Lockland, OH 
Gardner Park Share
Uploaded By: hipster Hole #8 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
9 Hole Rec Courses Features Some Fun Throws!

1    7/15/2017   7/15/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gardner Park is a fairly good sized city park containing three ballfields, picnic shelters, play areas, skate punk park and a small fitness areas. The restrooms were open when I arrived at 6:06 am. The course starts right when you enter the park with the first hole playing up the hill beside the park's entry road. The course then continues around the perimeter of the park in a counter clockwise direction.

The tee signs are small and simple showing just the hole # and par. Someone has written the distances on the sign posts with Sharpie. I appreciate that gesture. The baskets are decent enough Discatchers with a small number on them. The tee pads, or lack there of are the course's Achilles heal. They are smallish, natural, bumpy, lumpy, rough, semi-dangerous and prone to muddiness.

The course is recreational in challenge. Experienced players could be looking at 6-9 strokes under par here. The three pars 4's wouldn't be that difficult for most players to birdie. There is some serious rough on your right side for much of the course, starting with hole three.

My favorite hole was probably # 4. It's kind of a fun little 191' downhill Annie although there is that thick rough just right of the basket. Playing alone this morning with no spotter, I played it very conservatively. # 7 is your first ACE waiting to happen, 97' with just a small hyser needed. They don't make holes much more Aceable than that.
Cons: The tee pads are poor. They're small. There are big roots to trip you up on # 2. Most would be slippery when wet. I mostly teed off from the side.

The first 4-5 tee signs are set in the ground just off the left front of the pads. Makes you think about them when you're teeing off.

Posted pars are a little on simple side.

Nasty rough on the right has probably devoured a few discs.

# 1 is a safety hazard so beware of cars entering the park there.

Because the # 6 sign faces the wrong direction, I had to think for a minute where the basket is? It's not really that confusing but I was wondering why they faced it towards the woods.

Long walkout after # 2, walk past the play area and picnic shelter.
Other Thoughts: It's really a pretty comfortable throw. I can see why it merits it's respectable rating. Put some decent tee pads here and players would increase their ratings. This is a course I wouldn't mind living close to although it would probably be better to play in a group here, to help spot on a couple of holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quirky Quick Nine

5+    7/24/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 300  Reviewed: 283  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Gardner Park DG course has nine quirky, but decently fun, semi-urban holes fairly well laid out for the casual to Rec player to get a quick round in, possibly over a lunch break, if you work along the I-75 corridor just north of Cincinnati (inside the outer belt).
There are a couple of uphill shots and one downhill, even two or three that bring the park's trees into play, and the course mostly works its way counter-clockwise around the perimeter of the park rectangle, so there isn't much chance of getting lost.
The range of distances is readily apparent when you transition from the 550 foot #6 (which runs across the back of the park soccer field to a surprisingly high risk/reward green - go long on your approach, or skip into the woods, and you might find that your disc has gone into what can be a fairly deep, wide, and fast-flowing Mill Creek!) ... to the very next hole (#7) being an easy ace run 70 footer!
Tee areas are currently grass/dirt marked by a red plate and a tee sign, but the Innova baskets are fairly decent.
For such a confined space, this park has a huge variety of other activities for family members, from ball fields, bb courts, play equipment, a small skate park, shelters, benches, bathrooms, etc.: all the usual family park amenities.
Cons: The limitations of the park mean this will only get nine baskets, and it's unlikely that poured tee pads will go in here.
There is a long trek from the #2 basket to the #3 tee area.
Errant shots are likely to involve other park patrons, and even some of the fairways cross the walking path twice. The tee area for hole #3 launches right over the horseshoe pits. There is a bench less than 50 feet from the #9 basket that's in play for a bad, long drive or approach shot.
The hill coming down from the #4 tee is very steep, so watch out if you've got knee problems or if it's wet.
Other Thoughts: Probably not a course to out of your way for, but if you are already in the area, it could be a good warm up, or the only decent course nearby. I've experienced that myself, having the closest course to my home being handy, but a little bit sad. I won't specify which nine hole course near my home I mean, but I think I'm one of the few who play there. Gardner has to get more traffic, being 'in town'.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Diff

1    6/26/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: robertpaulschehr
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great baskets, easy 9 hole, I believe the tee signs have been updated no prob finding
Cons: Would be easy to nail a jogger for beginner, soccer could deff make hole 6 unplayable
Other Thoughts: This is an easy nine hole that can be played during lunch break (I played pushing stroller).

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Gardner Park

1    9/15/2011   9/18/2011
Review By: Enzy
Played: 83  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are a few elevation changes and a variety of shots. Most of the holes are short which makes this a great beginner's course. The biggest pro for me was that I was able to throw a hyzer and anhyzer with a mid-range which was good practice.
Cons: Holes play near a walking path that comes in to play on most holes. I was there on a Friday afternoon and there were 2 people walking the trail. These 2 people were the only other people in the park.
Other Thoughts: I can't wait to go back and play this course. It was a great warm up before heading over to Winton Woods which only took about 15 minutes to get there.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Garden variety at Gardner Park.

2-4    5/24/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: hipster
Played: 86  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Located in a quaint city park and has new DISCatcher Pro targets. Incorporates a bit of elevation on the first 4 holes. There are some wooded shots to open and close the round. There are 2 holes of around 400 ft. Multiple ace opportunities. Navigation is not a problem once tee marker 1 is located. The soccer field provides a good place to work on shots if it is not in use. Some gonzo golfing is a possibility in order to add length to the shorter holes. Being a newer course, it is not crowded with too many DGenerates at this time.
Cons: Since it is located in a park with 3 ball diamonds, a soccer field and loops around with the walking path, human obstacles can be an issue. The red tee markers are hard to spot, but not an issue once a round is played.
Other Thoughts: This course was a total surprise to the local disc golf community in Greater Cincinnati and I imagine there are going to be safety concerns when there are some games going on. The discoverer of the course posted this course find on the local DG website forum after spotting orange cones covering the locking sleeves in the park one day.


5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.