Matthews, NC 
The Scrapyard Share
Uploaded By: skinnylimbs Hole #9 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 187ft.   3 / 289ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
The Scrapyard

5+    8/21/2019   8/21/2019
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 325  Reviewed: 320  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2019
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Of the courses run by the Charlotte DGC, seemingly everyone has its own personality from being a beast (Renny Gold) to the short layout (Elon Eager Beaver) to the packed, casual layout (Reedy). The own that seemingly gets left out without much flavor? Fitting that it's called the Scrapyard.
- This is a very good course. It's well designed and offers plenty of fun and/or challenging holes. I have never been a fan of it for whatever reason. And you know what? That's ok. Plenty of disc golfers do.
- Course is tough, but fair. The entire course plays in the woods. The course also features two of the only water holes in Meck. County - #8 & 9. #9 might be the most nerve-wracking shot in the CDGC. Unlike throwing over the ravine at Renny, a bad shot hear is either a lost disc or a challenge retrieving it.
- #1 is a fun, slight dogleg. A pretty easy par if you choose to play it straight down the middle. Or, a birdie/bogey option if you play the curve and either hit or miss your line.
- There is a big risk/reward factor here. You can play it safe by throwing straight down fairways and sacrificing distance. Or, if you're throwing faster discs and get off fairways, you will be scrambling all round to salvage pars or bogeys. This is the type of course you could shoot par with either 18 straight pars or 9 birdies and 9 bogeys. There's also a chance that every hole you birdie in one round could potentially be bogeyed the next time out.
- There are pockets of fun throughout the course, in terms of several excellent back-to-back holes. #6 & 7 is the first with the former being a shorter (250 feet) dogleg right layout. The latter is a multi-shot par 4 at 500 feet, with an s-curved fairway. You need your tee shot in the correct location to make a run for the basket in two.
- The second back-to-back is #8 & 9 due to the water element. (Aside: yes, that's four straight good holes. And yes, I broke it into two duos.). The final one is #16 & 17. Two straight doglegs in the 400-foot range. Both require excellent tee shots to have a chance at 3s. This duo reminds me so much of the duo of #16 & 17 at Kilborne in terms of its no-nonsense, no gimmicks, straight ahead challenge. Getting through these two holes in a combined six shots is a good achievement.
- Solid overall design, maintenance, and upkeep. Nice big tee pads. Solid tee signs. Excellent online map. Easy navigation throughout. Isolation from the rest of the park (except for occasional fishermen on #9). I can't remember a major issue effecting a round in all the times I've played here.
- #15 is a love/hate type of hole. A gauntlet, 215-foot layout. Sure, you can throw wide left of right and probably get up and down for par. Or, if you throw straight and hit a tree, you could easily be 100 feet or more off-line. With the two challenging holes right after this, it's a real gut-punch to get a 4 or worse on a short layout.
- Fantastic park. Plenty of amenities for the entire family. Plenty of picnic tables and trails, and one of the better playgrounds at a Meck. County park. For years, this park always seemed like the ideal location for a course.
Cons: There is nothing wrong whatsoever with the course or its design. It's just never piqued my interest. If there is an overlying negative it would be the repetitiveness.
- 13 of 18 holes range between 250 - 399 feet. The shortest hole is #15 (215 feet) and the other 4 holes range from 405 to 500 feet. I felt like I was constantly throwing the same disc hole after hole. Oh wait, I WAS throwing the same tee shot hole after hole.
- The entire course is one big loop so you're essentially playing the entire 18 rather than a quick 9. There are a couple places you could bail out and have not-so-long walks back to the beginning.
- Did I mention an overwhelming majority of holes are in the same length range and play the same? Personal observation: the past several times I've played here with a group, at some we're trying to think back several holes, usually to remember someone's score, and there's a confusion over what hole is what. The reason being is that the conversations would go something like this, "what was hole #2? It's a dogleg. What was hole #3? It's a dogleg. What about 4? It's another dogleg." And so on and so forth. When there's not much variance from hole-to-hole, they do all run together, which may be the course's biggest detriment for me.
- #9 is another love/hate hole. The wimp bailout almost guarantees you're getting a 4 unless you throw a perfect, long second shot. There's not much room between the basket and the water, especially considering the hill slopes down to the water. I've hit the hill before where my disc has rolled back down and into the water. Another two feet further and it's sliding the other way right to the basket. Hit your gap and you'll be fine. If not, one of the only true 'lost disc' water holes in Charlotte.
- Course forces you to play slower and more cautious. No chances to air out any big throws. Echoing earlier comments, throughout the entire round I'll find myself on the tee pad thinking, 'I want to throw this disc, but this other disc is probably the better, safer shot'. If you do get a couple bogeys early in your round, you may find it hard to make up those strokes.
Other Thoughts: Scrapyard is an interesting play. It mostly resembles Kilborne without having any open holes. Also, Kilborne does have more variety, more birdie chances.
- Scrapyard is tougher than first appears. Most of the time, I'll look at the scorecard at the end of the round and wonder how I shot so poorly. There aren't any blow up holes, just a lot of bogeys that add up over the 18.
- If you could wish something for a course, I'd bestow more elevation into this layout. You put this same course on rolling hills and it's a much better, more varied feel.
- Hole #13 is a nice touch with the split fairway. One of the only holes on the course you can play with different throws/shots. It's also one of the few holes that allows you to play aggressively. And, if you're an average player like me, it might be the last realistic chance at a 2 on your card baring some great shot making.
- In this part of town (east Charlotte/Union County), Scrapyard and Dry Creek in Monroe are your two best courses. There are a lot of beginner friendly courses in the area, so come here for the challenge.
- I've always known and referred to this park as Idlewild. It was hard to adjust to the course being called Scrapyard and not Idlewild. After playing THE Idlewild, I realized why the choice was made to give it a different name.
- Course is a solid 3.5 rating. If I weighed personal preference, I'd probably bump it down to a 3.0. I've never cared for lobster or most craft beers, but plenty of people do. The beauty of the Charlotte DGC is that there are so many fantastic courses in the area we can play those we like and still have plenty of variety.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Scrapyard

