Fruita, CO 
Fruita Riverside DGC Share
Uploaded By: Usher Hole #4 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 367ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Hot. Hot. Hot.

1    7/16/2017   7/17/2017
Review By: Sideshow775
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: Great course layout. Decent parking. Easy access from interstate. Lots of challenging shots. #3 (my fave) is a blind hole, throwing over a rise, and down into a valley. Basket is completely hidden in the valley. It's only 218', but you are kinda throwing on faith. 4 is another downhill and around a cliff. Very pretty hole. 12 has an island of trees right in the middle, basket 100' behind the island. It forces you to throw a curving line to one side of the island or the other. Makes for interesting upshots. Good mix of short and long holes. Great signage at all tee pads. Excellent, large map at the trailhead to 1. Benches every few holes.
Cons: No bathrooms that I saw in the parking area. I think I saw a port-o-let along the fenceline between 12 and 13, but not sure. More benches would be nice, but certainly not a deal breaker. The biggest drawback to this course is the lack of shade. I played in the afternoon, in the middle of July, and it was ungodly hot with minimal relief. Benches were metal, and you could fry an egg on them. In the future, a small, covered area over the benches would be amazing. Just a little shade to escape to and recharge would make a huge difference.
Other Thoughts: In the summer, this course is probably best played early in the morning, before the heat of the day. I suspect late fall to early spring are optimal times to play this course. If you're going to brave it in the summer, take LOTS of water, and possibly an umbrella to create a portable shady spot. But even with the heat, this course was amazing. I will definitely be back. If you get the chance, play this course. You won't be disappointed.

Good 'Fourteener', Tedious Eighteen

2-4    3/23/2017   3/23/2017
Review By: nightwing
Played: 159  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Could serve it's 'Championship Course' function
-'Monument Cliffs' and some River Valley Views.
-A few good tee shots and basket locations
-EASY drive from town, freeway and the Monument
-Ample parking for large events
Cons: -See other reviews for 'Can be buggy, dusty, windy, soggy etc'.
-Not a family or beginner friendly course.
-Long, boring walk out to hole 3 and back from 16. (Play fourteen holes?)
-Many repetitive long drives and short chip shots.
-Needs AM tees. (Even just flags would do it.)
-Confusing names...see below.
Other Thoughts: Because I rate this course lower than others have, I should note that it was a pretty nice day with no bugs, swampiness, dust storms etc. And shooting 3 down as a 922 rated Grandmaster means the course is easy enough for serious players. The problem is that it just wasn't that much fun.

The course is listed here as Riverside? but it is in Riverfront park. And the locals I met call it 'Snooks Bottom'. Whatever you call it, it is just south of the river, the first right on the way to the spectacular 'Colorado National Monument'. A morning round before heading into the Monument makes for a nice day. But you might park by hole 3 and play 3 through 16. Holes 1,2 and 17, 18 are as bad as they say.

But even if you play this course as a 'Fourteener', it still has a lot of long, open drives to flat, open greens. Holes below a cliff have some interest going out, but open fields bring you back. Then there is a ridiculous half mile walk from the 16th green to the 17th tee. Since there is plenty of room and terrain for 2 good holes along that walk, I gotta say this course could use some alternate holes. (Maybe even a new layout....there is room for well over a dozen cars right there at hole 3,).

The lack of AM pads makes this a very long course for typical players. There are multiple basket locations, but even there, they tend to be set up in a straight line from 'pretty long to really long', rather than offering much variety.

So there you have it. If you need LOTS of parking, for an Advanced and Pro level event that tests whether players can throw accurately over 300 feet and make a long open putt, this will do the job. But I could only say that holes 3 thru about 9 were interesting.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/5/2016   9/5/2016
Review By: Unlimited
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kinda challenging
Nice backdrop of Red Rock formations
Great when maintained
Good place to teach or learn dg
trash cans and some signs
Cons: Not mowed enough, sometimes grass makes it difficult to find drives in fairway
Mediocre use of natural obstacles and no mandos
Avoid during high water and mosquito season (late spring to mid summer)
Needs clearer marking to get non locals from hole 2 to hole 3 across road

Other Thoughts: Play this one in late fall to early spring for best conditions. Otherwise ask a local what condition its cause it varies drastically.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Must play if you are driving I-70 west-bound

