-reward came into play as you had to choose between going for it on the drive or laying up to stay in the fairway.

In this case, well-defined fairway also meant well-defined rough. If you miss a fairway, you will be punished. The rough is thick and for the most part does not allow bad shots to get lucky and find their way back onto the fairway. That said, you're forced to try all sorts of awkward stances and throwing styles to get out of trouble. Specialty shots like woods rollers and overhead shots will help you.

One more thing I absolutely loved about the course were the fairway markers. Many of the baskets were blind from the pad. But every blind hole also had a small, highly visible metal sign 200 or 300 feet down the fairway with an arrow pointing in the direction of the basket. As someone unfamiliar with the course, I found these to be extremely helpful.
Cons: The thick rough lends itself to lost discs quite easily. You really have to pay attention and watch every shot. There were also some holes with poor routes, which in my opinion offered no legitimate birdie chance, and a few wayward trees which could punish good shots and reward bad ones.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while visiting some friends at FSU. I liked it so much I went back the next day and played two rounds. I also felt it was worth writing a review to try and get more players to discover this gem of a course.

Standout hole worth mentioning is the 'hogback' hole, #13. Loved it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bold and Beautiful - Designed to Humble

2-4    6/12/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 22.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1 - Excellent utilization of elevation change (no hole lacks some subtle change in elevation - lots of uphill / downhill basket locations with most notable being Hole #13, a basket on top of a ridge ~15' ravine drop to left , 8' drop to right and behind making for a tough approach!)
2 - A lot of different shot shapes, from Hyzer, to Anhyzer, to S-Curve, to a couple of shapes that are indescribable and may not be physically possible for a disc to follow.
3 - Narrow fairways forcing shot shaping and great control, use every disc in your bag (some will see this as a con)
4 - Good tee signs and almost all wide and long cement tee pads (a couple of rubber / carpet pads)
5 - Nice flow to course, easy to follow.
6 - Well marked OB in areas where residential homes come into play
7 - Long holes, with 19 of 24 holes being 300' or more!
8 - Bathroom facilities are good
9 - Small waterpark, basketball courts, tennis courts, and baseball diamond located in the park
Cons: 1 - Lots of underbrush makes losing a disc a possibility
2 - Not enough open holes hurt the overall variety and "fun factor"
3 - Not beginner friendly course (due to thickness of woods, length of most holes, and multitude of difficult shot shapes necessary to score well)
4 - Not enough garbage cans or benches, which I think should be located at every other hole...the garbage cans were sporadic and not even placed at the beginning of holes...benches few and far between.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I was taken with the beauty of this course. I love the rolling hills and the challenges presented by the woods. Water doesn't really come into play here (unless you go to the water park to cool off), but don't worry, there are plenty of chances to get your penalty strokes in by losing discs in the woods. If you're playing this course, be ready for a supreme challenge and expect to have nightmares about forests closing in on you. I think a beginner could play this course, but I'm not sure it would be productive, since it demands many different shots to score well. If you're not worried about score, however, and want to work on accuracy, look no further!

I recommend this course for people who don't get hung up on what their score is, but rather enjoy a great challenge and enjoy being forced to throw on many different lines and angles. Par is great on this course, birdie is superb, and bogey is pretty decent, too!

If I'm in Tallahassee again, I'd love to play this course (along with Tom Brown)!

Side note: I lost my CryZtal Buzzz, yellow-green translucent, on hole #4 throwing from the bend down towards the basket - disc went off to right maybe 60' short of basket and appeared to shoot further right once it hit first set of trees. I didn't let this impact my review, but if you happen to find my disc sitting in a tree there, call me and I'll give you $$ for returning. :) Thanks for reading, enjoy!
6/16/2010 - Added course photos. Special thanks to my wife for taking the photos while I was playing!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Most frustratin course ever . . . but in a good way!

1    1/1/2010   1/6/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 1377  Reviewed: 480  Exp: 13.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Extremely challenging course. There is not an easy hole out there without some good execution.