2-4    9/27/2018   10/29/2018
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 556  Reviewed: 210  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a technical throwers dream and there are a lot of good lines that need to be hit here. It will challenge your shot shaping abilities as well as your mental game.
This course has a nice mix of short, moderate, and longer holes as well as both dog leg L and R playing holes.
The present elevation helps aid to the challenge but its not super steep.
The course flows logically and there are restrooms located by hole 1. There are trashcans and benches throughout the course as well.
The signage is good and the tees are ample.
Foot bridges here and there makes this course pretty cart friendly.
There are 2 water shots on hole 8 and 9 which add to the challenge. Some holes have 2 sets of pads to keep things interesting.
Hole 9's basket sits next to the water's edge so if you are playing from the left hand side of the hole and you run your putt you will want to sink it or just be a tick short. Going long could land you in the pond, good risk reward on this hole.
Hole 15 is super tight even though it is short and the basket sits on the slope of a hill. Staying on the high side will make your putt easier.
There is a nice wooden backstop behind 16's tee to protect that pad from errant throws on hole 15. I've not seen this at many courses and thought that was an excellent safety feature.
Cons: Not many but here are a few:
-Hard pack gets slick after a hard rain especially in the low lying areas
-a few of the transitions between holes are long like hole 9 to 10, not ridiculous but does slow the flow down a tad
-there are a few roots here or there that you might stub your to on. Pay attention.
Other Thoughts: I was lucky enough to get to play this course twice at 2018 AM Worlds and I really enjoyed this course. It has a good variety of features that make for a solid course. I love the technical challenge and sprinkle in the elevation and the 2 water shots and this course is a fun play.
I would definitely play this course again if I were back in the area. I would also recommend it to others disc golfers as well as I'm sure they would find something here to challenge and please them at the same time.
I thought it was rather interesting that the funds raised to build this course was done by selling scrap metal. Whoever came up with this idea was onto something there and kudos to them.
Overall its a fun challenging course that will keep you on your mental and physical game and Scrapyard offers a nice variety of lines which makes for some solid golf.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    8/24/2018   8/24/2018
Review By: J-H,ghar
Played: 43  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: So much Variety and shot shapes this course will test all the shot shapes in your game. Every hole has fair lines and have a unique flair to them that make them memorable.

The water carries are unique and fun

The course is really easy to navigate.
Cons: No real open holes on the course where you get to bomb.

Other Thoughts: This course is overlooked in Charlotte for some reason.