2-4    5/11/2014   5/11/2014
Review By: JefeMT
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The back-drop, to the south, of the Colorado National Monument sandstone cliffs and formations (think Utaaaaah!!), spectacular. The middle 14 holes, along the Colorado river, in a Cottonwood Bottom, maximize the terrain and trees to their best. Also, the wind seems to be knocked down, due to that part of course being nestled under the cliff/river terrace, so its just a pleasant walk. If you are driving west, take a couple hours to play it, or a couple of days to hike, play DG, and mountain bike around Fruita. AWESOME. Grand Junction CO is a great little town.
Cons: HOTTERTHANHELL from mid-June thru September. Ideal time to hit this one, and Moab, UT/ upper Colorado plateau is mid-April to Mid-May, or October.
Other Thoughts: Link up to courses at Old City Park, in Moab, UT, and for the absolute trilogy, head south out of Grand Junction, along route 141, to Gateway, Colorado course along the Dolores river. THAT one has the prettiest canyonlands setting, bar none. Moab course is terrific. Go in early to mid-May and smile.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 First 18hole I played

1    8/11/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: dust4tears
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: ~obstacles were decent for beginner.
~Had to search for my discs, but didn't lose any
~Even though it is the desert, it is very pretty.
Cons: ~Horrible signage. We walked around for 45mins looking for #3. After 3, it is kind of easier. But, a navigation sign should change that.
~Must be physically fit. There are some very steep parts of rocks.
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing (I am new) a full 18. I am learning all kinds of things, so I do not want to be too judgmental.

BRING PLENTY OF WATER, it is the desert.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Championship Caliber?

1    8/9/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 74  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set in a beautiful area and is quite wild, which adds to it's character. I loved being right up next to the river and appreciated that it wasn't a constant worry for the course.

The holes are long and most are open shots. I like this because I've got a decent arm and love to put a lot on it. It wasn't horribly technical but made up for it in distances, requiring you to place your mid shots well or you'd face a long putt.

The signature hole has to be hole 4, throwing off the cliff around the bend. It's also the only hole where the water hazard comes into play if you shank your drive.

Great signage and a course map right at the parking lot made navigating pretty easy.

The tee pads were all good and I always like a course with multiple pin placements.

Benches were located in good spots to rest, which is needed since it is a long course.

For it being a pack in/out (garbage) course, it was surprisingly clean. I can't recall seeing any garbage on it at all which is extremely impressive.
Cons: The biggest cons to me were the first and last two holes on the course. They are wide open long shots up on top. It starts out and ends the round with the least desirable holes. That's not a major con though, it is still a very good course. I also didn't really care for the hike back up to finish off the last two holes, it felt a little disjointed. It was probably unavoidable and is a little nitpicky of me, I know.

Some may consider the distances a con, especially if you face a stiff head wind like we did. It made parring a hole quite challenging or next to impossible at times.
Other Thoughts: This proved to be an interesting course with some nice scenery, though I'm not sure the description of championship quality is accurate. Don't get me wrong, it was very good and certainly deserves a solid 3.5 rating, but I just don't know if it's championship material. That being said it was worth the visit. Fruita is a nice town and with 3 courses (including the 10 holes at a Jr High, how cool is that?) you can tell that they love disc golf!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/26/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 131  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-Great signage
-Good variety of shots
-Plays right along the Colorado river
Cons: The river isn't used in the course at all.
Could use some elevation change.
Other Thoughts: Quality challenging course. Could skip the first 2 shots and the last 2 shots though

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

2-4    10/14/2012   10/21/2012
Review By: DustinRobirtis
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Really fun course with some challenging bends and fun shots. Especially like #3 off the cliff.
Cons: Wear some high socks because there are tons of little thorns and little seeds and stuff that will stick to your shoes

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fruita

1    8/14/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous setting. Great signage, looks like the pins are regularly changed, challenging approaches on several of the pins. Very fun elevation change on a couple of the holes. Don't let the first two holes fool you into thinking its all flat and desolate.
Cons: It seems like the land was originally cleared of a lot of brush for the course - which is great, but the land is incredibly rough and littered with tree stumps and brush because of it. Im pretty sure I nearly broke my toe from stubbing it on so many stumps. Also the elevation could have and should have been much better utilized, its only used on two of the holes even though you play along a hillside for much of the course. No water hazards.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course overall - not great - but good. It offers a fairly challenging game, with a few tough approaches and good mix of short/long tees. I wish it had been designed to utilize more elevation, and that the first two holes weren't in a flat field. All that being said, it is definitely worth a play if you're in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, worth playing

1    6/16/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: dmbfan
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.8 Years
Pros: -Great tee pads, signage, baskets.
-Each basket was easy to locate from the tee.
-Navigating from hole to hole was fairly straightforward except from 16-17.
-Good course for beginners when baskets are in the "A" position.
Cons: -Many of the holes were very close to the same length and type of basket placement. A little more variety of shot shapes and basket placement would be nice.
Other Thoughts: -Had lots of fun on the course with 2 beginners. Would like to play the course with the longer "B" and "C" basket placements. I'm sure the course will be much more challenging.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.