Macomb, IL 
Everwood DGC Share
Uploaded By: robthepope Hole #4 (Taken 1/2009)
3 / 203ft.   3 / 203ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  

5+    10/14/2017   10/15/2017
Review By: Innovadgfan1
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very spacious tee pads in that are in great shape
-Front 9 is tight and technical, Back 9 is longer and more open, allowing players to get a good sense of both styles of golf
-The course does a good job overall of using the natural features of the park
-Trees force players to throw shots other than a simple backhand hyzer
-FOR THE MOST PART, the course has a pretty decent flow and is relatively easy to understand
Cons: -No real good place to park your car. If you park by 1, you have a long walk from 18 and vice versa.
-The front 9 and back 9 are played on two separate parks that are divided by a road. The tee pad of hole 10 is a straight shot from 9's basket, up by the shelter house.
-The course does virtually nothing with the small pond that is located on the course.
-Some gaps may be just a little too tight
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a great course that has elements of tough technical golf and wide open bomber golf.

The course is not too busy as most of the WIU student's attention is given to the 9 hole course on campus.

Some holes, such as 5, 11, and 17 may need to have the branches on their trees trimmed up to give players a more realistic chance of executing their shot. The course has been described as "Let me throw this shot and see if I get lucky to get my 2"

The first time I played the course I downloaded the course map off this website and had no issues following the layout.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Solid Course for Macomb Area

5+    5/3/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: ConnorJachino
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1
Pros: The course is generally accessible to anyone who wants to play. Pace of play will not be an issue, the only potential obstacle will be a few park goers that tend to lay out on some of the holes. Just be polite and they will acknowledge your right of way.

The course itself offers a good balance of holes. The front 9 is the shorter of the two, and offers a mix of birdie chances with tight approaches. These holes are a lot more tree-laden, rewarding accurate drives and punishes wayward tee shots and approaches.

The back 9 is longer and aside from holes 11 and 17 much more open. The length will make it more difficult to shorter throwers, but the overall challenge will make it very enjoyable to the veteran disc golfer.

There are a few water fountains on the course and plenty of shaded areas to make the course comfortable. There are also picnic tables for a snack and the trash is kept to a minimum.
Cons: The course is not very friendly to novice disc golfers. The tree shots can be frustrating and the length on some holes will make it difficult to find confidence in the game.

The markers on the course are fairly explanatory, so finding your way between the holes is not too difficult. The concrete tee pads are well maintained, and the baskets are in nice condition as well.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is a nice blend of everything you could ask for on a disc golf course. For the area, it is one of the best courses to really gauge how far along you have come as a player.

 Macomb is long.

2-4    9/24/2008   1/16/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 345  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 16.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is a very well kept and peaceful park. It has some minor rolling hills with large trees throughout. There are only a few spots with rough. Hole #1 is pretty hard to find.

It is really long and difficult. 14 holes are over 300 feet. This is an advanced/pro calibur course. You get to go out there and rip some drives.

Solid design with a variety of shots.

Nice concrete tee pads and Mach 3 baskets.
Cons: Print out a course map. The tees are very difficult to find and this course is hard to navigate.

The walk from #9 to #10 is ridiculously long.

This course lacks really tight shots and rough to warrant a rating of 4.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you play the 9 hole course in the middle of WIU's campus. It's a great course to play at night.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wow

1    10/24/2009   12/13/2009
Review By: BigA31640
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 20.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic course that has..... well everything. Wooded shots, open shots, short, long, elevation changes. Concrete tee pads. Great baskets.

I know anyone who vists once will be destined to come back again.
Cons: Has no signs and is difficult to navigate if you have no map. Hole one was hard to find I ended up starting on 8.
Other Thoughts: I went to college here back in the 80's and was already familiar with the park. I drew the course layout on a piece of paper and was able to find all the holes. This course has so much room for expansion I wonder what it will look like in 20 years.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.