It's not used for as many events and you rarely hear anyone talking about it or suggesting it as a place to go visit for out of towners but it's just as good as any other course in the area.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Good, Solid Play

1    7/24/2018   8/7/2018
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 82  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid 18 hole technical wooded course located in an essentially disc golf exclusive area of a nice town park. Has good working baskets, quality signs and is easy to navigate. Adequate cement tee pads, with many holes containing an outer stone border around the front perimeter in case of overruns on the follow-through. Many holes have multiple tee pads. Good use of elevation with many holes offering a couple of different shot selections off the tee. Two water holes- always a great feature on any course- with long hole 8 a legitimate risk/reward hole in trying to clear the pond.
Cons: Tee pads, though perfectly good for most, might be considered a tad short to those preferring big run-ups. No real open holes appealing to the big arms. Erosion an issue, with many roots in fairways and around landing zones. Hole 9, though a good concept hole, provides no real landing area unless you park the shot; instead good drives roll down the slanted fairway. Hole 15 is ridiculously tight (albeit short) off the tee.
Other Thoughts: Though it probably isn't in many people's top 3 favorite area courses, I liked The Scrapyard, a fun, relatively short technical course that nonetheless has some challenge to it without ever being overbearing. It shares similarities to Reedy Creek and a couple of other area wooded courses. Some have lamented the repetitive feel of Scrapyard, but I appreciate the no frills approach and fairness of the vast majority of the course. Another enjoyable playing experience in the Charlotte area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Welcome Shade on a Hot Day

1    6/10/2018   6/11/2018
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 36  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: GREAT tree canopy, for summer days in the 90s.
Makes you hit those lines - great practice if you're inconsistent like I am.
Really pretty multi-use park where other activities don't interfere with the disc golf course at all.
Challenging layout that still gives you the opportunity to score well.
Cons: Repetitive.
No grip and rip holes (NOT a con for me, but I put it here for information purposes. I LIKE being able to reach par 3s from the tee)
Need some bigger trash cans (many holes only had a trash bag hanging on a tree or post).
Other Thoughts: I finally played the Scrapyard this year, and I'm glad I did. I had a blast playing, and this may make my annual day of disc golf in Charlotte. I played the short tees, because I need to, and had a great time. The park is quiet, not crowded the day I was there. Still ran into a few groups playing - both let me play through, even though I was just as happy simply following them so I knew what line to hit. Proud of my birdie on 8.

Next time, I may try the long tee on 9 - that hole is TOUGH from the short pads, with the potential for rollaways. GREAT course, and I will definitely be playing here again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One of Charlottes Better Courses

1    6/27/2017   6/27/2017
Review By: Mike C
Played: 122  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 10.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very scenic. Most holes play through rolling hills full of tall, mature trees. Two water carry holes add to the scenery.

- Great variety between holes. The course does a good job of mixing left and right turning holes, using different types of elevation, varying hole lengths and pars, etc. You have long bombers, tight technical shots, and straight ace runs here. Everything from S curve Par 4's (#7), water carry shots (#8 & #9) to classic tunnel shots (#11 & 15).

- Great use of elevation. Very few holes are completely flat. There are many spots throughout the course where a minor slope really adds a lot to the hole. The bank on #9 makes the margin for error much smaller, and the downhill slope of #13's green makes an otherwise easy 250' shot require a little more strategy. Hole lengths are deceptive because many play longer or shorter than they suggest.

- Four par 4's. This puts it on the upper end of Par for courses in the area not named Nevin/Renny/Angry/Nest. Eastway longs feature 5, but IMO #3 is a par 3, so they're tied in my eyes. Both Eastway and Scrapyard feature more par 4's than RL, Winget, Reedy Creek, Kilborne etc., which is something I look for in a course. #7 and #17 are both really fun lines.

- Two water carry holes. Neither are long, both are under 300', so skilled players shouldn't have much of a risk of throwing in. #9 can be a little unforgiving in the summer though. There are few water carry holes in the Charlotte area, so it's a pretty distinctive feature. The views on 8 & 9 add some nice variety to what would otherwise be 18 holes through the woods.

