Omaha, NE 
Hummel Park Share
Uploaded By: AJDisc Hole #14 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / 424ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

2-4    8/13/2017   8/13/2017
Review By: DiSCRoCKeR
Played: 138  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 17.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging course through a heavily wooded park. Trees are in play on every hole, so there is a strong focus on accuracy and placement.
-Great use of elevation changes. Elevation comes in to play on most of the holes with a pretty balanced mix of up and down. This courses provides a nice hike, although a few of the steep uphill walks can get some people winded.
-The natural tee pads are nicely leveled.
-Quite a few of the holes have log benches near the tees.
-There is a good mix of left, right, and straight holes and 3 pin placements on most, if not all of the holes.
-A small creek provides a water hazard on several holes.
Cons: -There was quite a bit of trash and broken glass throughout the course and not many trash cans to be found.
-Natural tees. It's a shame that this course still hasn't put in permanent tee pads. There is one turf tee on hole 2, but the rest are all dirt.
-Missing tee signs on a few holes.
-The course has some flow issues early on and could get confusing to first timers without a course map. Some next tee signs would be beneficial, especially the first five holes. Once you get to hole 6 the course begins to flow more instinctively.
-Too many blind pin placements for my liking.
-There are a couple of holes that stand out, some for the wrong reasons, but I didn't get much wow factor after the first hole. Hole 1 is a pretty cool steep downhill throw over an old stone staircase, but there is a small parking area that is in the danger zone of cars being hit by discs.
-The course could use a bit of maintenance trimming and clean up off of the fairways. Watch out for stinging nettles and thorns.
-If it has rained, this course would be pretty dangerous to play. My kids had trouble on some of the hilly areas even with dry conditions.
-Some of these holes would be best to have a spotter. There are plenty of opportunities to lose a disc off the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a pretty good course, although a bit overrated. The course is very challenging for those who aren't accurate or skilled throwers and there is a lot of punishment to be found for not hitting your lines. The lack of tee pads, signage, and upkeep really take away from giving this course a better rating. But even if those issues are addressed, I probably wouldn't rate this course any higher.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Where to start... with a review

5+    7/18/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: ZMesenbrink
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 16.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Technical course for those that have honed their skills, and are up for a good challenge.
Pads, baskets, some trash cans (though not too many) and it's a beautiful course. Great for a hike through the hills.
Cons: Bring a chainsaw. This course isn't full finished. The people that designed this course feel like everyone is at their level and put baskets realllllly far away. The pars don't seem to be accurate sometimes like when they move to the far placements. You might need bug spray and hiking boots. I usually play this course and about halfway through I'm thinking "I hate this course, why did I come here?"
One just needs to play the course enough to know the lines, discs, and throws needed to work well. It's a very challenging course. Also, if you don't know the course bring someone that does, or walk far enough into the forest and you will find the next pad.
Other Thoughts: I will always play Hummel. Don't think from my review that I won't. It's like a drill sergeant. Throw off the fairway or don't think about the disc you're using, or throw you're attempting and you will need to drop and give Hummel 20, more throws that is over par. Ha!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 GOOD WORKOUT

1    8/25/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: OldGymRat
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Terrific challenges in elevation, hill-side putting/approaches, trees, ditches, cliffs and water make this a very fun course and get those mid-range disks into play. A truly good workout too just climbing and hiking from hole to hole. I loved it.
Cons: The on line map we download is completely confusing because it's missing some of the landmarks and roads. I'd recommend getting a satellite photo and editing that instead. Once we got past hold 4 it was easier to find the next tee. It's getting better as they work on the course. If you are not in the best of health it might be a bit much for you to hike this place. We struggled to find hole 4, losing 20 minutes to the search. This place is a nature preserve so there will be without question some conflicts between nature lovers and the yelling, cursing, drinking, smoking trash-droppers that seem to be on every course these days. It's an embarrassment and surprising that the disrespect is so overt. YES, CIGARETTE BUTTS ARE TRASH.Get yourself a pocket ash tray please and take a trash-bag into the park before they get fed-up with us and kick us out.
Other Thoughts: The course is being developed so my rating is a little low for how much fun it is. I love to hike and this course gives you a reason to do it.We ran ito a member one of the DGA's and he said they need volunteers to help pour concrete pads and other jobs that will make the course better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting, rough

1    7/9/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: Rob Martin
Played: 181  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging holes.
Nice woods.
Quiet course.
17 nearly new baskets.
Cons: '17' nearly new baskets on an 18 hole course. Basket 6 was completely dug up, concrete base and all.
No signs.
Only 2 garbage cans on whole course and they were overflowing. Really dislike seeing garbage laying everywhere.
Only a few benches.

Hole 8 doesn't actually have a defined fairway. It does not curve like the map shows because that route is solid trees. You actually have to shoot downhill across park road about 2/3's of the distance to land in a safe zone.
Needs better marking from hole 8 to hole 9. Don't go up the path that leads up the hill. Need to keep walking along road to next large open path.
Rubber tee pads have been tossed off to the side.
Other Thoughts: This course does have a lot of potential of being a '4', but not yet. It is still to rough and lacks important amenities, such as more benches, signs, labeled and more clearly defined tee areas.

You will be tired after playing this course - very hilly.

If you could play with someone to help spot discs, it may help prevent losing some discs.

If you are familiar - reminds me of a rougher Cliff Drive - Kessler Park (Kansas City) front 9.

Earlier reviews refer to the original hole number. The map has renumbered them.

Map - Original
6 - 1
7 - 2
8 - 3
9 - 4
10 - 5
11 - 6
12 - 7
13 - 8
14 - 9
15 - 10
16 - 11
17 - 12
18 - 13
1 - 14
2 - 15
3 - 16
4 - 17
5 - 18

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.