2) There is a disc golf sign at the entrance directing you to the course, and also little signs located by hole #18 and also by the building directing you to the #1 tee which is sortof in the corner. Very nice to have directionals like that to help a first timer. I was especially glad because I arrived in a little bit of a mist and the sun was barely helping to shed any light through the clouds.

3) This course uses tight woods on virtually every hole. There are a couple holes early on that are not quite as needle threading as the rest but every hole has some groupings of trees in your way and that forces you to work your disc. These tight woods are made of massive trees that seemed to be 100' tall and provide an incredible canopy and back country feel to this course.

4) The elevation changes on this course are incredible. Again, there isn't a single hole that has zero elevation change. There are some ups and downs evenly spread throughout this course, but there are even a few holes that really use sidehills and slopes to challenge you even more.

5) Couple the elevation and the tree density and you come up with the hardest course I have ever played. I do not know that this is all positive, but I do have to use it as a pro. I will likely also give it as a negative, but it deserves a mention on both categories.

6) White posts and sign by all tees. Signs have hole #, distances, and hole shape. These are always positive in my mind, especially for a first timer.

7) Restrooms are located on the 9th hole and are easily accessible from a few holes because of the back and forth layout they use on that section of the course.

8) There are 2 concrete tees (some have 3) on every hole except for a few that are made with carpet. I love it when a course can have three different tees and all concrete. This is an absolute plus because you need full confidence in your plant foot on every shot to try and execute the shots needed to manuever these sadistic holes!

9) There are yellow posts along many of the fairways, I am not sure exactly what they are for but it seemed they were to mark the beginning of a dogleg. If that is the case then this is an awesome idea . . . especially on this brutal course.

10) Hole #11 is an incredibly unique hole. You throw up what I would call a gulch and you can go right of the gulch but it is a tough shot to execute. If you end in the gulch you will have a tough putt to try and get close enouhg for the 3 because the basket is on top of the mounding above the gulch but it drops off to both sides and long of the basket. It is a cool hole and very very tough.

11) There are enough benches and some garbage spread sporatically through the course. There is an adequate enough amenities to make this manageable.

12) OB was marked by posts when it was clear they didnt want anyone in an area (which is located along the residential area).

13) Although water was barely in play when i played, I could imagine the two holes in the wettest time of the year could be much more in play. The water level on hole #23 was low when I played and I cleared the area by just 10-15' so if the water was higher it might be more in play. Hole #2 was totally dry when I played but in the wet season it may be filled with enough water to make your approach shot very difficult to clear.

14) DGA baskets in good shape and number plates all facing the correct tees. This is a wonderful help to a first timer . . . especially one who was afraid he was being followed. No way I was gonna squeal like a pig!

15) Course was pretty well balanced. Many holes required an anhyzer, many required a hyzer, and many required both. If you got offline on many of these holes you were left with a trouble shot and definitely one that needed to be shaped. If you can keep it in the fairway you will not have to execute quite as many shots like this.
Cons: 1) Course maintenance could be stepped up in a few situations. The ground is basically bare soil covered in leaves, twigs, and other fallen plant material. I didn't see much mulch used like is normal for washout or eroded areas, but that could go a long way in keeping the fairways in better shape. Basically they are hoping whatever falls on the ground with serve as mulch for the fairways, but it may be inadequate in some areas.

2) OK here it goes. This is my contradiction of all contradictions. This course is so difficult it becomes as much about luck as it does about skill. Now I am no pro for sure, but I am pretty good at executing shot shaping. The shot shaping here is necessary to play well, but so is some luck. There are enough situations where luck is too big of a factor. I am not sure what the top pros would shoot here, but I can only imagine it won't be super low. Wave BYE BYE to your ego!

3) Obviously this is not beginner friendly, it may not have been designed for beginners, but I mention it for information sake, and I consider it always a negative when a course can't provide for multiple skill levels, unless clearly designed for tournament and professional play.

4) Soils are very compacted which can create a slippery situation on wet clay soils. The mulch cover could help this if it was better.