- Minimal undergrowth on the sides of the fairway. This is one reason I score it higher than RL and Eastway. Both those courses have some incredibly bad spots when it comes to rough. #1-3 & #18 at RL, and #2, #3 & #13 at Eastway immediately come to mind. Every group round I've played at those two has us hunting for discs at some point, and that usually isn't the case at Scrapyard.
Cons: - Could stand to have a few more open holes for variety. Aside from the water holes, most of them are fairly tight & technical. They're good save for a couple filler holes, but there is a sense of repetitiveness to the terrain despite the holes varying length, elevation, direction etc. so well.

- No Par 5's or particularly strong signature holes are two of the reasons that keep it from being on the level of Angry Beaver / Renny Gold / Hornets Nest. It could also stand to have a bit more length if it were going to earn a higher rating from me.
Other Thoughts: If I could rate this 3.75, I'd probably go with that.

For me Scrapyard is a bit more fun and interesting than most Charlotte 18 hole courses. The only ones I rate higher are Renny Gold, Hornets Nest, Nevin and Angry Beaver. I enjoy Scrapyard more than Eastway, Kilborne, Renske, Sugaw, RL, Winget etc., but a little less than the top four.

This is definitely a destination course. There are courses I'd go to first if you were playing in the Charlotte area for the first time, but not many. This would probably be rated in the 4-4.25 range in most areas of the country.

I enjoy pairing it with the short & open Mint Hill to unwind after a pretty technical 18. Nice to rip a few ace runs after likely contending with a few trees.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hiking/Disc Golf

1    6/24/2017   6/25/2017
Review By: Klingmeyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, decent baskets, slight elevation changes, clear fairways, not much chance of losing a disc except the water holes.
Cons: Signage to next tee is there but could use an upgrade, long walks between some tee pads, water collects after heavy rain, quite a few roots.
Other Thoughts: This course was wet after the recent rain, but playable. The course seems to play longer on some holes than expected,neither good or bad. I didn't throw from the long tees on the water holes. I could probably make the distance, but wasn't willing to take the chance of an errant throw or wind. Losing $15.00+ isn't worth it to me. An interesting course with good basket placement requiring all your throws. It does feel like a hike through the woods with disc golf included.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great CLT course

1    3/19/2017   3/21/2017
Review By: luckless_pedestrian
Played: 40  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Not too long, not too short. Requires all the shots.

Rewards accuracy more than distance. Remember that.

Water holes are not difficult, but they're water, which is a fun challenge.

Very wooded but well-defined fairways.
Cons: Tee pads are short, which in most cases isn't a problem but you definitely notice.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to get back after the trees leaf out. *Almost* worth the long drive down 485 from the north side. :)

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Scrapyard

5+    1/5/2016   1/9/2016
Review By: dndelli
Played: 53  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2018
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Scrapyard features mostly tighter fairways that require more finesse off the tee than your typical "Grip-and-Rip" courses. If you are an accurate thrower, you should be able to birdie any hole on this course. The course uses different angles to force you to pull out different shots off the tee if you want to finish under par. Especially if you decide to kick things up a notch and play from the longer tee pads (on holes 1, 8, 9, 10, and 17). The red tees feel like an appropriate challenge for beginners and the long tees will present a fun/appropriate round for everyone else.

The fairways for this course are carved out of a nice, peaceful forest - with four Par 4s and two water carries (which were pretty unique for Charlotte when this course was built), The Scrapyard manages to remain interesting during your playthrough. There is some new signage (for the 2018 Am Worlds) to help with navigation, that is really helpful, but navigation was never really a problem here to begin with.

The course is also being kept in great condition: the fairways are clear of roots and stumps, the underbrush off the fairways seems to have been beaten back, and there are plenty of benches and trash bags throughout the course. The concrete tees, tee signs, and baskets all seem to be in good condition as well.

It is nice to see the popularity of this course rise over the years, but it has never seemed very crowded to me. Fortunately, Idlewild Park, where it is located, has plenty of parking available. The Park also has a restroom facility and water fountains by Hole 1. If you only want to play 9 holes, or need to make a pitstop to the aforementioned restrooms/water fountains - there is a short trail that splits off from the transition from Hole 9 and 10, this traill will take you to the parking lot (it comes out behind Home Plate to the softball field),

There is a distinct lack of open holes on this course, and you will never really be required to tap down into your power for a big drive. Fortunately, you do get out from under the tree canopy in the middle of your round (thanks to Holes 8 & 9) to catch some sunlight.
Cons: When the water for Holes 8 & 9 has flooded, it can be intimidating to play, the margin for error becomes smaller. The little disc catching fence that was built for Hole 9's green could use with little bit of work. It is definitely still functional, but seems to be showing some signs of age as the chicken wire is starting to seperate from the wooden frame.

