Mustang, OK 
Wild Horse Park Share
Uploaded By: ManOnTheDoor Hole #17 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Good family & beginner-friendly course

5+    7/15/2017   7/15/2017
Review By: armiller
Played: 104  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-good tees, good baskets, easy navigation
-benches at most holes
-in a park with plenty of other family-friendly activities and with restrooms
-holes only remotely intersect with the walking path or other park users on 10-13, none of which actually cross the path

Favorites:
4-5, 9, 11, 16-18
Cons:
-front 9 weaves through trees that are not "disc golf friendly"
-several fairways seem to overlap a little too much; e.g. 2/3,
-no practice basket; though there seems to be room between 9/10 or after 18
-WIND! (though I should probably just stop including this in Oklahoma) - it's annoying because there are some shots like hole 2 where I would love to throw a Comet RHBH anhyzer, but it's never an option due to wind
Other Thoughts: Probably my only real gripe with this course is the nature of the trees on the front 9. To put it succinctly, they simply aren't "disc golf" trees. Their branches tend to be too close to the ground and spread too far horizontally. This tends to crowd the air space from 5-25' off the ground, which is exactly where most of us want our discs to be carving lines. Add to that the tendency to catch your discs in prickly/sappy trees, and they can be just plain annoying. On the front nine, I find myself using overhands or high FH/BH hyzers on at least five of the holes because of these trees. On others (e.g. 7-8), it's important to stay very low because of those trees. Those holes very much favor a low RHFH that stays under the trees, as opposed to RHBH turnovers that simply won't have enough space to carve their line. On the bright side, that gives Wild Horse Park a unique feel, but I'd still prefer to have more traditional lines THROUGH the trees instead of needing to go under or over.

Given those trees, the course designers did a good job. My impression is that the front 9, in particular, was designed to be a family friendly course where someone throwing 150-200' won't feel inadequate. Along with the fact that this park has other family friendly activities, this is a great place to bring the family/kids, friends new to disc golf, etc.

The back 9 have a totally different feel. It's more open, but with a number of mature trees very different from the front. Holes 11-15 are long and open and make for good Oklahoma wind golf. I like 11 because it's a slight downhill, a little under 400', and almost always has a crosswind. It might be boring for bonified big arms, but it's a distance stretch for most golfers and the downhill/wind makes it fun. 12-15 seem a little repetitive, ranging from 400' to 530', but working the headwind and then tailwind is fun, and the terrain has some contour. 16-18 are probably my favorites on the whole course, with decent lines to hit and the best greens and pin placements. If you're wanting a practice round, you might stop at your car after 9 to trade some putters/mids for backup fairways/drivers.

If it's important to you to stay under par, you'll like this one. Since my distance game has improved, this is one course where I'm frustrated if I don't finish under 54. Lots of birdie opportunities on the front nine, and the back, though longer, is open enough to score well with the distance.

Summary: It's a fun course and a pretty relaxed time in a clean and well-kept park, but it won't blow you away or challenge intermediate players too much. There are some nice holes, but the course's design doesn't match some of the other top OKC area courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tale of 2 horses.

1    9/9/2016   9/9/2016
Review By: hotstang
Played: 201  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front 9 is very well designed. But short.
Good Teepads
Good Signage.
Easy Flow. Except the walk from 9 basket to's 10 Tee.
Good Disc Catcher baskets.
Front allows all type of lines/ shots.
Back 9 hole 11 - 15 allow you to work on your distance.
Almost all holes on the front allows Left and Righthanded shots
But evergreens could easily grab a disc.
Plenty of parking.
Cons: Front 9 could of been stretched out a little more.
Holes 2 Tee is not pointing towards 2's basket.
Just too many long holes in a row on the back 9.
5- 500 ft holes in a row.
Needs more trashcans. Trash all over the park.
Other Thoughts: Family friendly.
Playground.
Bathrooms.
Plenty of parking.
Walking Trail. Shouldn't come into play.
Mowed but Grass Burrs everywhere.
Should be a pretty quick and easy round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Chi Town

2-4    2/28/2012   3/2/2012
Review By: WoogieBoogie
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well the immediate pro that i noticed was the huge restrooms once you pull into the parking lot by the playground. That is until i actually went inside the men's room and almost passed out due to the intense smell of fecal matter. The tees are all very nice and all signage is excellent condition, thanks Lowes. Everyone complains about hole 2 tee pad not pointing directly at the hole, but it's SUPPOSED to be that way all shots can't be straight ahead it gets boring. All three times i've played here its been windier than Chicago, im talking 20 mph steady with 40 mph gusts, which as you may imagine makes the course that much more difficult. I don't know if the wind is a constant factor in Mustang or if i just played on bad days. All three times I've been to this course its been pretty much abandoned, probably because of the wind, but still nice to have the course to yourself.
Cons: Aside from the mens room and the wind, it doesn't have many cons to complain about. The par 5's could be par 4's if not 3's, but im not complaining, extra room for a birdie.
Other Thoughts: I guess don't go on windy days would be half the point of this review, the other half would be that the restrooms smell horrible. In reality it's Oklahoma so windless days are at a premium but the wind didnt seem to affect any shots of mine (RHBH thrower) but my friend's shot's were massacred at holes 2, 11, 16 (LHBH thrower).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Front 9 focuses on accuracy, Back 9 focuses on distance

1    7/16/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 408  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good 18 holer in a well maintained public park. The tee pads are excellent and there are even little signs indicating where the next tee is located. The front 9 uses the cedar trees well. Holes #4 and #5 have protected baskets. Hole #6 has heavy cedars in the fairway, shoot low or try a tomahawk shot. All the holes on the front nine are fairly short. #9 is a pretty open shot and will allow you a chance to air it out a bit for the first time. #10 is a slightly uphill shot. #11 is a fairly wide open hole going downhill towards the pond to the west. #12 is a wide open shot with a slight dogleg right. #13 is another open hole with a slightly protected basket. #14 is a wide open hole. #15 is the most wide open hole I have ever played on. The basket is literally in the middle of a field with not one obstacle. #16-18 finally provide trees to contend with. Be careful on #16 not to put your drive into the softball field. I was lucky my shot hit the bottom of the fence.
Cons: There are no tee signs with distances. If they were to be added it would help. Also there were stickers in the fairways, not heavy and is to be expected when it doesn't rain. The walk between #9's basket and #10's tee is rather long and drags the flow of the game down. Also what is the deal with #2's tee pad? As mikethegoalie said it points nowhere near the basket. There must be a mando somewhere, didn't quite understand that one.
Other Thoughts: There is a walking trail that winds around the back 9 so heads up when playing. This course has a good mix of long and short shots. There are more obstacles on the front 9 than the back nine. When the wind is blowing hard, as it often does, holes #11-15 could be brutal. They have used what is available and have made a pretty decent course here. As of my visit I saw about 5 groups playing here so they must have done something right.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Another course in the OKC area

2-4    5/22/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: BHolicki
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brand New Innova DISCatcher Baskets
-Nice Concrete Tee Pads
-Easy to follow, well marked
-Very well maintained
-Front 9 allows for more technical short shots and Back 9 is more for bombing it
-Plenty of parking
-Restrooms are near holes 1 and 18
Cons: -Trees on the front 9 tend to catch your disc, I hope your a good climber or 9 feet tall
-The walk from 9 to 10 is kind of long
Other Thoughts: It is nice to have a another course to go to. So far it wasn't too crowed.

They are slowy adding to the course as far as new tee signs and benches. As well as trash cans. But that still doesn't fix the back 9. It's too wide open.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.