5) The entire time I played this course . . . all I could think about was dueling banjos. I swore I heard someone tell me I had a pretty mouth, but it was an echo off of all those darn trees. The surrounding area seems to be low income as many of the houses look to be run down and not in the greatest shape. Now I am not saying this translates to danger, but I did also play this course at dawn on a crappy rainy day and it also happened to be New Years Day. I was hopeful all the crazies were still sleeping off their hangovers, but I just never felt safe in this park. Please tell me if this is a fair or unfair analysis and I can edit this review, but it simply is how I FELT, it doesnt mean it is fact. It was made worse by the fact I never saw anyone in the park the entire time. The rain kept everyone away obviously and many people were still sleeping after partying all night anyways.

Other Thoughts: I was as frustrated as I have ever been in this sport when I played this course. The course was challenging sure, but as much luck as skill was needed to play well here and that is one step over the line in the negative fashion for me. I don't mind some luck needed, but on many of these holes finding a gap was like threading an s curve on tight distances and throw in the elevation change and you have some serious issues. All I was trying to do my whole round was get below a 4 stroke average . . . I never did after Hole #3.

It is an awesome property and an incredible design. The mix of trees, elevation, and basket locations mix together to create the hardest course I have played or at the very least the most fristrating. I had a good time despite the rain and the scores I was taking. I always like to be challenged and a course that is really tough is better than a course that doesnt challenge me at all.

If you go, bring plenty of patience and I highly recommend you try and simply lay up on many holes. I didn't do it and my scores suffered I am sure. There are much easier ways to make a 3 if you can avoid certain trees and tree bounces. I was too stubborn to throw shorter than max drive effort, but I think I could have saved many strokes if I had chosen to do this.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Tough, Wooded Gem

5+    4/11/2009   7/1/2008
Review By: Kurt Hodges
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 15 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Jack McLean Park DGC is a newer 24-hole medium-long course. The city has worked hard to open up the understory and it has really helped. The course is now very challenging and, at times, humbling (before it was just no fun to play). There is some good variety in the course and, for Florida, there is even a little topography (i.e., hilly for Florida). Jack McLean Park DGC will force you to develop your mid-range game and develop some trick shots, or you will never score. They fairways are small and tight and there is no forgiveness for errant tees shot. If you miss the fairway, your score will suffer. There also are two holes with water hazards on them, but they are water retention ponds and most of the time they are dry. So, 90% of the time there is no need to bring any floating disks.
Cons: While the city has done a good job thinning the woods off the fairway, they need to be a little more liberal with the chainsaw and open it up more. If you throw a disk out of the fairway you will pay for it in stokes and you may loose your disk. While many of the holes have three tees, and almost all have two, usually, only one of the tee pads is concrete. The remaining pads are carpet and can be a little slick when wet (which is common in Florida during the summer). Finally, Jack McLean Park DGC is in a rougher area of town and I would always play with a friend if possible.
Other Thoughts: The Jack McLean Park DGC is one of my three home courses (one is a 9-hole private course not on any website) and I feel fortunate to have it in the same hometown. It is a very good complement to the other public course (Tom Brown Park DGC) which is longer and more open. Jack McLean Park DGC is unique in that is both medium-long and very tight. If you can't throw a disk down a long tunnel, you are going to have a tough time. Overall, Jack McLean Park DGC is a very challenging course that is well worth driving to play at; if you are in the area don't miss playing it.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  narrow, long and challenging

5/5/2008   5/9/2008
Review By: NotTimGosline
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful wooded course. Jack has spectacular holes coursing high and low through the woods and trees. Each hole has very different challenges. A humbling 24 hole course.
Cons: Out of control drives will have little forgiveness on this tight course. If your drive is into the woods, get to it fast and good luck locating it. Heavy foliage in the summer constricts the fairways even more.
Other Thoughts: Many of the holes have three tees; most have two. Typically each tee has it's own post indicating distance and shape of the hole because much of the time you can't see the pin from the tee.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.