The short tee for Hole 9 also feels a bit uninspired, and I personally find it easier to lose discs from the short tee than the long tees because if your disc skips up off the embankment it usually sails further out into the lake than a hyzer line from the long tee.

While many of the holes have trash bags, I think it would both look and function a lot better if trash cans could be installed. The trash bags have a tendency to fill up, and if someone were to throw away some food, and animal would easily be able to tear into the trash bags and make a mess on this course.

It would be nice to see a couple more long tees on this course to really differentiate the differences in the two tee options. (However, this is not so much of a con, but more of an ideal situation.)

As much as I love this course, due to the repetitive nature of the environment that it is located, there aren't many "memorable holes". I don't feel like there are any inherently bad or fill holes, on this course, but if I invited someone from out of town to play this course once - a year later they would probably only really remember Holes 8 & 9, the water carries.
Other Thoughts: When I had heard that this course was being planned, I heard that it was going to be a partial course. So I was ecstatic when the course opened up as a Full 18. Which made it the closest course to my house that was a Full 18.

As I go through all of the course reviews I have done (I am trying to organize them better) I am torn on what grade to give this course. If I could, I would give it a 3.75 - it is in great shape, and the layout and design are both really enjoyable. But I am going to give it the nod because it manages to stay very technical throughout the course, while never managing to become as mentally taxing as similar style courses. Plus the water carries on a sunny day are a treat to play!

Favorite Holes: 5, 8, 9, 16

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A walk through the woods

1    12/19/2015   12/19/2015
Review By: Notverygood
Played: 71  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 10.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful woods envelope this course and make for a great golfing experience. You really feel "out in the woods" when you're playing.

Well worn in and clear fairways make the golf lines apparent and easy to read the first time playing.

The 'rough' is well beaten down and now overbearing when the inevitable happens. However, when you get off line here, it can be very punishing and add strokes to your score.

Mild elevation change keeps this course from feeling monotonous. No crazy uphill or downhill shots, but some light rolling hills help mix things up a bit

The lake shots (8&9) are fantastic! Both have easy alternate shots for those afraid of losing a disc, or those players with limited distance. A very nice option to have as some players cannot throw the required distance to make the necessary shots.

Adequate signage. The new tee signs are beautiful and add to the play-ability and appeal of this course. From time to time finding the next tee can be vague, but there are some older signs still hanging around that help direct, and the beaten path combined with some common sense kept me from getting lost.

The layout of this course is well though out, covering a great deal of the park, utilizing the pond, and keeping the walk from tee to tee short enough. Also important, hole 18 ends you right where the course begins! Great work

The park itself is in what seems to be a nice area of town. A nice change from the "sketchier" areas of town where some courses are located. I never thought or worried about my car being broken into, or random strangers/homeless walking about. Also, maybe related maybe not, there was very little trash on the course, and hardly any graffitti or the like. A nice change
Cons: Few cons here, but they did keep my rating from being higher.

The course isn't one of those "uses every shot in your bag" layouts. Although there was a great deal of accuracy required, there wasn't a whole ton of variation from hole to hole.
Not a major con when it comes to the fun factor as I still thoroughly enjoyed playing here, but in my mind keeps this from being a 4+ rated course

Although I listed it in the Pros section, I can also list it here. The signage, specifically leading from one basket to the next tee, could use some improvement. I never got lost, but there are several tees that are close to eachother, and a few that are a longer walk. At times it could be clearer where to go. But, like I mentioned in the Pros, some common sense and patience will keep you from getting lost here

Short (sometimes) tee pads. I'm not sure if all the tee pads are the same length and I only noticed it on some holes, but either way I found myself starting behind the pad to allow my run up enough room.
Other Thoughts: This course is a blast to play. With accuracy being the more important aspect here (instead of distance) this course really suits my playing style. Well placed shots will be rewarded, and pars should be easily attainable.

There are a handful of par 4's which break up the par 3 par 3 par 3 theme, and hole 8 and 9 are "memorable" holes.

If you're visiting the Charlotte area, I would add this to the list of courses to play. And if you're a local, don't hesitate to play a few rounds here!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.